iPhone blocked by Telco

attw
post Nov 10 2017, 06:31 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Nov 9 2017, 03:17 PM)
my cousin got a 2nd hand iphone from a forum member few months back (claims is from a reseller but no receipt cause lost it). so now he worried after reading about TS post. i guess there's nothing he can do now though
Well, if the reseller is trustworthy or well established then there should be nothing for your cousin to worry about.
attw
post Nov 19 2017, 09:34 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(liyonglim @ Nov 18 2017, 11:10 PM)
I have the same issue previously. Gotten a second hand iPhone 6S plus from mudah.my. I didn't check upon COD. When I reached home, put sim card card, cannot work at all. For maxis centre, change new sim card also same. No signal.
Then since it's under warranty, I just walk into apple warranty centre. Then check my iPhone and took my phone for further examination. One week later, then just replace a brand new one.
Apple service center replaced it for you? That's pretty good then.
attw
post Dec 14 2017, 07:57 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Dec 14 2017, 02:41 AM)
ast time can replace because Apple dunno about telco lock
Now if your phone no service and send the ASP
They will first check is it maxis set or other telco Set
If yes they will return back to u
Service centers pun sudah pandai:D
attw
post May 24 2018, 07:37 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ May 23 2018, 09:44 PM)
well maybe the original owner got it from maxis one and then did not service the whole debt and now telco block it

As far as I know Malaysia telco only can block their own network and if you change sim they can't lock anymore
But if they can block the IMEI of the phone then regardless of SIM card, the phone still gets blocked right?

attw
post Jun 7 2018, 08:26 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jun 7 2018, 12:04 AM)
Telco contract phones are risky.
You acknowledge and agree we have the rights to block the IMEI of the Device if you are:
1, suspected of fraud or found to have committed fraud; or
2, after signing up to this Offer, you fail to make payment for a continuous period of three (3) months.
Yes, that’s the normal terms and conditions. Need to be extra cautious when buying a used one these days.
attw
post Dec 14 2018, 06:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kenkpchow @ Dec 11 2018, 08:10 PM)
Wondering, how if got the phone from company dinner lucky draw without any receipts? Anything I can do to check whether it is Telco phone or not?
I don't think you can check. I'm very skeptical about buying those phones that are "lucky draws" or "gifts". Really got so many people that are so lucky or have friends/relatives that are so generous meh? smile.gif

QUOTE(pulau_4p2 @ Dec 13 2018, 08:39 PM)
how do you even know if the phone is being under Telco plans, which telco because anyone can lie.
True, so exercise caution when buying.
attw
post Dec 14 2018, 07:28 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 14 2018, 11:32 AM)
true.. lately a lot of ppl selling phone under categories 'lucky draw'.. zzzz
Aren't you envious of those lucky people? I am, heh heh...

QUOTE(nyatio @ Dec 14 2018, 05:38 PM)
Hi. I have bought iphone X new sealed in box in february this year. I bought it from a person i saw his ad in facebook. That was early this year so i dont really keep his number.

Then on early november this year suddenly showing no service.

I went to apple center. A week later they replaced me with a totally brand new iphone X.

After using this new iphone x for about 2months it shows no issue service again. I went to apple center again but this time they said my phone have been blocked by MCMC? Seriously? Why at the first place they replace me with new iphone and now telling me this new iphone is being blocked with MCMC?

Means this ne iphone have been blocked by telco? How do i find out which telco blocked it?

Finding the seller  is impossible i think coz i lost the conversation and his number. I dont feel suspicious since its brand new seaed and using the phone with no problem at all for 10months.

Or my iphone is totally unuseable now? Practically i have been using this phone for 11months but its only 1month++ old since Apple just replaced it 1month++ ago.

Is there any way to find out which telco blocked it? I went to celcom center they said they cannot check which telco is it from.
Oh wow, real life example of what can really happen with a telco set. Since it's not blocked by Celcom, it could be maxis. Maybe check with them and see.
attw
post Dec 16 2018, 09:07 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kenkpchow @ Dec 16 2018, 12:16 AM)
Well..maybe I'm the lucky 1..not iPhone but mate 20 Pro, got from company dinner lucky draw...thought to sell it out for cash, but then now decided to use it myself..
Nice. Congrats!
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 06:32 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Dec 17 2018, 06:23 PM)
Bloody hell.. i kena this too.. exact same situation.. I brought in my iPhoneX I bought from this f**ker in LYN called “AK Comm” in Dec 2017 and they swapped a new one for me.. happened last week my phone no network and I sent it back and now they tell me high chances its telco locked now..
I thought Ak Comm says as long as it gets locked they will help you settle?

Was tempted to buy an iPhone X from him some months ago but glad I decided otherwise.

This post has been edited by attw: Dec 17 2018, 06:34 PM
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 08:31 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Dec 17 2018, 08:11 PM)
I can’t even reach him anymore.. do you know or remember  what was the post?
Here you go, bro

You can search for the posts he started, though not sure if he’s disappeared or still using the same phone number.

This post has been edited by attw: Dec 17 2018, 08:32 PM
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 10:07 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Dec 17 2018, 08:43 PM)
Thank you so much.. I manage to contact him.. he has changed his number.. he say he will help me solve it and if he can, I take back my words that he is a f**ker..
Haha, ok bro. Hope he solves it for you. Cheers!
attw
post Dec 19 2018, 08:11 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(nyatio @ Dec 18 2018, 10:13 AM)
Sold my new iphone X replaced set by Apple for rm2000. Better than nothing. I just bought new iphone but this time singapore set, no worries for telco set.
Make sure it’s not a Singapore telco set wink.gif
attw
post Dec 19 2018, 08:48 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(vince316 @ Dec 19 2018, 08:21 AM)
Singapore telco set should not affect malaysia sim card.
Unless you roam to SG.
Yeah, but was told if got any problems warranty claims must go back to respective telcos..
attw
post Jan 7 2019, 08:22 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(KINTREX @ Jan 7 2019, 06:32 PM)
May I know isn’t a risk to buy local telco set (new set) from seller ah?

Any possibility phone be blocking in future.

Thank you
Yes, definitely possible. Seems to be a trend now especially if the phone was bought using a leasing-like method for example Maxis Zerolution or Celcom Easyphone.
attw
post Jan 13 2019, 09:40 AM

32,468 posts

So many locked phone cases lately bangwall.gif
attw
post Jan 14 2019, 09:51 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Jan 14 2019, 03:22 AM)
I'm selling a Telco set too. So how to assure buyer that there won't be trouble? I don't miss payments and contract is 2 years, so after 2 years the phone isn't bound to the Telco anymore right in the sense that ive completed the contract for it?
Sticking to local buyers for now since if anything can easily solve. So much fussy, didn't even realize the telcos implement this.
If you bought your set on a normal contract it shouldn’t be a problem. Only if you used leasing methods like Zerolution or Easy Phone, then it becomes harder.
attw
post Jan 14 2019, 07:43 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 14 2019, 12:33 PM)
Good to know. Mine is normal contract.
QUOTE(itekderp @ Jan 14 2019, 06:32 PM)
I see. But better read the fine print just in case. Will update once I have
Yup, if you have proof of purchase to show/see, then shouldn’t be an issue smile.gif
attw
post Jan 17 2019, 11:03 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jan 17 2019, 09:56 AM)
Didn't keep my hopes up and he is still a f**ker.. attached is our whatsapp conversation.. he started to remove the "blue tick" status also halfway through our conversation..
this is true.. I sold mine for RM2,000 too but 1 did offer me up to RM2,200.. so too all those who kena.. expect between RM2,000 ~ RM2,200..
Well on the plus side, you’ve managed to recover some cash and you’ve learned an important lesson about buying telco phones smile.gif
attw
post Mar 13 2019, 07:27 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Dacoldz @ Mar 13 2019, 01:32 AM)
Iphoen 8 gold 64gb.. ok??
Yours also kena telco locked?
attw
post Mar 14 2019, 08:29 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(yklvv @ Mar 14 2019, 02:52 AM)
iPhone secondhand market is very sketchy.
it’s either refurbished or telco sets.
Or ex-owners listing their used ones with unrealistic high prices thinking iPhone values are still what they used to be smile.gif

0.0238sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:00 PM