-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V22, Leaves You Speechless

pubmut
post Sep 6 2017, 03:18 PM

141 posts

This is an old topic, but does anyone here still have their car lights flickering at idle? The SC tells me the battery I use isn't up to spec (ridiculous explanation IMO) but reading other threads tells me that the wiring harness is the issue. If there are others in this forum who had solved this, pray tell.

The other problem I'm facing now is the faint krk klok sound from time to time, especially when on slightly bumpy roads. I thought it to be the CV joint but there appears to be no rip in the rubber cover. However, it does make the occasional sound when turning left, so, would that the be CV joint needing additional grease even though everything is sealed?

Hmmm...
pubmut
post Sep 12 2017, 03:31 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 7 2017, 08:35 AM)
What battery are you using? If you have an external wiring harness that you can directly plug into the battery, you can confirm if it's the battery and the stock wiring harness.

At the time it makes the sound, does it also have a "freeplay" or looseness in the steering? Only in left turns or left turns + bumpy roads?

Could be CV, could be a lower arm bush.
I'm using Panasonic battery and the mechanic I asked used some fancy gadget to test the battery condition and it's still in great condition. Only think I can think of now is the wiring harness. I don't have any external wiring harness and where do I get them?? When I search for "wiring harness for 2012 Forte" all I get is radio wiring harness but no wiring harness for fuse box or elsewhere. Would be great to find a wireman who can sort me out.

For the krk klok sound, at the time it makes it, there's no freeplay or looseness in the steering at all - not to my experience. Only happens on bumpy roads and turning left. I did notice a busted bush cover on the top side of the suspension coil where the shock absorbers sit but I didn't think that would be problematic because it's not grease filled or anything.

It could probably be the loweer arm bush but I had my mechanic test it and he doesn't think it to be problematic.

I guess I'll need to get the mechanic to fix the busted bush cover first before considering the lower arm bush. SC prefers to change the lower arm assembly completely for the usual 1xxx price. sad.gif

Regards
pubmut
post Sep 13 2017, 08:30 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 12 2017, 07:40 PM)
It looks something like this (this is for H4) : H4 Wiring Harness

Is there a direction to this sound? Left, Right, Center?

If your mechanic thinks it isn't problematic and if you don't feel any mechanical play and IF you can live with it, it should be fine.
Thanks for the sample pic of the H4. I'll need to look at the specs for the headlights for the Forte. Offhand do you know what the spec is?

The sound comes from the front left side of the car and I'm now getting convinced that I should change the lower arm bushing. Problem is - do mechanics have the tools to remove the bushing?

This post has been edited by pubmut: Sep 13 2017, 08:36 PM
pubmut
post Sep 13 2017, 08:33 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 13 2017, 09:59 AM)
for the klok klok sound, if the steering area do not have free play thats a good news too. At least you dont need to worry on steering rack and column which would cost a bomb. I bet you would like to check the listed item by me on the above comments. By the way i missed out few points in that post. Ball Joint and also Absorber mounting. If your car is not under warranty, do not change the parts in SC. It surely makes a big hole in your wallet. Visit any spare part shop and get your lower arm original at around 280 per piece.

If during you turn and accelerate, it produce some sound, might also check on the drive shaft.

Hopes it helps.  biggrin.gif
Ack! I got a quote for the lower arm assembly original at RM380 per piece. Now I have to go around price checking.

I've no plans to go back to the SC for any servicing from this point forward after the warranty expired. I'll be needing to have a mechanic check things over thoroughly before buying the parts.

So far there hasn't been any sound when I turn and accelerate, so I hope that the drive shaft is in good order.

pubmut
post Sep 14 2017, 06:42 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 14 2017, 09:29 AM)
Our Forte's are using H7 bulbs for the low beam. Same 12V55W.

I did change for a pair of reconditioned lower arm assemblies at Autosavers for RM250/pc. 2nd month in and it's doing fine.

My friend's experience however, isn't quite the same. We changed at the same time and he had to get it replaced again the following week. The bush got loose and was causing new knocking sounds.

Just so you know what's possible with recon.
I've no plans to go with reconditioned units and I wonder if Autosavers or any other mechanic will want to just change the bushings after I buy them. Express Mobis quoted RM45 (ori) RM26 (OEM) for the big bushing and RM25 (ori) RM18 (OEM) for small bushings. I looked up How to Change Bushings on Youtube and it looks like one needs to have the right tools to do so. Otherwise it's not very good.

Incidentally I called up Hyunkia to ask for the lower arm assembly and they quoted an OEM for RM155. Now I wonder if I heard wrongly or are these OEM units reconditioned...
pubmut
post Sep 14 2017, 06:46 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 14 2017, 09:41 AM)
where is your location? if no more warranty then not worth staying in SC. Go for a good mechanic and have a check on it. i also dont wish any of you guys kena potong. I will just include some of my inputs. Note that data is past few months ago. Might not be the same for now.

PJ PH Auto Spare Part shop - lower arm 285 before gst
Express Mobis Jln Ipoh/Segambut - lower arm 300+/-

Both of the shop mentioned above are the spare part shop which i will get my parts from. There are still few stockist. like vanli and kia powers.
Thanks. I checked with Hyunkia and they quoted RM155 (OEM) for the lower arm assembly. I wonder if I heard wrong.

Anyway, do you have any opinion about Autobiz Autosavers? Is it worth giving them a try?
pubmut
post Sep 18 2017, 11:02 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 15 2017, 09:18 AM)
OEM depends on which brand you are talking about. I've quoted RM185 for Onnuri Brand. For me I wont visit those shop. So called famous or what. Waste of time. Wait and wait and wait. Very less shop doing for changing of bushes only. Because its not an easy work. Require right tool for it. Have to force it in/out. But for recondition pairs for 250 + 250 i would rather pay for an OEM.
DYC if I recall correctly when talking to the guy. Anyway I dropped by AutoSaver and got it fixed for RM190. Apparently it was the absorber link rod that was worn and so one pair was installed, incidentally an OEM version (I couldn't see the brand name).

Now I'm focused on getting the light flicker issue...
pubmut
post Sep 23 2017, 04:04 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 19 2017, 10:25 AM)
Never heard of the brand. Autosaver got lots of OEM brands too. Depends on luck i guess. If its okay then good to go! smile.gif
Regarding to those weird noise and worsen handling. Lastly i decided to fix them all at once. Bought everything needed and get it fix soon. ball joint, tie rod, rack end, lower arm bushes(Decided to change the bushes first). Total of RM440+ include gst. Mix of originals and oem parts.  cool2.gif
Keep us posted on your adventure with changing the lower arm bushings. I'm curious to find out if the mechanics like AutoSavers are willing to do just that instead of changing the entire lower arm assembly.

Meanwhile I sought a mechanic recommended by Express Mobis and after much testing on my light flickering issue, concluded that the alternator may be the problem. He checked the battery power using diagnostics and power ranged from 12.67V to 14.8V, which, in his opinion, the alternator is struggling to keep pace with the charging of the battery. It's not bad yet since going above 1000 RPMs the alternator is working very well. It's only idling when this happens.

When he tested the battery itself under load, the battery went from 14V to 10.5V. His suggestion - carry on with status quo until the alternator is completely dead and when the battery needs changing, change it to a high quality battery which may hold better than the popular brands. He alleges that many batteries do not really have the sufficient number of plates inside it to provide the necessary charge, something of which remains to be seen.

I wonder if an OEM alternator is a good choice though the mechanic doesn't think so. I'll have to do some more checking.

pubmut
post Sep 23 2017, 04:08 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alextyw85 @ Sep 21 2017, 11:12 AM)
RPM is about 700 RPM when idle (D gear and car not moving). I sent to service centre, they help me to clean the throttle body (I don't know how they clean as I can't see them doing anything). When I get my car, I ask the malay that my car still shaking, she said is like that one. i totally speechless. in my memory, the engine was smooth when in idle. Until now, i still cannot find the solution....

I just feel wasting my time and money to send my car to service centre for inspection... they charge me RM 75 for inspection and few hundred for clean the throttle body. I request for waiver due to still under warranty but they refuse to waive as I request them to inspect the car and do the necessary action... less than 2 hundred was gone (can't remember the exact amount)... very dulan that time...
It could be that the throttle body is faulty and cleaning may not be the solution. You might have to change to a new throttle body.
pubmut
post Sep 23 2017, 04:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 21 2017, 11:28 AM)
biasa la. SC is throat cutter. Basically if you paying that price, i would rather go outside to check. Cleaning of throttle body got few ways. Need to inspect slowly for this rough idling bro. Last time my vios cleaned throttle body with those spray also same effect. still shaky. The best part if there is foreman which will take the whole tb to clean it thoroughly but need an experience guy which wont mess up those sensors and wires and so on. What mileage and years of your ride?
WRT to your Vios having rough idling, my previous City also had that and the mechanic I recently saw for my Forte told me that it's likely the idling valve within the throttle body that may be the cause, of which it will require changing instead of cleaning. That's his expert opinion. He's formerly a Hyundai mechanic.

pubmut
post Oct 6 2017, 05:06 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Oct 6 2017, 03:15 PM)
Hi..nice sharing.. tq
May i know which SC u sent your car to? I'm having quite similar problem as yours.. the tcs and abs warning and sometimes the brake/parking indicator keep lighting up. Sending to Kota kemuning SC, they said its bcos of my abs sensor faulty and asking for ~RM600 a side to replace.. I'm deciding on something simple and cheaper option 1st before delving to a much more expensive thing.

btw, this is my 5th year of ownership on the forte.. somehow i think i might be getting a lemon.. sweat.gif  so far, the alignment (infamous steering pull left issue) still not yet rectified even tho sent to numerous wshop for alignment.. havent done the camber adjustment yet bcos still looking for a replacement rims (2 of my rims bengkok ady)..
I understand from one Hyundai mechanic that the stock rims for the Forte is actually very soft, therefore prone to dents. Best if you can find a set of 2nd hand rims or splurge on some new ones.
pubmut
post Nov 11 2017, 04:32 PM

141 posts

Hiya. Has anyone purchased tyres through Lazada before? I'm curious as to why these shops have prices way lower than what you ask for at any tyre shop, or this is a lure so that they will squeeze you for more?

TIA
pubmut
post Dec 3 2017, 08:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Dainez @ Dec 1 2017, 11:21 AM)
Anyone can recommend spark plug for Forte 1.6SX?

Should I stick to the original/normal ones or iridium spark plug? Feel any difference besides the price?

Found some links:

Iridium Spark Plugs:
1. Denso Iridium IXUH22i on Lazada @ RM170.10
2. NGK Laser Iridium ILZKR7B-11S on Lazada @ RM129.80 (Cheap, but shipped from China abit scared)

Normal Spark Plugs:
3. Original Kia Forte OEM on Lazada @ RM88.00
4. NGK LZKR6B-10 Spark Plug on Lazada @ RM108.80

Please share, thank you  notworthy.gif
A quick search on spark plugs showed that the stock Kia ones are Denso Iridium long life, with one quoting it will last 160K kms or 100K miles. Well, you might want to think it over if you haven't reached that number yet.
pubmut
post Dec 13 2017, 10:30 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Dainez @ Dec 5 2017, 12:42 PM)
Any sos for the original stock Kia spark plug being Iridium long life?

And btw, 100k and 160k is a huge difference of 60k leh, i.e. 6 service runs  sweat.gif

Mine is currently at 106k so thining about to change it..
Hey Dainez

To date most sparks are changed at 100 thousand km intervals and I think we should stay at that. I think perhaps what I read on forteforums may not be accurate. Give and take a few thousand of it should be fine.
pubmut
post Jan 18 2018, 04:40 PM

141 posts

Hey all. Just checking to see if AutoSavers or any outside mechanic can adjust ignition timing for the 2.0 SX?

TIA.
pubmut
post Jun 25 2018, 07:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Jun 25 2018, 05:21 PM)
guys, need help, my car produce noise when over a bumper, from driver side. It only produce the sound when the car is "warm up".

pls check the noise on video below.

Kia forte noise
Mine has that noise too but only on hot days. To date it's not fixed yet because each time I bring it to the mechanic the sound magically disappears...heheh. Actually it disappears because the days are cool when I go to the mechanic.

Quick prognosis is likely the suspension or absorbers, but I've changed my absorbers like a year and a half ago so until I get down to it, it really doesn't affect much of the car handling at all.

The other issue I face is that after a recent tyre alignment and balancing the tyre guy tells me my caster is misaligned, saying that I must have been in a pretty bad accident to misalign the caster by about 2cm. I've no idea because the only "accident" I've had is destroying the alloy rims due to potholes. The tyre guy showed me that the gap between the tire and the wheel well is greater on one side compared to the other.

Hmmm...

So I've been recommended to go look for the bodyworks people to align the caster back to position.

0.0539sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:18 PM