Pre-employment medical check up, Question
HazriJB
Jan 8 2019, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(raymondha @ Dec 20 2018, 05:02 PM) too bad, it depends on doctor whether put in the report whether u are fit or unfit for the employment... i proceed with the check-up & based on record the doc said fit to work. unfortunately, the company decided decline their offer as my status is against company policy
raymondha
Jan 8 2019, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(HazriJB @ Jan 8 2019, 08:36 AM) i proceed with the check-up & based on record the doc said fit to work. unfortunately, the company decided decline their offer as my status is against company policy ur status against??? i wonder what status will cause company decline u ..... u kill people? u put fire? u rape? u smuggle???
HazriJB
Jan 8 2019, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(raymondha @ Jan 8 2019, 10:40 AM) ur status against??? i wonder what status will cause company decline u ..... u kill people? u put fire? u rape? u smuggle??? my status person-living-with-HIV (PLHIV) the company is concerned about my health condition. in case anything happen to me, insurance company won't pay medical expenses etc.
raymondha
Jan 8 2019, 03:20 PM
........like that ah ........ then no choice .... find those company no discriminate people one lo
Bujang88 P
Sep 4 2019, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(HazriJB @ Jan 8 2019, 12:58 PM) my status person-living-with-HIV (PLHIV) the company is concerned about my health condition. in case anything happen to me, insurance company won't pay medical expenses etc. Is it your medical check up report disclose to co?
KuroWanko
Sep 4 2019, 03:49 PM

From my experience, big company has panel clinic for potential employee to do free pre-employment medical checkup.
Since the company paid for your report, you will not know the result. I just did my med check in BP Healthcare for free. Just basic blood test, urine test, chest x-ray, eye sight, BMI.
After a few days, company called me that I passed the test and e-mail me the offer letter. EZ
twentyfour24
Nov 13 2019, 07:29 AM

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Sep 4 2019, 03:49 PM) From my experience, big company has panel clinic for potential employee to do free pre-employment medical checkup. Since the company paid for your report, you will not know the result. I just did my med check in BP Healthcare for free. Just basic blood test, urine test, chest x-ray, eye sight, BMI. After a few days, company called me that I passed the test and e-mail me the offer letter. EZ May I know what type of blood test involved?
KuroWanko
Nov 13 2019, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(twentyfour24 @ Nov 13 2019, 07:29 AM) May I know what type of blood test involved? For my case, it is confidential to the company and I really dont know what tests they did. They just took my blood samples. If u r not doing any drugs, should be ok. Heard that some companies dont allow their employees to smoke so good luck.
lemonnoob P
Nov 18 2019, 03:52 PM
Hi, I am from Sarawak and I was told by a company need to go BP Healthcare for pre-employment medical check up however I went to the BP healthcare at my area and was told by them they can't perform medical check-up due to lack of medical equipment and doctor. I called all the BP healthcare listed in Sarawak area and received same answer. I want to ask is that normal?
dc_hunter
Jul 23 2020, 12:58 AM

Hi. If i have high blood pressure, what is the probability that the company will reject me?
mini orchard
Jul 23 2020, 06:45 AM
QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Jul 23 2020, 12:58 AM) Hi. If i have high blood pressure, what is the probability that the company will reject me? Should not be a problem. High blood pressure can be controlled with medication and healthy lifestyle practise. Drs also know you want to cari makan...they know what to write. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 23 2020, 06:59 AM
hksgmy
Jul 23 2020, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Jul 23 2020, 12:58 AM) Hi. If i have high blood pressure, what is the probability that the company will reject me? Depends on what job you’re doing. Eg. If you’re applying for a PMET role, I don’t think so. If you’re applying to be a fighter pilot, yes.
Klsa
Jul 23 2020, 10:31 AM

did it before and lol that's how I discover health issue that Im facing at that time or else GG cz never did health check up before blood sample taken and was told to get result 3 days later, somehow they send my report to the employer and I'm hired on following week!
dc_hunter
Jul 23 2020, 11:28 AM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 23 2020, 08:24 AM) Depends on what job you’re doing. Eg. If you’re applying for a PMET role, I don’t think so. If you’re applying to be a fighter pilot, yes. Fot mine, is a office based IT role. My reading is about 135/90.
hksgmy
Jul 23 2020, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Jul 23 2020, 11:28 AM) Fot mine, is a office based IT role. My reading is about 135/90. As a doctor I can assure you. NO ISSUE. Good luck my friend!
dc_hunter
Jul 23 2020, 01:09 PM

I just go and did an mock up test for my pre employment check up.
Blood pressure 136/88 Pulse rate 95 Chest scan no issue Blood glucose 8.4 but i forgot to fasting... I ate chicken rice half an hour before I did the test.
So for this kind of results ok for employment?
hksgmy
Jul 23 2020, 04:21 PM
Non-fasting - how many hours after food? The examining doctor should indicate that it’s a job-fasting sample. Apart from the raised heart rate (because you’re likely a little anxious), the rest of the readings are ok.
A non fasting post-prandial sample of 8.4mmol/l does not indicate diabetes.
dc_hunter
Jul 27 2020, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 23 2020, 04:21 PM) Non-fasting - how many hours after food? The examining doctor should indicate that it’s a job-fasting sample. Apart from the raised heart rate (because you’re likely a little anxious), the rest of the readings are ok. A non fasting post-prandial sample of 8.4mmol/l does not indicate diabetes. About 1.5 hours after food. But actually my health check letter doesn't stated that i must fasting. I think mine should be fine but what i more worried is panic attack and cause my bp skyrocket.
hksgmy
Jul 27 2020, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Jul 27 2020, 08:04 PM) About 1.5 hours after food. But actually my health check letter doesn't stated that i must fasting. I think mine should be fine but what i more worried is panic attack and cause my bp skyrocket. There’s a simple way to get past that. Take home monitoring BP measurements and record them down over 1 week (buy one of those automatic BP machines) - and show your doctor.
dc_hunter
Jul 27 2020, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2020, 08:16 PM) There’s a simple way to get past that. Take home monitoring BP measurements and record them down over 1 week (buy one of those automatic BP machines) - and show your doctor. What i did is I'm taking a video of myself doing bp measurement. Hope the doc accept it...