Unifi Unifi Lite 10Mbps Brotherhood -- v3.0 --, Incoming RM99 package!? (Put On Hold)

uncledaddy
post Aug 14 2017, 03:50 AM

33 posts

Please help an old man. Been trying to migrate from streamyx 4mb to new UniFi Lite but so far no response.
Approached local agent, discussed the matter, gave contact number and still no response.
Just a few days ago, an Agent sent message on whatsapp. I return call via email and later on whatsapp. No resonse also.
I had not tried TM point, prefering reseller.
I looked through the list of Agents/Reseller in this thread. Unable to see any catering for Ipoh, Perak.
I suspect that since my area provide UniFi, the UniFi Lite is not meant for me to migrate to? No answer also.
Thanks for any assistance forthcoming.

uncledaddy
post Aug 15 2017, 03:52 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 14 2017, 11:12 AM)
As long as your area has unifi coverage, you can subscribe to unifi lite. Try pm the agents on page one and they will be more than glad to help you on this.
Thanks for the response.
In fact I had had several phone calls in the past few weeks regarding upgrading.
However they all offered only the 30Mbps package. When I mentioned UniFi Lite, no response.
I asked where is the Agent/Reseller located and whether there is a local Office in Ipoh, Perak.
No response to my query. So, in the end no action taken.
Prior to all this, I was mis-informed that only Agents/Resellers are able to provide the new UniFi Lite.
That's the reason I approached local Agents/Resellers and all kept me in the dark. How disappointing.

Then a friend suggested go to TM Point and I decided if that is the last avenue.
On the 14th Monday, I visited TM Point at Jalan Tasek, Ipoh.
Success! Application approved! No hassle. Thumbprint scanned.
Present land-line phone number transfered to UniFi at no extra charges.
Present Streamyx account simultaneous termination upon succesful installation and activation.
What a pleasant day after weeks and weeks of disappointment.
Ya lor... Streamyx 4Mbps users left to rot! smile.gif

Thanks again.
uncledaddy
post Aug 15 2017, 04:00 PM

33 posts

Hi friends,
Can anyone enlighten me regarding the type/brand of wireless modem TM UniFi Lite provide in the current batches of installation?
Can my new D-Link DIR-619L be a suitable substitute for TM's original wireless modem?
Thank you.
uncledaddy
post Aug 15 2017, 04:24 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Aug 15 2017, 04:11 PM)
It depends, either TP-Link or D-Link depends ur luck. The router TM provide is AC router which is much better than ur DIR-619L.
Thanks for the info. One more info request. Will a dual-band wireless router be of any help for mobile smartphones?
Currently on my Streamyx 4Mbps layout, I use two wireless routers. An ancient D-Link DWL-1000AP+ for friends and visitors.
The newer DIR-619L for my personal and private devices. Ha! Ha! Talking about segregation. All wireless connections are set to filter out with MAC Addresses "Allow only devices" apart from the usual encryptions WPS/WPA ecetera ecetera.
So my question now is, will I be able to keep my two previous wireless router connected to the UniFi Lite setup? Just curious to know. biggrin.gif

uncledaddy
post Aug 15 2017, 04:44 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Aug 15 2017, 04:33 PM)
this is unifi lite discussion thread, so answer is yes  laugh.gif
Ha ha! Good one there. Btw, some are already on UniFi Lite, some pending installation and some still yearning to save cost!
Over. Enjoy the mood in here.
uncledaddy
post Aug 15 2017, 04:55 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Aug 15 2017, 04:49 PM)
ya, finally switch out from bloody streamyx 1mbps  laugh.gif
my dad very enjoy his ipad with this speed  thumbup.gif
Wow! You previosly on 1 Mbps? Oh Wow... suffering so long.
Well, I got stuck at 4 Mbps. Unable to upgrade to 8 Mbps. Unable to go anywhere, except the min 30 Mbps package.
Me old man living alone. What's the need for super-speed?... at exorbitant cost!
Blessing... TM finally introduced the UniFi Lite. Enjoy yourself and cheers!
uncledaddy
post Aug 23 2017, 03:07 PM

33 posts

Hi friends on Unifi Lite,
Here's an update on my quest to say goodbye Streamyx 4Mbps.
Having applied at TM Point for the Unifi Lite package on the 12th August, 2017 was then notified installation on 22nd.
Later received message that installation would be carried out on the 20th Sunday. Accepted new arrangement.
Sunday morning, installers arrived - two technicans - at around 10:00am. They has a brief survey.
However, I took them to my "Home Office" where I showed them my plan, drafted on an xls spreadsheet.
We had some discussion. The chief installer suggested that I add extra for conduits to run the fibre in, in case of rats.
I rejected the offer and also with reference to my drawings, no drilling is necessory.
All layout drawings are shown in details, and explained to the Chief Installer. We then agreeed on the installation.
Within an hour and a-half, all installations completed including setup of devices also carried out.
Tested out the connction including speedtest. A days work all done. Thanks to the Installers. Shake hands and goodbye.

New equipments are TM Huawei Huawei HG8240w and TP-Link Archer 1200.
Shown below is a sketch of my layout plan for the new Unifi Lite installation.

Have a nice day. Cheers!Attached Image
uncledaddy
post Aug 24 2017, 04:06 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 23 2017, 03:51 PM)
Since fibre runs in the attic, what is d extra installation cost?
No extra charges. However he tried to convince me he has to put in plastic tube trunking (cost RM60) to protect the fibre from RATS!
I mentioned to him, let's find some rats and then we decide later. Ha! Ha! Trying to earn extra from an old man out of work.
Oh btw, we did discuss the issue of "drilling holes thro thick walls". I asked which is easier, just insert the fibre thro two holes
I had provided or drilling? Anyway, he had no answer and agreed to follow my layout plan. Took less than half-an-hour of actual work.
The remaining time was spent in setting up the new unifi lite... and casual chatting. Well, overall they were very pleasant in their job.
Thats all folks.
uncledaddy
post Aug 24 2017, 04:09 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Aug 23 2017, 03:32 PM)
wah uncle, your layout very pro sia  brows.gif
Oh! Thanks for your appreciation.
uncledaddy
post Aug 26 2017, 04:11 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 24 2017, 05:12 AM)
Good to know that u got it for free, but mine insisted rm160 installation charge if I wanted to go thru the attic as stated in installation guide. My initial plan was similar to yours.
Sorry to hear you were charged the so-called "Non-Standard" cabling.
There's no fix and fast rules actually. I learnt it from TM Point. Just bargain.
The advantage I had over them is, ah well... I'm a retired Engineer and Manager.
I know how to deal with suppliers as well employees. I convinced the senior installer, that's all.

uncledaddy
post Aug 26 2017, 04:22 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(hizad @ Aug 25 2017, 02:06 PM)
what is the best way the extend the wifi coverage? i used wifi extender but the signal is not that stable
I made up my own "antenna booster", consisting of a simple aluminium tubing with twisted copper wire within it.
It is a DIY job, the design and caculations were obtain via web-search. I used that extension when I was
working with an Palm Oil Mill. The office was where the adsl rounter was located and my bungalow was
some 100meters away from the factory. That was "streamyx days". Now at home, the DIY devices are put into cold storage.
If I have time, I might post some information and photos. The average gain is -6dbm.
uncledaddy
post Aug 26 2017, 04:51 AM

33 posts

Just for fun... the masking of zorro de Huawei BTU.

1.) Before...

2.) Masked!
The brightness of the LEDs are killing!
My home office is dimly lit and the Huawei BTU is lighting up the room!
Well, problem solved. Masked! Ha! Ha!

This post has been edited by uncledaddy: Aug 26 2017, 04:52 AM

uncledaddy
post Aug 26 2017, 06:26 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(leonnlooi @ Aug 26 2017, 04:28 PM)
Black transparent sticker will be good.. at least can see what icon blinking haha..
Tried that, it still breaks thru. Even the plastic sheet from a file-folder in not
strong enuf to block the bluddy TM logo. Behind the plastic sheet is layer
of opaque sheet of auto-tape for car-detailing. Anyway I had what I wanted. smile.gif
uncledaddy
post Aug 26 2017, 06:27 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 26 2017, 06:00 PM)
I put some color papers inside into each different Light Indicator.
My still under warranty. Do not want to open it.
uncledaddy
post Sep 7 2017, 07:38 PM

33 posts

Just sharing my discovery about TM Ipv6 vs Ipv4 connections.
Website for test is url: http://ipv6-test.com/

Here's a screen capture of the results...

0.1536sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:18 AM