V22 already, hurt ah...
alextyw85
post Jul 24 2017, 03:20 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Jul 23 2017, 03:43 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Bro, re your reply on v 21.

"u turn on aircon... gear on D or R.. revv abit... rpm must below 2k...

can heard harsh krrr krr sound.. its coming from the tensioner/belting area.

*not all forte have this issue i think. "

Wanna know, the tensioner/belting area is at the engine side right? but my krrr sound is coming inside... How to fix this problem and what to change? and why not all forte have this issue?
alextyw85
post Aug 8 2017, 03:30 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ Aug 5 2017, 11:41 AM)
The Forte 1.6 is a good car for whatever use, if you're not crazy about power or torque. I had generally trouble-free ownership for the 7 years I owned one. The only times it didn't start was when battery died. My was a 2010/4-speed auto model.

Brake discs were skimmed after six years.

Aircon compressor hose replaced after six-and-a-half years. Replacement at authorised SC was almost 1k.

Fuel pump sensor also replaced after six years, it suddenly stopped working and dashboard indicator showed empty while tank was still full. About RM200.

Car was recalled once, also after almost six years, to upgrade brake pedal switch (this was a global recall).

There was the usual 10k service/6 month-interval service. My car had about 110,000km on it when I sold it 2 months ago.

For me, it served its purpose well, about 95% city use. Yes, been outstation a few times, and also sat in the back during these times to let relief driver take wheel, and was very comfortable.

So, I wasn't aware of any issues - i heard stories about camber alignment issues, but this seemed to vary with tyre service centres.

My friend has a 2.0 from 2010, 4-speed. His biggest bill was the steering rack/motor (the 2.0 has electric, the 1.6 uses hydraulic)... SC quoted him about 10k but I got it knocked down for him by 40%.

Build quality was superb for the price.

Hope this helps in your decision... used Forte is one of the best value buys, if it was generally trouble-free to start with. I had intended to keep mine longer but some personal circumstances necessitated selling it.

I moved up to a 2.0 Cerato.
I don't receive any recall for the brake switch, even i service my car in SC till now....

MDPS so expensive???? why ur friend change at Sc, don't change outside?

alextyw85
post Aug 11 2017, 01:46 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Aug 11 2017, 11:00 AM)
can someone help me to check which spare part company has ready stock for 6-spd side mirror RH?

Already repaired the gear... RM200 ... still spoilt... might as well change to a new one
Mind to share where you repair the gear? I heard that the gear is plastic and any idea how to change to metal gear?
alextyw85
post Aug 16 2017, 12:11 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Aug 16 2017, 10:23 AM)
something like tis ,ur side mirror probably plastic gear loose problem too
https://www.google.com/search?q=kia+forte+s...h_0lE52JYBRecM:
Bro, are you referring to this? The plastic gear of the side mirror...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpi10UmaLmM
alextyw85
post Aug 17 2017, 11:18 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Aug 16 2017, 08:44 PM)
thanks, already order from taobao.

I disassembly my side mirror and found the gear cracked.
Mind to share how much you order from taoboo??? You order the plastic gear only or the entire side mirror?
alextyw85
post Aug 17 2017, 04:14 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Aug 17 2017, 04:06 PM)
gear only, RM50+ include shipping.
Bro, something like this? The plastic gear is 1 only or need to buy 1 pair? macam forte one easy to spoilt, i already kena once and claim warranty....

If so easy to spoilt, i think cerato one should also easy to spoilt as cerato comes with auto folding mirror....

https://world.taobao.com/item/546334419026....bucket=9#detail
alextyw85
post Aug 18 2017, 11:32 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Aug 17 2017, 05:36 PM)
yes, thats the shop, before me already got ppl from Malaysia buy it.

The gear not yet arrive cant comment, seem just a unit.

not sure easy to spoil or not, but i think my case is because my mirror kena bang during 1st week of my car, that cb motorist drive in middle of 2 lane and bang my side mirror and caused my mirror bend to outside, and the cover fly out. Maybe that time the gear already start cracking, so slowly cannot use oledi.
Some time i felt the motorist wanna go to hell, the middle of 2 lanes are so small still die die want to go thru.. and sometime when driving on LDP, the motorist suddenly cut to my lane. they really want to go hell...
alextyw85
post Aug 18 2017, 11:41 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Aug 18 2017, 12:34 PM)
what to do, this is Malaysia, i knew some country motorists are not allow to drive between lane, to be honest, it for their safely also.

what make me most DL is, they saw you signal want merge to other lane than horn you kao kao, cant them fuxking slow down?
Ya. I kena few times also, keep horning... middle of the lanes is not the drive way, they should not drive middle of the lane... I saw few motorist lagi gaolat... horning all the way to destination, like want to pre-alert car driver don't merge the lane as the motorist is coming.. hehehe...

I kena one time kena bang the side mirror but not motorist, is the bicycle rider. I stop my car in front of the shop in my hometown to wait my parents, a stupid guy ride the bicycle and bang my side mirror. the road is sooooo wide, why must ride so near to my car and bang my side mirror.... this fellow looks like bangla... luckily car was not new so just heart pain few mins only...
alextyw85
post Aug 21 2017, 11:20 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 20 2017, 04:39 PM)
Just a quick update, project LED is not going well. Better than HID, but not up to the mark.

Let me compile some photos, will post up my findings.
Bro, why u said LED better than HID? I can't see the clear cut for LED and the output of HID much better than LED, this is my experience....
alextyw85
post Aug 22 2017, 11:42 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(csv @ Aug 22 2017, 11:00 AM)
Halo all sifus, just got myself a secondhand forte 2.0 sx 2013. Got some issues need advice on how to fix:
1) when driving got buzzing sounds from right side middle column (seat belt + airbag pillar)
2) when driving slowly or going thru bump, got krk krk sound from engine area,
3) right front fog light+DRL bracket tercabut ( can diy fix ah?)

Any ideas on the cost as well.
Thanks in advance.
How much you bought ur used forte?

1) I also having the same problem but the sound gone after few minutes of drive. The sound come out especially i park in basement after work. I asked my colleague to sit in my car and listen, he told me the sound coming from the seat belt that part. (I so hope is coming from door panel so I can screw tightly).
2) Krk Krk sound from engine bay? i don't think can hear any sound from engine when we sit in the car unless the sound is super loud, I bet you are talking about the dashboard sound which is the known and common issue.
3) I think can gua... this one not sure....

by the way, enjoy your ride...
alextyw85
post Sep 6 2017, 11:45 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 4 2017, 01:06 PM)
Ok boss!
I did service with them when I changed my absorbers, vbelt, lower arm, vbelt, bush, tensioner bearing.... They used HKS 10W40 (I think) fully synthetic oil. My first time with them and many things done at one time lah. Seems ok.

Haven't been KCM. I used to service at Naza Kia.
The price of the part and labor cost is much cheaper in autosavers compared to naza kia service centre?

alextyw85
post Sep 6 2017, 11:50 AM

354 posts

Dear all sifu, 2 questions from me and hope you can supply your expert advise...

1. i just bought the carbon air con filter and already install because i want the air con to be in auto mode so can suck some oxygen from outside sometime. so I press the "AUTO" button to make it auto, but the auto word gone missing after i restart the car and i always need to press "AUTO" button everytime i restart the car, is my air con panel got problem?

2. I saw a video in youtube and the youtuber said about changing the air con compressor oil, i never change before. Did you change it to prevent damage of air con compressor? I can't find this in the car manual, wondering whether our forte's air con compressor got such oil or not...

Please advise ya all Sifus...

This post has been edited by alextyw85: Sep 6 2017, 11:52 AM
alextyw85
post Sep 7 2017, 11:55 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Sep 7 2017, 04:22 AM)

Actually the oil mentioned is already pre-mixed into the AC's refrigerant.
It is recommended to have a vehicle's AC refrigerant fully evacuated, before replacing with fresh refrigerant every 2 or 3 years.

Thank you for your advise, I never service my air con since day 1 till now, already 4.5 years car and service centre never request me to service the air con, wondering whether they know how to service the air con or not....
alextyw85
post Sep 8 2017, 03:07 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(thinkgoodpositive @ Sep 7 2017, 02:51 PM)
Ya, I also never service the AC, worry the SC spoil it. Also they never ask.
But actually if u check, they actually receive memo from HQ have to advise us at least to replace the AC Condenser Receiver Drier for xxkm mileage.
This Drier if u open, very dirty and could stuck the AC condenser. Google Condenser Receiver Drier for more details.

Kia SC at Puchong never advise me for 4 years service there, I just saw that memo in another branch.
May be too much work for them and scare spoil our AC. As it may need to flush the whole AC system.
Thanks for this info. I wondering whether they know how to replace the Condenser Receiver Drier or not... i plan to go denso shop to service my air con but it seems like our air con not denso, have to find time to find the brand of the air con...
alextyw85
post Sep 19 2017, 12:01 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 19 2017, 12:01 PM)
3.7 litre from manual right? I serviced with 3 quartz of oil only. The indicator shows oil level at mid. I also shocked.

Regarding to the sound, last time i fixed by changing tensioner bearing + V-Belt at the same time. Faulty tensioner bearing can be seen when engine is running. There shows some symptom like shaking of the tensioner bearing. Hope it helps.  biggrin.gif
Bro, wanna to ask about "Faulty tensioner bearing can be seen when engine is running. There shows some symptom like shaking of the tensioner bearing.".

My car engine vibrant when in D gear with foot brake (car not moving), is this what you have experience about the shaking???
alextyw85
post Sep 21 2017, 11:12 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 19 2017, 01:16 PM)
The faulty tensioner bearing should appear once engine starts when the belt and the tensioner bearing is moving. Because my faulty tensioner tends to shake while in idling mode. When D gear having shakes usually dirty throttle body or worn out sparks. How much is the RPM?
RPM is about 700 RPM when idle (D gear and car not moving). I sent to service centre, they help me to clean the throttle body (I don't know how they clean as I can't see them doing anything). When I get my car, I ask the malay that my car still shaking, she said is like that one. i totally speechless. in my memory, the engine was smooth when in idle. Until now, i still cannot find the solution....

I just feel wasting my time and money to send my car to service centre for inspection... they charge me RM 75 for inspection and few hundred for clean the throttle body. I request for waiver due to still under warranty but they refuse to waive as I request them to inspect the car and do the necessary action... less than 2 hundred was gone (can't remember the exact amount)... very dulan that time...
alextyw85
post Sep 25 2017, 11:31 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 21 2017, 12:28 PM)
biasa la. SC is throat cutter. Basically if you paying that price, i would rather go outside to check. Cleaning of throttle body got few ways. Need to inspect slowly for this rough idling bro. Last time my vios cleaned throttle body with those spray also same effect. still shaky. The best part if there is foreman which will take the whole tb to clean it thoroughly but need an experience guy which wont mess up those sensors and wires and so on. What mileage and years of your ride?
Bro, thanks for your advise. my car is 4 years and 68,000 KM (last batch of forte)
alextyw85
post Oct 9 2017, 11:40 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Oct 8 2017, 08:06 AM)
Curious to know; where is the OBD2 port for the Forte?
Your photo shows the SC Tech sitting in your car performing diagnostics. However, I was under the impression that the OBD2 port is located within the engine bay.
The OBD2 port is actually below the traction control button which near the right leg, u can see the green light in the picture and that green light is the OBD2 sensor...
alextyw85
post Oct 10 2017, 11:27 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Oct 9 2017, 12:46 PM)
Just above your right knee. If you kneel down, you can clearly see the OBD port.
Been in and out the Kia SC for quite some time now so I now know where to find it in a beat.

Check engine light is still plaguing my ride.

Small update:-
- Kia SC re-did a wire-by-pass to Piston one which may be the cable loose to the Ignition Coil
- Changed Fuel Pump Filter at the same time (Car mileage 100k)
- Issue re-surface after 2 months of driving
- Sending it back tomorrow again
Bro, regarding the fuel pump filter, do you know where is the exact location of fuel pump filter? last month i sent my car for service and one item is replace fuel pump filter. I actually suspect SC did not change as i didn't see them remove the rear seat and take out the pump. I did question them and they said they have changed. After i sat in the car, i did not smell any fuel smell (if they open the cap below the rear seat, i believe the fuel smell will come out)....

0.0548sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:18 PM