LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V6, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

netmask8
post Mar 2 2018, 01:00 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(waysoon92 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:43 AM)
is it stupid to buy vios 2018 nw? seem so many rumors abt new vios coming malaysia at 3rd or 4th quarter this year. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Up to individual to decide.. Read post # 1201
New Exterior and interior design refresh beginning year 2018, now you got / heard rumor of new Vios in 3rd or 4th Qrtr ?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4358245/+1200

If you're referring to Toyota Yaris or lower spec Yaris ATIV,
Yaris is another marketing naming in other countries while younger brother 1.2 Yaris ATIV is hatchback.. Bringing in Yaris ATIV to here, will jeopardize Myvi, Axia and Bezza record breaking sales.. hmmm..

P2 oledi "warn" T, not bringing these models as will impact sales and T made good $$ by supplying Dai. hatsu engines to P2 carmaker..

Too frequent refresh on exterior and interior, oppsss. Vios engine got totally refresh in 4th Qtr 2016 ( still new < 3 years)..

Let wait and see whether the "rumours" is true or not, fake news..
netmask8
post Mar 2 2018, 11:04 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ Mar 2 2018, 10:41 PM)
there are many vios variants throughout the continent. also it has many names. quite confusing..
Totally new engine was launched in Oct 2016.. Quite new.. Perhaps touch up exterior and interior design bit bit every 18months, or when sales is deteriorate..

Glad to see many Vios.super white II color on the road nowadays..
netmask8
post Mar 11 2018, 10:24 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Mar 11 2018, 04:29 AM)
Reliability, cheap maintenance and better after-sale service. Also the center console doesn't attract dust. And for me personally, the handling is a little bit better at speed unlike the city(steering feel detach from the road at speed).
Steering Turning radius is the best among B segment category.. 5.1M
Turn around, parking will be helpful..
netmask8
post Mar 23 2018, 12:12 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 22 2018, 09:41 PM)
Guys, guys, relax here. For the price of GX one can get a car with 6 airbags. Almera VL model has 2 airbags. Yes, if compares to GX, the price difference is a very big gap between the two especially in 2018.
1) Airbags are important safety features WHEN accident happens.

For G, GX or TRD, car users want the all round DISC brake. Disc brake were efficient, effectively and stop confidence, compared to other B segment car competitors,which many don't have rear DISC brake.

2) All round DISC brake are also important safety features TO PREVENT accident happens.

Different of 1) WHEN (airbags) and 2) TO PREVENT (all round DISC brake)

Of course, there are many factors contributing to road accident happens. When buying car, many car users looking for many factors, safety features, acoustic windshield, turning radius, interior/ exterior accs designs, and many more. Quite subjective discussion..

BUT Toyota engine reliability, robustness and BRAND, are the world wide recognizable known for many decades.. That's what good reputation pays higher price, instead of many COMPROMISED QUALITY among B segment category competitors.. For Vios, also got issues and but if u compared on issues ratio / avrg points among Japanese carmakers, go and find it out yourself..

Price , safety features, BRAND, worth for money, accs, aerokit, sport rim ..etc factors to consider for new CAR buyer??
谢谢分享.. good for rational discussion and information to consider..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Mar 23 2018, 12:14 PM
netmask8
post Mar 24 2018, 10:14 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ Mar 24 2018, 01:06 PM)
a good point. the more the better
not entirely true. i have to disagree. stopping distance for small surface tyre make no big diffrent whether if disc or drum. rear brake is meant for slowing down vehicle. front brake will do the stopping. ever try stopping your car with just rear brake?

as i already mentioned in my previous post, more airbag is better than rear disc brake. what good is the rear disc brake if the impact coming from the side of the car? if i have to weight between rear disc brake and more airbag, i'll choose the later.

to me, rear disc brake should not be one of the deciding factors.
Will be added advantage if you hv all round DISC Brakes, as it is more effective in the friction and heat.
This is because the disc expands and is closer to the pads, even when the calipers and clamps are relaxed.
As such, you don’t need to force the pedal so much to make a connection and brake. Instead of housing the major components
within a metal drum, disc brakes use a slim rotor and small caliper to halt wheel movement. Within the caliper are two brake pads,
one on each side of the rotor, that clamp together when the brake pedal is pressed. Once again, fluid is used
to transfer the movement of the brake pedal into the movement of the brake pads.

But unlike drum brakes, which allow heat to build up inside the drum during heavy braking, the rotor used in disc brakes is fully exposed to outside air.

Will be good comparisons feeling, if you got few cars or use brother/sister cars, to see the effectiveness,
efficient and stop with CONFIDENCE . With few cars, of course you will be seen in few car clubs to provide feedback/discussions.
Airbags, DISC Brakes, REVERSE CAMERA, SENSOR of BLIND SPOT, ABS, VSC ..etc..etc many safety features were ulmost important.
Of course, BRAND and reputation for many DECADES plays important decision making too, as you will pay premium price for it.
Compromised quality in many Automotive Magazine will helps too. We all Hope NO compromised quality when we need these SAFETY features, especially airbags and brakes ..

1) https://bikeadvice.in/disk-brake-part-4-wor...intenance-tips/ ==>>> thumbsup.gif
2) https://www.oponeo.co.uk/tyre-article/why-c...han-drum-brakes thumbup.gif
3) http://procarmechanics.com/differences-bet...nd-disc-brakes/
4) https://www.edmunds.com/car-technology/brak...um-vs-disc.html
Just a thought.

netmask8
post Mar 24 2018, 11:31 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Mar 24 2018, 11:00 PM)
Most car accident happened because of distraction and recklessness. No matter how good your brake was it doesn't matter if you didn't hit it. We all know about how the disc is better than the drum, but it does not mean that the drum brake didn't do its job. Front disc brake and rear drum brake is good enough stopping power for a compact car segment with low horse power and torque. What happened if other car hurling towards you, is disc brake gonna save your life? That is when the importance of airbag come to play. I wish UMV toyota give a little bit more attention on its car safety features. Disc rear brake is good, but more airbag is better in my honest opinion.
Will be added advantage to have rear DISC brake and more airbags. I didn't say either superior to each others?
I said, differentiate functioning, one TO PREVENT while another WHEN happens. Read and recall old post. If better, hv max without compromising quality when we.need it utmost.

Of course, there are many factors contributing to road accident happens. Don't pay premium price only, look for trusted BRAND and reputation of many decades.

hope no COMPROMISED QUALITY when we all need it. Still remember takata?
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Takata_Corporation

This post has been edited by netmask8: Mar 24 2018, 11:33 PM
netmask8
post Mar 28 2018, 07:57 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Mar 27 2018, 11:43 PM)
Yaris Ativ TRD from Bangkok Motorshow 2018

What do you guys think?
Msia GX sport rim DUAL tone and is nicer than Thai version..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Mar 28 2018, 08:03 AM
netmask8
post Apr 7 2018, 09:25 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(avatar168 @ Apr 5 2018, 01:12 PM)
Called Service Centre today to query about :-

1) year 2018 TRD shark fin antenna with OEM  black color paint and labour cost  .. Cost rm 201

2) Paint OEM black color included labour cost for spoiler (on top of rear bonnet)  rm 250

Not including 6% GST..
================================

Edited

1. Checked with accs shop today, universal shark fin antenna and labour installation, cost rm 50

2. Checked with car painter shop today, quotation to paint SAME black SHINNING metallic color for a) shark fin antenna and b) rear spoiler ( on top of rear bonnet )  - rm 100 . However car painter shop need to make reservation appointment and need to leave car for at least 5hrs to ensure paint really dry.
Checked with my house accs shop, H City shark fin antenna ONLY and installation labour cost 380 .. Forgetting about shark fin antenna and rear BLACK color at the moment..
netmask8
post Apr 18 2018, 08:01 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(nicky5879 @ Apr 17 2018, 11:51 AM)
Hi all sifu,

My car is GX spec.
Can we install car recorder for rear without avoid warranty.
If can, can may i know how much and where can help us to install
Front OEM DVR from Toyota cost 600 . But not for rear DVR recording..

For rear DVR recording with 16 / 32 GB microSD card, you can ask from accs shop from 200 and above.. depending on dvr spec/ features..

Most importantly, the resolution of the dvr recording must be at least full HD, 1080p, 30 fps and above, with clear playback , G sensor feature and many.. ppls bang yr car and you got solid evidence provide to police. Or make it viral for unforseen circumstances if needed..
http://www.trustedreviews.com/best/dash-cams-3435249

Void warranty vs solid evidence?? Worse to worse, get quotation from Salesman / SC, install from them if worry about warranty..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 18 2018, 08:03 PM
netmask8
post Apr 19 2018, 09:23 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 19 2018, 07:53 PM)
Just check.
The display unit for gazoo racing wasn't the real gazoo racing unit on track.
the display unit rims used the current gen rim with full black appearance. Not dual tone. And its cheaper than GX.
the one come from Japan not for sale lol
Post the photos here if got any..

Nowadays I saw many Vios on the road installed awesome body skirting aerokit with black color shark fin antenna and black color rear spoiler..
Will be nicer if got DUAL tone GX sport rims too with super white led small lights front and number plate bulbs.
netmask8
post Apr 20 2018, 07:20 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Apr 20 2018, 03:13 AM)
Shark fin get from Toyota? If do outside will void warranty?
See post #1399

Perhaps void warranty for HU antenna portion only, as remove OEM long type antenna.. But, many Vios car owners made changes to have shark fin antenna to keep to latest trend per 2018 TRD shark fin antenna.? Last time I check with accessories shop, remove and installation, turn clockwise and anti clockwise. I think many people still keep the oem long type antenna after installation, if need to claim warranty..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 20 2018, 07:51 AM
netmask8
post Apr 21 2018, 12:55 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ Apr 20 2018, 08:55 AM)
yes, warranty affect antenna area only. do take note, actual shark fin antenna has different set or wiring and not just one cable. reason being is that shark fin antenna is not an ideal receiver and need a booster. you may have to sacrifice signal quality for cosmetic. though you might not feel the different if you are in a strong signal area.
After much consideration and saw some knock accidents/ arguments in youTube today I decided and went to accessories shop to install;-

1. Locktech 2x keys connected/ stop press brake pedal. - 280
My existing T Rex steering lock as 2nd lock alternative.

2. Shark fin antenna (cover only )- 45. Yes, radio signal impacted a bit due to no long type antenna, but still acceptable.

3. Rear WiFi full HD 1080, G sensor with 8GB recycle every 5 - 10mins DVR - 250
Configure settings using mobile phone WiFi, apps download from Google play or Apple store.. Quite good clear review playback.

4. Tint / cover another layer at Front top main windshield glass.. 100% black tint / cover to block Sun ultra violet and sunlight glaring. - 30 .. on top of front DVR dashcam

Total damage = 600 with labour cost and GST.

Next project - plan to add extra 1x Sony sensor at rear when car reversing.

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 21 2018, 02:16 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
netmask8
post Apr 25 2018, 07:21 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 25 2018, 11:00 AM)
what is best way to install bodykit gx? do at toyata service center or outside shop
GX Aerokit - Outside at accessories shop as the cost difference avoidance 100% saving.
But for warranty, only affected the body parts/paint if got any/require claim.

Remember to put 1) front grille chrome (top of Toyota emblem) from Accessories shop or SC and 2) GX sports rims( 1.5k from SC) to make it real exterior GX..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 25 2018, 07:22 PM
netmask8
post Apr 26 2018, 08:27 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Apr 26 2018, 03:23 AM)
Shark fin no get white color ? Match back car color. I saw one white on white. Superb. Where u do all these add on?
Many big accessories shop got shark fin antenna.. If the accessories shop don't have the color you request , place a booking order and get it in 1 - 2 weeks.

For me, I prefer black color shark fin antenna, 1) Contrast color between black and white colors. 2) My aerokit linings, GX sport rim and front / rear top layer tint are black and white colors.

Black and white colors = Nice ?? At SC, cost 200 .. See post #1399
netmask8
post Apr 28 2018, 10:12 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(kentbong92 @ Apr 26 2018, 03:35 PM)
Want to poison us to change main headlamp with LED lights?

With rear DVR, nowadays notice lesser "cucuk" or car tailgating very very close to yr car bonnet, as their face and car captured in video.. if They kiss yr car bonnet, and they need to settle + pay, with solid evidence video.. NO HORSE RUN..

Good to have rear dvr camera recording to create safety awareness and perhaps change bad behavior car drivers..

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 28 2018, 10:15 AM
netmask8
post May 4 2018, 06:36 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 04:08 PM)
On basic version are there any much difference between vios and city?
Some minor pros and cons between these B segment cars.
In term of quality and reliability, See the consumer confidence index average and feedbacks.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
netmask8
post May 5 2018, 11:23 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ May 5 2018, 11:02 AM)
Hello, while browsing for Vios accessory, I found this. What do you guys think?

[attachmentid=9778575][attachmentid=9778576][attachmentid=9778577]
Do it yourself (DIY) after you purchase?? Using 3M tape or need to apply special strong holding glue?

For me, Get both front and rear DVR camera recording is more important.

1) Solid evidences for any unforseen circumstances. 2) Create awareness about safety, less tailgating or "cucuk" driving from rear unethical behavior drivers..

My finding exploration:- Few times I noticed tailgating and non patience drivers saw my car rear dvr camera at stop traffic lights, then later these drivers will keep safe distance from my car, from that time onwards.. Not that I m driving slowly to home.. Just unexplained phenomena of these tailgating drivers..

What do you think? With solid evidence, these unethical behavior drivers have no choice to settle or pay for any unforseen circumstances damage.. Think again about it.

This post has been edited by netmask8: May 5 2018, 11:26 AM
netmask8
post May 5 2018, 12:24 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 5 2018, 11:37 AM)
i'm sure there is a perfect explanation why these people tailgating you  tongue.gif . i hardly get the chance.
by the way, the fellow already caught in the act. why stop? lol.
You will notice that nowadays many unethical behavior drivers tailgating closely..

Why they stop? I think, if they cause any unforseen circumstances damage ,.no HORSE run as got solid evidence.. He has to settle down or lose NCD by claiming general insurance. Create safety awareness and learning??

If I want to be bad person, I can always post motorbike passed red light traffic junction in YouTube or email to pdrm directors or home ministry. Pls don't get viral, unless impact yourself / mine own business..

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.1648sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM