140 posts

dont worry too much, ride more lah!

BOTAK_WAI
post Feb 19 2019, 08:31 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 18 2019, 04:31 PM)
Thanks, guys.

I think I need to use cycling app to see the speed and distance readings on my mobile phone.
do u use samsung phone? else the built in samsung health app already sufficient.
gataddhin
post Feb 20 2019, 09:13 AM

I will try the health app of my Samsung phone later. Thanks for info.
CanonLee
post Feb 20 2019, 10:41 AM

199 posts

there are bike apps in google play store. Using a gps base apps should able to get some readings of the rides. Distance, average speed and calories. i am using "Bikeometer" and it is fine and simple to use.
nas445
post Feb 20 2019, 11:57 AM

13 posts

Went to a bike shop last 2 weekend, at first put budget around RM1k. Went out of the shop with Java Pro4 instead...Should had spent a bit more perhaps for Ira, but they dont have any in stock.

Contemplating to downgrade to 406 wheelset instead..A bit more comfortable then the 451 i hope...not that many seller of 406 wheelset in bbs.

This post has been edited by nas445: Feb 22 2019, 01:37 PM
fatani
post Feb 20 2019, 02:42 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Feb 20 2019, 10:57 AM)
When to a bike shop last 2 weekend, at first put budget around RM1k. Went out of the shop with Java Pro4 instead...Should had spent a bit more perhaps for Ira, but they dont have any in stock.

Contemplating to downgrade to 406 wheelset instead..A bit more comfortable then the 451 i hope...not that many seller of 406 wheelset in bbs.
or you could change to a wider tyre.
BOTAK_WAI
post Feb 20 2019, 04:21 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 20 2019, 09:13 AM)
I will try the health app of my Samsung phone later. Thanks for info.
remember turn off power saving mode… else no gps signal if screen goes off.
nas445
post Feb 20 2019, 05:19 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Feb 20 2019, 02:42 PM)
or you could change to a wider tyre.
Will consider. Dropping by a shop later after work...

Was looking at tyre prices, and it's bloody expansive. my motorcycle tyre size 160 only cost circa 400-500 a piece..our tiny tyre cost circa 100..😂
fatani
post Feb 21 2019, 07:11 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Feb 20 2019, 04:19 PM)
Will consider. Dropping by a shop later after work...

Was looking at tyre prices, and it's bloody expansive. my motorcycle tyre size 160 only cost circa 400-500 a piece..our tiny tyre cost circa 100..😂
If compared to my car tyres, then your motorcycle tyre is a lot more expensive ha ha.Cycling stuffs are normally expensive. The more lighter the parts, the higher the price is. But there are cheaper one. Just don't expect branded one ajer lah. My 406 tyres only cost me rm40 per piece (innova), my slick mtb tyre is rm35 a piece (chaoyang). Brands like kenda also offer reasonable price.

It really depends on your purpose for riding. If you want a fast/light/low rolling resistance tyres, expect to pay more. If you want a durable touring tyres, also expect to pay more. If you dont mind those criterias, then they are definitely cheaper tyres out there. The things with bicycle is, the weight of the parts will certainly effects on how you feel when you strikes those pedals. Especially the moving parts.
tcb2010
post Feb 21 2019, 01:00 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:57 AM)
When to a bike shop last 2 weekend, at first put budget around RM1k. Went out of the shop with Java Pro4 instead...Should had spent a bit more perhaps for Ira, but they dont have any in stock.

Going to 406 will not be comfier, but, u do have way more tyre sizes selection up to size 20 x 2.0. So, its more comfier in that sense.

If the tire size is equal width for 451 and 406...the 451 will be a tad comfier due to bigger diameter rolls over road irregularities better.

I think ur feeling bumpy, maybe ur Java Pro comes with very thin tires like 1 1/8 inch. Go look for wider 1 3/8" tires and there is a few in the market, pump around 60-65 psi, that should do the trick.
There are some cheaper innova/kendas tires that is price ok, and should be fine tires.

If u really prefer squishy feel, haha..no choice u will have to resort to 406 and its wide tyres like ..like the Marathons, Big Apples, Maxxis Torch and DTH...I used to favor this squishy,.. but now im on bone shattering skinny tires Durano.

KenC
post Feb 21 2019, 04:47 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:57 AM)

Changing to a smaller size wheel is not a down grade or up grade. It is just that, Change wheel size. Otherwise buy Brompton is a down grade.
Using fatter tires also increase the diameter of the wheel. A. 2"wide 406 and 1"wide 451 have nearly the same outside diameter.
Bumpy is guaranteed on bike without suspension. The difference between a midium pressure (60~80psi) SUPPLE(soft+flexible side wall) tire has less harsh vibration in contrast with a high pressure (100~120psi) skinny tire.
1-3/8" wide Kenda Rollersport (RM70/pair) @70psi is my choice for 451. Currently
2" wide big apple @ 80~85psi is my choice for 406. For now.

This post has been edited by KenC: Feb 21 2019, 11:19 PM
nas445
post Feb 22 2019, 11:09 AM

13 posts

TQ guys for your inputs!

Decided to change the stock saddle with a slightly wider one yesterday, Tried on 27km ride between Cyberjaya-Putrajaya-Cyberjaya and the ride is much better..

Will try the new saddle for few ride before i tinker with the tires.

KenC
post Feb 22 2019, 03:22 PM

78 posts

Bicycle Saddle is another design which will guarantee discomfort until you rear end become bulletproof.

azamunekurone
post Feb 24 2019, 09:20 PM

140 posts

this few weeks very hot woo.. hope everyone ok

MasterP
post Mar 2 2019, 02:56 AM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Feb 24 2019, 09:20 PM)
this few weeks very hot woo.. hope everyone ok

Nice one thumbup.gif
Looking forward to doing a tour next months myself. Cant wait, this thread got me hyped... By the way: did you know this forum. It is really helpful when it comes to biking and all the stuff that is related to it.
I will definitely start doing rides pretty soon, i guess smile.gif

This post has been edited by MasterP: Mar 15 2019, 05:31 PM
totoro78
post Mar 2 2019, 09:53 AM

I'm deciding between Java mini velo(not foldie) and a foldie. Can mini Revo fit into car boot with dismantle front wheel and collapse car seat? I am driving Renault Fluence and the boot size should be in between Altis and Camry. How much does Java mini velo cost?
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 3 2019, 07:04 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 12 2017, 08:48 PM)
Just for info purposes, here's another article.

For those using 7 speed gearset, there's not much improvements can be made without spending more than the bike itself. As you know most with 7 speed gears are entry level bikes, the price was low because of the obsolete components. The difference is usually the hubs which can only use freewheel cogs, where the freewheel ( the movement of the cogs which engaged one way but free when turn the other way, so your foot can stay on the pedals when you stop pedaling instead of following the turns like a fixie ). Freewheel cogs have the freewheel mechanism on the cog cluster itself where else the common one nowadays have freewheel hubs, where the freewheel mechanism is on the hubs and the cog cluster are on their own called a cassette in this case.

So, for the 7 speed ones, here's another option to add more oommph! Can't seem to tackle the slope, here's a picture of the freewheel cog that is brought in by a LBS in Teluk Intan. It's a 13T to 34T cluster, 8 speed. That's one click more for low gear and 2 clicks more for high gear. Usual 7 speed is 14T to 28T only. I have seen 11T to 30T clusters before made by Epogue but they are quite costly.

This is the cheapest option actually, just buy this and screw onto the wheel set ( no need to change ) and then get an 8 speed shifter. As for rear derailleur, I am sure it can handle another higher gear, most lower levels are long cage anyway. You can hunt for an 8 speed right hand side shifter easily in BBS (usually those twist shifters) or buying a pair of new trigger shifters is about 80 bucks anyway, plus another 110 bucks, you can get 3 extra gears onto your 7 speed.

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/300708/sunr...el-free-pos-w-m

sorry to quote old post. i would like to thanks etigge for sharing the information.

i bought the DNP 11-28T to replace the 14-28T 7-speed freewheel on my 16" foldie.

for anyone who interested, i have seen this been selling on shopee which cost RM89.10
https://shopee.com.my/DNP-11T-freewheel-7-2...9491.1293245502

but i decided to get from taobao because i need to buy the extended freewheel removal tool as well.
the bearing of DNP freewheel is deeper than the original MF-TZ21 freewheel, so need longer tool.

freewheel + removal tools + china shipping = RM57.24
china to malaysia shipping = RM16.20

still cheaper than shopee.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Mar 3 2019, 07:08 PM
nyumnyum2k
post Mar 5 2019, 04:33 PM

118 posts

hi everyone,

last wednesday i saw some cyclist at ayer 8 putrajaya ( at shanaz maju/nasi lemak royale) . would like to know if i can join the ride. thanks

Bujal.x
post Mar 5 2019, 07:50 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(nyumnyum2k @ Mar 5 2019, 04:33 PM)
hi everyone,

last wednesday i saw some cyclist at ayer 8 putrajaya ( at shanaz maju/nasi lemak royale) . would like to know if i can join the ride. thanks
Once in a while a group of foldies plus rb will do putrajaya night ride. The rv is at ayer8 and then 25-50km around the precints.its open to everyone. Feel free to join
nyumnyum2k
post Mar 5 2019, 10:38 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Mar 5 2019, 07:50 PM)
Once in a while a group of foldies plus rb will do putrajaya night ride. The rv is at ayer8 and then 25-50km around the precints.its open to everyone. Feel free to join
thanks...may i know if it has FB group that i can join .

188 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th March 2024 - 12:03 AM