So, about SEGi university and its chem eng course, SEGi students or ex-SEGi pls come in

TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 03:44 PM, updated 9y ago

98 posts

I know there are a lot of negative reviews abt SEGi a few years back, but what about now? I checked the MQA website and the all its engineering courses are both accredited by BEM and MQA but I'm mostly worried abt the study environment cus ppl say its very relaxed (in other words a lot of ppl cheat or the exams are easy af to pass, which is a bad thing obviously) .. So, what are your thoughts guys?? I already applied and paid the registration fee and haven't enrolled yet , so I can put SEGi as a backup uni tongue.gif tongue.gif dry.gif

I am doing A-Levels and my predicted grades are Maths = C Physics = C , Chemistry = C , it's bad I know because I fucked up my AS-Level so hard!! sad.gif sad.gif

Pls don't tell me to go to unis like Monash, Taylor's, Nottingham, (THEY'RE BLOODY EXPENSIVE!!!) and other unis not in KL..

Urgh It's so hard to find Chem Eng and other engineer courses that are in KL.. No wonder Malaysia is shortage of Engineers mad.gif ranting.gif

This post has been edited by Jacksp: Jul 19 2017, 03:45 PM
dreamers1016
post Jul 19 2017, 03:51 PM

247 posts

can try UTP too
TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 03:58 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(dreamers1016 @ Jul 19 2017, 03:51 PM)
can try UTP too
I'm staying in KL permanently and UTP is in Perak... >_<
I don't wanna pay extra for the dorms when I already have a permanent home here!!

This post has been edited by Jacksp: Jul 19 2017, 04:00 PM
kiddokitt
post Jul 19 2017, 04:13 PM

606 posts

If your Physics is as bad (or good, depending on how you look at it) as your Chemistry, then why not try Electronics / Electrical Engineering instead? What draws you to only Chemical Engineering?

At least with E & E, you have more choices of institutions.

This post has been edited by kiddokitt: Jul 19 2017, 04:13 PM
LightKeyDarkBlade
post Jul 19 2017, 09:14 PM

120 posts

Actually, SEGi U is in Selangor. But since you're considering it, I believe it's close to your house in KL. Are there any other places in Selangor which have universities or university colleges that are okay with your house's location?

For strictly KL only, why not UTAR or TAR UC (though TAR UC doesn't have Chemical Engineering)? UTAR is actually not bad, while I have heard of negative feedback for SEGi but I'm not sure about the current state as well.

And why do you think you want to study Chem Eng? Your predicted grades are all the same. Do you have your trial results already? Note that any engineering courses have rigorous mathematics, even Chem Eng. This is just a reminder.
iSean
post Jul 19 2017, 10:49 PM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Jacksp @ Jul 19 2017, 03:44 PM)
I know there are a lot of negative reviews abt SEGi a few years back, but what about now? I checked the MQA website and the all its engineering courses are both accredited by BEM and MQA but I'm mostly worried abt the study environment cus ppl say its very relaxed (in other words a lot of ppl cheat or the exams are easy af to pass, which is a bad thing obviously) .. So, what are your thoughts guys?? I already applied and paid the registration fee and haven't enrolled yet , so I can put SEGi as a backup uni  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  dry.gif

I am doing A-Levels and my predicted grades are Maths = C Physics = C , Chemistry = C , it's bad I know because I fucked up my AS-Level so hard!!  sad.gif  sad.gif

Pls don't tell me to go to unis like Monash, Taylor's, Nottingham, (THEY'RE BLOODY EXPENSIVE!!!) and other unis not in KL..

Urgh It's so hard to find Chem Eng and other engineer courses that are in KL.. No wonder Malaysia is shortage of Engineers  mad.gif  ranting.gif
Hey there, life isn't as gloomy as you think to become an Engineer in your first year in University.
What you learnt in A-Level doesn't truly applies to your first year.

Also, I scored badly in for Physics© and Mathematics(D) with Bio/Chem (B)s last O/N 2016, but I did applied for E&E.
Life in Uni now, is not as its used to have been with Marking Schemes and examiner reports. (I kind of missed that life)
With all those useful aids now gone in Uni.

I've been consider fortunate to be keeping up with Calculus (a compulsory in UCSI before Engineering Maths 1) quite well, getting B+ from my tests and stuff.
Your results should be fine for most average joe Private University in Malaysia.
Just keep you expectation low from the university lah.

UCSI is "OK" but not the best, but the number of Chemical Engineering students is highest among the population here.
If not go to UTAR, they aren't half that bad.

UTP might be harder to enter, but keep in mind if you scored Bs should be easy to enter.
Also, predicted results doesn't mean the real thing will be that bad?
I predicted I gotten an D for Physics, and E for Mathematics, and C for Biology and B for Chemistry for my AS.
But eventually I gotten A-Chem, B- Bio, B-Physics, D- Maths. sweat.gif

If things goes bad, maybe consider looking up into Youtube Online Lectures for Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics?
The worst case, if you just retake your AS again, or you can retake AS and A2 together after graduating A-levels.
**I really regretted not picking that choice to retaking A-Levels, because I felt I have the potential to improve my results if I retook my A-Levels and gone to a better university.**
TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 11:11 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(LightKeyDarkBlade @ Jul 19 2017, 09:14 PM)
Actually, SEGi U is in Selangor. But since you're considering it, I believe it's close to your house in KL. Are there any other places in Selangor which have universities or university colleges that are okay with your house's location?

For strictly KL only, why not UTAR or TAR UC (though TAR UC doesn't have Chemical Engineering)? UTAR is actually not bad, while I have heard of negative feedback for SEGi but I'm not sure about the current state as well.

And why do you think you want to study Chem Eng? Your predicted grades are all the same. Do you have your trial results already? Note that any engineering courses have rigorous mathematics, even Chem Eng. This is just a reminder.
I was thinking of University Malaya as that is closer to my house than SEGi and its quite a reputable uni.. but they require 3 B's (maths,chem,physics) and even if I do manage to get 3 B's in my actual results , I have to take STPM Bahasa Melayu and Sejarah (I'm a Malaysian student) which quite frankly, I really, really do not want to be doing that as I am neither good in BM and Sejarah. So Universiti Malaya is a no-go sad.gif .

Also MMU was an option but its earliest intake is November... What am I gonna do for the next 3 months??

I heard UTAR has a lot of ppl speaking Chinese and I can only converse fluently in English, so I'll definitely feel like an outcast among the students which takes a very negative toll on one's mental state unfortunately.

I feel like I should just bite the bullet here and just enroll in SEGi.. it can't be that bad as some of the negative reviews are just hear-say but then again, I could be very wrong, however I keep coming back to it because their Eng. courses are accredited.

Thanks very much for your reply though.

This post has been edited by Jacksp: Jul 19 2017, 11:12 PM
corrine123
post Jul 19 2017, 11:14 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Jacksp @ Jul 19 2017, 11:11 PM)
I was thinking of University Malaya as that is closer to my house than SEGi and its quite a reputable uni.. but they require 3 B's (maths,chem,physics) and even if I do manage to get 3 B's in my actual results , I have to take STPM Bahasa Melayu and Sejarah (I'm a Malaysian student) which quite frankly, I really, really do not want to be doing that as I am neither good in BM and Sejarah. So Universiti Malaya is a no-go sad.gif .

Also MMU was an option but its earliest intake is November... What am I gonna do for the next 3 months??

I heard UTAR has a lot of ppl speaking Chinese and I can only converse fluently in English, so I'll definitely feel like an outcast among the students which takes a very negative toll on one's mental state unfortunately.

I feel like I should just bite the bullet here and just enroll in SEGi.. it can't be that bad as some of the negative reviews are just hear-say but then again, I could be very wrong, however I keep coming back to it because their Eng. courses are accredited.

I think maybe you should visit Segi and see if it's really what the review said. You can try ask the student there too
TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 11:17 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Jul 19 2017, 04:13 PM)
If your Physics is as bad (or good, depending on how you look at it) as your Chemistry, then why not try Electronics / Electrical Engineering instead? What draws you to only Chemical Engineering?

At least with E & E, you have more choices of institutions.
I know my predicted grades for all the three subjects are the same, but I feel as if I am actually stronger in Chemistry than Physics, this is also supported by the fact that my AS-Levels results were horrid, but I did better in Chem than Physics.

My AS-Levels, my grades were maths = C , Physics = E , Chemistry = D

I guess for some or most people , going from grade E to C and grade D to C is a big step forward, but I can't help but think what if I didn't fuck around in my first year, you know?

Apologies for my mini-rant, but have you any thoughts about SEGi?

This post has been edited by Jacksp: Jul 19 2017, 11:18 PM
XeactorZ
post Jul 19 2017, 11:23 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

no idea for other course
but I am studying BBM, yes in segi is easy to pass
as the lecturer will give exam tips, most of the time are 90% correct laugh.gif

TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 11:32 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 19 2017, 10:49 PM)
Hey there, life isn't as gloomy as you think to become an Engineer in your first year in University.
What you learnt in A-Level doesn't truly applies to your first year.

Also, I scored badly in for Physics© and Mathematics(D) with Bio/Chem (B)s last O/N 2016, but I did applied for E&E.
Life in Uni now, is not as its used to have been with Marking Schemes and examiner reports. (I kind of missed that life)
With all those useful aids now gone in Uni.

I've been consider fortunate to be keeping up with Calculus (a compulsory in UCSI before Engineering Maths 1) quite well, getting B+ from my tests and stuff.
Your results should be fine for most average joe Private University in Malaysia.
Just keep you expectation low from the university lah.

UCSI is "OK" but not the best, but the number of Chemical Engineering students is highest among the population here.
If not go to UTAR, they aren't half that bad.

UTP might be harder to enter, but keep in mind if you scored Bs should be easy to enter.
Also, predicted results doesn't mean the real thing will be that bad?
I predicted I gotten an D for Physics, and E for Mathematics, and C for Biology and B for Chemistry for my AS.
But eventually I gotten A-Chem, B- Bio, B-Physics, D- Maths.  sweat.gif

If things goes bad, maybe consider looking up into Youtube Online Lectures for Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics?
The worst case, if you just retake your AS again, or you can retake AS and A2 together after graduating A-levels.
**I really regretted not picking that choice to retaking A-Levels, because I felt I have the potential to improve my results if I retook my A-Levels and gone to a better university.**
Thank you for giving me a tiny bit of hope for my results biggrin.gif nod.gif

So, to follow-up with all the things that you've said, how are you doing now? i.e graduated and employed? I'm assuming your CGPA is around 3.5 to 4.0? since you said you've been getting B+ from the tests.

And how was the environment in UCSI? I've heard negative comments regarding that due to its location being in Taman Connaught aka Little Nigeria (please keep in mind I'm not implying anything negative about Nigerians for all you PC people out there) where people got robbed near the hostels provided by UCSI, etc.

TSJacksp
post Jul 19 2017, 11:38 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(corrine123 @ Jul 19 2017, 11:14 PM)
I think maybe you should visit Segi and see if it's really what the review said. You can try ask the student there too
I visited the campus in KD, and it was actually very nice, but not as big as the 3 expensive unis I mentioned in my OP obviously.
Urghh I forgot to ask the students about their experience in SEGi because I was getting tour guided by a counselor who was very nice, but I guess you can say that for every private uni out there considering that you're paying quite an amount for the education tongue.gif
I am just worried about the study environment as you don't see that when you're not enrolled in the uni yet.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 19 2017, 11:23 PM)
no idea for other course
but I am studying BBM, yes in segi is easy to pass
as the lecturer will give exam tips, most of the time are 90% correct laugh.gif
exam tips as in , not a direct quote from the exam itself right? tongue.gif tongue.gif
If so, then this completely contradicts the people who said that the lecturers are shit in SEGi generally.

This post has been edited by Jacksp: Jul 19 2017, 11:48 PM
LightKeyDarkBlade
post Jul 20 2017, 02:36 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Jacksp @ Jul 19 2017, 11:11 PM)

Don't try to persuade yourself to SEGi just because their courses are accredited. All of the universities everyone mentioned here which offer engineering courses have their courses accredited by the BEM / EAC.

http://www.eac.org.my/web/list_accredited.html

To study an engineering course, you look at the accreditation because without it, you cannot be an engineer even after you graduate. You don't look at it and say: "Oh, it's accredited. It must be good." That's not the point of the accreditation.

And it's not because it's hard to find Chem Eng courses in KL / Selangor. There are plenty. It's just that your criteria is a little too tight. Plus, engineering courses are generally more expensive than most other courses. You can only speak English fluently but Chinese speakers study at cheaper institutions most of the time. I could be wrong but I believe even SEGi has many Chinese students as well since SEGi has a Chinese name (世纪 - SEGi) and a Chinese website which many institutions don't have.

I studied my A-Level at UCSI and currently a student of Computer Science at Monash. From my experience, UCSI has both English and Chinese speakers and even Chinese speakers speak English. Though I think I saw some confessions at the confession page where they complain that Chinese speakers call them banana or whatsoever. You can just ignore that kind of people if you meet them. At Monash, while people may say that many students here are bananas, it's quite the contrary for me. There are many Chinese speakers as well and they speak fluent English too.

Well, UTAR may have many students solely speaking Chinese only but I can't say anything on that.

It's obvious that private institutions residing in KL (and maybe some parts of Selangor as well) are the only options for you. Next, you just need to consider properly on which institution. Don't put your mind too much on the English-Chinese thingy. Even if you study at UTAR, I'm sure there're always a certain portion of people there who speak English as well. Just take it into consideration, but not too much that it stops you from picking what you want.

As for SEGi, I don't know much about it other than negative reviews, to be honest. Even a SEGi student here claims that lecturers give exam tips are 90% is correct most of the time which is not okay at all no matter what the circumstances are. Exam tips are elements in the exam papers that are revealed by lecturers. What point is there to know what the exam papers have prior to taking them?

I just want to point out something regarding UCSI. Its location is actually one of the best. You can have many choices to have your meals at and that's an important thing in your university life, trust me. There's nothing wrong with Nigerians and it's a big misconception of UCSI. UCSI doesn't actually have many Nigerians. Their own hostel is inside the campus. Yes, there are a few cases of robbery near the area but you just need to be careful.
dreamers1016
post Jul 20 2017, 02:53 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Jacksp @ Jul 19 2017, 03:58 PM)
I'm staying in KL permanently and UTP is in Perak... >_<
I don't wanna pay extra for the dorms when I already have a permanent home here!!
but but but ... that's the point of having dorms ! you get to experience student life to the fullest and be independent alone !

iSean
post Jul 20 2017, 08:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(LightKeyDarkBlade @ Jul 20 2017, 02:36 AM)
I studied my A-Level at UCSI ...

I just want to point out something regarding UCSI. Its location is actually one of the best. You can have many choices to have your meals at and that's an important thing in your university life, trust me. There's nothing wrong with Nigerians and it's a big misconception of UCSI. UCSI doesn't actually have many Nigerians. Their own hostel is inside the campus. Yes, there are a few cases of robbery near the area but you just need to be careful.
Bang please tell me how you survive meals here in North Wing for cheap food. doh.gif
I'm so confused here rclxub.gif doh.gif

Lots of options rclxub.gif ? Besides zap fan and more zap fan, else overpriced mamak. I don't see what to be worth eating here in UCSI North Wing.
Maybe I've been spoiled with MCKL's Canteen food option and nearby Brickfield and NuSentral food sweat.gif

A-Level here wise, I don't think there's any Nigerians.
But if you go to first year of degree for Engineering here. You will definitely see them.
Or other black people and tons of Arabs or other foreign students.

The ones in class with me, seems like good kids.
But then there's tons of Overseas Foreigner Students and Koreans smoke in campus smoking area or at the front gate.
I always hate that they are having the smoke/sweat odour coming from their bodies.
Last week I'd realize one of them have the body odour of clinic cough syrups. sweat.gif

Just pandai pandai make friends do assignment lah.

The Fish Ball Noodle Shop and Lam Gei's Noodle House cannot makan one. Somemore who charges a bowl of pan mee for RM 7.50 for 2 sized dumplings doh.gif
I eat zap fan and chicken/duck rice here until I scared liao sweat.gif
LightKeyDarkBlade
post Jul 20 2017, 11:27 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 20 2017, 08:33 PM)
Bang please tell me how you survive meals here in North Wing for cheap food. doh.gif
I'm so confused here rclxub.gif  doh.gif

Lots of options  rclxub.gif ? Besides zap fan and more zap fan, else overpriced mamak. I don't see what to be worth eating here in UCSI North Wing.
Maybe I've been spoiled with MCKL's Canteen food option and nearby Brickfield and NuSentral food  sweat.gif

A-Level here wise, I don't think there's any Nigerians.
But if you go to first year of degree for Engineering here. You will definitely see them.
Or other black people and tons of Arabs or other foreign students.

The ones in class with me, seems like good kids.
But then there's tons of Overseas Foreigner Students and Koreans smoke in campus smoking area or at the front gate.
I always hate that they are having the smoke/sweat odour coming from their bodies.
Last week I'd realize one of them have the body odour of clinic cough syrups.  sweat.gif

Just pandai pandai make friends do assignment lah.
The Fish Ball Noodle Shop and Lam Gei's Noodle House cannot makan one. Somemore who charges a bowl of pan mee for RM 7.50 for 2 sized dumplings  doh.gif
I eat zap fan and chicken/duck rice here until I scared liao  sweat.gif
I wasn't in North Wing. You only use South Wing for A-Level, excluding events held in North Wing which have no relation to A-Level course.

Anyhow, you have the whole Taman Connaught for you to pick. It doesn't pain you to walk a bit. I'm not saying that lots of the food there is delicious or cheap. Most of them are at least decent is what I'm trying to say. There are many institutions which do not have many restaurants or cafés nearby and you have to drive in some cases. Not to mention the canteens within the campuses may not be good or satisfying (including UCSI).

There are options. That's the keyword. No one asks you to eat from the same restaurant every single day. If you don't like it, move on to the next one. Honestly, RM 7.50 for a bowl of Pan Mee is acceptable in KL. Not saying that it's cheap but it's also not too expensive. I've seen worse.

Of course A-Level doesn't have Nigerians. I'm talking about in general. The students you see everywhere in the campus (South Wing, specifically) don't have as many Nigerians as people may think. People always say: "Oh, UCSI has tons of Nigerians!" That's wrong.

I did notice that some students, foreign students in particular, smoke cigarettes. Well, I didn't say that UCSI is a very good university. But the location itself in Taman Connaught is pretty good.
iSean
post Jul 21 2017, 01:03 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(LightKeyDarkBlade @ Jul 20 2017, 11:27 PM)
I wasn't in North Wing. You only use South Wing for A-Level, excluding events held in North Wing which have no relation to A-Level course.

Anyhow, you have the whole Taman Connaught for you to pick. It doesn't pain you to walk a bit. I'm not saying that lots of the food there is delicious or cheap. Most of them are at least decent is what I'm trying to say. There are many institutions which do not have many restaurants or cafés nearby and you have to drive in some cases. Not to mention the canteens within the campuses may not be good or satisfying (including UCSI).

There are options. That's the keyword. No one asks you to eat from the same restaurant every single day. If you don't like it, move on to the next one. Honestly, RM 7.50 for a bowl of Pan Mee is acceptable in KL. Not saying that it's cheap but it's also not too expensive. I've seen worse.

Of course A-Level doesn't have Nigerians. I'm talking about in general. The students you see everywhere in the campus (South Wing, specifically) don't have as many Nigerians as people may think. People always say: "Oh, UCSI has tons of Nigerians!" That's wrong.

I did notice that some students, foreign students in particular, smoke cigarettes. Well, I didn't say that UCSI is a very good university. But the location itself in Taman Connaught is pretty good.
wut? rclxub.gif Weird, why I see the latest A-level classes still conducted in Function Room and solving past year there. rclxub.gif
Maybe the class I saw is those special less than <10 class rclxub.gif ?
And the Chemistry Lab is at Block K's Ground Floor. With the distill water labelled for A-Levels.

Well, to be honest, I'm seriously gonna rethink my options whether or not to credit transfer out of UCSI tho.
Their A-Level can be decent. But... Degree Programs for Engineering besides Chemical/Petroleum Engineering tho, I'm getting more and more skeptical for it.
With the lecturers I'd meet so far.

Taman Connaught good/bad kind of hard to say lah.
If say location strategic for daily hiking, you got my vote. sweat.gif
Just that if I'm going to move back to new Engineering Block, surely tons of mountain hiking for the next sem...
Well, see how much longer I'm financially locked into UCSI Tuition Fees payment system la. sweat.gif

Seriously tho RM 7.50 for a bowl of pan mee, with just dark soy sauce, and noodles with 2 suigao dumplings with no other condiments. sweat.gif
I'm not feeling I'm getting my money's worth. Yet, I'm very surprised you seen worst.

This post has been edited by iSean: Jul 21 2017, 01:07 AM
aBcD-|
post Jul 21 2017, 03:22 AM

935 posts

I strongly advise not to choose utar if you couldn't speak mandarin well.

It is not about language barrier, it is about students who have negative thoughts over changes, tolerate or communicate with others.

I found myself quite difficult to group with foundation students too. I don't know, it seems like they a group of friends, need a middleman (one of them) probably more socialize to communicate with new members.

I read these posts on UTAR Confession before I join, now I experience it myself.
I agreed that NOT ALL behave so, but it is difficult to find the minority, plus mostly I form my group (individually) from diploma students or even team up with seniors, since they are open to others.
TSJacksp
post Jul 21 2017, 11:14 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(aBcD-| @ Jul 21 2017, 03:22 AM)
I strongly advise not to choose utar if you couldn't speak mandarin well.

It is not about language barrier, it is about students who have negative thoughts over changes, tolerate or communicate with others.

I found myself quite difficult to group with foundation students too. I don't know, it seems like they a group of friends, need a middleman (one of them) probably more socialize to communicate with new members.

I read these posts on UTAR Confession before I join, now I experience it myself.
I agreed that NOT ALL behave so, but it is difficult to find the minority, plus mostly I form my group (individually) from diploma students or even team up with seniors, since they are open to others.
Yeah, I read the posts in UTAR confession too.. Nearly all in mandarin!!

It's a shame really, that I can't speak Mandarin, otherwise UTAR wouldn't be too bad of a uni (based on rankings)

TSJacksp
post Jul 21 2017, 02:37 PM

98 posts

I realize this thread has derailed..
So, is anyone enrolling for the September 4th intake in SEGi KD?

0.0198sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:34 AM