Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

twL
post Nov 9 2017, 10:43 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 9 2017, 09:43 PM)
Their care line is *100# or 122 or 123
I hv tried on my Digi, it is really can call, but not sure need to pay or not even got unlimited call plan…

QUOTE(rhytion @ Nov 9 2017, 09:45 PM)
Nothing stated about Bonanza campaign in the email I got too. If got any issue later, time for MCMC again lorh.  doh.gif
I tot urs hv stated about Bonanza, u arrange to install on 22/11?
twL
post Nov 9 2017, 11:39 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2017, 10:50 PM)
100 is not part of free calls. Call the local no. instead, 03-2241 1290.
Ya, I also noted about this, so I just call their 03 number as we always don know we need to wait online for how long and I also don know how will they charge per minute for 100. blink.gif

QUOTE(rhytion @ Nov 9 2017, 10:53 PM)
No, but when I signed up at TM Point I did mention I want the RM139 promotion, and yup, TM arranged that day for me but TM Point trying to make it earlier for me.
If u signed up at TM Point, should be fine. I signed up thru agent, and actually I provided my IC 3 months ago before Unifi available at my address, and yesterday they direct help me to apply Unifi Lite without calling me first, so worried will hv another mistake again. Hopefully the details will provide to you during the installation... nod.gif
twL
post Nov 10 2017, 12:24 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2017, 11:50 PM)
It's the same gateway anyway, to cater to overseas callers. Same like banks but I always local no.
Ya, so I will always call the local number of careline instead of 1800 Toll Free. Anyway, this is a bit out of topic. tongue.gif

Since my case already temporary solved, hopefully no need to call back this number very soon. ^^ Now is just waiting for installation after around 3 months of waiting since they start laying fibre cable. smile.gif
twL
post Nov 12 2017, 12:30 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 11 2017, 09:50 PM)
Nah bro. The wifi extender can only get the signal from the router wirelessly, and not via cable. That can only work with powerline as I say earlier.

Powerline is like wifi extender, but it uses the power of your house (electrical power). It comes in two pairs. One pair is connected to your router via cable, and the other pair with wireless function will be like a wifi extender, but better. However, if your house is three phase wiring, then it won’t be so good and you better stick with extender. See here for more info:

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/wi-fi-extende...reless-signals/
QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 11 2017, 09:53 PM)
Powerline is more stable than wifi extender, but depend your house electrical wiring too. Majority houses wiring is like shit!
May I know which brand of Powerline is worth to buy? TP-Link is still the best? Need recommend for it before the installation of Unifi as I plan to put BTU on upstairs and router on downstairs next to my tv. Thanks in advance! ^^
twL
post Nov 12 2017, 08:51 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 12 2017, 07:35 AM)
TP-Link is a good buy. Just remember that if you want wireless function on your powerline, you need to buy the one with ‘W’ in front of its name. So, for example, WPA4530KIT.
Maybe i will not buy with wifi function, don want my home hv too much radioactive as my wife will delivery soon. If with wifi function, i will work as wifi extender, right? So is it mean will hv 2 wifi ssid?

twL
post Nov 12 2017, 08:57 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 12 2017, 12:46 AM)
twL Yeah, I think so. http://www.techadvisor.co.uk/test-centre/n.../#toc-3490638-3

Any TP-Link Powerline within your budget will do. (They will suggest accordingly your needs)
Thank u for ur share link, tried to search for review but cant get it. Im thinking to buy AV1200 which is around RM280. Im thinking whether want to buy Aztech or TP-Link as Aztech always is the first brand in my mind when think of homeplug, jz not sure currently which brand hv better quality and more stable.

Thank u ya! ^^
twL
post Nov 12 2017, 03:25 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 12 2017, 12:13 PM)
dun buy aztech, poor quality imo
I tot Aztech will hv better quality if compare woth TP-Link as they r available in the market longer than TP-Link. -.-

twL
post Nov 12 2017, 03:26 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(Senpai onegai @ Nov 12 2017, 03:13 PM)
345 O.O
Can get it at the price of RM295 from Lazada, yesterday only RM270 but i no yey decide to buy. T.T
twL
post Nov 13 2017, 12:43 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 12 2017, 09:44 PM)
I guess depends on one's experience with the brand. All my Homeplugs are Aztech. Not a single prob. The 500mbps pair, I used for about 4 years for my HyppTV STB. DLink is bad based on my neighbours experience, 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs, no connection. Single phase house. Changed to my old pair of 200mbps Aztechs, no problem. So I sold that to her. All happy now.
Ya, and I think also depends on our luck. Previously i like to buy Aztech, but my IT friend told me it is jz like "entry level" product. After I use TP-Link, feel it is cheap and quite nice. Btw, i jz order TP-Link AV1200, as i worry Unifi inataller will suddenly come and the installation cant conple without it
^^

twL
post Nov 13 2017, 12:49 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 12 2017, 03:33 PM)
No and yes. You will have 2 WiFi SSID, but it could be set as same channel or different channel.  I would recommend the channel be set differently from the router’s channel, so router could be 6 and the powerline channel could be 1 or 11, so as not to interfere with each other. Congrats on your wife delivering soon bro, but the WiFi won’t affect the baby in any way to be honest. It’s not as radioactive as you think it is.
TP-Link is MUCH better than Aztech. I would recommend the WPA4530KIT.
As izputra said, it’s HIGHLY recommended that you plug it in through wall socket. It will have to be wall socket on both ends and you could get a passthrough if you need the extra wall socket as shown by izputra.
Ya, I jz order TP-Link AV1200 (8010), i think should be no bad, right? Thank u for ur congrats, im also thinking wifi couldn't effect the baby, as now wifi is everywhere and we cant avoid it, but i will still off the wifi during sleeping hours.

I think I will direct plug on wall socket, the btu and router will direct connect to both powerline units.

Thanks for ur recommended. smile.gif

QUOTE(izputra @ Nov 12 2017, 03:40 PM)
Now can get it at the price of RM276 on Lazada (official TP-Link store). Got 20% store voucher till Nov 15.
Jz got it at RM281 from shopee, since jz RM4 different, lazy to cancel order and look for it on lazada, as i don know where is the promo code. tongue.gif

Anyway, thanks!

twL
post Nov 16 2017, 09:08 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

Finally Unifi service at my address activated on last Wednesday, but after it is activated and I want to check the coverage of my address, it has error till now, but other address r working fine. 😂

Btw, i hv already subscribed to Unifi service, and request to install on 1 Dec, or see how late can I postpone ad I might not at home about 1 month since next week. 😁

twL
post Nov 18 2017, 04:14 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

Hi all, I would like to check here, my address jz activated Unifi service one week ago but i saw my both neighbors already installed Unifi, and when I passed by my other neighbors, already at at least another 3 neighbors already installed Unifi, already at least 5 now, i would like to know, since I already sign up and got order confirmation email from TM, is it the port already reserved for me? As my wife are goinf to delivery soon and she will stay at confinement center for a month (I wipp accompany her too), so I requested to install on December, but now a bit worry later TM will tell me no more port available when I want to install. 🤔
twL
post Dec 1 2017, 06:00 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

Finally got Unifi installed at my home today with TP-Link powerline setup! Done everything in around 1.5 hours. 😁

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
twL
post Dec 1 2017, 06:07 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Dec 1 2017, 06:03 PM)
twL Remove the plastic! doh.gif
Tot can use the plastic to cover b4 it get too dirty, lol… will affect the speed?
twL
post Dec 1 2017, 06:35 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Dec 1 2017, 06:11 PM)
nope.. will get hotter only biggrin.gif
Thanks for your remind, I will remove it now. But I think sooner I have to drill some hole on my 'cabinet' and DIY a cooler,
else the modem inside will get hotter too. tongue.gif
twL
post Dec 1 2017, 06:42 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 1 2017, 06:39 PM)
Oh no, not at all. It's nicknamed as such because when it reboots, it gives you just enough time to make a cup of Nescafe.
Haha, at first I tot as long as the router is TP-Link, then will be good enough, last time my bro get the grey color one, but very unstable...
twL
post Dec 2 2017, 10:25 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Dec 1 2017, 11:47 PM)
how do we remove the @unifi ssid in Dlink 850L fw 2.09?
Maybe can try to download TP-Link apps from your phone to try, last time when Im using Huawei router, I can remove it by using apps to set the name…

twL
post Dec 2 2017, 01:10 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

Hi, my Unifi jz installed yesterday with the router of TP-Link Archer AC1200, the router located at living hall, but i realize if i at 1st floor and at kitchen, the speed will reduce to less than 8mbps, even my room jz right on top of the router position, is it I hv to do any setting? Currently In using 2.4GHz and under 30 mbps plan… is it I hv to update my firmware?
twL
post Dec 2 2017, 02:31 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 2 2017, 02:07 PM)
Finally my installation is done. (After Monday's installation snafu.)

The TM contractors came today at 1pm, passed me the new Huawei HG8240H BTU and the TPLink C1200 and had me sign the service order form. Didn't even come into the house, just asked me if I'm OK to plug everything in myself. Sure, no problem. The BTU was already configured and working when they first came on Monday.

Didn't take the old router nor the old black BTU. Actually I already had the old BTU replaced with a new one last week on a different technical report not related to the RM10 upgrade. So now I have 2 brand new Huawei HG8240s.  biggrin.gif
I got the same BTU for my 30mbps Bonanza plan, is it mean this modem can support 100mbps too? I tot i will get the BTU that same like my bro which is silver color (i think that model already use for quite some years?).

How did u setting for ur C1200 wireless? Width and channel in auto and using 2.4GHz?

twL
post Dec 2 2017, 04:58 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Dec 2 2017, 02:54 PM)
It could be because of the interference of the electrical appliances in the kitchen and congestion of nearby networks. Is your house on a single phase or three phase wiring? If it is on single phase, or even three phase if you willing to try, get a powerline to create a wireless connection in your kitchen. I would recommend an extender as a last resort, as they cut throughput in half.

Yes, the BTU can support 100Mbps. It is a brand new BTU. I would suggest you using a wifi Analyzer to see the list of wireless networks around your area and set your channel and width manually, at least on the 2.4GHz band. It would be better. I would recommend either channel 1,6, or 11, as they are the only non-interfering channels, and 20MHz as your channel width, as you won’t need channel bonding of 40MHz, for your 30Mbps connection.
The wifi speed seems better after I change the width to 20mhz and channel 9, maybe later i change the channel to 11, and see would it much better.

Is it Wifi Analyzer is the apps i can dl? If yes, i will give a try later too. Thanks ya! ^^

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0285sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:21 AM