MacOS X OS 10 failed to run after access permission change, OS Crash after Access Edited

TSblinky
post Apr 6 2007, 12:28 AM, updated 19y ago

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Hi guys, I am blinky's friend...

I was trying to lock up my mac folder from being accessed by other people inside my office. So, I guess i fry up some setting there and now i am stucked with a black screen asking me for my username and then a password, whereby I never had any password set before for my powerbook.

This is what i done,

1. I went to my harddisk, and Command-I on all the folders inside there.
2. On the details side, here is what i did

3.Owner: From "System" i changed to "Kyle(my own name)
and Access: *remain untouch as "read&write" option.

4.Group: From "Admin" i again change it to "Kyle"
and access: I changed it to "No access" from "Read & Write" setting earlier

5.Others: I changed it from "Read only" to "No Access"..

this applies to all folders... and there was 2 folder (believes to be application folder and another one) tooks a hell long time to finish changing the new setting..

So i restart my mac by force quit...

ENDS up... the screens changed from blue to black... blue to black... and finally asking my username and password..

Added on April 6, 2007, 12:36 amcom'on guys...

i was in the middle of my design works... does there has a setting like windows "Last know best configurations" button or stuff like that?...

I think i got revert my OS 10 once... when prompted by the OS10 itselves...

it is 12 am here... and tomorrow are the dateline for this brochure visual... i bet i be dead for sure.... so please.... tell me... is there a solution.. happy.gif

This post has been edited by blinky: Apr 6 2007, 12:36 AM
jensen_tidus
post Apr 6 2007, 12:47 AM

360 posts

sounds serious... good luck to you...
hope someone here r able to help u wf ur prob...

*prays* happy good friday = )
TSblinky
post Apr 6 2007, 12:54 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

hahah!~~

I just need to know, is there a way from Single User mode of OS 10.4 version...

whereby i can access back into my Details... or change the permission access setting or disk utility.. blablablaba....

I am checking on other website at the moment... somehow getting a bit close now.. but man~~ if any one you guys here can help.. isn't that better.. hahaha!~~~

it is not that serious.. i think it can be recovered ones...
allvin
post Apr 6 2007, 01:02 AM

4,506 posts

hmm... try type -s in the bootloader to go to single mode
TSblinky
post Apr 6 2007, 01:07 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Apr 6 2007, 01:02 AM)
hmm... try type -s in the bootloader to go to single mode
I am already inside single mode.. smile.gif

coz i can't access into safe mode .... and i don't have my OS 10.4 disc with me now... 0_o

Added on April 6, 2007, 1:30 am
guys... i think it isn't nessesary now...

somwhere in the internet, they mentioned that i need to go "HOME" grab my own powerbook installer Disk1, then load the thing from there..

so happy.gif thanks for viewing alright... won't be able to reply anymore or view as i am login out from blinky account... thanks in advance.. btw happy.gif

This post has been edited by blinky: Apr 6 2007, 01:30 AM
neekun
post Apr 6 2007, 07:31 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

How bout try booting from OSX CD and choose REPAIR PERMISSION?
wei
post Apr 6 2007, 09:59 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

You do not mess with "system" permission.
Try these:
. Restart your Mac holding down "Command(the Apple key)+S" key to enter 'Single user mode'.
. Type "fsck -f", and hit return.
. Once complete type "reboot" and hit return to reboot you Mac back in to OS X as normal.

If you have another Mac, boot into target disk mode and use another Mac to do Repair Permission.

If you want to avoid access from other client in the network, why don't you just disable your File Sharing?
xaw5126
post Apr 6 2007, 12:01 PM

3,488 posts

@wei, i think our friend didn't RTFM...
wei
post Apr 6 2007, 12:24 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 6 2007, 12:01 PM)
@wei, i think our friend didn't RTFM...
lol. yeah, have to learn the hard way.
prasys
post Apr 7 2007, 08:40 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Its simple :-

I learnt this from the hackintosh community

Boot in -s [Press Apple Key +S]

then type mount -uw /

then run sh /etc/rc <-- the one shown in the how to start system

It will start the system in single mode. Then type this

diskutil repairpermissions /

It will take sometime for it to repair its permission

If it fails , then I suggest you to restore back its permission , we have no choice to do that

to do that

chown -R root:wheel <folder name> then chmod it correctly

Sometimes diskutil does not fix permission and dont even mess with permissions. This is a *nix based system. dont ever........its very dangerous

0.0156sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:24 PM