Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

VeeJay
post Aug 10 2017, 04:26 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(ricko99 @ Aug 10 2017, 03:59 PM)
Finally tm upgraded my 30mbps to 50mbps. Bandar Menjalara, Kepong. But both my PC and brother's pc which are connected to the router through homeplug can only reach about 38mbps. Previously, it always gave full speed when my connection was still 30mbps. Also, my phone when connected to wifi only gives out about 25mbps

My current router is this:
TP-LINK 300M Wireless N Router
Model No. TL-WR841HP

Any idea to which router I should change to? Probably between RM100 to RM200
First test it out using LAN cable (direct to router)see if you are getting 50Mbps?
If so, then try changing the router channel setting. Use Wifi Analyzer on cellphone to determent the least congested channel.
Then try to perform the speed test.

As for homeplug, whats your homeplug rating?
VeeJay
post Aug 12 2017, 11:20 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(AMstrong @ Aug 12 2017, 10:50 AM)
Guys, TM called me to exchange my TM router so they can upgrade my 50Mbps to 100Mbps. They insist that they come and  change that router 1st before they change my speed to 100Mbps. it is quite frustrated as i know my Nightgear router can handle 100Mbps

What is the make/model of the TM's 100mbps router?
lol...just ask them to deliver and get it done, if if you dont like their router, then reuse back yours biggrin.gif

Some get dlink some tplink, depends on location and device availability
VeeJay
post Aug 23 2017, 10:32 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(zhihao4456 @ Aug 23 2017, 10:08 PM)
is the DLink DIR-850L have stable ping for gaming? I only know the coverage not so good  sweat.gif
Not a heavy gamer, but mine; the coverage is pretty good. But many had complaint on coverage
VeeJay
post Aug 28 2017, 08:57 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(alexjaya @ Aug 28 2017, 03:28 PM)
TM gave me a DIR-850L B1.
Anyone can achieve 95Mbps > for download with this router?
on wifi

VeeJay
post Sep 17 2017, 05:02 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Sep 17 2017, 04:49 PM)
Guys wta i am from streamyx will be upgrading to Unifi, will they be giving me a new modem or they will be using the same streamyx modem?

I am hoping it will be a new modem bcs this streamyx modem always need to restart it after awhile...
OMG Unifi also have this issue?? I have this same problem as you but i am on 4mbps streamyx. I am now upgrading to unifi 30mbps thought won't have this kind of problems anymore...
comeon there is no full proof network service availability. It all depends on locations, equipments and service frantic of an area.

Personally from streamyx to unifi, I have less than 1% service disruption in a year
VeeJay
post Sep 17 2017, 09:55 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 17 2017, 05:39 PM)
Don't worry. Unifi on fibre is quite reliable. No experience on VDSL. Router hanging is another story but you can always get a better router of your own. The routers that TM supplies are OK if not stressed too much.
1% is 87hrs. Considered bad already but, as you said, it depends on where you are.
yeah...thats about 3 days or so...not bad at all wink.gif

thus far only once, that included weekend, hence was only resolved on monday

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Sep 17 2017, 08:22 PM)
If router on the 1st floor but i am on the second floor will this TM router be sufficient or i need to get a better router in your opinion???
Mine works fine (DLink 850L), but many claims, its insufficient

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Sep 17 2017, 09:57 PM
VeeJay
post Sep 18 2017, 01:00 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 18 2017, 12:00 AM)
Maybe you should consider dumping that router now.
https://pierrekim.github.io/blog/2017-09-08...rabilities.html
lol...nothing sensitive at my end...waiting to be hacked rolleyes.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 10 2017, 12:12 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 9 2017, 11:58 PM)
I have been using DIR850L since the first day. so far so good. wonders what kind of problems people are facing with this router until they called it rubbish bin.
exactly..... similar to you, we are one of few who feel 850L had been serving well.

I hv posted some number beginning of the year...i can get connect like 100 ft away, easily.

even when i go to my 3rd house on the row, Im still connected to my wifi...

to me this is one of the best router TM had given
VeeJay
post Oct 26 2017, 12:10 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 25 2017, 11:51 PM)
Anyone getting this problem? When I download games or patching games with big updates  my internet will die until i restart my router (I've tried leaving it for 15 minutes, but when i restart router it works straight away). When I use torrents no problem. It has happened every time I patch(League of Legends, Rainbow 6 Siege) and download Steam games.
so far nope, but how big is the file?
any link for us to test it out?
VeeJay
post Oct 29 2017, 05:51 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 29 2017, 02:33 PM)
TM is weird, SOP changes from person to person. For pppoe password I have encountered the following over the last 6 months:
1. Call TM for existing password, they read the password to me over the phone.
2. Call TM for existing password, they say cannot, have to reset. So they reset password and sms new new password to my mobile.
3. Call TM for existing password, they say cannot, have to reset. So they reset password and read the new password to me over the phone.

But anyway you can find out the existing password from the router. May also be written in the installation order form.
LOL...thats very wrong!
VeeJay
post Nov 12 2017, 02:12 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Nov 11 2017, 04:05 PM)
Sure the speed test shows 50 Mbps. While the webpage does load faster, may be 5 times, but sure doesn't seem to be 50 times faster compared to the old 1Mpbs line.
obviously...I think you misunderstood bandwidth vs latency. What you have increased is bandwidth. Surely bandwidth and latency go hand in hand to certain extend to provide better performance, just by increasing BW by X10, does mean you speed goes up by 10X.

In simple analogy, imagine bandwidth is the number of the lane in a highway, if you car can only accelerate to 10kmh, by increasing another 10 lanes, is not gonna make your car go faster.

VeeJay
post Nov 15 2017, 03:09 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(jackiez @ Nov 15 2017, 02:55 PM)
i actually made my first call this morning to double confirm with them and second call after 12.30pm, was told that my order shows processing but they dont have the contact number of the contractor  doh.gif
My appointment timing was set by the contractor, not based on the timing they had on TM system.

I made myself available upon the confirmation call from the contractor
VeeJay
post Nov 24 2017, 12:21 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Nov 23 2017, 11:28 PM)
updating promotion ... black friday  laugh.gif
lol...it seems to be down since wednesday (night, when I checked)
VeeJay
post Dec 6 2017, 04:32 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Dec 6 2017, 02:56 PM)
Had few speed test on my OnePlus 3 for 100Mbps plan

5GHz WiFi, not consistent

[attachmentid=9407880]

2.4GHz, consistent but not getting over 50Mbps for download, is it normal ?

[attachmentid=9407883]
It depends how congested your area interference is, and how far away are you from the router?

My experience with DL850L been good, some users had indicated issues....so I guess its 50/50
VeeJay
post Dec 21 2017, 11:44 PM

3,763 posts

Juts to share folks, after my "thankyou surprise" upgrade to 100Mbps, I was paying rm240.

I start opening a report via live chat. Opened a report.
Their reply was to walk in to TMpoint and meet the sales rep/manager

Walked in to TMpoint and filed in official report (hand written) indicating unfair payment treatment to long standing customer, especially with current promotion.
Within 24 hours received call and sms my payment reduced to rm189+gst

VeeJay
post Dec 22 2017, 11:55 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Dec 22 2017, 08:12 AM)
Wow. Can I know which tm point you went?
Taipan, Subang Jaya...I think its immaterial, just mention that many recent signups has rm189, and many had complaint to TM and MCMC, prior to getting the desired price. Make sure its formal written complaint from you. They will give you a form to fill up

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 22 2017, 05:31 PM)
Alright, thats gud 2 know.

Your story in a nutshell, if i hv read correctly...

.. 2.5s hse, 4000 sqft.... big.
.. 2.4ghz or 5ghz.
.. wifi or ethernet.
.. tm supplied router, no change.
.. can get full 100mbps except one ipad.
.. by changing tx power from 100% to 50%.

Is that about right?

I will be trying my case next week, see what happens.

Really, with so many struggling to get full speed, so many reasons given why cannot, solutions will be welcome.

Perhaps, someone with good experience can start a new thread...

"How to get full 100mbps ethernet or wifi, 2.4ghz or 5ghz - various scenarios".

If not, all the impt tips get drowned ih this 300 page thread, people keep asking the same questions!! biggrin.gif
Hmmm...just short of getting the address!... thumbup.gif pun intended

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 22 2017, 10:17 PM)
Finally I'm back at home and got to try 100Mbps.

Both tried at downstairs while router is at upstairs.
If only the picture was alittle bigger! cry.gif

Merry Christmas and Happy holidays folks

VeeJay
post Dec 28 2017, 11:48 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ Dec 28 2017, 06:38 PM)
i wonder why u cannot get full speed on 2.4ghz. i can get 100mbps on the first floor and up to 75 mbps at the second floor
It is also has to do with receiving device capability
VeeJay
post Jan 1 2018, 11:31 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(profilecjc97 @ Jan 1 2018, 10:24 AM)
Anyone have any idea why I'm getting packet lose out in dota 2 with 5ghz but not 2.4ghz connection?

Router : dlink drl850l updated to latest tm firmware

It all depends on your environment.

How far are you from the router?

If far, 2.4Ghz will be more stable, if near 5Ghz will be stable and stronger
VeeJay
post Jan 3 2018, 09:34 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Jan 3 2018, 09:22 PM)
Strange for first time able to achieved 100Mbps on 2Ghz  hmm.gif
did you make any changes on router or PC?
VeeJay
post Jan 16 2018, 03:16 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(mbj78 @ Jan 16 2018, 03:12 PM)

Just curious, from what plan to which you changed to?

0.2282sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:39 PM