LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

jihia
post Oct 7 2025, 04:48 PM

Hello, I plan to get E Variant after reading thru this thread and some research.

My previous car was Iswara, then Honda CRZ, now 2nd kid coming I need to say goodbye to my Z already...

Wife will want to try if she need 360 cam due to size but we doubt we will need that.

I have some questions need advices.

1. We plan to install running board, any shop recommendation or review on the durability? My area is Ara Damansara so will be good for nearby workshop

2. I am interest to change the rim to black one, will you recommend me to change to the RS stock rim for resonator feature? I saw people selling at 1.9k but I do not see resonator in photo, anyone see the resonator before? Or I rather just paint my stock rim to black?

3. My regular SC is HZN Glenmarie as it is nearest to me and I saw it has bad name here, mind to share more? my current sales offer also at Glenmarie, anyone has recommendation for 2nd option?

4. any recommendation for new car coating? my current offer by 7autospa is RM1,580 for 3 layers 10H Spray Coating, window, interior and 1 free maintainence.

Thanks in advance.
jihia
post Oct 10 2025, 01:21 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Oct 9 2025, 04:39 PM)
I can only comment on 7m autospa....coz I am their client since they started in Klang in their first shop at Bandar Baru that is called Magic Glare then.

Over the years, I would have to say, their coating product have downgraded a bit....decade ago, the coating and water repellant garanteed to last a whole year, no anymore. Still the protection is there but the water repellant cannot last long nowadays. The shine does tho.

For those who have seen my posts somewhere, they might know I am a crazy one that still willing to stick a 3K premium tint on almost 2 decade old cars coz I cannot afford new cars, so trying to keep my old ones running at tip top conditions in both engine and looks (not mods, but clean shining look) and my bloody Civic FD and old 3rd gen city still looks shining with clean looks at almost decade old with engine running tip top (compared to their counterparts at 2 decades old).

Still I have ALL my cars coated ANNUALLY (maintenance is actually their terms for a full coating) in their botanic branch and yes, that include decades old cars. I choose the 5 years package with 5 layer coating, the more layer the better. Not sure the price now, last years it goes for about RM21xx or 22xx for 2 free maintenance and 5 years membership that is for small/medium size like City, Civic FD, Subaru XV (I think), etc.

If you do just high quality multi layers wax and polishing elsewhere, it can be anywhere between 500 to 700++ each time. Polish takes layers of your paint and wax coating last maybe a few washes, then no more wax...

With coating, it generally will bind with the paint for much longer time (more or less a year for me). Everytime wash, it is back to polish quality shiny. So for me, assume RM2200 / 3 times (first year and 2 maintenance), it would turn out almost same pricing as the non lasting polish and wax. So why not pay for coating that last longer on your paint and shiny upon EVERY wash for the whole year. The coating do have benefits to more easily wash off the grimes and dirts with the extra coating externally.

Keep in mind tho, recently (1 year or 2), they change the maintenance from all inclusive (include re-coating, interior polish, cushion cleainng, engine wash, windscreen polishing) to just recoating only. You have to pay extra few hundreds to include windscreen polishing, engine clean and interior polishing separately. Of course first year include everything. Become less value over the years compared to the old times.

Oh. the membership means you are entitles to discounted price for car washes, maintenance (only 2 foc maint, another 2 years maint have to pay), etc.
Yes I also read thru your comment on why you dont use ppf. My main purpose of this is actually to minimise the damage of other car banging my car body when opening their door. My current cars has many dents by this damage, even more than stone chips doh.gif
jihia
post Oct 10 2025, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Oct 10 2025, 10:19 AM)
Trust....me, coating does not work against door banging dents. I am so ultra careful over the years aka try park at corner (so only 1 side have car, park far away)....still kena once in a while. Coating help a bit in stone chip protection.....maybe....if ever. Against minor scratches or swirling damage, multi layer thick coating definitely help but not for deep scratches.

What is good is the autospa can try minimize the paint scratches (making it near invisible if scratches not too deep) due to open door (help quite a lot) BUT against dent, nope, nada can done.

If got PPF, some time even worse coz PPF also damage, might have to change the expensive PPF...may as well repaint but I try to avoid repaint over the original paint as much as possible even if Honda paint is thin layer nowadays.

Paint respray are more prone to chipping and breaking coz they don't go thru the high enuf heat to bind the paint thoroughly as the car cannot go under superhigh heat unlike the skeleton body or pure body parts painting in car manufacturer factory.

What I did is PPF those front body parts that are glossy coz chipping makes it even super obvious like those black glossy strip, even my black glossy side mirror cover (of my City). PPF is great for stone chipping protection.
I also park like u especially left corner, hope the one beside do not have passenger. My CRZ kena bang until like ppl jealous on the car bang on purpose kind vmad.gif it has most dents among my others.

Thank you for the experience, will continue to research and brain what I need
jihia
post Oct 10 2025, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(touristking @ Oct 10 2025, 10:24 AM)
Not exactly what you wanted but I use this to prevent damage to own car and to others.

This can only prevent me from banging others which I rarely do that notworthy.gif

I remember old car like wira kind have a bash bar or something similar on door, our crv has accessories similar like this?
jihia
post Oct 11 2025, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(xSean @ Oct 11 2025, 05:13 PM)
What is the max rebate for this month other than rebate from honda?
I just booked e variant yesterday. Few SA giving around 20-22k in total depends on free gifts
jihia
post Oct 12 2025, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(xSean @ Oct 11 2025, 09:29 PM)
Like that not much different with last month
If you want my SA contact i can pm u, he is from hzn glenmarie, I chose him among the rest of SA based on experience and his sincerity.

0.0189sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:33 AM