Reverse Camera but image flipped, Reverse camera but image flipped

TSnewsreadr7
post Aug 12 2017, 09:22 PM, updated 7y ago

Hi Sifus,
Hope my entry is in the correct 'room', otherwise please kindly relocate it.

I just bought a very cheap reverse cam and a 4" LCD from an online store for my car. When both the items arrived I sent them to a car accessories shop to get them installed. When all is done n i was at home I noticed that the image display is inverted - subject on the right appears on the left side of the LCD screen (??? is my description correct?), unlike images on the mirror. Totally confusing.

Was told by the techy guy i hired that the cam/lcd screen r powered by reverse lamp. There's only 3 buttons behind the lcd screen - brightness, contrast and picture. now can no longer view the switches at the rear of the display.

Seeking everyone's advice here on how to correct this please. I understand, some cheap things produce cheap results mega_shok.gif

Please help. Thanks
magnesium
post Aug 12 2017, 09:34 PM

1,130 posts

i install myself reverse camera and lcd on my lorry

maybe problem with camera installation eg upside down

maybe you upload a picture for clearer answer from others
TSnewsreadr7
post Aug 12 2017, 09:53 PM

A lamp post which is on the left side of the road, appears on the right side in the screen. Image not upside down.

If using a mirror, the lamp post still appear on the left of the mirror.

This post has been edited by newsreadr7: Aug 12 2017, 09:55 PM
makky
post Aug 12 2017, 09:59 PM

311 posts

Flip the camera around can't?
lsm1991
post Aug 12 2017, 10:28 PM

297 posts

ts.... basically your camera isnt mirror-ing/flipping the image?? usually thats a feature built into the camera itself....

some headunits (if thats what you are using to display the image) have that option...

QUOTE(makky @ Aug 12 2017, 09:59 PM)
topkek...

therain01
post Aug 12 2017, 11:53 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(newsreadr7 @ Aug 12 2017, 09:22 PM)
Hi Sifus,
Hope my entry is in the correct 'room', otherwise please kindly relocate it.

I just bought a very cheap reverse cam and a 4" LCD from an online store for my car. When both the items arrived I sent them to a car accessories shop to get them installed. When all is done n i was at home I noticed that the image display is inverted - subject on the right appears on the left side of the LCD screen (??? is my description correct?), unlike images on the mirror. Totally confusing.

Was told by the techy guy i hired that the cam/lcd screen r powered by reverse lamp. There's only 3 buttons behind the lcd screen - brightness, contrast and picture. now can no longer view the switches at the rear of the display.

Seeking everyone's advice here on how to correct this please. I understand, some cheap things produce cheap results  mega_shok.gif

Please help. Thanks
I think you need to dig harder on the lcd screen. Check with the seller where to disable flip image.
Richard
post Aug 12 2017, 11:57 PM

1,083 posts

If its a rear view camera then the it would be mirror image same as how a rear view mirror..

You need to mount the camera pointed behind the vehicle ..

This post has been edited by Richard: Aug 12 2017, 11:59 PM
Vervain
post Aug 13 2017, 09:33 AM

Scathach
5,458 posts

TS. Image is not flipped. either you got a front camera or you HU didn't flip it.
TSnewsreadr7
post Aug 20 2017, 07:18 PM

Fixed already. Learned that there's a white looping wire close to the cam jacks. Was told to cut it off to correct the flipped image. Now, awesome result! Kudos to all advises here. rclxms.gif
matrix88
post Aug 20 2017, 07:29 PM

2,099 posts

1 ) either your headunit have the function to flip
2 ) there is one wire from the camera (some do), that when you cut this wire, the image is flipped. check yours
SUSwaiora_protuner
post Aug 20 2017, 07:34 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Aug 12 2017, 09:34 PM)
i install myself reverse camera and lcd on my lorry

maybe  problem with camera installation eg upside down

maybe you upload a picture for clearer answer from others
QUOTE(makky @ Aug 12 2017, 09:59 PM)
QUOTE(Richard @ Aug 12 2017, 11:57 PM)
If its a rear view camera then the it would be mirror image same as how a rear view mirror..

You need to mount the camera pointed behind the vehicle ..
LOL

im collecting automotive expert /k answers...lol
TSnewsreadr7
post Aug 20 2017, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 20 2017, 07:29 PM)
1 ) either your headunit have the function to flip
2 ) there is one wire from the camera (some do), that when you cut this wire, the image is flipped. check yours
corrected already

This post has been edited by newsreadr7: Aug 20 2017, 08:38 PM

0.0163sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:15 PM