Female gamers, we want you!, for upcoming GameAxis Malaysia article

TSRuff Bark
post Apr 5 2007, 05:41 PM, updated 19y ago

62 posts

Hiya,

GameAxis Malaysia, a monthly local English-language game magazine, would like to do a feature story on female gamers in an upcoming issue. What games do you play? Why do you like video games? What do you have to say about video games as a local female gamer? These are but a few questions that we'd like to ask you as part of our upcoming special feature on female gamers.

We're looking for female gamers who are willing to volunteer their time to speak to us about their hobby. Maybe you're a hardcore DotA player, or even a casual O2Jam player; it doesn't matter. If you're passionate about video games, be it PC, console, or arcade, we want to know what makes you tick.

Successful applicants will have their share of fame in the Malaysian gaming community by having their words and pictures printed in GameAxis Malaysia for all posterity. And oh, we'll also throw in some freebies to make your time worthwhile. wink.gif

Interested volunteers will need to write a brief intro about themselves, how long they've been playing games, what games they play, and provide a recent photo of themselves. Email me at fatcatlim@yahoo.com for more details. If you've any enquiries, feel free to post them here or PM me.

Deadline for now is 5th of May 12th of May, depending on the number of responses.

(Crossposted to Gamers Hideout and Girl's Club)

This post has been edited by Ruff Bark: May 4 2007, 06:13 PM
judge-the
post Apr 5 2007, 05:46 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

hmmm there's 1 female GoW player around... look for her inside xbox section.
Pr1me_Minister
post Apr 5 2007, 06:42 PM

314 posts

ying123 ---> Hardcore Ouendan player. thumbup.gif
Microsuck_360
post Apr 5 2007, 08:35 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Apr 5 2007, 05:46 PM)
hmmm there's 1 female GoW player around... look for her inside xbox section.
oh that gal very dangerous ooo... brows.gif
aegis`-
post Apr 9 2007, 11:17 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:35 PM)
oh that gal very dangerous ooo... brows.gif
in whta sense
ahahhahahahaha drool.gif
bidfordun
post Apr 9 2007, 11:19 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Apr 5 2007, 06:42 PM)
ying123 ---> Hardcore Ouendan player. thumbup.gif
haha, i just wanna say ying.
judge-the
post Apr 10 2007, 09:23 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(ana @ Apr 9 2007, 05:11 AM)
my gaming setup

1. family area - panasonic TX-29GA30K with ps2 & xbox  sweat.gif
xbox beneath the table

2. my room - sharp aquos LC-32PX5M with xbox360  biggrin.gif
games & dvds collection

not in the picture - my psp  smile.gif
i forgot about 1 more hardcore female gamer lah... check out her gaming room!
ana
post Apr 10 2007, 11:25 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Apr 10 2007, 09:23 AM)
i forgot about 1 more hardcore female gamer lah... check out her gaming room!
hahahaha..not hardcore la..more to casual sweat.gif
TSRuff Bark
post Apr 10 2007, 02:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ana @ Apr 10 2007, 11:25 AM)
hahahaha..not hardcore la..more to casual  sweat.gif
We'd still love to hear from you. Please send us a short description of your gaming background and history, and who knows? You might be selected to be in our article. smile.gif
Microsuck_360
post Apr 10 2007, 04:28 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Apr 9 2007, 11:17 PM)
in whta sense
ahahhahahahaha drool.gif
GOW sure tapau orang punya... laugh.gif
snipersnake
post Apr 10 2007, 05:57 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

define HARDCORE.

a lass who gobbles/buys everything she sees or

a lass who finished a LOT of games, and we are not talking lumines or barbie and the 12 pricesses here.

TSRuff Bark
post Apr 10 2007, 06:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 10 2007, 05:57 PM)
define HARDCORE.

a lass who gobbles/buys everything she sees or

a lass who finished a LOT of games, and we are not talking lumines or barbie and the 12 pricesses here.
A gamer who has "completed" a lot of games may show more dedication than the average gamer, but most gamers don't finish their games in general for various reasons (too hard, got lazy, lost interest in the game, etc). That doesn't mean they're any less "hardcore" than those who did complete playing games.

And then there's the MMORPG genre, which essentially has no conclusions or ending thanks to their "neverending" type of gameplay. So does that mean even a WoW player who knows the ins and outs of the game is not a "hardcore" gamer because WoW cannot ever be "finished"?

Disregarding games like Lumines is flawed though - they also require elements of strategy and quick thinking like any other video game.
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 10 2007, 06:46 PM

155 posts

I guess I can be classified as a female gamer. I play Call of Duty a lot, Football Manager 07 religiously, FF VII - XII (though never finish any of them *sweat*) and also a Winning Eleven fanatic. Heheh but I'm not a really good gamer though. I just play to pass the time, since started working haven't had much time to play but wait til I get my hands on a PS3...huhuhuh
TSRuff Bark
post Apr 10 2007, 06:51 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Apr 10 2007, 06:46 PM)
I guess I can be classified as a female gamer. I play Call of Duty a lot, Football Manager 07 religiously, FF VII - XII (though never finish any of them *sweat*) and also a Winning Eleven fanatic. Heheh but I'm not a really good gamer though. I just play to pass the time, since started working haven't had much time to play but wait til I get my hands on a PS3...huhuhuh
Then why not write a short intro about your gaming background and send it to us? We might choose you for the article~ :3
sherrina
post Apr 11 2007, 03:22 AM

179 posts

I've completed all levels of GTA San Andreas (two months to complete it), all Harry Potters game except Goblet of Fire (which is so boring), The Sims 2 (endless game, of course) and I started gaming when I was 10 years old with Super Mario, Super Contra, Prince of Persia.....

can join, eh? tongue.gif
TSRuff Bark
post Apr 11 2007, 11:09 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(sherrina @ Apr 11 2007, 03:22 AM)
I've completed all levels of GTA San Andreas (two months to complete it), all Harry Potters game except Goblet of Fire (which is so boring), The Sims 2 (endless game, of course) and I started gaming when I was 10 years old with Super Mario, Super Contra, Prince of Persia.....

can join, eh? tongue.gif
Sure. Just write a brief intro about yourself and gaming background (the more detailed, the better) and send it to us, as well as a recent photo of yourself. smile.gif
ying123
post Apr 11 2007, 01:34 PM

83 posts

Since I'm damn bored in office, and since Pak Lah and bid mentioned me, I guess I'll write something despite my terrible English...
Must submit photo meh...? Don't blame me later if there's a sharp drop in sales of next issue brows.gif

Btw, any min or max numbers of word limit?

This post has been edited by ying123: Apr 11 2007, 01:36 PM
TSRuff Bark
post Apr 11 2007, 01:45 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ying123 @ Apr 11 2007, 01:34 PM)
Since I'm damn bored in office, and since Pak Lah and bid mentioned me, I guess I'll write something despite my terrible English...
Must submit photo meh...? Don't blame me later if there's a sharp drop in sales of next issue brows.gif

Max word limit...well, 500 is a good start. Though if you'd like to write more it's up to you. smile.gif
bidfordun
post Apr 15 2007, 12:55 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(ying123 @ Apr 11 2007, 01:34 PM)

tell u guys la, ying is a pretty bombshell. surely her photo will jack up the sale! if u reli appear in the mag, dun forget to let me know. i wanna buy to support u.
hafez13
post Apr 15 2007, 07:25 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

tell me too ying! tongue.gif ...

This post has been edited by hafez13: Apr 15 2007, 07:26 PM

0.0177sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:55 PM