LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

Quazacolt
post Dec 19 2023, 01:04 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 18 2023, 06:38 PM)
. It IS a bigger SUV, with the latest update, so that 5K increase already worth it.
You still haven't gotten your car right? So CRV is a top pick?

Personally, the updated drive train is very worth it

Only lane watch and lacking blind spot systems is a bit sour
Quazacolt
post Aug 16 2025, 11:51 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

Just drive the CRV Turbo E spec for the first time

It's a really amazing drive train improved upon the Civic FE

The heavy 1616KG weight was barely noticeable at all. Felt more like a 1.2-1.3 ton car

The manufacturer spec sheet of 9.8 seconds 0-100 KM/H is pretty much feeling similar to most compact B segment cars
Quazacolt
post Aug 16 2025, 11:54 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 9 2025, 12:08 PM)
V spec, fwd
E?

V currently only AWD variant

So owners kinda pigeon hole into E for petrol or RS for EHEV
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 11:37 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 18 2025, 10:47 AM)
You should try the 2.0 e:HEV RS also, it's what really sold me on the hybrid drivetrain.
yeah i actually did because our usual Honda Melaka Semabok only got RS EHEV Hybrid for test drive.
so we tested that.

just that, financially doesn't sit well with both me/wife to spend the extra 40-50k++ before loan interests and monthly commitment , hence we decided the E (don't want V AWD)

in fact, we currently still own the HRV RS EHEV Hybrid. so that's also a factor that, household 1 hybrid enough. have another car something different, like turbo for long distance driving - which the hybrid tend to fall short a little bit going into NA Atkinson cycle engine as the EV motors no longer as efficient (yes the 2.0 NA is definitely better than 1.5 NA, but you get the idea)
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 11:45 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 18 2025, 10:48 AM)
Just left my car at SC to do the high-pressure fuel pump recall inspection... and was told there's a RM43 labor charge for the test/inspection, wtf? I asked the SA he said this is their (HM) SOP and they're just following. What the heck? A recall exercise that the customer has to pay for? Anyone kena the same or did I get BS'ed?
ya normally recall exercises is fully borne by manufacturer. i've never heard anything otherwise

the only time they charge is scope outside of the recall exercise.
for example, from my experience, i had an engine valve spring recall, they of course will replace the items affected, and all associated items like oil seals as they open up the engine.

however exhaust gasket, not in scope, i pay myself.
coolant hose not in scope, i pay myself
spark plugs that inspected looks a bit worn, i pay myself
VVT socket broken off cuz long term soaked in leaking oil, i pay myself for an entire VVT module (this is priciest lol, lucky only 1 piece, out of 4.)
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 02:57 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 22 2025, 08:49 AM)
Saw this in CRV facebook posted by user "Deng DFour", can give a try

Change setting for wireless
1. Press Home , power , and reverse buttons simultaneously for about 5 , 7 seconds.
2. The screen will go into self diagnosis mode and select detailed information and settings.
3. Select smartphone information .
4. Select Android auto tab.
5. Select ON (USB/wireless)
6. Done. Select Return.
7. Unpaired your current Bluetooth and re pair again.
8. Enjoy your Android Auto wireless.πŸ˜„
Yeah this definitely works, I just tried.

Lemme edit a bit a bit + screenshots.

Hidden feature for Android auto wireless

1. Press Home , power , and back track ( << button, for previous song or music, NOT the back button aka previous menu button) buttons simultaneously for about 5 to 7 seconds.
2. The screen will go into self diagnostics mode , select detailed information and settings.
3. Select smartphone information .
4. Select Android auto tab.
5. Select ON (USB/wireless)
6. Done. Select Return.
7. Un pair your current Bluetooth and android auto from both phone and head unit (delete all) and re-pair again. (Because the phone and/or head unit remembers the connection as wired, and won't initiate wireless)
8. Enjoy your Android Auto wireless.πŸ˜„

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Successful lol

And the head unit is pretty advanced
It's practically a smart phone by itselfπŸ˜†

Lol Android 8 considerably ancient, but at least android lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 03:24 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Aug 18 2025, 03:18 PM)
i wonder if the functional setup will allow the RDS to work in our HU.
Ooo never explored that
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 03:42 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Aug 18 2025, 03:37 PM)
Enabled Android Auto Wireless but failed to connect to my phone. I'm using Fold 7
step 7, try unpairing/deleting everything from both Head unit and phone (i also faced similar)
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2025, 09:53 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 18 2025, 05:12 PM)
Haha don't dare say. Lifetime average (Trip B for me) is 15.1km/L tongue.gif I went through a phase of tekan kaw2 due to stress. But now drive chill jer with baby boss on board. Can't simply hentam corners no more sad.gif
Honda EHEV is pretty good in corners, I can drive like an idiot on HRV yet 18-20KM/L lol

Key is utilize your regen braking more
Quazacolt
post Aug 19 2025, 11:37 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 19 2025, 11:19 AM)
Haha yes, the regen braking using downshift paddles into corners is so much fun. It gives more stopping power than just mechanical brakes alone and it’s pretty good for a big hunking SUV. Unreal.
I'll just B if I'm doing spirited driving

Flappy paddles too slow on 4 steps lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 20 2025, 09:40 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 19 2025, 05:56 PM)
after the second schedule service, surprised that the steering wheel feel lighter now. I used to complain from day one that the steering wheel  is damn heavy. They must have done something to it coz i didn't  complain during the service. lol
Are you on Latest gen CRV?
Quazacolt
post Aug 20 2025, 10:43 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 20 2025, 10:27 AM)
7 months young car. Lol
Could be added grease to the motor unit (the Civic, and to an extent, CRV) EPS recall fiasco

And/or updated EPS software
Quazacolt
post Aug 20 2025, 06:33 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 20 2025, 05:57 PM)
Do you use waze? Does waze show up in your head unit? mine is missing.
Oh I rarely use Waze, and haven't used on android auto yet
From the loader, I see got Waze, so should be no problem

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 20 2025, 06:33 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 26 2025, 03:00 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 25 2025, 03:07 PM)
Turbo version. That one already using 5W30 FS by default.
All Honda turbo vehicles default to run 0w20 full synthetic
Quazacolt
post Sep 13 2025, 08:30 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(coffee20038 @ Mar 28 2024, 09:54 PM)
there seem to be a weird wind howl around 125kmh onwards. Comes on and off like a ghost.
Yeah I've been looking for this and if anyone here got solution

I'm guessing it's probably some panel or side mirror causing wind buffet or turbulence

=Edit=
My new ownership already a month old, car only ran less than 500 km on the first 1k km inspection service

After a while, Lol Honda oil life monitoring , 5400 KM oil change. (Round 2 experience after previously owned Civic FE)

They skipped oil change on the first 1k km, which I think should still be maintained. Oil from Dipstick can see metallic grey
But, considering my own previous ownership and other owners over the years, I think it's still fairly safe. Despite not doing that first initial oil change

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 13 2025, 11:15 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 14 2025, 10:09 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Sep 14 2025, 06:10 PM)
How are you guys seeing the oil life? Is it only available on 1.5T? Can’t seem to find it for 2.0 hybrid.
Only on turbo models since Civic FE
The current gen CRV entire platform and drive train is based on the current gen Civic after all

And thus, the RS EHEV hybrid doesn't require an additional oil life monitoring and one less thing to worry about.
Quazacolt
post Sep 17 2025, 09:38 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 17 2025, 01:56 PM)
That is due to usage of turbo in 1.5T. High heat in turbo components stress out the the engine oil that was used for both lubrication and heat dissipator aka absorb heat for turbo components. That shorten the life of the oil. Depending on how you drive, traffic condition, etc, the car estimate how long the engine oil can last. No idea what formula they used to estimate but the result is varied oil change interval for every single car.

due to our "severe" driving condition aka hot, humid and dusty environment.
Generally not really severe la
Modern Oil tech is good enough to not really bother much by our so called "hot" and humid environment.

Main criteria:
1) travelling on very dusty areas (construction sites)
2) high RPM high load (spirited driving or even Motorsports)
3) towing (high load even though low RPM low speed) or constantly carry high load/weight
4) frequent short travels/cold starts (fuel dilution)
5) a lot of slow stop go traffic, traffic jam. (Related to item 4), let's say, only short morning daycare or school trips, only under 25 to 30 minutes of total back n forth travel time, then it's bad for the engine.
6) lots of idling (also related to item 4 and 5)

And with that said, those are also items taken into account to the oil life monitoring which I've shared on the Civic FE thread.

Lemme link and quote:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107396413

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=105415076

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103830543
Maintenance minder is closely related to how is your driving pattern & condition. If you always get bad traffic jams, long warm up or cooldown the engine, idling while waiting for a long period of time, be prepared to change the oil at 4-6k km. Basically, engine is on but not moving anywhere will kill the oil life.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103830741
i am assuming the "sensor" would be based on engine run time + km's clocked in relation, technically not a sensor? lol

but yes, if you're just idling a lot, the turbo charger doesn't get good oil flow and thus the worry of oil just burning up/oxidation within the turbo and then degrading overall oil quality further.
the saving grace, the turbo is tiny, and peak torque/max spooling is from 1.7k RPM (i was thinking 2k but alas they improved/corrected upon re checking and confirmation of specs lol) so oil flow does get going very early.

Actually, instead of high heat, it is cold that kills engine oil more
Fuel dilution and LSPI.
(remember, I have a hobby and have been running oil analysis for around 11 years lol)

In summary, oil life monitor depends on these variables:
1) engine RPM
2) engine load
3) engine run time (duration, in seconds)
4) KM clocked
5) coolant temp
6) engine oil temp
7) ambient temp
(I may have miss out a few other parameters, but these should be the primary factors)

All in relation to each other and calculated together.
Quazacolt
post Sep 18 2025, 09:58 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Sep 18 2025, 09:33 AM)
FC comes with the maintenance minder as well.
Oh ya remembered it after reading through old posts I linked
Quazacolt
post Sep 18 2025, 04:04 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 18 2025, 02:45 PM)
The only reason I am using 0w20 is because you can't find any mineral oil with those rating and even if there is, best to avoid anyway.
because generally mineral oil is unable to keep up the viscosity index requirement on modern day engines.

what's viscosity index? its a number given to how much variance between the oil that's thin/thick on cold temp, and how thin/thick during hot temp.
the higher the number, the lesser variance it is.

the layman and requirement is, oil should be as thin as possible during the coldest freezing temperatures, while as thick as possible during extreme >150c oil temps.
almost an impossible ask, but modern science is making it very possible, hence fully synthetic.

Toyota Gazoo racing is aiming and wanting that in their vehicles:
https://toyotagazooracing.com/jp/gr/grparts/oil/
ζœ€ζ–°γƒγƒͺγƒžγƒΌζŠ€θ‘“γ«γ‚ˆγ‚‹ι«˜η²˜εΊ¦ζŒ‡ζ•°εŒ–
= High viscosity index achieved through the latest polymer technology

random BITOG:
https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/threads/w...tor-oil.334976/
GR Supra is also specced to use 0w20 smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 19 2025, 10:45 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 19 2025, 08:06 AM)
Sorry different topic. What's ur view on 0w16 fully synthetic, in the US more and more cars putting that as recommendations
For the majority of layman, no issue, can use.

But I would like to think if Honda is going to use for its direct injection engine (particularly down sized turbo direct injection like CRV 1.5 turbo), then the oil life monitoring would need to be more stringent and most likely lower intervals to deal with fuel diluting

Thinner 0w16 would also be more expensive

Just this 2 items would irritate and anger majority of customers I'm sure.

0.0947sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:49 AM