4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Canon or Sony? Please Help, New dSLR

TSTeraPox
post Apr 6 2007, 04:13 PM, updated 19y ago

961 posts

Wanna get myself a dSLR, after doing survey for months, left 2 choices. I went to the shops and ask for quotes ,and this are the pricing...

Sony A100 = dual lens Kit = RM3799

Canon 400d dual Lens Kit = RM3999

can anyone spare some advice...pls... blink.gif
chrisoys
post Apr 6 2007, 04:28 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 6 2007, 04:13 PM)
Wanna get myself a dSLR, after doing survey for months, left 2 choices. I went to the shops  and ask for quotes ,and this are the pricing...

Sony A100 = dual lens Kit = RM3799

Canon 400d dual Lens Kit = RM3999
can anyone spare some advice...pls... blink.gif
Go for Canon 400D icon_rolleyes.gif you will not regret buying it.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 6 2007, 04:48 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 6 2007, 04:28 PM)
Go for Canon 400D icon_rolleyes.gif you will not regret buying it.
why is that?

goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 05:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the Sony Alpha has Image Stabilization feature on the body. same goes to Pentax (i think it's K100D)

the Canon doesn't have this feature. smile.gif you need to get IS lens just to do that. smile.gif

the Sony on the other hand, you're limited to a certain extent. like your lens for example, with so few Sony users in Malaysia you can't exactly get used lens offers as frequent as Canon / Nikon users.

and should you some how run out of memory space while shooting blablabla - the reliance of Sony's memory stick means you can only borrow from fellow Sony users. smile.gif

for Canon, it uses CF (lower ends use SD) - and CF / SD cards are more easily found among users. smile.gif not to say that you will come by that situation often la but just to mention about the memory type benefits.

for me, my 350D uses CF. and so does my S7000 that uses CF. so both my cameras can use my CFs. smile.gif no need so many memory types at home.

P&S nowadays use SD. so if you get a D40/D50/K100D then you also can share the usage of those SDs.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 6 2007, 05:52 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2007, 05:04 PM)
the Sony Alpha has Image Stabilization feature on the body. same goes to Pentax (i think it's K100D)

the Canon doesn't have this feature. smile.gif you need to get IS lens just to do that. smile.gif

the Sony on the other hand, you're limited to a certain extent. like your lens for example, with so few Sony users in Malaysia you can't exactly get used lens offers as frequent as Canon / Nikon users.

and should you some how run out of memory space while shooting blablabla - the reliance of Sony's memory stick means you can only borrow from fellow Sony users. smile.gif

for Canon, it uses CF (lower ends use SD) - and CF / SD cards are more easily found among users. smile.gif not to say that you will come by that situation often la but just to mention about the memory type benefits.

for me, my 350D uses CF. and so does my S7000 that uses CF. so both my cameras can use my CFs. smile.gif no need so many memory types at home.

P&S nowadays use SD. so if you get a D40/D50/K100D then you also can share the usage of those SDs.
if i'm not wrong, sony oso can use CF card.. i mean for its dSLR.... the only concern is the noise.. is it really noisy on ISO 800 up?
DArkBat
post Apr 6 2007, 05:57 PM

220 posts

Sony uses CF, and normal CF, it does come with a Memory Stick Adapter just in case you purchase a Sony Memory Stick. There is not much noise when shooting at ISO 800, only when in ISO 1600.

Oh....and let me add up to this. Sony Alpha A100 mount is same as Minolta A-type bayonet. All old minolta 7d/5d or even older flim SLR works on it. So...for second hand lenses, you can always go for old minolta lenses or older make from Tamron or Sigma.

What make it more impressive is, older version of minolta flash also works on the alpha

All tested and proven, minolta or sony lenses produce the same picture

This post has been edited by DArkBat: Apr 6 2007, 06:10 PM
goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 07:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 6 2007, 05:52 PM)
if i'm not wrong, sony oso can use CF card.. i mean for its dSLR.... the only concern is the noise.. is it really noisy on ISO 800 up?

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydslra100/page2.asp

Storage
. Compact Flash Type I/II
. Memory Stick Duo / Pro Duo via CF adapter
. Supports FAT16 / FAT32

ok so you're right. screw that sales person that give me wrong info.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 6 2007, 10:39 PM

961 posts

so? sony is a good choice?
g88
post Apr 7 2007, 01:08 AM

1,631 posts

Sony limited accessories and noise level higher than Canon.

Image stabaliser just a feature...if your hand shake alot also won't help biggrin.gif....

Go for Canon !!
wlcling
post Apr 7 2007, 01:41 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

heard the ergonomics of the sony not too good.. wink.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 7 2007, 10:19 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

not trying to be biased, but go for canon smile.gif

wide lens range, yeah, you can find lens ranging from sigma, tamron, tokina if im not wrong. Doesnt mean that you have to always go for canon lens though. But if u have the cash, invest in an L lens, like the 24mm-105mm f/4L biggrin.gif

furthermore you can buy a battery grip and the whole cam will be like those 1Ds tongue.gif and the noise level for canon's cmos sensor is lower than the one with sony.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 7 2007, 01:46 PM

961 posts

the Canon Guy quote me the 400D for 3300 now, with dual lens . is it worth it?
Wifi_One
post Apr 7 2007, 02:04 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

at that price... very attractive... dual lens wor... get quick..lol
R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 7 2007, 02:31 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 7 2007, 01:46 PM)
the Canon Guy quote me the 400D for 3300 now, with dual lens . is it worth it?
of course it is, I dont see the reason that it isnt. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Apr 7 2007, 02:32 PM
TSTeraPox
post Apr 7 2007, 02:48 PM

961 posts

i mean.. will they give me some lousy lens instead? can any one gimme the kit lens model so i can bring to compare during my purchase?

sorry, i'm a noob
cjtune
post Apr 7 2007, 03:25 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 7 2007, 02:48 PM)
i mean.. will they give me some lousy lens instead? can any one gimme the kit lens model so i can bring to compare during my purchase?
sorry, i'm a noob
Kit lenses will always compare badly against the medium, and high-grade lenses from the same manufacturer. No need to even compare. The fare worser than the more expensive lenses is just about all characteristics, from build quality, to sharpness & contrast, distortions, chromatic abberations, susceptibility to flares, etc.

Question is, if you have no money to get anything other than kit lenses, which manufacturer's kit lenses are better?

Please go to www.photozone.de to look up on the editor's Canon and Nikon lens reviews. They may have also user-ratings for Minolta/Sony lenses too (in a separate database from their official reviews).

R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 7 2007, 03:53 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

yeah kit lens can never top the quality of those mid high grade lens. cjtune stated it really clear. BUT... that doesnt mean that kit lens cant produce great images too... here's some example

http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/51174252/
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/49050009/
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/49995605/
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/22168510/
^ he only uses kit lens, but still, look at the results. smile.gif This proves that skill does matter man.

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Apr 7 2007, 03:57 PM
goldfries
post Apr 7 2007, 05:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

c'mon la. guys. kit lens comes with the body comparing to mid/high grade lense that costs 2 - 3k and some even to the price of a kancil. smile.gif who are we kidding? smile.gif

point is, kit lens is good enough as it is. i mean what more could you ask something that came together with the camera? smile.gif
TSTeraPox
post Apr 8 2007, 09:28 PM

961 posts

okie, so, just the camera with the kit lens, which is better? sony or canon?
kysham
post Apr 8 2007, 11:18 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 8 2007, 09:28 PM)
okie, so, just the camera with the kit lens, which is better? sony or canon?
I got my Sony A100 and I never regretted getting it. Loved how it handled. Comfortable with the interface. Guess as beginner's camera, either one will be ok. You won't go wrong with any one of these cameras. I guess the thing you really should look at is how it FEELS in your hand - if you are comfortable taking photos with that camera in your hands.

Hope that helps, in a not too technical way anyway biggrin.gif

Sham.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:45 AM