post Apr 4 2007, 10:52 AM, updated 19y ago

90 posts

Apple realy no virus? No antivirus require? sad.gif
SUSMinority116
post Apr 4 2007, 12:51 PM

145 posts

no antivirus require, but mac sometimes had some hole & flaws, but it be fix by apple update..
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 4 2007, 02:01 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Can u mention some examples of hole & flaws? SOmething like Freeze?
E|dan
post Apr 4 2007, 02:09 PM

532 posts

Got...apple got more virus then windose that apple gave up on creating anti virus for it... >.>
kevler
post Apr 4 2007, 02:43 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(E|dan @ Apr 4 2007, 02:09 PM)
Got...apple got more virus then windose that apple gave up on creating anti virus for it... >.>
wahhh..really ?

gimme URL for that statement
youngkies
post Apr 4 2007, 02:57 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

have a read here: http://www.apple.com/getamac/viruses.html and that is true indeed, not just some apple advertising their own product.

in fact that microsoft developers spend a lot of time in improving and increasing security + its issue (because of virus treat, malware etc), while apple developer spend more time on improving the os itself (since they dont have much virus issue to deal with).
Mgsrulz
post Apr 4 2007, 03:11 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i cant remember where i read this,(probably in the papers) an antivirus corporation's staff was asked if macs will have any antivirus solution,and if not,why..
he said there are just too little viruses for the mac to warrant an antivirus application.
youngkies
post Apr 4 2007, 03:17 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

there are actually reported virus for mac. but the treat is just insignificant, hence it is better term as hole and flaws and security update from apple fixed it most of the time. that is why anti-virus software etc for mac is not necessary.
spunkberry
post Apr 4 2007, 06:29 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

actually...the macs in my school are riddled with viruses cos the incompetent IT manager let a virus get in...stupid.
Bad Cyborg
post Apr 4 2007, 06:35 PM

828 posts

What virus is that?
waynelyp90
post Apr 4 2007, 07:50 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

My Ipod Nano got infected my Trojan Backdoor before... Not sure about Macs though... whistling.gif
spunkberry
post Apr 4 2007, 08:12 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Apr 4 2007, 07:35 PM)
What virus is that?
some sort of macrovirus that affects every single effing thing on the macs...like word documents and stuff are all riddled..
babyk
post Apr 4 2007, 08:46 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(waynelyp90 @ Apr 4 2007, 07:50 PM)
My Ipod Nano got infected my Trojan Backdoor before... Not sure about Macs though... whistling.gif
this is because you are running FAT/FAT32 partition format yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

will not have virus if you running on Machintosh format drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
prasys
post Apr 4 2007, 08:47 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/security/soa/...39272051,00.htm

Just , read...There are , but the OS is soo solid that viruses can't even replicate and delete stuff
michellechen
post Apr 4 2007, 09:31 PM

23 posts

So it means that really no need to install any anti-virus whatsoever for my Macbook? tongue.gif
dragna
post Apr 4 2007, 09:36 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(michellechen @ Apr 4 2007, 09:31 PM)
So it means that really no need to install any anti-virus whatsoever for my Macbook? tongue.gif
Why waste the HDD space installing such programs which were build to aid windose? rclxub.gif
76radius
post Apr 4 2007, 10:13 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(michellechen @ Apr 4 2007, 10:31 PM)
I dunno others but I've used Mac for the past 7 years, I never install any Antivirus til todate.
goldfries
post Apr 4 2007, 10:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(michellechen @ Apr 4 2007, 09:31 PM)
not necessary. smile.gif just be cautious on what you open / run. that's it. no biggy, if the virus was made to harass windows then it wouldn't be working on the mac os in the first place. biggrin.gif
DDSFan8
post Apr 4 2007, 10:56 PM

1,278 posts

also, nobody want to infect MAC anyway. Population too small. No point and no fun
goldfries
post Apr 4 2007, 10:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Apr 4 2007, 10:56 PM)
also, nobody want to infect MAC anyway. Population too small. No point and no fun
hehe. ever tried to infect a unix-based system? smile.gif
zc_squash
post Apr 5 2007, 12:25 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Apr 4 2007, 10:56 PM)
Yep. damn true. The reason there are no viruses on Mac is nobody even care to write a virus for it. Complete waste of time. But the Mac OS X is still a better OS than Vista i feel. For the fact that you do get the feelings that Vista is a OS X rip-off tongue.gif
J-Slade
post Apr 5 2007, 12:42 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Believe it or not, there is a varient of Brontok virus that can affect MacOS X. My gf's iMac icons on the desktop just disappeared one by one......... scary..
oc_yee
post Apr 5 2007, 01:17 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(waynelyp90 @ Apr 4 2007, 07:50 PM)
we r talking about os not mp3 player lah , your ipod got virus becoz you r format it as windows format already , if you use mac format should be no this problem loh , but once you format it as mac version, you cannot use windows to download or upload songs already .

Added on April 5, 2007, 1:20 ami already use mac for long time , i never kena virus/hacker/spam/spy ware....... i think virus creater was no interst wif mac os kua . coz no much ppl use mac in world and they got no point to infect mac os coz virus will not course mac os die de , juz maybe course some software cannot use only ....

This post has been edited by oc_yee: Apr 5 2007, 01:20 AM
samus_ng
post Apr 5 2007, 07:51 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(mingock @ Apr 4 2007, 10:52 AM)
Apple realy no virus? No antivirus require?  sad.gif
No viruses for Mac(only very little and it's like so hard to get attacked by them). Now, Go and buy a Mac
goldfries
post Apr 5 2007, 08:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 5 2007, 07:51 PM)
No viruses for Mac(only very little and it's like so hard to get attacked by them). Now, Go and buy a Mac
haha. great. so you say "no viruses" followed by "only very little". smile.gif
MacDaNife
post Apr 5 2007, 09:37 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've been using Macs since 1988. I've installed Mac antivirus programmes in the past but have only detected a virus ONCE on a 3.5" floppy. It did NOT cause any damage.

Since then, I've not detected any more.

So much so, I've stopped installing antivirus software.

That answer the question?
ckkean
post Apr 6 2007, 05:18 PM

807 posts

I've never install antivirus in my office's mac at all...dunno got virus or not... whistling.gif
Moonstroke
post Apr 6 2007, 10:15 PM

78 posts

my fren said virus was created by mac user. haha:P Dunno true or not.
SUSMike3300
post Apr 6 2007, 10:27 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(Moonstroke @ Apr 6 2007, 10:15 PM)
my fren said virus was created by mac user. haha:P Dunno true or not.
My friend said that Windows user loves to hack own OS to test their security, but eventually... smile.gif
moneyface_mario
post Apr 10 2007, 06:36 PM

Validating
79 posts

mac doesnt hv more virus then windows ok
windows hv more then a thousand viruses when apple has only 10
Turnip
post Apr 10 2007, 09:22 PM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

owh nw i c y mac hav performance power despite da hardware itslef..cool.. smile.gif
yetieater
post Apr 10 2007, 10:31 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Apr 10 2007, 09:22 PM)
owh nw i c y mac hav performance power despite da hardware itslef..cool.. smile.gif
What's wrong with the hardware? It's not lacking in any way, is it?
kevler
post Apr 12 2007, 10:14 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

try check this out

http://www.macobserver.com/article/2007/04/10.9.shtml
ron4
post Apr 12 2007, 10:41 PM

1,123 posts

Because nobody interested to create virus in Mac, only 4% desktop market share
uchan
post Apr 12 2007, 11:30 PM

427 posts

I have got virus infected in my apple three years agoooooo.... I formatted, then until now, i donoooooo...
ryuuzaki
post Apr 12 2007, 11:55 PM

552 posts

nothing is secure.
multiplexer
post Apr 13 2007, 12:03 AM

393 posts

i wish i could be a mac group of users later on. got myself bored with all the "windows-tindows" thing... my next notebook would likely be a mac book..
wongpk
post Apr 13 2007, 12:48 AM

143 posts

Guess people are more concentrate on "no virus" than usability of the computer?
kevler
post Apr 13 2007, 10:37 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

hurmm..need more concentrate on "defending your own territory" after this

executing more chkrootkit detector and upgrade security baseline , in whatsoever OS we have
marxmannn
post Apr 13 2007, 10:58 AM

138 posts

just because you don't see any, doesn't mean there aren't any, and there won't be any...
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 13 2007, 11:10 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(uchan @ Apr 12 2007, 11:30 PM)
I have got virus infected in my apple three years agoooooo.... I formatted, then until now, i donoooooo...
i am jealous. I am almost formatted my PC average every 3 months. I hate it i had to reinstall everything from roots~! it could take my half day to complete part of the things i need.

Malware, spyware is even scarier than virus. They attack my pc without ur notification when u enter any website esp CHINA website.

kevler
post Apr 13 2007, 11:24 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 13 2007, 11:10 AM)
i am jealous. I am almost formatted my PC average every 3 months. I hate it i had to reinstall everything from roots~! it could take my half day to complete part of the things i need.

Malware, spyware is even scarier than virus. They attack my pc without ur notification when u enter any website esp CHINA website.
aiyak ..u can create image disk for that ..u can load a new fresh OS each time u wanna format

by the way , why u send posting regarding PC if thread talks about virus within Apple ? not relevant i think

how about u switch to Mac ..heheh nod.gif

This post has been edited by kevler: Apr 13 2007, 11:25 AM
xaw5126
post Apr 13 2007, 11:50 AM

3,488 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 13 2007, 11:10 AM)

why don't you use ZoneAlarm and stop the malware and spyware at the entrance? I mean, if you want to use Windows, do some research and find out how to stop intruders.

rather than come into a Mac user forum and whine about windows smile.gif
wei
post Apr 13 2007, 11:56 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 13 2007, 11:50 AM)
why don't you use ZoneAlarm and stop the malware and spyware at the entrance? I mean, if you want to use Windows, do some research and find out how to stop intruders.

rather than come into a Mac user forum and whine about windows smile.gif
cheers bro, he's just jealous. nothing wrong of being jealous. who knows one day he might switch over.
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 13 2007, 12:17 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

I am just plainly jealous over Mac OS..haha..

The security softwares in my PC is more than 5 oredi.
Gosh..i still duno how to use Ghost image.
Well, cut off the PC thingy here.

Cool down guys. I am just giving myself an excuse to try-on Mac. Issit too lame?!

My next setup would be a MAC! ( no matter how poor i am... i have my plan onto it.)
allvin
post Apr 13 2007, 12:27 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 13 2007, 01:17 PM)
I am just plainly jealous over Mac OS..haha..

The security softwares in my PC is more than 5 oredi.
Gosh..i still duno how to use Ghost image.
Well, cut off the PC thingy here.

Cool down guys. I am just giving myself an excuse to try-on Mac. Issit too lame?!

My next setup would be a MAC! ( no matter how poor i am... i have my plan onto it.)
Dude, get a hackintosh.. brows.gif whistling.gif
sumtuckieeeee
post Apr 14 2007, 03:16 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Apr 13 2007, 12:27 PM)
Dude, get a hackintosh..  brows.gif  whistling.gif
apa itu vin
prasys
post Apr 14 2007, 03:22 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

dude , have you read the hackintosh thread , google for it dude....Let me sum this up , OSX86 for PCs...thats right , run MacOS X on your PC
sumtuckieeeee
post Apr 14 2007, 04:48 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 14 2007, 03:22 PM)
dude , have you read the hackintosh thread , google for it dude....Let me sum this up , OSX86 for PCs...thats right , run MacOS X on your PC
alrite...thankx...but..hmm...will it be stable?
prasys
post Apr 14 2007, 10:34 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Again it all depends on your hardware. I can't say it would be stable or not. If you have a compatible hardware , then yeah why not ...it'll be stable..It will be good for torrenting ,surfing the net , MSNing , youtubeing...That is what I use OSX mainly for...

0.1716sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:53 AM