LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

nebula87
post Dec 7 2018, 03:01 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

Hi Guys, want to ask some questions regarding CRV Base spec 2.0.

1. Is it enough for female driver?
2. Will the fuel consumption high if 80% city, 20% highway?
3. Normal safety features like airbags and etc still included right?
4. Is the quality of the cabin/dashboard improved already?
nebula87
post Dec 10 2018, 08:36 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(@POTUS @ Dec 7 2018, 06:29 PM)
Just collect 2.0L last 2 weeks, buy for my wife. Previously she driving altis.

Power was sufficient for urban drive, slight under power compare with altis 1.8L, but thats for first gear. Fuel consumption no clue since not even finish 1 tank
Noted, Please do update me when you got the FC stats. Thanks! nod.gif
nebula87
post Dec 11 2018, 08:38 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Dec 11 2018, 08:20 AM)
1. subjective coz it really depends on the person taste
2. city drive sure high. I have hit as low as 6-7km/l and highway as high as 11km/l. on average city drive I get about 8-9kml. I am 100% city driver with occasional highway drive. city speed avg 60kmh. u will get better FC after a few petrol tanks.
3. yes all included except for the sensing. u can get full list from the honda website
4. cabin for me is good enough and plenty of space.
Great, thanks for the info bro! icon_rolleyes.gif
nebula87
post Dec 17 2018, 01:38 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 17 2018, 05:51 AM)
Hi everyone. Happy Holidays! smile.gif
I’ve havent been visiting this thread for a while now.

As an owner of crv 2.0 and a female driver, the car is good so far. I’m getting around 11km/l which is mostly 80% highway driving. I’m not really concerned about the petrol consumption as compared to my own safety on the highway. Too many speeding drivers around and they can be reckless sometimes.

I love the height of the car while I’m driving. It’s a bit too high to step into the car but when driving, it’s great. Can see what’s going on from far and can ride through those flooding areas (not high waters though). The one regret I have is that there are no front sensors. I originally thought I didn’t need it but it helps coz I can’t “see” when I’m parking into tight spots. I end up doing reverse parking most of the time and surprisingly, it’s not difficult to park a big car. the car is easy to maneuver.

As for the dashboard, no issues so far. There was some slight rattling noise on my right door area but they have fixed it. Other than that, no other complains.

Ok, that’s my two cents for today. biggrin.gif
Thank you for your info.

I am deciding the best car for my sister as she can't decide whether to get a CRV 2.0 or a HRV RS.

For price point, I think a 2018 reg CRV 2.0 will be the same price as the new 2019 HRV RS.

But my mom said she worried to drive CRV as it is too big for her and no front censor...HRV still ok for the visibility.

Thinking that whether a 3rd party front censor is available?
nebula87
post Dec 18 2018, 09:15 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Dec 18 2018, 09:04 AM)
Let your mom and sis drive your CX-5 for a week or so brows.gif  brows.gif
If they are comfortable in driving your CX-5, I think CR-V 2.0 should not really be a problem although no front sensor

My sis-in-law drives my FIL CRV 2014 to uni in the middle of KL every alternate day or so, and no issue with the size although she only hold automatic licence.
They didn't get to drive yet, but they sit at the rear. Their mindset is to have a "CRV" kind of spacious car, but their budget just around RM125k.

Oh I see. My mom fearing that she couldn't handle CRV, but I told her to let my sis drive that and she can practice over the weekend.

nebula87
post Dec 18 2018, 11:53 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Dec 18 2018, 11:23 AM)
actually HRV is good for city drive. its 1.8l is actually more rev happy than the 2.0crv. crv yes it is a larger car and much more spacious. you get used to it when u drive more of the car.

usually family car better go for CRV. if you live in a very tight space area, it might be good to consider hrv.
I think of that too. 1800cc on a 1,249 kg body while 2000cc on a 1,520 kg.

But I have seen how my sister and mom drive, they drive damn slow...revving is almost zero for them...lol

So I recommended them to go and book an appointment to test drive both of the cars and decide..

Parking wise is not a problem as we are living in a landed house.

nebula87
post Dec 18 2018, 02:13 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Dec 18 2018, 02:05 PM)
don't get fooled by their "slow" drives... they usually adapt their style to whatever cars they drive. once they get used to the HRV rev, i think they will call others slow...hahaha.

they wont go wrong with either choice. in fact, my in laws have the HRV with the front camera. its nice to park with the front n back camera no need sensors...

I got my CRV and happy with the rear camera only. front also no sensor. smile.gif
Haha. No leh...even with their old Proton Waja, both of them still drive very slow.
Sometimes I was like, "wei...press pedal leh..."

Huh? HRV with front camera? is that from 3rd party accessories shop?
Will that void the warranty?

I even have front sensor also I will reverse park more. biggrin.gif
nebula87
post Feb 7 2019, 01:48 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(l2k @ Jan 31 2019, 09:09 PM)
To be honest, you are asking in the wrong place. Just like you ask in the CX5 club if CRV is better? BTW, why get a C segment SUV if you are single?

My suggestion, really, go to test drive yourself, it won't take you too much time.

If you ask me, below are my comments:
(Assuming you are not getting a diesel car, which put CX5 2.2 out of the list.)

Performance: CRV 1.5 turbo performance is about on far with CX5 2.5. However, you will have to cope with the CVT not so direct feeling during initial acceleration. CX5 6 speeder will give you a more direct feel.

Handling: This is a very subjective area. CX5 as I know has stiffer (but well sorted) suspension and more direct handling feel, CRV is softer sprung which leads to more body roll. Don't get me wrong CRV can absorb bumps well.  However, I wish to highlight the word "subjective" as there were test conducted by professional car website like autohome.cn, which showed that in saloom and some cornering test, CRV did not lose out to CX5.

NVH: Seems like CX5 wins in this category. Personally I feel that CRV is OK, just that the tyre noise is a bit prominent at speed above 100km/h, depends on road condition. if compare to Civic, CRV is much quieter. Also, this is something that can be solved by better tyres.

Fuel consumption: I guess is about on par with CX5 2.0, better than CX5 2.5. I can average about 11-12km/l 100% city drive (without ECON). Highway 110-120km/h gives ~15km/l.

Interior and boot space: CRV wins by a margin in this department. Well known feature including a big center armrest compartment that can fit a handbag.

Interior quality: Alot of people say CX5 has better interior quality, I have no issue with CRV interior.

Others: CRV has android auto and apple car play, which I really love alot. Power boot if you get the TCP. Active cornering light if you get the TCP.

p/s: I spare parts, Mazda tends to be more expensive. So if you plan to keep the car more than 5 years, do consider this as well.
BTW, if you are getting a CRV, I suggest to get the top spec TCP. The adaptive cruise control and low speed follow + lane keep assist really make highway driving a breeze.
Well said. I personally own a CX5 and test drive a CRV last week.
To be honest, I like both of them. Each have their own characteristics.

nebula87
post Feb 20 2019, 01:49 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

My sister booked a 1.5TC Lunar Silver on end of January.

How long do they takes to deliver the car?
nebula87
post Feb 28 2019, 09:18 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(digimon09 @ Feb 26 2019, 06:17 PM)
so far, got SA offer me with RM4200
oh gosh, SA mana satu?! blink.gif
nebula87
post Feb 28 2019, 11:37 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(digimon09 @ Feb 28 2019, 11:35 AM)
Majority SA in KL can offer range from 4k
I see. My sister SA now zero feedback when we ask him question.

What a jerk. mad.gif
nebula87
post Feb 28 2019, 01:09 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(digimon09 @ Feb 28 2019, 12:33 PM)
Already bought the car? I can recommend some SA if you like... smile.gif
Booked the car, loan not yet proceed but bought number plate only. sad.gif
nebula87
post Feb 28 2019, 01:17 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(Canvas Art @ Feb 28 2019, 01:13 PM)
What's the amount of your rebate?
Any free gift given?
RM3k, no free gift.

QUOTE(digimon09 @ Feb 28 2019, 01:13 PM)
Meaning already place booking fee?  sweat.gif
Yes...RM1k sad.gif
nebula87
post Mar 21 2019, 10:24 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Mar 20 2019, 12:04 PM)
Anyone can confirm if we can get 4 to 5k discount for 2019 CRV now? Thinking of getting a unit. Thanks.
Fuuhhh...my sister's order until today still not yet reach...

the SA can go dai liao.. doh.gif
nebula87
post Mar 21 2019, 10:32 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Mar 21 2019, 10:30 AM)
Your sister can always cancel the order. There are options, you know.
My sister my mom go told the SA that they no rush... doh.gif

I was like, who go to buy car but no rush eh? doh.gif

Going to tell them to give the SA a expected date. dry.gif
nebula87
post Mar 22 2019, 03:09 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 21 2019, 02:40 PM)
already new
but thai models is knobless
I think the one with knobless is 7 seaters version CRV.

Thai CRV 5 seaters still having gear knob. smile.gif
nebula87
post Mar 27 2019, 11:57 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(ancnw @ Mar 27 2019, 11:30 AM)
I've got the 1.5 variant.  after 15 months the gear knob finally gave out.  Initially i was able to push the metal lever inside to engage the gear.  But as the plastic crumbled, some of it got stuck and the gear could not engage. 

But the good news is that once you take out all the crumbled bits, you can push the metal lever down and move the gear shaft. 

When the honda SC technician examined and the first thing he looked for was the spring.  Its just a 2cm long. 

I'm glad i didn't lose the spring cos its not under the replacement warranty.  If you lose the spring its RM100 to replace..  Well that's what he said. 

Anyway i did not repair it then, but decided since i could drive the car to get it done with the normal service. 

Lets see what my usual SC says about this unfair charge..
Hmm...2019 model car still getting this issue?

RM100 for 2cm long spring. rclxub.gif
nebula87
post Mar 28 2019, 10:39 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 28 2019, 10:27 AM)
crv solder joint tw/msia/us, msia crv joint really thin like the pic?

https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=e...299&prev=search

mobile01
Solder alot doesn't mean it is better.

TW version looks like simply solder alot into it... doh.gif

While MY version looks like it is carefully soldered on.
nebula87
post Mar 28 2019, 03:40 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(l2k @ Mar 28 2019, 03:11 PM)
It is welding point, not solder joint. Solder joints are for electronics components on printed board  doh.gif
Haha...true. thanks for the advise.. doh.gif
nebula87
post Apr 15 2019, 02:40 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(johlou @ Apr 6 2019, 01:13 PM)
Guys..I am confused between CRV 2.0 and 1.5 Turbo unit. Price diff is only 12k. Pls help.
The engine, interior trim and wheels,rims.

1.5 Turbo > 2.0 in power wise.

0.0926sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:54 AM