post Aug 14 2017, 09:22 PM

576 posts

pencen !!
Casey Joo
post Aug 14 2017, 10:57 PM

332 posts

I have not seen any other manufacturer produce lens for their camera covering 24-105mm (16-70mm), at f2-2.8! Sad that they seems like stopping this project altogether. The NX1 was a fine camera...

My guess was the Note 7 incident really forced them to abandon the camera side of things even if they want to further develop them.

DaddyO
post Aug 14 2017, 11:14 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Casey Joo @ Aug 14 2017, 10:57 PM)
I have not seen any other manufacturer produce lens for their camera covering 24-105mm (16-70mm), at f2-2.8! Sad that they seems like stopping this project altogether. The NX1 was a fine camera...

My guess was the Note 7 incident really forced them to abandon the camera side of things even if they want to further develop them.
Huh? Not because of Note 7 lah. They just abandon it straight out. I believe they planned to make a fresh start with NX1, with their aggressive marketing and trade-in, but didn't gain much traction. Camera business is not easy unless you build trust, loyalty and large followings cause it's not an item you can simply mass produce and sell like hotcakes like smartphones.

Though I too am sad they are gone. They are one of the pioneers of mirrorless tech before sony dominate the market.
Casey Joo
post Aug 14 2017, 11:24 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Aug 14 2017, 11:14 PM)
Huh? Not because of Note 7 lah. They just abandon it straight out. I believe they planned to make a fresh start with NX1, with their aggressive marketing and trade-in, but didn't gain much traction. Camera business is not easy unless you build trust, loyalty and large followings cause it's not an item you can simply mass produce and sell like hotcakes like smartphones.

Though I too am sad they are gone. They are one of the pioneers of mirrorless tech before sony dominate the market.
Yeah they stopped straight out, and what I meant they had enough troubles with their phones even if they want to relaunch their camera. hmm.gif

Wonder if other manufacturer going to do the 1670 f2-2.8? Easily a better option than most standard zoom out there including the unique Sigma 18-35 f1.8 hmm.gif
DaddyO
post Aug 14 2017, 11:32 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Casey Joo @ Aug 14 2017, 11:24 PM)
Yeah they stopped straight out, and what I meant they had enough troubles with their phones even if they want to relaunch their camera. hmm.gif

Wonder if other manufacturer going to do the 1670 f2-2.8? Easily a better option than most standard zoom out there including the unique Sigma 18-35 f1.8 hmm.gif
I think samsung went out of the camera business (near end of 2015) way before the note 7 trouble began (released around Aug 2016).
Casey Joo
post Aug 14 2017, 11:36 PM

332 posts

EDIT: Never mind...not seeing this going anywhere...

This post has been edited by Casey Joo: Aug 14 2017, 11:47 PM
DaddyO
post Aug 14 2017, 11:58 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Casey Joo @ Aug 14 2017, 11:36 PM)
Ok, my English is bad enough to type out what I was saying. Twice and I didn't deliver my meaning.
doh.gif There is a bunch of rumors circulating by the end of 2015 that samsung decided to invest or divert their research more into smartphone than continuing with the NX series.

It's not that "enough troubles with their phones even if they want to relaunch their camera" cause that issue never crop up until late 2016 when the first Note 7 exploded.
Casey Joo
post Aug 15 2017, 12:06 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Aug 14 2017, 11:58 PM)
doh.gif There is a bunch of rumors circulating by the end of 2015 that samsung decided to invest or divert their research more into smartphone than continuing with the NX series.

It's not that "enough troubles with their phones even if they want to relaunch their camera" cause that issue never crop up until late 2016 when the first Note 7 exploded.
Yes sifu, I'm totally ignorant and clueless and thanks for correcting me notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0166sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:43 AM