Buying second-hand car less than RM5000, Share your experiences and advice here.
TSSensui
Apr 7 2007, 12:48 AM, updated 18y ago
Anyone here has bought a bargain second-hand car at real cheap prices..say below RM5000?
How was the car's condition like? Did you spend a lot for repairs?
What car ?
killerloop81
Apr 7 2007, 12:54 AM
a 2nd hand car is mostly more than 20 years n got lot of problem oso..is rm3500..sure got problem although they said no problem
lorddevil
Apr 7 2007, 01:16 AM
i can tell u, if u buy a car less than 5k,a lot of thing have to be done, unless it's a very good condition car.
dvinez
Apr 7 2007, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(lorddevil @ Apr 7 2007, 01:16 AM) i can tell u, if u buy a car less than 5k,a lot of thing have to be done, unless it's a very good condition car. Yeah agreed, it's should need a lot of repair unless you bought it from someone trustable, Eg: Relatives or friends.
joenjill
Apr 7 2007, 01:29 AM
tiara or kancil with 10++ years....i think u need about another few thousand to repair. But if u are luckly, u also can find the 10++ years cars that can still works well.
scorgio
Apr 7 2007, 02:19 AM
1985 Nissan Sunny almost 3 years ago for RM5k. Spent RM400 on aircond, RM300 to change 4 shocks, RM1400 to overhaul engine last year. Condition now? Once clocked 1000km in 24 hours. Can go up Genting.
This post has been edited by scorgio: Apr 7 2007, 02:20 AM
hypermount
Apr 7 2007, 02:32 AM
For a RM5k car, Corrola LE '84
over few years PAint and rust treatment - RM1500 overhaul - RM1000 plus Suspension/absorbers all - RM800 Driveshafts etc -Rm300 plus seats -RM500 misc stuffs like pumps etc -RM2000
more than 12k total all, changes not at the same time... it was junk from. beginning..hard to find a good car at that price..never trus a second hand car since...the f***est thing is keep breaking down on the road, the horror, the experience.
phonar
Apr 7 2007, 03:30 AM
1994 Proton Iswara
TSSensui
Apr 7 2007, 12:52 PM
What about 2nd generation Honda Civic hatchback?
rifle_m16
Apr 7 2007, 12:59 PM
Mitsubishi Tredia, buy for 3k on march 2006, ripped off the stock engine, change to evo1 illegaly, drift and floored kaw kaw, october 2006, stuck in JPJ roadblock at Jinjang there, november 2006, cut the car off, sell to besi burok. *the end*
TSSensui
Apr 7 2007, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 7 2007, 02:19 AM) 1985 Nissan Sunny almost 3 years ago for RM5k. Spent RM400 on aircond, RM300 to change 4 shocks, RM1400 to overhaul engine last year. Condition now? Once clocked 1000km in 24 hours. Can go up Genting. VERY IMPRESSIVE!!!!!!!!! That's what I'm talking about!!! I wanna get a cheap car which can do the job. But I wouldn't want a Nissan Sunny. What about Honda Civic or CRX?
rifle_m16
Apr 7 2007, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Sensui @ Apr 7 2007, 02:06 PM) VERY IMPRESSIVE!!!!!!!!! That's what I'm talking about!!! I wanna get a cheap car which can do the job. But I wouldn't want a Nissan Sunny. What about Honda Civic or CRX? CRX is worth to buy, but must check the frame and body condition.
xtracooljustin
Apr 7 2007, 03:58 PM
i bought my first Bimmer for RM3k, a 1984 528i. over the course of 1.5 yrs, i spent Rm20K on repairs and maintenance. But when i sold it, i sold it for Rm15K. i even sold da rims separately for RM1.5K.  hmmm not bad... This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Apr 7 2007, 03:59 PM
jamik
Apr 7 2007, 04:42 PM
actualy its depen on car n ur luck, last time my frenz bought 83" mazda 323 for 2.2K, after a week, drive shaff prob, than kaberator prob, than top over haul etc use it for 2 years than sold it for.... 1.2K But its depend on ur luck, like nissan suny, 120y, prton magma, LE, GL still can find below 5K  i also looking 4 datsun 120Y 78".. but wana chep maa.. aroung 1 K only  wana mod lor
TSSensui
Apr 8 2007, 03:31 AM
QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Apr 7 2007, 03:58 PM) i bought my first Bimmer for RM3k, a 1984 528i. over the course of 1.5 yrs, i spent Rm20K on repairs and maintenance. But when i sold it, i sold it for Rm15K. i even sold da rims separately for RM1.5K.  hmmm not bad... How long did you own the car?
xtracooljustin
Apr 8 2007, 05:04 AM
check my signature. close to 1.5 years.
imk
Apr 8 2007, 05:14 AM

i think for protons u can still apply for rm9k loan from bank, rm3-4k for the car, rest for repairs.
stormlcc
Apr 9 2007, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(rifle_m16 @ Apr 7 2007, 01:31 PM) CRX is worth to buy, but must check the frame and body condition.  you can actually buy a CRX with RM5000???? which year??? nowadays CRX cost at least RM10,000!!! for RM3000 u can get a good condition Toyota KE70 (not in KL but in other states), or Datsun 120Y for RM1000, transplant engine and JPJ approval cost RM4000, that makes it 5000 i saw 1 KE70 in Ipoh, tip top condition, no need to repair anything, just buy and drive, tested it out and it's a bargain.....
Notoriez
Apr 9 2007, 01:35 AM
Why wouldn't go for Nissan Sunny 130y?? It's a good and reliable car what..my family is using the car as their 3rd car and when ever i go back Sabah, im still able to bring chicks around with the car  With minor touchups (depends on car condition) around 3-4k, you will get a car that will last you for another 5-10yrs  KE70, Corolla Hatchback oso nice wat but nowadays it's really hard to find a good condition one unless you're living in KK  Plenty of it are selling here...
LanEvo7
Apr 9 2007, 11:56 AM
Nissan Bluebird 910 SSS ..
hmm.. spent nothing so far except RM 100 to weld the rear diff .. the steering rack and bushes are all still as farked as when I bought it ...
1.8 engine is fuel consuming but very torquey and powerful, and it's twin carb. But hey it had a rear wiper, 4 working power windows, both working power mirror lol .. and central locking oso .. not bad for a car of those days
got the car for 1.5k but road tax is RM 2xx