Excel cannot open the file

TSVitorSoares
post Aug 15 2017, 07:21 PM, updated 7y ago

HI,
We have a file server with windows 7 sharing some folders, since the last lost of energy the server restarted but we have noticed that some excel files are now corrupted, we got the following message:
"Excel cannot open the file myfile.xls because the file format or file extension is not valid"
We have tried to open and repair the file, but always appears an empty file.
Also, We tried "Excel repair toolbox" application but this tool indicates the following:
"All bytes in the file myfile.xls are equal zero. Program cannot do anything with an empty file"
Any ideas? How to do recovery for Excel 2007?
Regards.

Zot
post Aug 15 2017, 07:50 PM

7,591 posts

try another compatible application like LibreOffice
If cannot I guess nothing can be done
TSVitorSoares
post Aug 15 2017, 09:47 PM

thank you. I'll try to do as you said.
WebWalker
post Aug 15 2017, 09:57 PM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Should do regular backup for your file server.
If HDD die, all gone lor.
netmatrix
post Aug 15 2017, 11:50 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

The chances of recovering an .xls file that was opened over the network are more slim than it being stored in their own pc. Its the way the .tmp & .bak works. Anytime you open an office file .xls, .doc, .ppt, the working/transaction file is located in your pc and not over network. So any interruption (power loss/ pc hang) to the transaction file would mean data loss unless the data dump was made in a short duration of time.

You can somewhat prevent this by settting autosave to a shorter interval instead of default 10 minutes. You can set this in Excel Option - Save - Auto save duration. This may reduce the likely hood of data loss or corruption.

Having a background service file synchronizing software is also an added safety feature.
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 16 2017, 12:01 PM

3,772 posts

first, why your file server run on windows 7 OS?
I think your file server is PC server NOT the pure Server spec.
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 16 2017, 12:04 PM

3,772 posts

one thing, try to look for your excel name with aaa.tmp format in windows/temp folder.
If there is, try to rename to aaa.xls then open
if you hv luck, you an recover it. Good Luck
TruboXL
post Aug 16 2017, 02:07 PM

Over 900 useless posts
984 posts

try Previous Version?
okelly
post Aug 16 2017, 06:29 PM

See if an Excel spreadsheet gets corrupted, it can't be opened. Though, there is a way to open corrupt spreadsheet, but sometimes it may fail. You can try to open the spreadsheet by using Open and Repair technique. It's very simple.

Open MS Excel > click on File tab > Open > select corrupt .xlsx file > click on the arrow beside open button > Open and Repair.

truthseeker
post Aug 16 2017, 06:32 PM

140 posts

if the file already zero byte, even you manage to open the file, there won't be any data
okelly
post Aug 16 2017, 06:34 PM

This technique is useful, but not so effective if file is severely corrupted. In such situation you can check some third-party recovery applications for example as Excel Recovery Toolbox or others or if you have backup file. I don't know other ways more. http://www.oemailrecovery.com/excel_recovery.html
TSVitorSoares
post Aug 16 2017, 09:47 PM

Thank you guys for your feedback and help. Thank you!

0.0144sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:55 AM