Heard that BMW & Mercs got special discount, For professionals like doctor & lawyer?

KennyKB
post Aug 1 2017, 10:59 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 1 2017, 10:25 AM)
LOL, so the second highest average paying job in Malaysia (only behind medicine) can't afford a 200k car?
Interesting
More like RM250K which is the price pf the entry level Merc C200 or BMW 320i, discounting the low end BMW 318.

RM10K gross for an experienced engineer is considered alright and I don't consider that sufficient to drive a Merc or BMW. It's not just the price but also the maintenance.

Antzfield
post Aug 1 2017, 11:11 AM

496 posts

For Accountants whom are members of MIA, they are entitle about 6% for Merc, BMW (up to 7%), Audi and Volvo. The discount is off from the price before GST, can say no need to pay GST lah rclxms.gif

It is the same fleet discount rate extended to those big corp and / or certain Big 4 accountancy firm
Adjansi
post Aug 1 2017, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Aug 1 2017, 10:59 AM)
More like RM250K which is the price pf the entry level Merc C200 or BMW 320i, discounting the low end BMW 318.

RM10K gross for an experienced engineer is considered alright and I don't consider that sufficient to drive a Merc or BMW. It's not just the price but also the maintenance.
If a experienced engineer is making 10k he is doing something wrong.
Captain Coco
post Aug 1 2017, 11:11 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 1 2017, 10:25 AM)
LOL, so the second highest average paying job in Malaysia (only behind medicine) can't afford a 200k car?
Interesting
susah cari makan abang...
ryan@chua
post Aug 2 2017, 01:38 AM

2,165 posts

Haha. Engineers are driving sport cars porche ferrari lambo.

Merc and bmw just a low standard car
Adjansi
post Aug 2 2017, 02:02 AM

QUOTE(ryan@chua @ Aug 2 2017, 01:38 AM)

I totally agree, but here people driving Merc and beemer feel like they are on top of the world.
Ginny88
post Aug 2 2017, 08:42 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 1 2017, 04:16 PM)
Really? You are obviously not in the engineering line.

wkc5657
post Aug 2 2017, 08:50 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 1 2017, 04:16 PM)
engineering has so many fields, and the so called "experienced" is how experienced? 10, 20 30 years?

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 2 2017, 02:02 AM)
I totally agree, but here people driving Merc and beemer feel like they are on top of the world.
If you drive such Porche ferrarri lambo (forget the SUV line), you're going to hate driving at night because even mere viva's headlight is going to blind your mirrors. And with our "perfect" roads, the experience is definitely not something to look forward to day in day out.

It is mainly about practicality and choice. Even Amazon boss Jeff Bezos drives a good old 1996 honda accord to work. Likely that most workers there drives better/newer car than the founder himself :

http://www.businessinsider.in/The-Sweet-Ri...ow/41448905.cms
rcracer
post Aug 2 2017, 09:07 AM

?????
3,743 posts

My buddy was on a plane once , sitting beside him was this ang moh with super expensive super complicated watch ,

So he complimented him and turns out he was a Porsche engineer , talk talk a bit , fella asked my buddy what car he drove , he bangaala a BMW 3 series

The ang moh , no reaction just cool said ' you should buy a Porsche ' , end of conversation
Adjansi
post Aug 2 2017, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 2 2017, 08:50 AM)
engineering has so many fields, and the so called "experienced" is how experienced? 10, 20 30 years?
If you drive such Porche ferrarri lambo (forget the SUV line), you're going to hate driving at night because even mere viva's headlight is going to blind your mirrors. And with our "perfect" roads, the experience is definitely not something to look forward to day in day out.

It is mainly about practicality and choice. Even Amazon boss Jeff Bezos drives a good old 1996 honda accord to work. Likely that most workers there drives better/newer car than the founder himself :

http://www.businessinsider.in/The-Sweet-Ri...ow/41448905.cms
I mean Sr position which can be achieved with 5+ years in full cycle projects.

And I do agree with you, the car you drive doesn't define your wealth/finance stability,but we live in a society where what you possess/show off is more important than who you are.
Unfortunately
Ginny88
post Aug 2 2017, 04:40 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 2 2017, 08:50 AM)

Doesn't matter. There is a glass ceiling for engineers and when you reach the ceiling your pay stops increasing.

If the engineer is a partner in a consulting firm or contractor of course this doesn't apply but the predominant category is no longer engineer but businessman.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Aug 2 2017, 04:45 PM
SKYjack
post Aug 3 2017, 08:25 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 2 2017, 09:07 AM)
My buddy was on a plane once , sitting beside him was this ang moh with super expensive super complicated watch ,

So he complimented him and turns out he was a Porsche engineer , talk talk a bit , fella asked my buddy what car he drove , he bangaala a BMW 3 series

The ang moh , no reaction just cool said ' you should buy a Porsche ' , end of conversation
The Porsche is probably cheaper in his country than a Bimer here!
wkc5657
post Aug 3 2017, 08:51 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 3 2017, 08:25 AM)
The Porsche is probably cheaper in his country than a Bimer here!
Aiya.....he's a porsche employee, of course support own company la....

If reply Audi instead of BMW, could have gotten a more favourable answer as Audi under the same group of companies alongside Porsche.
SKYjack
post Aug 20 2017, 07:45 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(khanninah @ Aug 19 2017, 11:07 PM)

porsche only costs 80k in its native country. any tom dick n harry who earns 10k can easily afford it.
Absolutely, and being Porsche employee will get special price too!
Ginny88
post Aug 20 2017, 11:04 AM

1,032 posts

lets assume an engineer with 5 to 10 years of experience gets paid 10k (on average). after deduct epf and income tax , take-home pay is only 8k.
to buy a 200k car with 7 years 90% loan, the monthly installment will be around 2500. so yes our imaginary engineer CAN afford a 200k car, but its still a big stretch for his finances.
porsche only costs 80k in its native country. any tom dick n harry who earns 10k can easily afford it.
RM200k can just buy the lowest trim Merc A180. What a struggle to get the bottom when he could get a nice Camry. Accord or Mazda 6 with change in his pocket.

So yes, our imaginary engineer CAN afford a new Merc but barely and only if he doesn't mind a basic underpowered Merc usually driven by wives and girlfriends.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Aug 20 2017, 11:10 AM
TScoolcity888
post Aug 20 2017, 11:31 AM

41 posts

What is the ideal disposable income to own a decent BMW or Mercs? It is not on what profession but on how much you can earn...
KennyKB
post Aug 20 2017, 12:28 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(coolcity888 @ Aug 20 2017, 11:31 AM)
What is the ideal disposable income to own a decent BMW or Mercs? It is not on what profession but on how much you can earn...
RM250K for C200, put down RM30K, borrow RM220K for 7 years, instalment about RM3K a month. Add another RM500 a month for servicing so RM3.5K a month fixed expenses for the car.

Based on the above I would say disposable income of at least RM10K after EPF and tax.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Aug 20 2017, 12:28 PM
KennyKB
post Aug 20 2017, 01:18 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(khanninah @ Aug 20 2017, 12:34 PM)
thats assuming u dont have a mortgage and 3 small kids.

also u forgot to factor in insurance which is minimum 250 per month.
The mortgage, road tax, insurance and other household expenses should be paid from the balance of disposable income. It helps if wife is also working.

However I strongly advise parents to start saving for their children's tertiary education as soon as possible instead of buying a luxury car. Studying in a local private uni isn't cheap but at today's rates you can put TWO kids through engineering courses for the price of ONE C200 or 320i.

If you are a wage earner just forget about it.

rcracer
post Aug 20 2017, 02:30 PM

?????
3,743 posts

lets assume an engineer with 5 to 10 years of experience gets paid 10k (on average). after deduct epf and income tax , take-home pay is only 8k.
to buy a 200k car with 7 years 90% loan, the monthly installment will be around 2500. so yes our imaginary engineer CAN afford a 200k car, but its still a big stretch for his finances.
Not really also , average take home is about 2500 euros only , insurance is expensive
Adjansi
post Aug 21 2017, 04:34 PM

1 - like I mentioned, an engineer has the SECOND highest paying average in Malaysia, hence if a lawyer (according to the TS is entitled to this discount) can afford, why not an engineer?

2 - if you happen to know an engineer or have any close to you, or even better, stop at any of the multiple constructions around Kl and ask how much they are making, you might be surprised.

Believe me, 10k is not really out of the curve.

This post has been edited by Adjansi: Aug 21 2017, 04:50 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0121sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:38 AM