Planing to get a used Bmw e90 or w203-204, So can I hear your opinion

TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 12 2017, 07:40 PM, updated 9y ago

Because I saw many bmw e90 and w204 for sale around
Rm 40 - 80 k
I was thinking of picking one up for daily driving.
I have never experience driving a german cars
Around 2007 -2008 versions
Bmw 320i , 328i
or
Mercedes
C180,C200,C250

This post has been edited by ShiratoriHime: Aug 12 2017, 07:40 PM
digilife
post Aug 12 2017, 08:16 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Usually, beemers are sportier compared to benz but benz interior always more hnngh

Beemers tend to be more sensitive on sensors , hence more issues but the handling is much better compared to benz.

Benz tends to give less issues, esp on mechanical & electronics.

Pick you choose.

I myself is driving a E46, handling tarpau most JDM's & local cars.

Maintenance wise, get ready some spare cash anytime .........

Ginny88
post Aug 12 2017, 08:22 PM

1,032 posts

Do you know much about maintaining a BMW or Merc? Do you have a trusted mechanic who specialize in BMW or Merc? Do you know where to buy used spare parts and half-cuts? Are you able to spend RM10K a year on maintenance without any hardship? Do you have a spare car or alternative transport when your car breaks down?

If you answer to all the above questions is "No" then better stay away from these cars.

digilife
post Aug 13 2017, 12:23 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 12 2017, 08:22 PM)
Do you know much about maintaining a BMW or Merc? Do you have a trusted mechanic who specialize in BMW or Merc? Do you know where to buy used spare parts and half-cuts? Are you able to spend RM10K a year on maintenance without any hardship? Do you have a spare car or alternative transport when your car breaks down?

If you answer to all the above questions is "No" then better stay away from these cars.
True, freaking true.

thumbsup.gif
alphaz
post Aug 13 2017, 10:24 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 12 2017, 08:16 PM)
Usually, beemers are sportier compared to benz but benz interior always more hnngh

Beemers tend to be more sensitive on sensors , hence more issues but the handling is much better compared to benz.

Pick you choose.

How much average cost of maintenance per year?
Andrew_1980
post Aug 13 2017, 10:29 AM

6,196 posts

Merc less issue than BMW, W204 is quite a good choice. But the maintenance fee is too heavy.
KennyKB
post Aug 13 2017, 01:43 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(alphaz @ Aug 13 2017, 10:24 AM)
There is no "average" cost of maintenance. It depends on your luck and knowledge and experience in dealing with mechanics. If you are not very knowledgeable or experienced better allocate RM10K a year for maintenance. Some years will be more, some less so if you don't use all of it in 1 year carry it over to the next year.

TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 13 2017, 10:50 PM

Pick you choose.

OK Yes

Benz price is more stable compare to bmw drop so bad .

For example w203 2005 costs around RM 40000

Bmw e90 320i 2007 costs around Rm40 k

Handling bmw vs mercedes
which is better ?
scorgio
post Aug 14 2017, 01:28 AM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(ShiratoriHime @ Aug 13 2017, 10:50 PM)
OK Yes

Handling bmw vs mercedes
which is better ?
Don't touch the W203.
It's developed in a time when Benz was under Daimler Chrysler, the management kind of screwed-up back then.
The sensors, the electronic modules (cost $$$$ to replace), very kacau here & there.
xXTAUFANXx
post Aug 14 2017, 01:35 AM

79 posts

bmw utk kepuasan pemandu..merc utk keselesaan penumpang
xemoboyx
post Aug 14 2017, 07:08 AM

109 posts

if it were me,my 1st choice would be w203 c270. Good workhorse, and most of them are well equipped. if you get the avantgarde version, it is good enough for daily usage. It is easily serviceable, and the engine is proven in the Mercedes line since the 90s. Car might be a bit heavy, and not dynamic for spirited driving. but it is good on fuel consumption and the comfort is still top notch. Cruising at 160-200kmh can get about 900km per tank. enough for me to go to Singapore, long kai for a few rounds, and still have more than enough fuel to cruise back to KL at 200kmh . only cost RM110 per full tank. (55l of diesel)

my 2nd choice would be e90 320i, abit under power engine, but the driving dynamics is perfect for a compact sedan. If i were you , i would up my budget for a e90 323i, the bmw 6 cylinder is a gem of an engine. good for highway cruising. downside is the slightly expensive roadtax, and engine oil usage.

my last choice would be the w204 c180, mainly because of its low roadtax and punchy supercharged engine. cruising on the highway at 160-200kmh is easy on this car, better than the e90 320i in terms of power. If you use n-s highway often, it might be a pro in your list. cheap roadtax, compact sedan, comfort ride.

all within 50k range.

digilife
post Aug 14 2017, 09:44 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(alphaz @ Aug 13 2017, 10:24 AM)
owned it since last July, it was below rm5k last year

QUOTE(ShiratoriHime @ Aug 13 2017, 10:50 PM)
OK Yes

Handling bmw vs mercedes
which is better ?
bmw handling > benz handling , year vs year

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Aug 14 2017, 07:08 AM)
if it were me,my 1st choice would be w203 c270. Good workhorse, and most of them are well equipped. if you get the avantgarde version, it is good enough for daily usage. It is easily serviceable, and the engine is proven in the Mercedes line since the 90s. Car might be a bit heavy, and not dynamic for spirited driving. but it is good on fuel consumption and the comfort is still top notch. Cruising at 160-200kmh can get about 900km per tank. enough for me to go to Singapore, long kai for a few rounds, and still have more than enough fuel to cruise back to KL at 200kmh . only cost RM110 per full tank. (55l of diesel)

my 2nd choice would be e90 320i, abit under power engine, but the driving dynamics is perfect for a compact sedan. If i were you , i would up my budget for a e90 323i, the bmw 6 cylinder is a gem of an engine. good for highway cruising. downside is the slightly expensive roadtax, and engine oil usage.

my last choice would be the w204 c180, mainly because of its low roadtax and punchy supercharged engine. cruising on the highway at 160-200kmh is easy on this car, better than the e90 320i in terms of power. If you use n-s highway often, it might be a pro in your list. cheap roadtax, compact sedan, comfort ride.
all within 50k range.
for beginners , a 4 pots engine would be easier on maintenance vs a 6 pots engine however a 6 pots have more FUN on the drive , good torque & power , ie if you dun mind the town traffic of go stop go surge on such powerful 6pots 2.8/3.0

TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 16 2017, 01:12 AM

QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 14 2017, 01:28 AM)
Don't touch the W203.
It's developed in a time when Benz was under Daimler Chrysler, the management kind of screwed-up back then.
The sensors, the electronic modules (cost $$$$ to replace), very kacau here & there.
Ok
Thank for your advise
Bmw ?
TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 16 2017, 01:13 AM

QUOTE(xXTAUFANXx @ Aug 14 2017, 01:35 AM)
bmw utk kepuasan pemandu..merc utk keselesaan penumpang
OK
Bmw memang syiok untuk pandu

Mercs macam orang tua pandu

TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 23 2017, 08:18 PM

all within 50k range.
For the mercedes w203 c270
Roadtax going to be high . I know it cheap but still we needed to pay roadtax yearly .

Bmw e90 320i is enough for me . Because if the cc is too high .
Yearly roadtax will be dead months for me
xXTeslaXx
post Aug 23 2017, 10:37 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ShiratoriHime @ Aug 23 2017, 08:18 PM)
For the mercedes w203 c270
Roadtax going to be high . I know it cheap but still we needed to pay roadtax yearly .

Bmw e90 320i is enough for me . Because if the cc is too high .
Yearly roadtax will be dead months for me
3000cc road tax rm2130 is a fraction of a 10 YO merc/bimmer's maintenance and possible wear and tear.
fastreader
post Aug 23 2017, 11:00 PM

4,554 posts

Pick you choose.

isit very teruk the breakdown?..
TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 26 2017, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 12 2017, 08:22 PM)

I am not the kind of person very sensitive .
For example abit sound or broken I will lets it be for awhile
TSShiratoriHime
post Aug 26 2017, 12:46 PM

all within 50k range.
For the Mercedes diesel
I dun really like the big cc and later drive more to save.

For the Bmw e90 320i
I like it . The price in terms of other competitors is kinda weird .
Like BMW e90 320i 2007 only costs Rm 40k

Benz w203 already costs Rm 40 k

For the benz I thought of getting the w203 C230
sweat.gif
digilife
post Aug 26 2017, 01:50 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(ShiratoriHime @ Aug 26 2017, 12:46 PM)
For the Mercedes diesel
I dun really like the big cc and later drive more to save.

For the Bmw e90 320i
I like it . The price in terms of other competitors is kinda weird .
Like BMW e90 320i 2007 only costs Rm 40k

Benz w203 already costs Rm 40 k
For the benz I thought of getting the w203 C230
sweat.gif
Do you knoe the history of the rm40k car ?
icon_idea.gif

AS far as I knoe, a really good e90 of this range, e90 320i year 2007 will cost you abt rm60~rm70k.

fr0sti3
post Aug 26 2017, 06:00 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

or get a e90 320d, too bad most of the car mileage is more than 100k
https://www.carlist.my/cars-for-sale/bmw/3-...?sort=price.asc

0.0223sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:17 PM