Buying Advice [WTA] Any suitable camera for me, Canon, Sony, Nikon or Panasonic?

TSAronC
post Apr 3 2007, 07:40 PM, updated 19y ago

302 posts

Hello.. Im new to camera and want to buy a new camera (First time)... I want ask any suitable camera for me..

1. Which brand is better? Canon, Sony, Panasonic or Nikon? Can explain? tongue.gif

2. I found some cameras.. But I need to ask for opinions.. Weight doesn't matter to me.. Which do you think is the best OR has the best function OR good pixels? It's the best to have continuesly shooting, and Image Stabilizer..
-Canon Ixus 850 IS
-Canon Ixus 900 Ti
-Sony Cybershot T100

3. Compare Canon Ixus 850 IS & Canon Ixus 900Ti, which is better?

4. How to determine the shooting speed?

5. Any other recommendation?

6. Budget: RM1,000 - RM1,500

Thanks! blush.gif

This post has been edited by AronC: Apr 3 2007, 07:41 PM
polkiuj
post Apr 3 2007, 10:09 PM

337 posts

Please define your purpose. =} Below are based on personal preference.

1. Canon. Its one of the best and oldest Camera makers, and is the top 2 together with Nikon. Personally, I feel that Canon makes better compacts. I have a PowerShot A530 and i LOVE it! Nikons i've tried are generally ok but are harder to use. The menus are also not as good and I did not have much fun shooting them. Stepping to dSLRs, i prefer Nikon's, but thats another story for another day. Panasonic is still pretty new with this camera thing and i dun recommend it unless u tried it and love it. Stay away from sony. They have 3 generations of T cameras. The 1st one can't take a clear pic without flash. I always got blur even bracing against a chair. The second added "anti-shake" technology which i've never tried. The third, added "double anti-shake" technology, so i'm guessing that the second dun work very well. Y introduce things that dun work? Cos... Its a Sony. Like.no.other. =P

2. Sony as explained above. I'm sure the T100 will work ok, but i prefer Canons. As for 850IS and 900Ti, they look pretty much the same. Go for the 850IS. Its cheaper and does everything u'll ever need. How much are these things btw? >.<

3. 850IS cos its (most probably) cheaper and does things better. U get a wide angle 24mm eq compared to 37mm in the 900Ti. Unless u want a really long zoom. Megapixels are irrelevant.

4. Shooting speed is defined in FPS, frames per second. how many shots u can take a second. Its irrelevant for a compact. Only important for shooting sports on a dSLR.

5. No. Get the Canon and be happy. Get PowerShot A series if u are more serious about photography. It adds a full manual mode for u to play with.

6. Absolutely no idea here. Sorry..

Final note. If u just want a camera for fun, take pics on vacations or just for kicks, get any camera. It doesn't really matter because its the photographer, not the camera. The camera doesn't make pictures, u do. =}
blackhead-T
post Apr 4 2007, 12:27 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(AronC @ Apr 3 2007, 07:40 PM)
Hello.. Im new to camera and want to buy a new camera (First time)... I want ask any suitable camera for me..

1. Which brand is better? Canon, Sony, Panasonic or Nikon? Can explain?  tongue.gif

2. I found some cameras.. But I need to ask for opinions.. Weight doesn't matter to me.. Which do you think is the best OR has the best function OR good pixels?  It's the best to have continuesly shooting, and Image Stabilizer..
-Canon Ixus 850 IS
-Canon Ixus 900 Ti
-Sony Cybershot T100

3. Compare Canon Ixus 850 IS & Canon Ixus 900Ti, which is better?

4. How to determine the shooting speed?

5. Any other recommendation?

6. Budget: RM1,000 - RM1,500

Thanks!  blush.gif
Hi there, I wanted to let go my Panasonic DMC FZ30 you can view my posting price can be nego.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/436891
TSAronC
post Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Apr 3 2007, 11:09 PM)
Please define your purpose. =} Below are based on personal preference.

1. Canon. Its one of the best and oldest Camera makers, and is the top 2 together with Nikon. Personally, I feel that Canon makes better compacts. I have a PowerShot A530 and i LOVE it! Nikons i've tried are generally ok but are harder to use. The menus are also not as good and I did not have much fun shooting them. Stepping to dSLRs, i prefer Nikon's, but thats another story for another day. Panasonic is still pretty new with this camera thing and i dun recommend it unless u tried it and love it. Stay away from sony. They have 3 generations of T cameras. The 1st one can't take a clear pic without flash. I always got blur even bracing against a chair. The second added "anti-shake" technology which i've never tried. The third, added "double anti-shake" technology, so i'm guessing that the second dun work very well. Y introduce things that dun work? Cos... Its a Sony. Like.no.other. =P

2. Sony as explained above. I'm sure the T100 will work ok, but i prefer Canons. As for 850IS and 900Ti, they look pretty much the same. Go for the 850IS. Its cheaper and does everything u'll ever need. How much are these things btw? >.<

3. 850IS cos its (most probably) cheaper and does things better. U get a wide angle 24mm eq compared to 37mm in the 900Ti. Unless u want a really long zoom. Megapixels are irrelevant.

4. Shooting speed is defined in FPS, frames per second. how many shots u can take a second. Its irrelevant for a compact. Only important for shooting sports on a dSLR.

5. No. Get the Canon and be happy. Get PowerShot A series if u are more serious about photography. It adds a full manual mode for u to play with.

6. Absolutely no idea here. Sorry..

Final note. If u just want a camera for fun, take pics on vacations or just for kicks, get any camera. It doesn't really matter because its the photographer, not the camera. The camera doesn't make pictures, u do. =}
Yo! Thanks for your recommendation.. I think I'm gonna get 850IS.. Cheaper & Image Stabilizer.. You are right, Sony not really good.. Haha.. Canon is the best! icon_rolleyes.gif
I think 850IS is around RM1,300 and 900TI is around RM1.5k

This post has been edited by AronC: Apr 5 2007, 08:20 PM
goldfries
post Apr 5 2007, 11:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

personally i think you should consider brands like

Panasonic, their Lumix series comes with OIS (go find out what it is)

Casio, i've tested their Exilim series and i liked their big LCD, nice images and long battery life.

Fujifilm, nice cameras they have. the F31D or something (recent model) seems to be pretty good. it'll most likely be my choice of P&S. smile.gif i plan to get a new P&S (either that or a camera bag and a new tripod or whatever stuff).

0.0172sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:18 PM