Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

LostAndFound
post Nov 10 2017, 02:49 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 10 2017, 01:54 PM)
Went TMpoint yesterday, unfortunately they don't allow me upgrade to 50mbps Bonanza RM189, only can upgrade to 100mbps Bonanza.

They told me I have to terminate my current 30mbps (still on contract) and pay for penalty only can get 50mbps Bonanza. rclxub.gif
If you're on contract definitely have to pay penalty (and probably not worth it to convert). Wait till out of contract, definitely got different promo then.
LostAndFound
post Nov 11 2017, 06:44 AM

6,264 posts

Yesterday I went to TMPoint and the lady was convincing me to convert my RM149 to RM139 rather than apply a new one (my intention) and then cancel the old one. I mentioned it's because I want a replacement router, so she said the new contract will also renew 1 year warranty for router, so pandai pandai la.

My router actually IS giving issue, but on and off only (cannot access the admin page). Any advise on how to ensure it will have issue when the technician come?
LostAndFound
post Nov 12 2017, 06:50 AM

6,264 posts

My 30Mbps update took hold yesterday night di. Good and solid, and fortunately no 90% club membership =p

QUOTE(touristking @ Nov 12 2017, 06:42 AM)
I am just a layman.

But i have noticed, sometime, Digi LTE is as fast as my Unifi 50Mpbs when surfing.
In ideal connection scenario LTE is faster than 50Mbps. But what he was saying is quite simple. 50MBps is not 'speed' in terms of how fast you're going, it's 'speed' in terms of how much you can get at a time.

Webpages aren't normally very big data wise, so the 'fast' you're thinking about is mostly latency. How long it takes to respond. That one won't change much between a good 1Mbps streamyx connection and a 50Mbps unifi connection.

His analogy of car on highway is accurate. If you have more lanes then your downloads will get faster (can use multiple trucks at the same time) but the speed of your individual car won't change much.

LostAndFound
post Nov 13 2017, 01:44 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 13 2017, 01:33 PM)
All routers does occasionally reboot on its own to update its WAN IP address and other network details, plus the lease time for its connection varies as well, so that could be a reason why it reboots by itself.
No, this is definitely not true. Any competent router can update WAN IP address etc. without a reboot. My 3rd-party router easily hits multi-month uptimes, unless I decide to reboot it for some reason or other (or power cut).

If TM is directly updating your firmware over-the-air then this can explain the reboots, but this doesn't happen very often I believe.
LostAndFound
post Nov 16 2017, 02:40 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Nov 16 2017, 01:51 PM)
I just asked TM personel at their TM Point counter, this offer is applicable to new & current subscribers regardless of their package promotion
So if I just only upgraded my RM149 10/10 plan to RM139 30/10 plan, I can pay RM10 per month to get back RM149 50/30?

Sure boh....
LostAndFound
post Nov 17 2017, 11:14 AM

6,264 posts

Any bonanza 139 customer get to +RM10 to go to 50 MBps?
LostAndFound
post Nov 18 2017, 05:38 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Nov 18 2017, 04:00 AM)
Guys i sign up for the 30mbps for rm179 just a few days b4 they launch the current promo.

Want to ask your opinion what should i do? Should i call them up to scold them or this rm179 will save more money in the long run???
You can call and scold if it makes you feel better, but there's a contract you agreed to, so don't expect TM to be so kind-hearted as to just release you from that.

Can consider upgrading to 50mbps for 189 Bonanza price. That one you can just ask for, no need to scold. I'm on the 139 Bonanza which I feel is a better deal, but if you're already gonna pay RM179 why not add RM10 to get 50 MBps?
LostAndFound
post Nov 18 2017, 08:14 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(DeadmanX @ Nov 18 2017, 07:00 AM)
You sure they will let you upgrade Rm10 if you're Bonanza? Have you tried asking for Rm149 > 50mbps?
Did you even read my post? I'm saying that:-

a) I'm on 139 bonanza

b) He (who is on RM179 30 MBps) should call and ask to upgrade to the RM189 Bonanza 50 mbps.
LostAndFound
post Nov 18 2017, 08:46 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(DeadmanX @ Nov 18 2017, 08:20 AM)
Did I offended you? Sorry if you think that way, I'm just interested in getting Bonanza 139 myself, so I'm curious whether they'll give Rm10 offer too.
It's not about offended or not, this is a public forum, don't simply post wrong info.

I also interested if bonanza can upgrade, but waiting for someone to try.
LostAndFound
post Nov 19 2017, 06:27 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Nov 19 2017, 06:16 AM)
you have no concern for the price after 2years back to rrp for 100MB?

you known after 2years the price will be cheaper and high speed ?

i thinking to topup 10 too but concern the rrp after 2years ..
A bird in hand is worth two in the bush. If TM really raise prices means either our currency gone Zimbabwe style or something drastic like that. You think you'll still be worrying about Unifi prices then?
LostAndFound
post Nov 20 2017, 04:03 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(DeadmanX @ Nov 20 2017, 12:14 PM)

What a turn off, no mood to ask any other question after that. Was tell to walk-in again to check if there's new port later and that's the only way to check. I have till the end of this year to check because Bonanza Campaign ends on 31st December 2017.

That's all for now, guess I'll walk-in again next week to try my luck. Going to ask further next time.
Regarding ports you can just call 100, that CS able to check ports in your area.
LostAndFound
post Nov 21 2017, 09:44 AM

6,264 posts

I got 'upgraded' from RM149 (free upgrade to 10) to RM139 bonanza with renew 2 years contract direct from TMPoint. My parents also same. This was before Bonanza Plus came out, so I suspect that's the reason.

Those who simply say "TM won't let you reduce price"... sembang kencang only?
LostAndFound
post Nov 21 2017, 10:14 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 21 2017, 10:08 AM)
We are consumers, without us they don't make exorbitant profits.
Exorbitant profits? Citation required... Telekom very profitable meh?
LostAndFound
post Nov 21 2017, 01:06 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Nov 21 2017, 10:18 AM)
How you get it done? Without terminate and reapply?

I walked in yesterday and the officer sitting in front of numbering ticket straight tell me CANNOT.
I walk in and ask to terminate and apply, the lady said 'very mafan that way, come I just straight convert for you'.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 21 2017, 10:22 AM)
Dude.. TM is a publicly traded company.. You are connected to the internet too.. use it.. Sure find how many RMbillions they made in the past few years.

Edit: Here you go.. Since laziness is a thing..

TM Financial Results : Press Releases
KUALA LUMPUR: Local telecom giant Telekom Malaysia Bhd ™ saw its revenue breaching the RM12billion mark in 2016, its highest ever, led by strong demand coupled with efforts at lowering operating costs.
Dude, do you know the difference between revenue and profit? Profit from the link you sent is about 1 billion a year. On 11 billion costs/spend. Maybe about 10%. If you consider that exorbitant profit then... I really dunno what to say.

Eventually once coverage is much better their profits will go up, but currently while they're rolling out fibre to more and more areas their profits won't be very much at all. It's darn expensive to put infra up. Not to mention the cost of the actual bandwidth itself...

Quite old video, but explains the costs involved. Don't expect price to go down very much unless government pour money in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpBbV2elOBE&feature=youtu.be

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 21 2017, 10:54 AM)
Did u have VIP5@rm149 with free calls, then free upgrade to VIP10? Then upgraded to rm139 Bonanza without STD20/free calls? Bonanza@rm139+ std20= rm159.
Yes I started with RM149 VIP5 4 years ago, and go the free upgrade before budget announcement. Never got the RM169 offer some others got back then, so stayed at 10/10 when others were moving up to 30/10 and then 50/20.

Now 'upgraded' to RM139 with another 2 year contract, without calls. I get 150 free minutes to all from my mobile telco, my wife also the same, so calls not important. Save RM20 a month better.
LostAndFound
post Nov 21 2017, 01:43 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(DeadmanX @ Nov 21 2017, 01:16 PM)
I envy you. Where do you live? Maybe there's plenty of ports...
Subang Jaya, I went to USJ Taipan TMPoint. But my specific area only one port available when I called 100. So it's not a lot of ports. I think it's just that I was early enough to catch the period before Bonanza Plus, and that Bonanza Plus is TM reaction to many customers converting down just to save RM10.
LostAndFound
post Nov 21 2017, 09:26 PM

6,264 posts

Ah I see you prefer throwing around political opinion rather than fact. Thanks, not interested. Using our mobile telco market as example is amazing too, since last I checked there's way more complaints about mobile telcos than about TM....
LostAndFound
post Nov 23 2017, 01:46 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 23 2017, 01:45 PM)
fruitie My December bill is out, RM 189.75 w/o any free call & jumbo packs, but I really saw with my eyes that the operator clicked the option. Everything remained unchanged.  mega_shok.gif

UniFi Pro 100Mbps - RYE 2017

That Voice STD20 (Free) is the free calls right?
LostAndFound
post Nov 23 2017, 05:48 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(ejump82 @ Nov 23 2017, 05:41 PM)
nothing much i can do also....
Good attitude. A lot of complaints about 'unfair treatment' miss the point. When you signed a 2 year contract, the company would be stupid to just allow you to downgrade when you haven't completed it (and if you have, why not just cancel it?).
LostAndFound
post Nov 25 2017, 05:58 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 25 2017, 12:56 AM)
imagine if TNB, Sybas do the same.
diff homes in diff places get diff discounts, pay different electricity and water rates.
all hell should break loose, no?!!
Imagine if TM charge you for usage (like TNB and Syabas do) instead of for speed.... mana boleh compare like that? The main difference is that TNB/Syabas are administrating infra paid for and installed by federal funds, TM is using funds generated from their activities to set up infra. That's why they have contract 24 months (TNB/Syabas no such thing).
LostAndFound
post Nov 28 2017, 09:21 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 28 2017, 12:11 AM)
If TM gives you a router for free, they'll renew your contract for another 2 years. Why not just buy your own router?
Think the other way, if you don't wanna renew contract, you'll have to pay high 3 digits at least for a decent router. What's wrong with renewing contract if you're planning to use the next 2 years (e.g. own house, job stable di)?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0399sec    0.41    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:55 AM