Soundproofing a Car, How many mats should I buy?

TSeesyam
post Jul 26 2017, 08:45 PM, updated 9y ago

68 posts

I would like to know for a car like the Iriz, how much square feet of sound insulator mat (like the Dynamat) would it needed to cover the whole car? I wanted to soundproof it from top to bottom in 1 layer, while the wheel well area would get double layer.

I was thinking of changing my stock speakers first before, but after few consideration I thought that it would be more prudent to actually soundproof it first and foremost, since the NVH of my car is considerably high (in my own opinion).

This post has been edited by eesyam: Jul 26 2017, 08:46 PM
craziechild
post Jul 29 2017, 04:47 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

you would have to take into consideration that different area of the car requires different products (thickness / density) to work best for the area...

a rough idea for you to estimate, a normal sedan(vios/almera/city) cabin full sound proof including the rear trunk area... would take total of 60 pcs of sound proof of various series...

and to your expectations...
it kills the rains noise other than those coming from the windshields..
it kills the road noise coming from the floor pans...
it helps on the audio tremendously...
thats about it to my honest opinion...

but to really reduce the NVH levels when cruising, consider sound proofing and then auto foam your car chassis... that way the wind sound that travels through these tunnels are completely removed and its really quiet during high way speed...

and it comes down to your engine, tyres and suspensions...

so... cheers.gif
TSeesyam
post Jul 29 2017, 09:09 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jul 29 2017, 04:47 PM)
you would have to take into consideration that different area of the car requires different products (thickness / density) to work best for the area...

a rough idea for you to estimate, a normal sedan(vios/almera/city) cabin full sound proof including the rear trunk area... would take total of 60 pcs of sound proof of various series...

and to your expectations...
it kills the rains noise other than those coming from the windshields..
it kills the road noise coming from the floor pans...
it helps on the audio tremendously...
thats about it to my honest opinion...

but to really reduce the NVH levels when cruising, consider sound proofing and then auto foam your car chassis... that way the wind sound that travels through these tunnels are completely removed and its really quiet during high way speed...

and it comes down to your engine, tyres and suspensions...

so... cheers.gif
I always thought that you can actually just use a single series of product for the whole car, just add a few layers of it on top of each other on the areas that you wanted to block the most like from the wheel well area. Seems like that is not the case.

Can you recommend any product that is good for each area? Thanks! cheers.gif
Audio Master
post Aug 2 2017, 02:09 PM

craziechild is right, he dint mean u need opt for various brand

yes you can stick to 1 brand.. but there is different tpye of product in a brand...
dynamat have product specialize for hood which is hoodliner
for thermal insulator which is dynaliner

so if roof u wanted to reduce heat n sound, stick a layer of dynamat extreme n another layer of dynaliner... this is what craziechild mean, BTW sorry ya if i explain wrong dont flame bro.

actually personally, this is just my personal thoughts la,
just get stp or dynamat stick 1 layer kaotim...
no need opt for so many layer de la... going for competition meh....
so many layer d car damn heavy wei...
joefbi
post Aug 5 2017, 12:21 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

front door, firewall, front floor..agak-agak je la
TSeesyam
post Aug 6 2017, 08:56 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Audio Master @ Aug 2 2017, 02:09 PM)
craziechild is right, he dint mean u need opt for various brand

yes you can stick to 1 brand.. but there is different tpye of product in a brand...
dynamat have product specialize for hood which is hoodliner
for thermal insulator which is dynaliner

so if roof u wanted to reduce heat n sound, stick a layer of dynamat extreme n another layer of dynaliner... this is what craziechild mean, BTW sorry ya if i explain wrong dont flame bro.

actually personally, this is just my personal thoughts la,
just get stp or dynamat stick 1 layer kaotim...
no need opt for so many layer de la... going for competition meh....
so many layer d car damn heavy wei...
Ohhh ok now I understand more. Yeah I was also concerned bout the added weight to the car if I put on too many layers on certain areas. I am seriously noob in this field so your guidance is highy appreciated cheers.gif

QUOTE(joefbi @ Aug 5 2017, 12:21 PM)
front door, firewall, front floor..agak-agak je la
Guess I better start from the doors first biggrin.gif
Eternalgl0ry
post Aug 8 2017, 12:44 AM

463 posts

Soundproofing helps but it all lies on the experience and professionalism of the installer.

My friend had his car for soundproofing and make it worse after. Found out the installer did not install back the original parts that causes vibration and rattling. Pretty much lots of scratches or dent on plastic area
Audio Master
post Aug 8 2017, 05:57 PM

yeah just start with the door 1st... n c how the result... pls dun get cap ayam soundproofing... later the soundproof melted... the material dripping out of your door... wanna clean that time reli GG
post Nov 16 2017, 09:17 AM

1,003 posts

A pack of Dynamat adds around 9kg to the car. Imagine if you use 3 pack for one car and that's not full coverage. Already 27kgs. One of my cars had almost 40kgs in and another only had 2 packs. Properly installed and placed, they sound (or lack of sound) almost similar.

For some areas, you just need to dampen the panels wit strategically placed dampeners and then use cotton liners or close cell foam pads to absorb the sound.

0.0224sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:04 PM