26 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

soonwai
post Nov 22 2017, 09:21 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Nov 22 2017, 06:52 PM)
Whn u told no current, already knew shld be Sg. Long coz almost the whole Sg Long with exception palm walk got electric outage just now... mine is Huawei HG8240w
Your BTU is gigabit. All ready for the 100mbps upgrade. When did you apply for it?
soonwai
post Nov 22 2017, 11:05 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 22 2017, 09:31 PM)
my BTU is new i guess since the tm technician came to install unifi 30Mbps in Feb 2017, previously i was using the tm stock modem router for streamyx
Yeah, that will be GBE. I bet you'll get the upgrade activated real soon now.
soonwai
post Nov 22 2017, 11:37 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Nov 22 2017, 11:19 PM)
Is it normal to get 16Mbps out of 30Mbps at condo?
Test with a cable, if you get full speed using a cable then it's something interfering with wifi.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 12:01 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Nov 22 2017, 11:41 PM)
I am running on LAN.. not wifi
Then it's definitely a problem but it could be anything from the device that you use to test to the router to the BTU to the phone lines, etc...

Have you tried testing with another wired device or just this one?

If you're on VDSL, you can post the signal strengths here and I'm sure someone can help you interpret that.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 07:43 PM

11,458 posts

Finally some movement. I applied for RM10 50-100 last Friday morning via 100.

Received SMS earlier today. Installation date next Monday because I require equipment change.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 23 2017, 07:46 PM
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 07:52 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 23 2017, 03:54 PM)
Mine didn't get sms RM10 add on and called TM and said mine not eligible. Anyone got luck try add RM10 without receive sms offer?
I didn’t get the sms either.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 08:05 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 23 2017, 07:49 PM)
I wonder if technician will still call? I read cases where such SMS was sent but end up technician did not come and reschedule.
I think depends on luck lah but for my Monday BTU rosak report, the techs called me on Tuesday evening and set a Weds morning 10:30am date. On Weds they were 30 mins early. But these were TM techs. The upgrade equipment change will be done by contractors.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 08:11 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Nov 23 2017, 03:36 PM)
that new modem support fast ethernet ?
btw what the difference between ethernet and fast ethernet?
I just know if plug in the lan cable into modem (Huawei HG850A modem with black colour) I can't get internet access unless plug into router laugh.gif
Those terms are just the speeds of the Ethernet ports.
FE = Fast Ethernet = 100mbps
GbE or GE = Gigabit Ethernet = 1000mbps

The black Huawei HG850a is FE. It’ll work with Unifi 100 but you lose a little bit of speed. Due to TCP overheads, you may only get 95-97mbps.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 08:17 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(hown @ Nov 23 2017, 08:10 PM)
what equipment change?
BTU and router. I have the Huawei HG850a and the DLink DIR-615. Well, had the Huawei since I got that changed on Weds.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 08:32 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Nov 23 2017, 08:24 PM)
I see, just wondering does the new modem given by TM, if plug the LAN cable on it can get internet access or not?
as that HG850A plugged in no internet access, else have to buy LAN splitter as my router only got 4 gigabit ethernet port laugh.gif
Cannot. Have to plug into the router.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 08:59 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 23 2017, 08:13 PM)
So no activation of new plan until change of equipment is it?
Doesn’t look like it. I checked right after I got the SMS. Still on TQ Surprise 50.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 10:40 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Nov 23 2017, 09:31 PM)
thanks, then what the point having those port in the BTU hmm.gif
Well, they can be used for different accounts. My friend used to subscribe to 2 accounts so one account uses port1 like all/most of us are familiar with. The 2nd account uses port2 connected to a separate router. If you have access to the BTU, TM normally locks it down, you can configure it to act as a router then you don't need a separate router. In fact new VDSL users are getting a setup like this, a single ZTE BTU/router/wifi device.
soonwai
post Nov 23 2017, 10:44 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Nov 23 2017, 09:31 PM)
do you think it is require to change my equipment ? I hv the DIR850L router and Huawei HG8240w modem. Installed the 30Mbps Advance Feb this year and now adding RM10 to 100Mbps Pro ( from TQ Surprise 50Mbps )
All of yours are the latest already. So you should get it real quick. Just a matter of a few clicks and keystrokes to change your 50 to 100. I think a few of us here with current equipment got their upgrade in a matter of hours.

QUOTE(aa123aa @ Nov 23 2017, 09:34 PM)
Good that you going to received yours next week...
Quite happy that it didn't take too long and well within the quoted 7 days. Well, that's assuming the TM contractor doesn't FFK me on Monday. smile.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 23 2017, 10:47 PM
soonwai
post Nov 24 2017, 01:46 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 24 2017, 10:39 AM)
When you called? soonwai called on Thursday/Friday if I’m not mistaken and he received the SMS yesterday.

I called on Sunday so I’m probably expecting the SMS on this coming Monday/Tuesday. hmm.gif
I called 100 Friday morning around 9:40am. Received SMS 5:18pm yesterday (Thursday).

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 24 2017, 01:49 PM
soonwai
post Nov 24 2017, 05:38 PM

11,458 posts

As I posted before, I applied last Fri via 100 and got my SMS and modify order yesterday. Just a few mins ago, got a phone call from TM to confirm afternoon installation, she said morning already full, for Monday. Nice, can't wait. Installation is probably just change the BTU and maybe get a new router. Incidentally I already had my BTU changed on Tuesday after I made a report of it not working. Should have done this before the RM10 upgrade. sad.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 24 2017, 05:59 PM
soonwai
post Nov 24 2017, 06:06 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 24 2017, 05:44 PM)
ah...good to hear that those who called 100, their request is slowly coming in

rclxm9.gif

Yeah, looks like a busy next week for TM contractors. I’m in no hurry as I’ve been using 2 x 50mbps for the past month. Sure downloads are faster but other things not by that much. It would be interesting to see if I can get 150mbps after the upgrade. Now if I can just convince my neighbour to take the RM10 upgrade also.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 24 2017, 06:07 PM
soonwai
post Nov 25 2017, 08:23 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(toffy @ Nov 25 2017, 08:11 PM)
Please correct me if I am wrong.
The STD20 that comes with the RM10 upgrade, gives the subscriber 600mins worth of free calls per month, to all mobile numbers and TM numbers?
That’s correct. It’s 600 mins free calls to mobile if you don’t make any calls to landlines. 600 mins free calls to landlines if you don’t make any calls to mobiles. Or a mixture of both if you make calls to both mobiles and landlines. For each and every month. No carry forward for unused minutes.

Landlines include TM and OLNOs.

The way you make calls also mattters. If you call 1200 mins a month, you may be charge from RM0 to RM60.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 25 2017, 08:33 PM
soonwai
post Nov 26 2017, 03:14 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Nov 26 2017, 03:03 PM)
Hi guys. Mine was upgrade to 100 yesterday but i didnt get router

It is normal that i wont get the new router as my unifi from 30>50>100

Thxs
Did TM come to your house to do any installation? What router are you using?

For me, TM is coming tomorrow, presumably just to change the BTU. Not sure about the router, hope I get a new one. Currently using my original DIR-615 from VIP5 days.
soonwai
post Nov 26 2017, 06:11 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Nov 26 2017, 03:19 PM)
What package you are using currently and the plan you upgrade to?
I'm currently on TQ-50mbps, will be upgrading to RM10-100mbps. My BTU, 100mbps HG850a, and router, DIR-615, very old already so expecting them to change both. Actually the BTU was changed already on Monday due to another support ticket but I don't think the RM10 upgrade guys are aware of that. Anyway they're coming tomorrow.
soonwai
post Nov 26 2017, 09:02 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 23 2017, 07:43 PM)
Finally some movement. I applied for RM10 50-100 last Friday morning via 100.

Received SMS earlier today. Installation date next Monday because I require equipment change.

Status for my upgrade order has changed to PONR. My appointment is tomorrow. UniFi, both internet & phone, is currently down for me even though optical light (PON) is green.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 26 2017, 09:05 PM

26 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.2479sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:04 PM