Benelli TRK 502 vs Honda CB500X, Entry Touring Bike comparison

TSsherz88
post Aug 15 2017, 06:44 PM, updated 9y ago

145 posts

Hi guys, not sure if this topic has been open before but i cant find it in Biker Base. icon_question.gif laugh.gif

Need some suggestion for cheap touring bike. currently, 2 bikes match my budget of roughly RM30K which are Honda CB500X and the new Benelli TRK 502. At first glance, what can I gather info from internet is only as below;

Benelli TRK 502

Pros;
- Sweet looking drool.gif
- slightly cheaper
- comes with hand guard and box
- bigger size and chasis

cons;
- reliability is uncertain-ed as its new model.
- spare part seems hard to find

Honda CB500X

Pros;
- from youtube review, its very reliable and tahan lasak
- affordable maintenance and spare part

cons;
- looks arent as sweet as benelli
- standard without accessories like hand guard or box
- slightly small size

I travel around 80km per day for work and would need a very reliable and relatively fast bike. (using honda wave 125 now cry.gif)
yoshiki81
post Aug 15 2017, 06:48 PM

177 posts

Honda..brand..it trustworthy
quadreduce
post Aug 15 2017, 07:01 PM

32 posts

I dont have much money to try benellis reliability. so ill go with honda.

But trk is sure a nice bike. Its just my balls not big enuf to try my luck.

This post has been edited by quadreduce: Aug 15 2017, 07:03 PM
basilisk
post Aug 15 2017, 07:18 PM

30 posts

frm my earlier post

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84779549

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84781972

for a new bike like the trk, u hv to wait at least a year or more in msia to know the issues, if u can read chinese even better cos in china got forums discuss issues of benelli bikes.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Aug 15 2017, 07:34 PM
TSsherz88
post Aug 15 2017, 07:19 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 15 2017, 07:18 PM)
Thanks!!
basilisk
post Aug 16 2017, 12:21 AM

30 posts

here is a review of trk502 in chinese, even this fler said some of the trk finishing is not as good compared to tnt600...

basilisk
post Aug 16 2017, 12:49 AM

30 posts

trk vs cb500x.. in spanish.. biggrin.gif

haturaya
post Aug 16 2017, 09:29 AM

2,554 posts

My personal choice would be Honda.
TSsherz88
post Aug 16 2017, 09:46 AM

145 posts

Most review is not in english. and I joined Benelli TRK 502 group in FB but most got their bike less than a month.. perhaps should wait 3-4 months to decide hahaha.. reason being i really likes Benelli TRK 502 design but couldnt afford any breakdown as i am travelling everyday including weekend. thanks for the vids above. will view during lunch time smile.gif
D'cruise61
post Aug 16 2017, 09:49 AM

It's a no-brainer, Honda is you choice since you already mentioned that reliability is your main concern. Honda is proven n you are not sure of the TKR's reliability.
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 16 2017, 03:29 PM

1,057 posts

TRK502 got bigger fuel tank, bigger size & better looks.

But with that also comes its porky weight, which will definitely blunt the grunt of that weedy 500cc parallel twin lump.
champu
post Aug 16 2017, 04:33 PM

Champu
633 posts

Two time benelli RKV user. I was unlucky the first time using as it was their very first batch in MY.

Cons;
- Lots of part issues, inconsistent QC
- Wasted a lot of time on repairs, a simple carb change under warranty made me wait for up to 6 hours at the Jalan Ipoh branch. Which is like the next best branch after sg buloh
- Terrible, terrible resale value

Pros
- As what you've mentioned above

My suggestion would be to stick with the tried and tested Honda Motors if you're outside KL. If inner KL then maybe can consider but again depends on your flexibility.

They do have a towing service, but like any they're either incompetent staffs or not familiar. Also consider your time wasted or getting stranded in the middle of the road.

Hope this helps. Would I consider Benelli again? Sure, but only 2nd hand models due to its price point and considering any additional repairs I need to factor in
TSsherz88
post Aug 16 2017, 04:48 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Aug 16 2017, 04:33 PM)
Two time benelli RKV user. I was unlucky the first time using as it was their very first batch in MY.

Cons;
- Lots of part issues, inconsistent QC
- Wasted a lot of time on repairs, a simple carb change under warranty made me wait for up to 6 hours at the Jalan Ipoh branch. Which is like the next best branch after sg buloh
- Terrible, terrible resale value

Pros
- As what you've mentioned above

My suggestion would be to stick with the tried and tested Honda Motors if you're outside KL. If inner KL then maybe can consider but again depends on your flexibility.

They do have a towing service, but like any they're either incompetent staffs or not familiar. Also consider your time wasted or getting stranded in the middle of the road.

Hope this helps. Would I consider Benelli again? Sure, but only 2nd hand models due to its price point and considering any additional repairs I need to factor in
Thanks champu... within klang valley.. but based on feedback i guess honda its the right choice. thank you all
acrylic_26
post Aug 31 2017, 05:44 PM

267 posts

Im cb500x owner. I travel almost 90km (semenyih-bangsar) daily. So far, Cb500x worth every penny. With RM35 fuel weekly and RM 2xx service every 2 month, that a lot of saving compare if travelling with car which cost RM15 toll daily!!

This post has been edited by acrylic_26: Sep 1 2017, 06:54 AM
foosurat
post Dec 20 2017, 10:53 PM

Anyone has latest comments on Benelli TRK 502. Any major problems?
ajaibman
post Dec 20 2017, 11:47 PM

233 posts

I had a friend of mine ride from Bandung Indonesia to Paris France in a Benelli TNT 600...

He only had one major break down in India, the fuel pump died due to dirty Indian fuel quality.

But Also i heard from a dude that I met in GIVI point (Jalan Ipoh) before Mforce took over the dealership, he complained his TNT600 wiring burned and short without any apparent reason and the bike just 10k Km ride away from the showroom.

While Honda, I rode with few of Honda CBX friend to Thailand.. no issue whatsover, and they need to wait for me to do frequent fuel filled up stop as their bike really save petrol..

In Thailand the Honda CBX 500 is the De Facto big bike for touring compare even to Versys...

You can always service your CBX500 in Hatyai Big Wing.. (and another reason to cross border) ..

basilisk
post Dec 21 2017, 02:35 AM

30 posts

bernelli, if u live close to service center then ok, any problem send to claim.

some ppl got prob some no prob..

ppl got no prob will always say, every brand oso got problem,

but some will say, other brand got less chance of prob,... but bernelli more chance to get prob.. LOL...

so it is like judi la..

those who dare.... smile.gif...

ZZR-Pilot
post Dec 28 2017, 01:00 PM

1,057 posts

I ride a Benelli TNT600 every bloody day to work and back. I don't pamper it as a weekend hero bike, I trash it as a dirty workhorse - I lube the chain and change the oil regularly, and I wash the bike once every 3-4 months.

Despite not being pampered, I have had no major issues with reliability or spare parts.

So I'm tempted to go with the TRK502 over the Honda, by virtue of the fact that you get a lot more bang for your buck.

Buy the Honda is you like the brand. But beyond that, the TRK wins hands down in my book. Because I use my bike to commute, the TRK502's humungous fuel tank is a big plus for me.

Too bad I'm not a fan of parallel twins...
ViV0
post Jul 13 2018, 03:01 PM

Reviving a old post, so far anyone bought TRK502?
basilisk
post Jul 13 2018, 03:29 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(ViV0 @ Jul 13 2018, 03:01 PM)
Reviving a old post, so far anyone bought TRK502?
got but not in this forum biggrin.gif

rider chris u know? wrote bout it in his travels on this bike around msia n swak sabah...

TRK502X launched by binilli recently... biggrin.gif

https://overlandmag.com/features/benelli-tr...2-x-first-ride/

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jul 13 2018, 04:17 PM
ViV0
post Jul 13 2018, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 13 2018, 03:29 PM)
got but not in this forum  biggrin.gif

rider chris u know? wrote bout it in his travels on this bike around msia n swak sabah...

TRK502X launched by binilli recently...  biggrin.gif

https://overlandmag.com/features/benelli-tr...2-x-first-ride/

Yea i know, just asking anyone owned the TRK or not here brows.gif ohhsom bike fully equip accessories, no need to spend extra to get the side box, crash bar, etc..
lowpro
post Jul 14 2018, 06:17 PM

180 posts

I think Benelli can actually shave more weight off the bike. They just need to use better materials in construction but then again, better materials usually mean higher cost. With the need to go up against the establishment, and also to see cost benefit analysis. I guess that's why they decided to go with what they have today...and that is, to undercut the competition because they don't have the brand strength in price and give more goodies but sacrifice in the way of how the bike is constructed.

Maybe the next generation will come with more hi-tech materials to shave weight but that largely depends on the take up of this current model where they sell on price advantage and loaded up with goodies. So, more people buy now, they will most probably up their game for the next model. If nobody takes up, they may need to go back to the drawing board
ViV0
post Jul 20 2018, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jul 14 2018, 06:17 PM)
I think Benelli can actually shave more weight off the bike. They just need to use better materials in construction but then again, better materials usually mean higher cost. With the need to go up against the establishment, and also to see cost benefit analysis. I guess that's why they decided to go with what they have today...and that is, to undercut the competition because they don't have the brand strength in price and give more goodies but sacrifice in the way of how the bike is constructed.

Maybe the next generation will come with more hi-tech materials to shave weight but that largely depends on the take up of this current model where they sell on price advantage and loaded up with goodies. So, more people buy now, they will most probably up their game for the next model. If nobody takes up, they may need to go back to the drawing board
I agree to some extend bro, already the bike weight 235kg (wet), !but! lets think for a moment and please hear my thoughts and my 5cents. Okay, for me lets consider about the standard accessory that contributed to its weight, can't we agree the crash bar, side/top box bracket and wind breaker frame could easily be least 20kg?, imagine if the CB500X added the same brackets and crash bar the weight will be similar, the Italian and Chinese designer/engineers would have calculated this prior releasing their product wouldn't they? hmm.gif , and for the materials so far used in constructing the bike is on par with any close competition, and further investigation on GOOGLE icon_idea.gif that Benelli(QJ Chinese current owner) use BMW as a benchmark to R&D their product, you can see the similarity of the TRK 502 with the BMW GS variant.

Lastly about the brand is already very well establish just that the perception on asian market is on the low sides, many competitions could not compete in terms of standard package the TRK 502 offered and price i do not need to elaborate if you compared. The close competition namely the CB500X. Many complained that the gimmick for the local distributor for Honda is withholding the ABS brakes to come as standard and make believe the ones with ABS comes as a premiums package only, perhaps they should ditch the old marketing habits and start giving the necessary accessory as a standard as what Benelli is practicing for our local market.
basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 04:13 AM

30 posts

the weight of trk 502 is without accessories...

no bike put their weight on paper is fully loaded with extras ... biggrin.gif

the dry weight as stated on benelli's italian website is 213KG...

https://italy.benelli.com/product/trk-502

compared to a BMW R1200GS Adv is 223kg biggrin.gif

Leoncino 500cc dry is 186 KG

Ducati scrambler classic 800CC is 176kg dry ...

Weight comes with a price..

SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Jul 21 2018, 04:22 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 21 2018, 04:13 AM)

no bike put their weight on paper is fully loaded with extras ...  biggrin.gif

compared to a BMW R1200GS Adv is 223kg  biggrin.gif

honda is far better than beneli

i hope ts didnt buy benelli.

saw few review videos...trk got so many negative reviews..people tempted of the looks more on its reliability and its performance.
basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 08:12 AM

30 posts

got negative reviews?
which video?

most mat salleh review (in ingris) said is ok, tho its small engine n heavy..

tht y they launch the trk502x
ViV0
post Jul 21 2018, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(Perfect.Stranger @ Jul 21 2018, 04:22 AM)
honda is far better than beneli

i hope ts didnt buy benelli.

saw few review videos...trk got so many negative reviews..people tempted of the looks more on its reliability and its performance.
Hi, can you share the few video you saw and share the links here?
ViV0
post Jul 21 2018, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 21 2018, 04:13 AM)

no bike put their weight on paper is fully loaded with extras ...  biggrin.gif

compared to a BMW R1200GS Adv is 223kg  biggrin.gif

Yep I didn't mention accessories, just the frames fitted, you can see the dry weight stated varies from 210kg to 220kg if you search.
basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 11:01 AM

30 posts

the frame of cases bolt on to the bike is consider acc.
those r not included in the weight
only the weight given by the manufacturer ie benelli should be taken as the correct weight.

unless the bike is weight again by reviewers.

basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 11:35 AM

30 posts

after checking online again.. there seems to be some issue regarding the 'real' weight of TRK502

this article gives a good comparison

https://overlandmag.com/features/benelli-tr...rst-1200-miles/

UK review

https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocial/revie...kesocial-review

" I was with a friend on a CB500X. Their opinion on swapping bikes for a bit was that if the Benelli had been out when he bought the Honda it would have been a difficult decision to make. He liked that the Benelli felt more planted, torquier, with a more comfortable on road riding position and that it had a big bike feel and a good level of basic equipment. Clearly, if you’re in the market for something like this, it might be worth giving the Benelli a ride... It might surprise you as much as it did us. "

AU review

https://bikereview.com.au/review-2018-benelli-trk-502-lams/

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jul 21 2018, 11:44 AM
ViV0
post Jul 21 2018, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 21 2018, 11:35 AM)
after checking online again.. there seems to be some issue regarding the  'real' weight of TRK502

this article gives a good comparison

https://overlandmag.com/features/benelli-tr...rst-1200-miles/

UK review

https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocial/revie...kesocial-review

"  I was with a friend on a CB500X. Their opinion on swapping bikes for a bit was that if the Benelli had been out when he bought the Honda it would have been a difficult decision to make. He liked that the Benelli felt more planted, torquier, with a more comfortable on road riding position and that it had a big bike feel and a good level of basic equipment. Clearly, if you’re in the market for something like this, it might be worth giving the Benelli a ride... It might surprise you as much as it did us. "

AU review

https://bikereview.com.au/review-2018-benelli-trk-502-lams/
Thank you for verifying, as i said earlier the weight really varies, maybe the word Standard equipped does include the crash bar and top wind breaker frame, anyway lets put this aside. The question is are you an owner of TRK502? If yes, how does it performs? Any issues?
basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 02:14 PM

30 posts

if u wan to find out any info about a particular bike...

apart from coming here... u should go n meet the owners by joining them at special events or

watsap groups...

'foruming' in msia is dead... lyn is the notorious last stand... biggrin.gif

since the arrival of 'smart phones' ppl are getting lazy n abandoning forums.. esp in msia...

if u r frm klang valley, u should go to this event today... now kinda too late..

it is the launch of Benelli Best shop - by Tenaga Motor Kajang branch..

see got many trk owners there...

pic by Rusli benelli

din show got alot leoncino tho... biggrin.gif
ViV0
post Jul 21 2018, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 21 2018, 02:14 PM)
if u wan to find out any info about a particular bike...

apart from coming here... u should go n meet the owners by joining them at special events or

watsap groups...
'foruming' in msia is dead... lyn is the notorious last stand...  biggrin.gif

since the arrival of 'smart phones' ppl are getting lazy n abandoning forums.. esp in msia...
if u r frm klang valley, u should go to this event today... now kinda too late..
it is the launch of Benelli Best shop - by Tenaga Motor Kajang branch..

see got many trk owners there...

pic by Rusli benelli

din show got alot leoncino tho...  biggrin.gif

Totally agree with you on this for forum board, but still its the best place to check and get informations.
drool.gif were you there today? devil.gif
basilisk
post Jul 21 2018, 02:40 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(ViV0 @ Jul 21 2018, 02:31 PM)
Totally agree with you on this for forum board, but still its the best place to check and get informations.
drool.gif were you there today? devil.gif
i wasnt there..

u go n test ride la.. there is one test unit @ tenaga motor cheras.. call them to confirm
ViV0
post Jul 21 2018, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 21 2018, 02:40 PM)
i wasnt there..

u go n test ride la.. there is one test unit @ tenaga motor cheras..  call them to confirm
icon_idea.gif not required actually, icon_rolleyes.gif have 1 nearby my place for test ride.
DoomHammer
post Jul 31 2018, 02:11 PM

228 posts

I vote for CB500X, in Honda I trust. Currently riding a Honda since 2014, now mileage reached 82,000km already. no problem with the engine and transmission so far.
wat de....?!
post Feb 18 2022, 08:27 PM

50 posts

Went to check on trk502 V2 today
Asking price is 36k OTR cash, with 3 aluminium cases
Very tempting I would say with such accessories included despite the bulky size n weight... No idea on the reliability

On the other hand I'm waiting for cb500x 2022 launch and will check it out at bigwing... Not sure what is the price as previous version is 37k otr
From online review it seems that this new version is good, with some improvements
**boon siew honda sudah launch latest version on 15th Feb, price remains the same as previous version**

This post has been edited by wat de....?!: Feb 20 2022, 08:15 AM
Langiler
post Feb 21 2022, 06:27 AM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(wat de....?! @ Feb 18 2022, 08:27 PM)
Very tempting I would say with such accessories included despite the bulky size n weight... No idea on the reliability

On the other hand I'm waiting for cb500x 2022 launch and will check it out at bigwing... Not sure what is the price as previous version is 37k otr
From online review it seems that this new version is good, with some improvements
**boon siew honda sudah launch latest version on 15th Feb, price remains the same as previous version**
Yes the new Honda 500 series should be 1~2k price increase than old model. But the newer model is soo good looking to me. perhaps they kanot tahan Benelli TRK offering more than the CBX for rm36k
wat de....?!
post Feb 21 2022, 07:24 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Feb 21 2022, 06:27 AM)
Yes the new Honda 500 series should be 1~2k price increase than old model. But the newer model is soo good looking to me. perhaps they kanot tahan Benelli TRK offering more than the CBX for rm36k
Trk has really good offering n package, also good review. Really on par with 500x.

For a small difference of rm1k, it is very hard to decide which one to get. One is superior reliability and other with inclusive accessories {meaning no need to spend more for add-ons}

For 500x, with the same add-ons as Trk, easily would cost 3k at minimum
alexei
post Feb 21 2022, 04:13 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

TRK502 - big bike with small engine, max load is 217kg. Many Benelli bikes list their max load.
CB500X - need to search for max load, but their official accessory list side box, top box, and pillion bag at a total of ~15kg only.

Honda would be faster, agile and more fuel saving.
Benelli stable at speed, better brakes and more towards adventure.
COOLPINK
post Feb 21 2022, 04:20 PM

3,665 posts

honda cb500x.

im not saying the TRK502 is not a good bike, it just tat CB500x is more suited for our road conditions especially city riding.

in the end it still up to you to decide so test both out first.
ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 21 2022, 05:08 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(sherz88 @ Aug 15 2017, 07:44 PM)
Hi guys, not sure if this topic has been open before but i cant find it in Biker Base. icon_question.gif  laugh.gif

Need some suggestion for cheap touring bike. currently, 2 bikes match my budget of roughly RM30K which are Honda CB500X and the new Benelli TRK 502. At first glance, what can I gather info from internet is only as below;
Benelli TRK 502

Pros;
- Sweet looking  drool.gif
- slightly cheaper
- comes with hand guard and box
- bigger size and chasis

cons;
- reliability is uncertain-ed as its new model.
- spare part seems hard to find
Honda CB500X

Pros;
- from youtube review, its very reliable and tahan lasak
- affordable maintenance and spare part

cons;
- looks arent as sweet as benelli
- standard without accessories like hand guard or box
- slightly small size

I travel around 80km per day for work and would need a very reliable and relatively fast bike. (using honda wave 125 now cry.gif)
The Honda wins hands down, in my book. Coz if this is going to be your first ADV bike, kerb weight is something you have to pay attention to.

The upcoming CB500X refresh is sweet - USD forks, dual front disc brakes etc.

JustForFun
post Feb 21 2022, 05:28 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(wat de....?! @ Feb 18 2022, 08:27 PM)

36K OTR?

That's crazy expensive for a made in China bike pretending to be an Italian, more so considering that you can get the CBU Suzuki V-Strom 650 at 38K OTR, which I am quite surprised no one brought it up.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Feb 21 2022, 05:29 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 22 2022, 11:06 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Feb 21 2022, 06:28 PM)
36K OTR?

That's crazy expensive for a made in China bike pretending to be an Italian, more so considering that you can get the CBU Suzuki V-Strom 650 at 38K OTR, which I am quite surprised no one brought it up.
V-Strom takde stok.

Not sure whether or not Suzuki has resolved this issue now in 2022, but around Oct last year when I wanted to throw my money down on a V-strom the shops had supply issues.

0.0333sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:02 PM