10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V6, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

kentbong92
post Jul 14 2017, 02:02 PM

22 posts

wa... so fast new thread liao?
kentbong92
post Jul 14 2017, 02:29 PM

22 posts

Toyota service center SA called me just now to confirm on tomorrow service appointment.. and on top of that I also asked him about the noise and dashboard vibrating noise when pass through uneven road, he asked me to book on weekdays to troubleshoot the problem as they only carry out express service maintenance on weekend. Hmm..

1. I also asked them on the engine oil they going to use for the first service. It's semi-synthetic oil. No more mineral oil for 1st service.

Ish..
kentbong92
post Jul 14 2017, 04:31 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jul 14 2017, 03:57 PM)
Which SC? I am going for my first service too. Roughly how much if compare semi and mineral?
Cheras Selatan, Balakong there.. If mineral should be cheaper than semi-sync. But now they do not have option for mineral oil for the 1st service. Only semi-sync oil is available for 1st service. I've been crawl back the old thread, got some also reported the same thing regarding the first service used engine oil.

Add on, my sales agent insist me to raise the issue to the service adviser, which I think it is a right for consumer/buyer as we are paying for it! Which is damn right, and if tomorrow the service adviser hegeh2 answer my inquiry, then I will straight complain to their HQ.

This post has been edited by kentbong92: Jul 14 2017, 04:34 PM
kentbong92
post Jul 14 2017, 11:28 PM

22 posts

Tomorrow will see how much it cost. In the mobile app, estimated cost is RM159 la, but let see the actual cost tomorrow. Will update here again.
kentbong92
post Jul 15 2017, 08:31 PM

22 posts

Just done, total cost RM401.

1. 1st service charge - RM159
2. Toyota body shine package (coating) = RM230 (on promotion now, gst exclusive)

Don't ask me why I go for the coating, I also don't know why but my heart keep told me to do it so lol.. my wallet bleed so much today.. huhu..

This post has been edited by kentbong92: Jul 15 2017, 08:44 PM
kentbong92
post Jul 15 2017, 08:32 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jul 15 2017, 02:36 PM)
May i know your handbrake pull 1 level or few level?
Before this, i need to pull my handbrake 3 level and after first service, i pull 1 level already stiff.
Which setting is correct?
3 clicks for me on even flat road, 4 to 5 clicks on slope.
kentbong92
post Jul 16 2017, 11:08 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jul 15 2017, 09:46 PM)
I saw the coating leh. The sales advisor damn teruk. Never recommend me this coating. Today officially get 1 light scratch damage by bicycle. 😱
OMG.. It hurt.. try method recommend by @hightechgadgets8 , but I think you need to do this on your own le..

I also bought the Meguiar interior detailer, and piece of microfiber cloth, then I do the interior myself, it took me almost 45 minutes, but after result was awesome, the interior looks nice and clean..

I put on door panels, dashboard, steering, gear lever, arm rest..

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Jul 16 2017, 05:48 PM)
Mineral and semi price not very far ahead. New car use semi ok ready. They direct pump so we no need bring back balance oil. Haha
Yaya, the service adviser told me semi nowadays can go for 10k, however since this is my 1st service, I will just use it first, and only start to use fully synthetic after 2nd service..

kentbong92
post Jul 17 2017, 10:30 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jul 17 2017, 07:24 AM)
How's the Toyota Coating?
Anti scratch ?
Does it shine like after polish?
Supreme Gloss & Lacquer Sealant
Chemical and solvent wash to prepare for layer polishing process
Multi-layer polishing to restore vehicle body shine by application of rubbing compound and glaze
Application of wax and supershine to protect and provide vehicle body shine
Application of lacquer sealant to preserve and protect vehicle body shine and produce an ultra-high gloss finish and lustre
FREE application of Tyre Shine

This is the package they offer me, RM230 (GST exclusive) and free wax application for next service.

I believe it should be anti scratch.
It do shine and the body paint looks very glossy. Seriously you will love it when you see your car under sunlight, it is so catchy.. xDD
kentbong92
post Jul 17 2017, 01:26 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jul 17 2017, 01:15 PM)
Did they say can last how long? Need to re-apply?
Thx for your info bro!
They told me it can lasts for 1 year.. But since it's coated, they advise me to use normal car wash shampoo will be enough, if strong shampoo, it will wipe off the sealant faster.

Initially I also searching where I can do some coating to protect the paint, if use 3rd party service, anything happened during the process(coating), it will be hard to complaint and claim(if needed). If do at Toyota authorized SC, anything happen we still can complain to them, since the work done is under them.

So I just 1 shot lo, no need to keep searching where can get coating etc.. 1 year after only see how.. haha..
kentbong92
post Jul 18 2017, 10:52 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jul 18 2017, 10:29 PM)
https://www.driven.co.nz/news/news/revealed...ound-the-world/

Only in this country, Japanese automotive # 2 is doing very well market.. but, not many other countries..

Try go to same car segment in same lyn car club, many feedbacks on many QC/ QA, knock2 sound, after sales .
At least, good worldwide automotive sales, Toyota got lesser ""feedbacks"".. hmm..
Yea.. lately before I purchase VIOS, Honda City FL also came across my mind.. However thinking for long term usage and reliability, Toyota is still the way to go! Today been crawling on LYN of Honda City FL, many complaints on the rattling noise from the seats, dashboard etc, even got the ABS modulator noise "kruk" when cruise at 40kph.. phew.. plus Honda City they just give you the very basic accessories (not to compare the safety features), dont have leg room ambient light(add on, rm3xx), no tinted(tinted package start from rm1xxx), no door visor(rm xxx), no dashcam, etc..

Not I want to bash how bad is Honda, but Honda everything you need to add on as extra package which cause extra $$$ on it.. VIOS come in 1 set, everything have, tinted, arm rest(base variant), leg room ambient light, car dashcam, door visor, etc.. which I think you no need to add on much, it's like you purchase the car and just drive, no need so troublesome to add dash cam, visor, etc.. even now VIOS across all variants come with standard safety features like VSC, BA, EBD, ABS, which I personally think it's good enough, however the airbags is really something that cons compare to Honda City.. but hey, do we hear as much airbag issue recall done by Toyota compare to Honda?

Just my 2cents.. Cheers..

This post has been edited by kentbong92: Jul 18 2017, 10:53 PM
kentbong92
post Jul 18 2017, 11:48 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jul 18 2017, 11:42 PM)
Pros
Rear Disc brakes = put a stop, efficient, confidently and prevent hit collision (Vios).  No accident.

4 - 6 airbags = protect passengers (City) during  accident happens. Got hit accident and Also important safety But hit happened.

The only main safety different is, no hit and got hit. Nobody wants car accident, and all want to prevent it.
Own wisdom and decision making to choose between..
Yes. You have point here..
kentbong92
post Jul 20 2017, 02:06 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Jul 20 2017, 08:14 AM)
can share where u get the interior detailer?
Hi, I get it from here --> http://www.lazada.com.my/meguiars-g13616-q...nK&ff=1&sc=ERI0

this one only does cleaning, and restore the interior look.. it will not make the interior looks glossy, please take note.
kentbong92
post Jul 20 2017, 07:02 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Jul 20 2017, 03:09 PM)
just spray at surface and start wiping? do i have to like preclean the surface first before applying this? like wipe of the dust etc
Yes.. Just spray on the surface and start wiping, but be careful not to spray on to electronic device such as HU, power window switch, gear lever area, etc.. Just avoid any area with electronic stuff.. But those place still can be wipe, just spray on the microfiber towel and wipe..

This detailer purpose is to clean the dirt or dust on the dashboard or interior, so just spray and wipe, no need any pre clean..
kentbong92
post Aug 7 2017, 01:38 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Aug 7 2017, 01:12 PM)
anyone tried played DVDs on the head unit ?

My DVD slot still virgin brows.gif
same here.. hahaha.. I heard the stock HU DVD only can be play during car in static (not moving). If car is moving, the DVD will not play. However, saw other forum-er bought some bypass cable to bypass the features, and it able to play while car is moving.. hehe..
kentbong92
post Aug 7 2017, 01:45 PM

22 posts

Anyone got try put the pressure on the speedometer glass cover? the plastic cover. I tried to clean it yesterday and something really caught my attention. When I clean the speedometer glass cover, the glass surprisingly is in loose state (not fitted firmly to the edge of the dashboard cover). When you push it a bit (all 3 of it), you will find it's loose. Do you guys having the same phenomenon? If not, then it's production defect le, need complain liao.. haha.. lol..
kentbong92
post Aug 9 2017, 09:39 AM

22 posts

Anyone changed the headlight bulb before? What is the original bulb brand Toyota installed? Osram or Philips?

If not mistaken the bulb type for headlight is H4 right? for 3rd gen vios.

Is it difficult to change the headlight bulb and also the small light bulb(we call it parking light?) ?

I worry if being installed in wrong way or wrong manner, the headlight alignment will "lari". This is what I worry the most as my previous car also being changed the headlight bulb by the acc shop and they messed up with my car headlight alignment. Since after, I changed the light bulb myself.

Since bought new VIOS, so wonder to ask the sifu2 here.. hehe.. thanks..

Struggling between Phillips Crystal Vision 4300k, Xtreme Vision +130% or Osram Laser (this one very new).
For parking light, 4000k or 6000k LED? t10 here..
kentbong92
post Aug 9 2017, 11:02 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(DreamerTKM @ Aug 9 2017, 10:12 AM)
Original bulb is from Osram.

Depend on your spec, J & E spec use H4, G, GX & TRD use HIR2.

Changing those light won't mess up your alignment unless you go and twist the reflector adjustment screw.

For H4, just make sure the cut off plate in the bulb is at the bottom, then you're safe.

For bulb type between philips & osram. That's personal preference. I'm using Night breaker + T10 6700K
I see.. Do you know how to open up the small lamp? Is it clipped or need to twist one? I know T10 leg is just slot in to the base housing only.

How about the main head light? I saw the power cable is connected to the leg of the bulb, the power cable can just pull off right? if pulled off, how to release the bulb? It must have something that hold the bulb in place.

Please advise sifu.. hehe.. thanks..

E-spec owner here..

This post has been edited by kentbong92: Aug 9 2017, 11:09 PM
kentbong92
post Aug 11 2017, 08:15 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(DreamerTKM @ Aug 10 2017, 08:39 AM)
Yup mrcalium is right. If you need diagram for better illustration, you can refer to user manual. They even show you step by step with diagrams.
I see.. Thanks..

Today 1st time driving in quite heavy rain.. I notice the wiper will adjust the speed itself.. Is this by auto or how? Someone can explain? Tqtq..
kentbong92
post Aug 11 2017, 10:46 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(DreamerTKM @ Aug 11 2017, 08:40 AM)
Adjust by itself? Do you mean the timer setting switch at the left side of the stick that can adjust the interval for the wiper to trigger?
QUOTE(piglover @ Aug 11 2017, 09:16 AM)
Not by itself. Is by yourself.
Got 3 level. Highest level is slowest
QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Aug 11 2017, 09:50 AM)
maybe by how fast u are driving
Yeap, I did put to the highest(slowest) but at some time, the wiper trigger more often than standard rate. Then after some time, it back to normal trigger rate.. I don't know how.. is it by speed sensing?

kentbong92
post Aug 11 2017, 10:48 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(sa10 @ Aug 11 2017, 09:18 AM)
no such problem
Is it? Means your car speedometer cover is fitted firm and not loose(a bit free play) at all?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1550sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:03 PM