Anime Romeo x Juliet, By Gonzo

TSHMMaster
post Apr 5 2007, 09:38 AM, updated 19y ago

10K Club
10,308 posts

Count Paris, a young nobleman, talks to Capulet about marrying his fourteen-year-old daughter, Juliet. Capulet demurs, citing the girl`s tender age, and invites him to attract the attention of Juliet during a ball that the family is to hold that night. Meanwhile Juliet`s mother tries to persuade her young daughter to accept Paris` wooing during their coming ball. Juliet is not inspired by the idea of marrying Paris - in fact, she admits to not really having considered marriage at all. But, being a dutiful daughter, she accedes to her mother`s wishes. This scene also introduces Juliet`s nurse, the comic relief of the play, who recounts a bawdy anecdote about Juliet at great length and with much repetition.

In the meantime, Montague and his wife fret to their nephew Benvolio about their son Romeo, who has long been moping for reasons unknown to them. Benvolio promises Montague that he will try to determine the cause. Benvolio queries Romeo and finds that his melancholy has its roots in his unrequited love for a girl named Rosaline (an unseen character). Romeo is infatuated but laments that she will not "ope her lap to saint-seducing gold." Perhaps most frustrating to Romeo is the fact that Rosaline "will not be hit with Cupid`s arrow/ She hath Diane`s wit". In other words, it`s not that she finds Romeo himself objectionable, but that she has foresworn to marry at all (she has vowed not to fall in love, and to die a virgin). Benvolio tries to snap Romeo`s ruler, to no avail: despite the good-natured taunts of his fellows, including the witty nobleman Mercutio (who gives his well known Queen Mab speech), Romeo resolves to attend the masquerade at the Capulet house, relying on not being spotted in his costume, in the hopes of meeting up with Rosaline.

Romeo attends the ball as planned, but falls for Juliet as soon as he sees her and quickly forgets Rosaline. Juliet is instantly taken by Romeo, and the two youths proclaim their love for one another with their "love sonnet" in which Romeo compares himself to a pilgrim and Juliet to the saint which is the object of his pilgrimage.

Romeo x Juliet @ AniDB
Official Website

The trailer is pretty interesting and the first episode is out already!
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 09:52 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I was expecting a shoujoish design. but no, it's quite good actually
but honestly, looking at the OP, I was expecting a Mecha animu....
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 09:55 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Lol at
- Caped Crusades
- Short Haired Juliet
- Heroin

THIS IS FTW!!!
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
<* Star Dust *>
post Apr 5 2007, 10:19 AM

Mio Fever Syndrome
2,357 posts

sounds cliche like the shakespear's romeo & juliet...
except there's some twist n plot in dat anime...
but since it's good... i guess it's worth my time dling it...
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 10:21 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

dude, this in NOTHING like the novel version
Darqfyre
post Apr 5 2007, 10:22 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(<* Star Dust *> @ Apr 5 2007, 10:19 AM)
sounds cliche like the shakespear's romeo & juliet...
Err...the series' title is Romeo x Juliet...you can't expect it not to take inspiration from Shakespeare's work? unsure.gif
IntegraTypeR
post Apr 5 2007, 10:25 AM

Guitar alien
736 posts

QUOTE(Darqfyre @ Apr 5 2007, 10:22 AM)
Err...the series' title is Romeo x Juliet...you can't expect it not to take inspiration from Shakespeare's work?  unsure.gif
I will be expecting Romeo to **** and do **** Juliet then.

This post has been edited by IntegraTypeR: Apr 5 2007, 10:55 AM
wolfx
post Apr 5 2007, 11:59 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 5 2007, 10:21 AM)
dude, this in NOTHING like the novel version
You mean the play by Shakespear.

At least we know about Capulets vs Montague thing and they will both die in the end. sweat.gif

The story probably will remain similar but in different setting, something like that Leonardo Dicaprio Romeo and Juliet show.

This post has been edited by wolfx: Apr 5 2007, 12:00 PM
karmakid
post Apr 5 2007, 03:02 PM

2,598 posts

hopefully tis time gonzo will make it a happy ending instead...
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 03:27 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 5 2007, 11:59 AM)
You mean the play by Shakespear.

At least we know about Capulets vs Montague thing and they will both die in the end. sweat.gif

The story probably will remain similar but in different setting, something like that Leonardo Dicaprio Romeo and Juliet show.
Yep, and honestly, I feel that Juliet is more of a female Zorro now than her original characther in the play
Fyonne
post Apr 5 2007, 03:33 PM

904 posts

btw, how good is this compare to Gankutsuou (Count of Monte Cristo)? i got the whole eps but cant find myself watchin beyond 3rd eps. need feedback coz i dun have time to watch everythin.
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 03:38 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Better. No weird colour, good if not unpredictable storyline. High quality artwork (but this depends on the episode budget, and the first episode ALWAYS have the highest budget), good seiyuus. Watch it.
wolfx
post Apr 5 2007, 03:43 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Apr 5 2007, 03:33 PM)
btw, how good is this compare to Gankutsuou (Count of Monte Cristo)? i got the whole eps but cant find myself watchin beyond 3rd eps. need feedback coz i dun have time to watch everythin.
I never watched Gankutsuou yet either but am planning to since everyone says its good. (If you can stand the strange colors and static patterns)

Fyonne
post Apr 5 2007, 05:24 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 5 2007, 03:38 PM)
Better. No weird colour, good if not unpredictable storyline. High quality artwork (but this depends on the episode budget, and the first episode ALWAYS have the highest budget), good seiyuus. Watch it.
it color its not wierd, i think they won some recognition due to that. i think it very creative. but sad to see it focus on the boy instead of the Count himself (or seem to be so in 1st 3 eps), like wat they did on les miserables anime, Jaen is a GAR person, n they made a loli anime out of it instead.

well, thats wat im worried bout, good quality in the beginin, but slowly degrading (GONZO TYPICAL mad.gif ). i think i will give it a try
linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2007, 06:46 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

lol, I puked after watching gankutsuou.. Too much color information for mah eyes.
Depthcharge101
post Apr 5 2007, 09:16 PM

21 posts

wow... the opening is just nice. you raise me up japanese version ftw~.

Might chase this, give it a few weeks see more opinions.
<* Star Dust *>
post Apr 6 2007, 10:24 AM

Mio Fever Syndrome
2,357 posts

romeo x juliet?!
as undead?!... @@

Hikki Kokurabuji
post Apr 6 2007, 11:03 AM

B.E.E.R!!!
1,201 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Apr 5 2007, 09:16 PM)
wow... the opening is just nice. you raise me up japanese version ftw~.

Might chase this, give it a few weeks see more opinions.
I'm so impressed with the song (almost on the same level as the original version rclxms.gif ) I can't wait to have its full version rclxm9.gif
ck2055
post Apr 8 2007, 03:03 PM

251 posts

can't wait for it to show on ANIMAX

if it ever come to ANIMAX GG

Irishcoffee
post Apr 8 2007, 03:27 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

yaya nice anime
hopefully great ending coz i nvr read romeo X juliet