UNIFI SLOW UPLOAD SPEED, GOOD DOWNLOAD SPEED BUT SLOW UPLOAD

TSMilano7
post Aug 17 2017, 10:42 AM, updated 7y ago

193 posts

hi, im using the unifi 30mb. i usually dont have any problem when downloading a file to my computer. However, its always a problem when i try to upload file (upload an attachment to email, upload a picture to instagram).

When i do a speedtest, i dont have any problem with the download speed. But the upload speed doesnt even manage to be higher than 500kb.

May any sifu advise me how to fix this problem? should i change the router? im using the stock unifi router and modem.

CyrusWong
post Aug 17 2017, 10:54 AM

1,626 posts

have you tested with lan cable? remember to disconnect from wifi when testing.
Zot
post Aug 17 2017, 10:56 AM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Aug 17 2017, 10:42 AM)
hi, im using the unifi 30mb. i usually dont have any problem when downloading a file to my computer. However, its always a problem when i try to upload file (upload an attachment to email, upload a picture to instagram).

When i do a speedtest, i dont have any problem with the download speed. But the upload speed doesnt even manage to be higher than 500kb.

May any sifu advise me how to fix this problem? should i change the router? im using the stock unifi router and modem.

Have you done the speedtest? What you get with WiFi? Compare to speed using LAN cable
myandylai
post Aug 17 2017, 11:32 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Aug 17 2017, 10:42 AM)

That's weird. Shouldn't be that slow. Speedtest again with Ethernet cable connection (disconnect WiFi) as others recommended above. If you have QOS enabled try disable and speedtest again.

BTW what's the WiFi router provider to you from UniFi? TP-Link C1200?

Best regard.

regnessem
post Aug 17 2017, 12:22 PM

393 posts

is it wifi or is it lan?
r u using the internet on your own or you're sharing with friends?
Maxram
post Aug 17 2017, 04:12 PM

140 posts

I used to have similar issue with slow upload with TPLink C1200, after change to another router, problem solved.
TSMilano7
post Aug 17 2017, 07:26 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Aug 17 2017, 04:12 PM)
I used to have similar issue with slow upload with TPLink C1200, after change to another router, problem solved.
what type of router you use to replace the tplink c1200?
Xefron
post Aug 17 2017, 08:25 PM

2,507 posts

it is the router, I am having that stupid problem too, always failed when doing speed test.replace with non-tplink router, problem solved.
myandylai
post Aug 17 2017, 10:23 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Aug 17 2017, 04:12 PM)
I am using 3x C1200 all without issue. Upload speed can reach 50Mbps and download at 100Mbps no issue. But of course this C1200 is not a good router, that can be sure. But still usable.

The speedtest below are from 3x C1200 (100Mbps UniFiBiz x3)

Best regard.

This post has been edited by myandylai: Aug 17 2017, 11:40 PM
Maxram
post Aug 18 2017, 08:52 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Aug 17 2017, 07:26 PM)
what type of router you use to replace the tplink c1200?
Asus RT-68U, very stable and piece of mind after change.

Was struggling before that, calling TM tech support, after 1.5 months, a 8 complaints later, and many hours of troubleshooting, I had enough of TP-Link AC1200, even though TM telling me it is the best router they have....
kel32
post Sep 2 2017, 09:40 PM

199 posts

unifi lite with TP-Link AC1200 router, wifi through android phone get 0mbps unload compare to 5mbps using lan PC. Anyone manage to solved it?
kel32
post Sep 2 2017, 09:41 PM

199 posts

unifi lite with TP-Link AC1200 router, wifi through android phone get 0mbps unload compare to 5mbps using lan PC. Anyone manage to solved it?
sonypshomer
post Sep 3 2017, 12:27 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Aug 18 2017, 08:52 AM)
Asus RT-68U, very stable and piece of mind after change.
That one support Hypptv?
System Error Message
post Sep 5 2017, 11:04 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 3 2017, 12:27 PM)
That one support Hypptv?
ofcourse it does

Very strangely i dont see speed issues with tp link router but i dont use tplink routers as a router, only wifi ap.

I use both tp link and asus as wifi and they're both good. TP link usually comes with a slower CPU, hence for tm unifi it cannot use hardware acceleration having to deal with both vlans and PPPOE including bridging for IPTV. Not even asus can either but unifi speeds in malaysia arent high enough to max out the AC68U CPU yet unless you have too many QoS rules.

0.0127sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:19 PM