Biotech or Pharmacy for undergraduate studies?

SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 19 2017, 04:08 PM, updated 9y ago

170 posts

Im still unsure what course to study in Uni....
I completed my A levels and i got 2A* 1A. A* for bio and chem, another A for maths.

Biotechnology can find job in Malaysia? Some relatives tell me you have to study until PhD in order to find a job and do research... Some tell me there is no job for pharmacist...

Im seriously puzzled...

This post has been edited by replayzxc: Aug 20 2017, 07:03 PM
malleus
post Aug 19 2017, 07:13 PM

2,096 posts

the truth about biotech? doomed to a life of being a lab tech with little job advancements, unless you decide to take on one of those graduate trainee programs which you'll end up doing work not related to biotech at all. In fact, most biotech grads have their careers take off only when they switch to another line of work.

Japan and the US are about the only places with flourishing biotech research jobs (Korea might be coming up, but still too early to say if it'll fizzle or not). But yeah, for the most part, don't bother applying for those research jobs without a PhD.

Between biotech and pharma, you're more likely to find a job in the relevant field if you're to go with pharma. Unless you're to go with the full research path with biotech.

zeng
post Aug 19 2017, 10:52 PM

1,810 posts

Between the two, go for pharmacy.
Don't waste time on biotech.
hirano
post Aug 19 2017, 10:59 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Biotech field isnt good in malaysia, so please go with pharmacy or meds.
iSean
post Aug 20 2017, 11:05 AM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

From the 3 comments above I think you can conclude that Pharmacy is the best way you can go.

But 2A* and 1A already can bring you to many good University outside of Malaysia.
If not, go work up your CV. And try to get into UM/USM Next year, if fees might not be bearable by your parents.
SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 20 2017, 07:01 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 20 2017, 11:05 AM)
From the 3 comments above I think you can conclude that Pharmacy is the best way you can go.

But 2A* and 1A already can bring you to many good University outside of Malaysia.
If not, go work up your CV. And try to get into UM/USM Next year, if fees might not be bearable by your parents.
Yes.. but tuition fees are too expensive for oversea uni.. dont think it is necessary.

Btw, A level can enter UM now? I thought u have to take MUET and must be from matrik/stpm?
iSean
post Aug 20 2017, 08:24 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 20 2017, 07:01 PM)
Yes.. but tuition fees are too expensive for oversea uni.. dont think it is necessary.

Btw, A level can enter UM now? I thought u have to take MUET and must be from matrik/stpm?
UM/USM had always approved of Qualifications of Cambridge A-levels for quite sometime, but applying for USM/UM is not under UPU from the previous years, so students have to go through an interview or something to apply last time.

But starting from 1997's batch of STPM students, aka starting from this year onwards USM and UM are now under UPUOnline, so you guys have to apply from there.

Currently I have 2 friends from the MCKL 1507's batch (A2 in Oct/Nov 16) from MCKL gotten into UM; one gotten Medic another gotten Applied Chemistry smile.gif
Both will be starting their Degree programs next month.

Yes, for MUET wise, you have to take eventually, but with the time you have now, surely can apply for the November MUET exams. Or Next Year March Exams.
But there's an option in UPUOnline for Pending for Results, or haven't taken it yet. But best if you taken it lah.

Anyhow, if you really interested, I guess you can go direct visit for USM and UM, to their Admission Office to ask about them are they still accepting students outside the UPUOnline system. If not later you are forced to make a gap year transition into IPTA next year September.

But with your results, maybe apply UTAR, IMU or Monash for Pharmacy? If you can't really wait for it?
Also You didn't took Physics right? hmm.gif
malleus
post Aug 20 2017, 09:31 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 19 2017, 10:59 PM)
Biotech field isnt good in malaysia, so please go with pharmacy or meds.
to be more accurate, Biotech isn't good anywhere in the world with the exception of the US, Japan, and maybe Korea
SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 20 2017, 10:11 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 20 2017, 08:24 PM)
UM/USM had always approved of Qualifications of Cambridge A-levels for quite sometime, but applying for USM/UM is not under UPU from the previous years, so students have to go through an interview or something to apply last time.

But starting from 1997's batch of STPM students, aka starting from this year onwards USM and UM are now under UPUOnline, so you guys have to apply from there.

Currently I have 2 friends from the MCKL 1507's batch (A2 in Oct/Nov 16) from MCKL gotten into UM; one gotten Medic another gotten Applied Chemistry smile.gif
Both will be starting their Degree programs next month.

Yes, for MUET wise, you have to take eventually, but with the time you have now, surely can apply for the November MUET exams. Or Next Year March Exams.
But there's an option in UPUOnline for Pending for Results, or haven't taken it yet. But best if you taken it lah.

Anyhow, if you really interested, I guess you can go direct visit for USM and UM, to their Admission Office to ask about them are they still accepting students outside the UPUOnline system. If not later you are forced to make a gap year transition into IPTA next year September.

But with your results, maybe apply UTAR, IMU or Monash for Pharmacy? If you can't really wait for it?
Also You didn't took Physics right?  hmm.gif
Woa, thanks. Then ill try to apply for UM.

I went to monash and IMU. What worries me is that most of their lecturers are from foreign country, mostly India and Pakistan. Not that im racist but their accent is so thick that its hard to understand what they're trying to say. Cannot imagine how ill survive in thr lecture hall in the future..

Right now i still couldnt make up my mind whether to take the pharmacy course or not. Salary wise, it doesnt look that good to me.... But i think i have no more choices sad.gif

Yeap i didnt take Physics.

Thanks for ur help man... You're a nice guy.
iSean
post Aug 21 2017, 01:06 AM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 20 2017, 10:11 PM)
Woa, thanks. Then ill try to apply for UM.

I went to monash and IMU. What worries me is that most of their lecturers are from foreign country, mostly India and Pakistan. Not that im racist but their accent is so thick that its hard to understand what they're trying to say. Cannot imagine how ill survive in thr lecture hall in the future..

Right now i still couldnt make up my mind whether to take the pharmacy course or not. Salary wise, it doesnt look that good to me.... But i think i have no more choices sad.gif

Yeap i didnt take Physics.

Thanks for ur help man... You're a nice guy.
Well I can see why, I personally have this type of phobia with the lecturers I get, even local Malaysian. sweat.gif
But good or bad, adapt lah, thank god my course there's online lectures as supplement replacements.
Pharmacy wise, I'm not sure it exists or not? sweat.gif

Indian Accents, those foreign borned, and came here to work for 5 to 10 years, those accent not so heavy lah.
If you kena lecturers from Arab / Yemen, etc. then you really "bad luck" lah, because like our most of "Malaysians", who can't form proper sentence with English doh.gif

Anyhow, eventually in Malaysia you have to brave through this "bad luck" lah, UM also do exists this type of people.
Hopefully Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) session/classes are available for you. sweat.gif
If not really need to find your lecturer, seeing him/her willing to entertain you or not.
tpleong
post Aug 21 2017, 08:40 AM

803 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 19 2017, 04:08 PM)
I completed my A levels and i got 2A*  1A. A* for bio and chem, another A for maths.

Biotechnology can find job in Malaysia? Some relatives tell me you have to study until PhD in order to find a job and do research... Some tell me there is no job for pharmacist...

Im seriously puzzled...
Also , look into chiropractic
SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 21 2017, 07:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 21 2017, 08:40 AM)
Also , look into chiropractic
Alright, will look into it. Thanks for ur help biggrin.gif
tpleong
post Aug 21 2017, 08:23 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 21 2017, 07:53 PM)
Alright, will look into it. Thanks for ur help biggrin.gif
If I were you , I wont do pharmacy . Job prospect is limited , you wont go far if you work for people . If you open your own pharmacy , its so competitive out there unless you open one in small town .

I would think you stand a better chance to succeed if you do medicine . We are still lack of specialist !!

Just my 2 cents smile.gif
SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 21 2017, 09:58 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 21 2017, 08:23 PM)
If I were you , I wont do pharmacy . Job prospect is limited , you wont go far if you work for people .  If you open your own pharmacy , its so competitive out there unless you open one in small town .

I would think you stand a better chance to succeed if you do medicine . We are still lack of specialist !!

Just my 2 cents  smile.gif
I thought doctors are oversupplied in Malaysia.
tpleong
post Aug 21 2017, 10:44 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 21 2017, 09:58 PM)
I thought doctors are oversupplied in Malaysia.
Do you know that pharmacist also oversupplied ?

Do a bit more research on medicine / pharmacist , see what options available . you will find an answer

This post has been edited by tpleong: Aug 21 2017, 10:51 PM
Just Visiting By
post Aug 21 2017, 10:50 PM

1,846 posts

I understand that biotechnology has limited prospect in Malaysia. A lot of people switch to other jobs because they couldn't get a relevant job. Those that got mostly work for factories, a few do researches in universities, probably going to be lecturers.

Pharmacy is a better option but Pharmacy is getting oversupplied too. I would say it's a better option but I would advise you to maybe consider another alternative. Unless it's your interest to go for Pharmacy, then please follow your heart. If it's for job prospect then maybe you should keep your options open because 4 years later (after you graduate), the market may be oversupplied or near over-supply. Just raising some concern.
SUSreplayzxc
post Aug 21 2017, 10:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 21 2017, 10:50 PM)
I understand that biotechnology has limited prospect in Malaysia. A lot of people switch to other jobs because they couldn't get a relevant job. Those that got mostly work for factories, a few do researches in universities, probably going to be lecturers.

Pharmacy is a better option but Pharmacy is getting oversupplied too. I would say it's a better option but I would advise you to maybe consider another alternative. Unless it's your interest to go for Pharmacy, then please follow your heart. If it's for job prospect then maybe you should keep your options open because 4 years later (after you graduate), the market may be oversupplied or near over-supply. Just raising some concern.
There are only a few alternatives....
limeuu
post Aug 22 2017, 09:08 AM

12,293 posts

Do pharmacy and apply to um and USM....

TreyLey
post Aug 22 2017, 03:06 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(replayzxc @ Aug 19 2017, 04:08 PM)
I completed my A levels and i got 2A*  1A. A* for bio and chem, another A for maths.

Im seriously puzzled...
Pharma anytime, trust me
geston92
post Aug 23 2017, 11:00 AM

Please only choose pharmacy if that is your passion and you willing to work in the hospital or community pharmacy or as regulatory in pharma industry. I would say the same for medicine if you're considering. What's your passion and where do you see yourself in 10 years time.

This post has been edited by geston92: Aug 23 2017, 11:01 AM

0.0225sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:26 AM