dinozilla
post Jan 31 2023, 01:39 PM

1,680 posts

Seeking opinion
I am doing with civic fc tc now
Starting to think of taller car for family
Pampered by the e brake auto hold and space etc means I m leaning to consider crv
Puzzling now is on whether to get the current gen, or wait for new gen
What will make current gen worth consider now
Or what new gen worth waiting for?

dinozilla
post Feb 8 2023, 09:17 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Feb 6 2023, 09:44 AM)
Are you in a hurry to get a SUV soon?
The CR-V G6 probably be arriving 3rd or 4th quarter in Malaysia as there is still no launch in Thailand nor we have seen RHD version yet.

The current G5 model design is still best looking whether you’re looking at front or rear. While the G6 design looks boxy like a Volvo XC60. Of course the interior is more modern for G6 like 9” headunit vs 7” on current gen. Probably we getting the half LCD half analogue meter as seen on Civic RS unlike G5 is full LCD. And current Honda Sensing is ditching the radar unit and purely rely on its camera versus current G5 uses front bumper radar and camera.

G6 will see the hybrid the only go to option 2.0L Atkinson NA hybrid while lower spec is 1.5L Turbo like what we are seeing from HR-V. Honda is going PHEV and VTEC Turbo is going to be slowly discontinue.

The current G5 I’m using I’m very happy with its turbo power, safety features and still relevant in todays SUV standard. It may not have Blind spot monitoring and 360 deg camera yet there is front and rear parking sensors to rely on. It has Android Apple CarPlay even is not wireless yet I make do with purchasing CarLinkit v4.0 hence X70 doesn’t even support Android Apple CarPlay to begin with. I’m very sure today drivers will prefer to have this android apple thing in their vehicle for day to day usage. Play songs from Spotify and navigate via Waze.
Yea not in hurry, just start considering
Hence I m checking both G5 and G6

For now I derive myself few +/- for G5 vs G6

G5
+ cheaper for now, not sure if got more discount later when gen change coming
+ well known specs, and issues, know how to tackle
+ meet most expectation on what can be look for (ADAS, space, etc)
- if wait for final discount, may limited stock
- design too identical to my FC, nothing new much
- can’t expect more

G6
+ latest to come for next few years
+ better refined vs G5?
+ HEV option?
- spec may not up to expectation?
- much much costlier? (More so for HEV?)

my target aim is the current 1.5TCP at current pricing, which I feel best bang for bucks if with disc some more
Not sure if G6 will give identical spec close to that price? I would prefer HEV if possible, but I feel it’s price will go beyond…way up which I can’t justify myself

dinozilla
post Mar 14 2023, 07:51 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(pejakb @ Mar 12 2023, 05:53 PM)
have u made decision?i saw paultan updated that g6 will b launch on 20th mac in Thai market
haha no man...waiting for Thai/Indon launch to see what we can expect for MY
main thing is the $$...I can't afford to consider too high...if they do like Civic...1.8 gone, 1.5T is the new baseline (more like previous 1.5TC become the baseline)
chance is if we see the G6 new baseline is the 1.5T price close to current 1.5TC-P, then I m ok...if the new 1.5T is price at today 4WD, I m pass...
I may consider G5 if they give heavy disc...or I consider 2nd hand/other brand
dinozilla
post Mar 22 2023, 03:19 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Mar 18 2023, 08:00 PM)
Guys I’m in a dilemma

I think this question has surely been asked many2 times here

I am in the market for a car and went to Honda today to check out civic, and no test drive unit

But there was a CR-V 2.0 and boy it was super comfortable. I’m not a fast driver, and the SA allowed me test drive, was actually really adequate in terms of power

So I’m actually really torn. The interior space of the CRV is godly, so damn comfortable and spacious

But the Civic has better specs (9” wireless apple CarPlay and Honda Sensing)

SA say got ready stock and can give 6k discount, so end up pricing really competitive with Civic FE V-spec

I wonder what is you guys take on this! Thanks!
u tested cry surely there is some need fulfilled for you right...
I m driving FC...and looking for change due to family structure change....and can't really going with "low" car for long

If you are not for spirited drive, I think will be more comfy driving crv...

for me its more of deciding if to go cheaper G5 but having identical look and feel like FC for another decade...
or risk waiting for G6 and pay more becoz wan a new look? biggrin.gif
dinozilla
post Mar 22 2023, 03:20 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(skyp @ Mar 21 2023, 02:12 PM)
Thailand base model CRV starts from RM186K.
Usually our price is higher?

I would go for CX8 with that price  doh.gif
I think the saying here is we will be lesser due to CKD structure...
but need to consider ringgit weakening also...
but then HM say they will try to contain...so not sure if they will apply to new model?
hopefully a yes...
dinozilla
post Mar 23 2023, 09:56 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Mar 22 2023, 08:01 PM)
Actually got many2 factors lah
I’m quite young and single actually so civic makes more sense haha

But….CRV is better for practicality sense and comfort
I’m not a fast driver at all

End up I think need to chose something that will be future proof. The 2.0 CRV is a bit too compromised. If I can stretch and get TCP CRV is different, then not losing out on much
yes...civic more for before you having kids... tongue.gif
CRV 1.5TCP 2WD IMO is the best deal for now if u not aim for latest...
with most of the sensing (minus the lead car departure thing), same engine (refinement most ppl can't tell), and space, good enough...if coupled with good discount

still not sure what's the price, but if Thailand is a good guess, I worry even the base 1.5T later will be around 180k sad.gif
but even base spec was fitted with some extra we don't need (like sunroof), so likely it will be lower for us when HM cut here n there
my guess if they can bring it down to below 170 before tax/insurance, consider good ad...
according to wapcar....the price change start around 4.4%, and 1.5TCP now around 165 which will be 174 if add 4.4%
see if HM can do magic...
dinozilla
post Jul 28 2023, 02:29 AM

1,680 posts

Anyone pick up insider news about new gen and price yet?
dinozilla
post Jul 28 2023, 04:54 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 28 2023, 09:41 AM)
I've been waiting for that since June. Last heard from SA, it's likely will be launch in October or November. That is a long wait.

Hopefully price hike is not as massive as we think it would be but the bigger size and weaker ringgit will likely hike that up a lot.

Initial glance on Thailand pricing, it would be automatically assume our base models will likely hit 180K minimum.
However there is still hope, the base price for Thailand in 2017 is already 180K anyway but with 2.4 NA engine. Now all turbo and ehev, still 180K++ and anove. Based on news report, abt 4.4% hike but that is from the NA engine models.

Ours current best models only 171K and already have 1.5 Turbo engine and 4WD. So hopeful the hike would not be as massive as I originally think. I still think the full spec will hit at least 180K and/or above of based on 5% hike of Thailand.

I can only hope our models don't include Panoramic roof (not a fan, increase price, prone to leaking aka maintenance) and Malaysia with its CKD costing might also do much more cost cutting to reduce the price.

However this is also a double edge sword, coz they might just take away, the exceedingly useful driver seat memory, 360 camera (MVCS) and 4 way passenger seat.

Obviously the base 2.0 NA engine is gone forever. Now I can only hope Malaysia can still maintain a FULL spec 2WD option to lower price to below 180K. I'm ok with it coz it have better mileage and most of us are likely City driver.

They might also comes with the 2 eHev options (same for most countries), I found the Thailand non RS 2WD eHev option already full spec with 4WD RS option having a more sporty setting. Can only estimate the non RS option to be at least 190K, should only consider eHEV for its increase non lag torque and quieter drive. For me, no reason to get it for fuel saving.s as it cannot cover the increased sellling price. Lack of spare tyre for eHev is an issue tho for Malaysian road. Kena a few times liao.
Heard could extend into 2024
We may have an e spec which may not have much differ from the tcp u can get now, seeing Thai e spec also very Kosong vs other higher spec. And that is probably the only spec which will below 180k

With current discount + if I wish, would have prefer v spec, which could beyond 185, I can’t justify myself to give extra 30 for those
Already talking to my SA to help get current tcp…
dinozilla
post Aug 1 2023, 07:52 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 30 2023, 12:02 AM)
I think the launch should still be this year, just the delivery of vehicle might push to next year. I'm OK with that tho. I've booked Civic ehev at 170k and decide to consider CRV due to higher ground clearance aka fear of flash flood and house flood. So I just need to know if CRV Full Spec or better ehev still within my budget limit. If CRV delay too long, might revert back to Civic ehev but then again, that model also keep delaying due to production given to wrv and City launch.

So while waiting for Civic ehev availability, seriously consider CRV as price already same. With the hike, it is pushing the limit a lot.

However I can't bring myself to consider current 6 to 7 years old CRV with older tech. I'm already paying a premium 170k, I'm not going to take a 7 years old tech. I'm a Civic fan and the new CRV has a Civic interior. Also don't like the current CRV front grill but love the new more masculine grill. Trying to aim for ehev as the torque will make the crv more lively. Based on reviewer, new CRV has more road feel aka handling... Coming from Civic background, that's one of key reason for my new CRV preference.

If I must have a SUV now, actually I may as well takes up 7 years old Mazda CX5. Super comfortable, great exterior look and cheaper now with inclusion of 5 years free maintenance. The only downside is the 2.0 NA engine.
Good for u…
180 is my limit, and I fairly confident they won’t lower with new gen
Too little clarity now so I m assessing my thought
Letting go my civic to top up so the earlier the higher
Not so fancy on new for now…so just see if wan grab what I “need” today, instead of wait… hehehe
dinozilla
post Aug 1 2023, 09:18 PM

1,680 posts

Hahaha yes
I used to get a city when near eol and drove it for next 7 years
It’s history in repeat only…
Feel now it’s a transition between ice/hev to ev
Whatever u consider… be prepare for next shift on next change…
But if u can afford it, make the hop now

All the conventional models have to make the leap soon
dinozilla
post Aug 15 2023, 07:55 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Aug 11 2023, 03:22 PM)
Installed at UH accessories shop in Setapak for RM450.00 on first week after gotten the car,, so far satisfied with the thing,, only I never compare it with the one from Honda,, but I believe the one that I installed a bit heavy
Is it reliable? Heavy as in?
Light is ok but should be sturdy enough for use? Heheh
dinozilla
post Aug 17 2023, 09:15 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Aug 17 2023, 12:44 AM)
Those rm 2xx are for looks and sturdiness is questionable.

Rm 3xx and above are okay for normal usage. Original from Honda can cost over 2xxx.
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.TCaoy
Something like this?

0.0234sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:57 AM