Airport Extreme

TSkaiserreich
post Apr 6 2007, 01:11 AM, updated 19y ago

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I've just found out about this thing after reading reviews on AppleTVs.

Thing is, I don't what does the Airport do. Is it a wireless router? A switch? A modem?

Can anyone enlighten me, thx
J-Slade
post Apr 6 2007, 01:16 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

It's a WiFi card on the mac to go wireless whenever there is a wireless network around.
TSkaiserreich
post Apr 6 2007, 01:18 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I was actually referring to the airport extreme. The box that looks like a MacMini or AppleTV.
elico
post Apr 6 2007, 01:24 AM

749 posts

yes...is a wireless router by Apple

Airport came out long ago....even b4 wifi go hot....

more info here for the new Airport Extreme

This post has been edited by elico: Apr 6 2007, 01:28 AM
wei
post Apr 6 2007, 09:50 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

This type of question can be easily answer by just a simple google search.

I realise many ppl here don't like to "Search".
civic98
post Apr 6 2007, 12:30 PM

1,255 posts

Airport Extreme is actually pretty cool, it can stream audio to other points and you end up with wireless speakers. Other points refers to Airport Express points I assume where you can plug in your speakers. I'm not sure about the details.

This post has been edited by civic98: Apr 6 2007, 12:31 PM
76radius
post Apr 7 2007, 12:21 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Apr 6 2007, 01:30 PM)
Airport Extreme is actually pretty cool, it can stream audio to other points and you end up with wireless speakers. Other points refers to Airport Express points I assume where you can plug in your speakers. I'm not sure about the details.
Well... those who Mac experts here. When will the Airport Extreme 802.11n Router be sold here in Malaysia?. I've been asking all around since February 07 from Apple Centres in Klang Valley but to no avail.
|Keantan|
post Apr 7 2007, 12:07 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(76radius @ Apr 7 2007, 12:21 AM)
Well... those who Mac experts here. When will the Airport Extreme 802.11n Router be sold here in Malaysia?. I've been asking all around since February 07 from Apple Centres in Klang Valley but to no avail.
Airport Extreme does already support 802.11n, thing is that u have to buy the unlock code for the 802.11n configuration option from apple online for like USD 2-3 or something before you can use it.
I also been looking for this particular router, especially during the last week or so since my router finally broke, I am getting desperate now as i need the temporary router for other things in the house.

I am considering ordering mine from the Apple online store Singapore and courier to here, does anyone know if they do do this? Alternatively i ask my friend to bring back for me when he is in australia (right now) ....

haiz.. my linksys router is the one that died. old 802.11b router.
prasys
post Apr 7 2007, 08:34 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I think its worth it , I will take sometime for it to be hacked , so people can run torrent clients and BT using Airport Extreme 802.11n . I am using Airport Express and its rock solid. I'm loving my Airport !
MacDaNife
post Apr 7 2007, 08:40 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Apr 7 2007, 12:07 PM)
Airport Extreme does already support 802.11n, thing is that u have to buy the unlock code for the 802.11n configuration option from apple online for like USD 2-3 or something before you can use it.
I also been looking for this particular router, especially during the last week or so since my router finally broke, I am getting desperate now as i need the temporary router for other things in the house.

I am considering ordering mine from the Apple online store Singapore and courier to here, does anyone know if they do do this? Alternatively i ask my friend to bring back for me when he is in australia (right now) ....

haiz.. my linksys router is the one that died. old 802.11b router.
The new ABS (mac mini look-alike type) is due to be on Malaysian shelves on April 18th.

I've had one on order for the past 1 month. It apparently is undergoing "Sirim Testing" prior to sale in Malaysia.
wei
post Apr 7 2007, 08:47 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Apr 7 2007, 08:40 PM)
I've had one on order for the past 1 month. It apparently is undergoing "Sirim Testing" prior to sale in Malaysia.
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif Typical malaysia process, "tunggu dulu".
samus_ng
post Apr 9 2007, 08:19 PM

258 posts

Airport Extreme is basically the greatest wireless router ever. It features, well EVERYTHING! Including 802.11N connectivity and an OK price. This is a must buy for me tongue.gif The design also is very nice hehe.
miniacs
post Apr 9 2007, 09:05 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Apr 7 2007, 12:07 PM)
can someone give the link to update wifi card to 802.11n, i understand that this apply only to the new C2D products.
civic98
post Apr 11 2007, 12:42 PM

1,255 posts

http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO....12.1.15.1.13.0
babyk
post Apr 11 2007, 01:57 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Apr 11 2007, 12:42 PM)
i don't think we can apply the 802.11n update as the US Store requires US address
i tried Singapore link,US Link...all won't work for my MacBook

any other option?
civic98
post Apr 11 2007, 05:14 PM

1,255 posts

I didnt know Apple Stores require address from that particular store's country. Something like the iTune Store I presume. Perhaps it should work with Paypal then? I have no idea then. Sorry.
xandman
post Apr 11 2007, 08:06 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

juz wondering guys...
how much is it?
palling to get it if not too expensive...
BUT again...what is expensive compared to Apple products?
=)...juz need to prepare my budget...
babyk
post Apr 11 2007, 08:40 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Apr 11 2007, 05:14 PM)
I didnt know Apple Stores require address from that particular store's country. Something like the iTune Store I presume. Perhaps it should work with Paypal then? I have no idea then. Sorry.
PayPal or not is not the problem
when you go to US Store, you need US address, when you go Singapore Store, you need Singapore Address

so Malaysia don't have online store and it means that we cannot update it!!! DAMN~!
samus_ng
post Apr 11 2007, 11:10 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Apr 11 2007, 08:06 PM)
juz wondering guys...
how much is it?
palling to get it if not too expensive...
BUT again...what is expensive compared to Apple products?
=)...juz need to prepare my budget...
Having the same question here tongue.gif If I get this, I'll also update my TM Nut package to 1mbps(now I am using 512 only)
yetieater
post Apr 12 2007, 01:20 AM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Apr 11 2007, 08:40 PM)
so Malaysia don't have online store and it means that we cannot update it!!! DAMN~!
Why not avoid any talk of money altogether and resort to Torrents? I know the updater is being shared across them as I have personally downloaded it. A friend with an MBP 15.4" tested it and confirmed that the updater is in fact working - he now has 802.11n enabled on his MBP. Just spend the $2 on something else that Apple pumps out and feel good afterwards, if morality is an issue here.

0.0616sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:48 AM