QUOTE(PowerDunk @ Apr 10 2007, 01:57 PM)
Sorry, I was not referring to you only.University Petronas scholarship interview process
University Petronas scholarship interview process
Apr 10 2007, 11:24 PM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Jun 12 2007, 05:34 AM
2,972 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: OSINT |
Hope that someone can answer my question :
1) Is there any math test? 2) Is there difference between STPM/Matriks/Diploma group or they will be mixed up? 3) The group based on the courses? 4) Is there any essay? 5) 100% communication in English? 6) Is there any chances to change courses? Example from BIS to ICT? TQ This post has been edited by Irzani: Jun 12 2007, 05:42 AM |
Jun 12 2007, 01:10 PM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
1) They will have a test. I forgot exactly whats the name of the test. Damn it. Its suppose to gauge your standards, see where you stand. There will be an english test, and math test and something like a... thinking test. U know, like KBKK kinda questions. IQ kinda questions.
2) Mixed up 3) No 4) Not that i can remember. No. 5) Yes. Brush up on your english and you'll be the one standing out. I was. 6) Hmm. They will still ask you twice during the educamp. Whether you are EXTREMELY sure you want the course u stated on ur form. If not, they still give u chance to change dont worry ^^ During my educamp (2006) they also had workshops to promote other courses. Whichever lecture theater u go into, they'll try to change your mind into switching to that course. Lol. So make sure u go for the ones that you think you might like. They'll tell u all the pros (not cons) and tell you how your career with that field of study might be like. But not after they've given u the scholarship. |
Jun 12 2007, 03:54 PM
340 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Bangi..Bandar baru bangi..UNITEN |
Hurm, I do once go to Educamp. A bit competitive for me as a lots of excellent student were there. The IQ test were.. what can I say aa... I dint have proper time to think the answer!!.
The thing that make me feel strange is that, my friend which he was only 5A in SPM manage to get a place there. Btw, he taking civil engineering. My opinion is that, if you really want to go to UTP, make sure you didnt choose Chemical Engineering unless you're damn good. One of the admin officer there, Puan R****** said that, minimum requirement for chemical engine course is 9A1. This post has been edited by mezerwi: Jun 12 2007, 03:54 PM |
Jun 12 2007, 05:07 PM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
Jun 12 2007, 10:04 PM
2,972 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: OSINT |
QUOTE(Grimm @ Jun 12 2007, 01:10 PM) 1) They will have a test. I forgot exactly whats the name of the test. Damn it. Its suppose to gauge your standards, see where you stand. There will be an english test, and math test and something like a... thinking test. U know, like KBKK kinda questions. IQ kinda questions. You help a lot bro .. 2) Mixed up 3) No 4) Not that i can remember. No. 5) Yes. Brush up on your english and you'll be the one standing out. I was. 6) Hmm. They will still ask you twice during the educamp. Whether you are EXTREMELY sure you want the course u stated on ur form. If not, they still give u chance to change dont worry ^^ During my educamp (2006) they also had workshops to promote other courses. Whichever lecture theater u go into, they'll try to change your mind into switching to that course. Lol. So make sure u go for the ones that you think you might like. They'll tell u all the pros (not cons) and tell you how your career with that field of study might be like. But not after they've given u the scholarship. Tq |
Jun 15 2007, 11:38 PM
150 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
maths test? its more to IQ =) for the interview, just do ur best. talk and talk bout wad u know, but dun crap. lol. command of ENGLISH is very very important. yes, it is. well, if u have already done ur best, the rest is up to GOD. =) all the best in ur interview. hopin u join the utp family soon. =)
Jul 3 2007, 04:49 PM
547 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Bumi Bertuah |
TS..what a shame to write something like that..i dont know either u have been accepted or not to be part of Petronas scholars, but i am sure if this is how you write..haishh...dont know what to say..u writing represent ur character. As far as Petronas interview is concern (I am 1 of it's scholars, currently studying in UTP), been un-able to speak well english or bahasa is not much into concern, but being formal and ethics is much important.. i could say some of the scholars are not really well in english spoken, (including me), but they manage to be more ethics and formal.. my suggestion, u dont have to really well english spoken, just OK is enough, but make sure, PROPER AND FORMAL..
Apr 15 2008, 11:21 PM
41 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
every1 .... wat'll u think bout a very fair chinese wearing baju kurung huh ....? i mean during d educamp thingy ....
Apr 1 2014, 03:38 PM
801 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Wah! This is really a very old tread on Petronas Scholarship/Sponsorship.
So any news on Petronas Sponsorship 2014 especially for those doing foundation 2014??? Actually what is the min requirement to get selected & is this year very competitive since got so many with A??? Result already out??? How is the interview like??? What sort of question/assignment/topic likely for this year??? Any tips on how to 'win' interviewer heart so as to consider my application??? I am a guy so wearing more 'make-up' or wear 'shorter/lower' method is not applicable. All help & advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you very very much! |
Apr 1 2014, 03:49 PM
968 posts Joined: Aug 2012 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Apr 1 2014, 03:38 PM) Wah! This is really a very old tread on Petronas Scholarship/Sponsorship. The EduCamp consists of two parts:So any news on Petronas Sponsorship 2014 especially for those doing foundation 2014??? Actually what is the min requirement to get selected & is this year very competitive since got so many with A??? Result already out??? How is the interview like??? What sort of question/assignment/topic likely for this year??? Any tips on how to 'win' interviewer heart so as to consider my application??? I am a guy so wearing more 'make-up' or wear 'shorter/lower' method is not applicable. All help & advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you very very much! 1. Competency test: They will test you on your Maths, Physics, Chemistry (If you applied for engineering courses), and English competency (just some easy ones). They also have an IQ test (basically just pattern recognition test) 2. The interview. Participants will be grouped in 5 and given a different case study for each group (usually recent cases or general cases such as traffic congestion, drugs trafficking, etc.). You will then be called one by one to start with an individual interview (just to promote yourself) and later on the whole group will be called in and you guys will start the discussion on the case study given. Tips to win the interviewers' heart.. I would say just dress properly and talk with proper language. No need to use bombastic words / phrases. The interview is done 100% in English language. And thank you for bringing up this old post. At least I know someone here uses the "Search" function |
Apr 1 2014, 03:59 PM
Thank you very much for your quick reply & advice. Hopefully I will get selected.
Apr 3 2014, 11:26 PM
Gosh!!!Tread on Petronas Sponsorship & UTP really very cold!!!
No body apply for Petronas Sponsorship??? Or is it UTPian all really study hard for their exam so not time to chit-chat here or are they in other forum?? Anyway I just got selected for Petronas YoungStar Day 2014!!! So now I really need advice & guidance from all UTP sifu Competency test: Can I bring along my calculator & lap top??? What are the document I need to bring along & how many set??? I presume document like SPM result slip, IC & so on??? All certified true copy. How many interviewer are there??? UTP lecturer? From which faculty? Petronas Officer??? Any tips on what sort topic & case study likely for this year??? He! He! Any insider tips??? Gosh! I am so exited & yet so scare at the same time!!! I really need this sponsorship as I am a really poor fellow!!! Thank you very much in advance to all advice. |
Apr 4 2014, 02:07 AM
124 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Apr 3 2014, 11:26 PM) Gosh!!!Tread on Petronas Sponsorship & UTP really very cold!!! Go to recom.org and search ,there are tons of threads there about Petronas No body apply for Petronas Sponsorship??? Or is it UTPian all really study hard for their exam so not time to chit-chat here or are they in other forum?? Anyway I just got selected for Petronas YoungStar Day 2014!!! So now I really need advice & guidance from all UTP sifu Competency test: Can I bring along my calculator & lap top??? What are the document I need to bring along & how many set??? I presume document like SPM result slip, IC & so on??? All certified true copy. How many interviewer are there??? UTP lecturer? From which faculty? Petronas Officer??? Any tips on what sort topic & case study likely for this year??? He! He! Any insider tips??? Gosh! I am so exited & yet so scare at the same time!!! I really need this sponsorship as I am a really poor fellow!!! Thank you very much in advance to all advice. |
Apr 4 2014, 09:19 AM
Thank you for the site.
May 9 2015, 09:54 AM
233 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 5 2007, 11:15 PM) My cousin (Chinese) being called up for Petronas interview few years back, 2001 I think.. She got straight A1 and during that time it was kinda hard to get straight A1, so she was offered with various scholarships and courses. She told me those who went for Petronas interview were all Malays except for her. Double degree???She rejected the offer and opted for Yayasan Tenaga Nasional (YTN) and completed her double Degree in Engineering in UNITEN without being attached to working bond. |
| Change to: | 0.0140sec
5 queries
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:35 PM |