LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2025, 08:55 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Feb 12 2025, 10:27 PM)
Done my PUD on Monday
SA told they install / add in one parts to accomodate / compliment the racking system, dont know if this is the correct words to describe

So far been driving 50km plus minus, no more sticky, and thuck sound

The PUD done in less than 3 hours

basically add more grease or take the excess grease from the existing rack then transfer it to the worm gear location. Change the end cap, also top up grease to it before install.
ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2025, 02:09 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 13 2025, 02:07 PM)
If need to pay out-of-pocket for basically greasing stuff, how much would that cost?

And I thought they have to change the whole thing?
That was the last time, change a whole steering rack parts. But still not tackling the main issues for the part. Now make grease top up as solution. Not sure is it a permanent fix?
ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2025, 02:18 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 13 2025, 02:17 PM)
so should new owner today demand whole rack change?
SC will say we follow the Honda Bulletin, recall practice latest update which top up grease
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 09:08 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 18 2025, 08:49 AM)
so  second round of fuel.  meter indicated that can do 823km. my first tank of fuel was 910km. maybe now me no drive slow like in the first tank. just flow the pedal only. lol
the 2nd range is based on your current or latest km/l take. so on this, your 1st tank when u fill up, must be your km/l higher than the latest km/l when filling up the 2nd time. so the range indicates the 2nd time is lower than 1st. Got this question a lot on FB, and some even conclude because b4 this filled up Brand A fuel but when next filled up use Brand B fuel hence lower range

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Feb 18 2025, 09:09 AM
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 10:15 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 18 2025, 10:00 AM)
correct bro. now ave is 17.8 . not sure how those can do 20 over one. keng chao. laugh.gif  i only pump petronas. many moons ago no choice coz company gave shell card. fuel consumption think it's more on driving habits la.
all brands are the same. use Petronas cz Setel apps + Mesra points + CC rebates which need this brand. Can do 20+ if highway long distance based on FE e-HEV, many share info.
ayamxxx
post Feb 21 2025, 08:07 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 20 2025, 11:17 PM)
1month of ownership! still bitter on the  noise from either the rear seat or the rear boot curtain! damn!
Inb4 welcome to Alor Gajah made.
ayamxxx
post Feb 22 2025, 11:49 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 21 2025, 12:53 PM)
agreed! Think the shark anthena is lousy quality.
lol.  I used to own civic and accord before. till now the QC also didn't improve much.
One part they never improve, brakepad quality. Price at rm700/pair but make the brake juddering at Karak highway. Can solve this permanently via aftermarket brakepad one which using Ceramic based materials. Iirc this issue happened since G8 Accord when they converted to Made in Thailand brakepad parts

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Feb 22 2025, 11:50 AM
ayamxxx
post Mar 12 2025, 11:51 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 12 2025, 10:42 AM)
strong suspicion is the back seat that produce noise. when the backseat was occupied. no sound! only when i was driving alone over rough patches surface. WTf!
For me its typical Honda melaka made. Long time ago had rattling on the gear lever for Accord, when drove on rough road. 3 SC i went and complaint told its normal, ask to accept, one even told factory QC already approved this. Until one day I went to Global Amity Bangi, they solved it for me and even told if it still rattling, we will claim the part no. under warranty. Good SC for me. Not sure now since this was years ago
ayamxxx
post Mar 20 2025, 08:58 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Mar 19 2025, 09:56 PM)
Based on my experience, the traction is not there when we at stand still, the pick up is bad
Its only come after the tire rolling,
could it be Honda tuned the ECU to not aggressive start-up acceleration to protect the CVT gb?
ayamxxx
post Mar 26 2025, 07:13 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 25 2025, 06:02 PM)
rs owner. need to get your feedback. when the refill petrol indicator is on, do you straight go refill or wait ? I remembered the car is 60 or 65 L tank. but i am sure that there is still about 6or 7 L worth of petrol left in the tank.
Maybe can use the range balance indication, like at 50km range left can go refuel. Not sure, but few SUV i have driven, unconsciously found that the fuel light pop up to earlier than my old car from 2015 time. One car at 110km range balance already pop up fuel light

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Mar 26 2025, 09:29 AM
ayamxxx
post Mar 26 2025, 09:52 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 26 2025, 09:45 AM)
so this can be set ?
my bad. i thought is 60L tank. coz now my car left 80 km range and the indicator on liao.but when you fill up, only 47 L before the nozzle gun halted.
nope, cant change it. At least the Honda fuel range is better than the Campro based proton, hitting 60km range, it blips with no information, like suddenly MIA.
ayamxxx
post Apr 14 2025, 09:43 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Apr 13 2025, 07:33 PM)
I just activated my wireless this morning
The option is there,, dont understand why they didnt activate it by default,, could be got bug,,
Try it today from KL - Cyber - KL so far so good
Only the battery drop for 1 hour drive all together 2 ways a bit stiff around 10%
yup wireless AA, ACP take lot of juices from battery. Some phones even felt hot after hours.
ayamxxx
post Apr 14 2025, 10:15 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 14 2025, 10:03 AM)
AA wireless drain battery like shit. Want to use AA or ACP wireless, better get your powerbank ready.
put wired, battery can be full but phone will hot. My other car, I did install the Waze on the HU instead and work on it without using the phone.
ayamxxx
post May 5 2025, 08:40 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ May 4 2025, 10:17 PM)
Scary these Toyo tyres... the other day I was taking a corner at 75KM/h... the tyre already gave a warning...

the other car with Michelin PS4 all good at 75-80KM/h same corner....
PS4 are top of a top-of-the-line product, wet grip is the best. Toyo are just mid tyres. If u concern about grip, wet traction, never ever buy Continental tyres, be it UC series or MC series. That brand are not ok for wet traction
ayamxxx
post May 30 2025, 09:25 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 28 2025, 05:39 PM)
No idea but CRV's air cond is the coldest compared to all my other cars
Coldest AC i had faced are those Campro based Proton car, that was the coldest AC, even night time can make it like sitting inside fridge. Honda car on Accord also cold, putting 25-26 with higher fan speed is enough for me and cold

Conti car, tried latest Peugeot 408, need to put 19-20C only felt cold, same like others Conti brand car.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 30 2025, 09:26 AM
ayamxxx
post May 30 2025, 03:19 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 30 2025, 12:02 PM)
Did anyone notice that Honda seems to remove Air-Cond servicing from maintenance schedule. Long time no buy Honda until recently. My old Hondas just don't want to die...still alive like dragon (chinese proverb) until now...

Old Honda's has a 30 to 40 air-cond maintenance schedule. The new one skipped mentioning them. Toyota still got air-cond under their official maintenance schedule.
Almost all brand I noted dont put AC service as required, but optional, except changing the AC filter behind the dashboard. The AC service are purely by performing the AC flushing by machine at rm250-300. This I usually done it at Petronas AutoExpert branch for rm99
ayamxxx
post May 30 2025, 04:51 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 30 2025, 04:02 PM)
Do we really need any flushing as part of maintenance? My Civic FD, City GD8, etc I think never flush before (15 to 19 years) as part of maintenance after warranty. Always service outside after warranty period. They just check gas, check for any leaks if gas kurang, spray and wash the condensor fin, change cabin filter....but no flushing as maintenance, ever. Only major repairs aka compressor change, etc, then only flush.

For aircond, I always follow if it ain't broken, don't touch it. So checking gas, spraying condensor fins, I do every 2 years or 30-40K. Unless got air-cond problem, then they might repair and flush as mentioned above. I don't know about the new City eHev tho if got any different when using electrical compressor. I heard the bloody electric compressor might be at least 6K vs 3-4K for normal compressor.
The flushing I done due to acceptable price nowadays, rm99. Based on reading, it will replace/top up the AC gas back to optimum level, and change the Compressor oil. This oil change makes me think it is ok to perform it, again cz of rm99, if it rm300 is different story.

My car hit 11 years old and the AC still survive up until now, no compressor issues whatsoever. Iirc my old Waja had compressor k.o at 11 years old life where that car never had any single AC service, apart from gas top up 3 times throughout the first 11 years

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 30 2025, 04:51 PM
ayamxxx
post Jun 16 2025, 04:47 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Jun 16 2025, 10:51 AM)
Here’s a detailed comparison of the **Michelin Primacy SUV+** and the **Continental UltraContact UC7** to help you choose the right touring/SUV tire:

---

## 🏁 Performance

### **Wet Grip & Safety**

* **Primacy SUV+** shows superior wet braking (\~43.8 m vs 45.1 m) and better aquaplaning resistance (\~78.4 km/h vs 77.7 km/h) than UC6/UC7 equivalents ([toptirereview.com][1]).
* Consistently praised for excellent wet control, making it a top choice in rainy conditions.

### **Dry Handling & Braking**

* **UltraContact UC7** edges out Primacy in dry performance, with quicker braking and sharper handling: \~37.9 m stopping vs 40.3 m, and marginally faster slalom/braking times ([toptirereview.com][2], [toptirereview.com][1]).
* Felt “very predictable and potent” during test drives ([wapcar.my][3]).

---

## 🎧 Noise & Comfort

* **UC7** is quieter and more comfort-focused, scoring better in NVH tests (\~58.3 dB vs 58.8 dB) and comfort ratings (7.2/10 vs 6.6/10) ([toptirereview.com][1]).
* User reviews echo this:

> “my car is also using… UC6 SUV… very comfortable (ride became softer) and very quiet” ([reddit.com][4])
  > “Got myself UC7… way quieter than primacy 4” ([forum.lowyat.net][5])

---

## ⛽ Rolling Resistance & Fuel Economy

* **UC7** offers lower rolling resistance (\~7.21 N/kN vs 8.2 N/kN), which translates to better fuel efficiency ([toptirereview.com][1]).
* Primacy may have slightly higher rolling resistance but compensates with weight savings and refined compound design ([toptirereview.com][6]).

---

## 🔧 Durability & Build

* **Tread depth**: UC7 (≈7.31 mm) deeper than Primacy (≈6.82 mm), implying potentially longer wear and better aquaplaning ([toptirereview.com][6]).
* **Construction**: Primacy has dual-ply and thicker underlay—stronger build; UC7 uses single ply with slightly thinner underlay .

---

## 💰 Price & Value

* **UC7** is more budget-friendly —≈RM 580 vs RM 680 for Primacy (225/45R18) ([toptirereview.com][7]).
* In Malaysia, Primacy SUV+ and Continental UC6 SUV are comparably priced (\~6% difference) .

---

## 🗣️ Community Highlights

* UC7 praised as a comfort champion:

> “If noise is your only priority… tyres such as UC7 … best bet.” ([reddit.com][8], [reddit.com][4])
  > “I would go with the UltraContact as its a better 'touring' tyre… the difference isn't huge.” ([reddit.com][9])
* Michelin side:

> “Michelin is always the right answer…” ([reddit.com][10])
  > “Michelin Tires are the tire equivalent of 'Buy It For Life'… very well manufactured.” ([reddit.com][11])

---

## ⚙️ Summary Table

Feature            Michelin Primacy SUV+                 Continental UltraContact UC7        
------------------ ------------------------------------- ------------------------------------
Wet Performance    **Excellent**, best-in-class          Very good, but slightly behind      
Dry Performance    Strong performer                      Slightly better dry braking/handling
Noise & Comfort    Quiet, but a touch firmer             **Quieter & smoother ride**         
Rolling Resistance Moderate                              **Lower**, more fuel-efficient      
Durability         Solid build, slightly shallower tread **Deeper tread, robust build**      
Price (MYR)        \~RM 680/pc                           \~RM 580/pc                         
Ideal For          Wet safety, premium feel              All-round comfort, efficiency, value

---

## 🛞 Product Options

Here are the current popular SKUs:

### [Michelin Primacy SUV+]()

#### Premium wet‑biased SUV tyre
### [Continental UltraContact UC7]()

#### Comfort and efficiency SUV tyre
**[Michelin Primacy SUV+]()**: Renowned for wet grip, low noise, and strong build quality—premium option.

**[Continental UltraContact UC7]()**: Excellent on comfort, dry braking, and fuel economy—great value.

---

## ✅ Which Should You Pick?

* **Choose *Primacy SUV+*** if you prioritize **best-in-class wet performance**, robust construction, and are willing to pay a bit more.
* **Choose *UltraContact UC7*** if you want **quiet, efficient, comfortable driving** at a lower price—with still very strong overall capability.

---

Let me know your typical driving conditions (city vs highway, wet/dry climates, load), and I can help fine-tune the recommendation!

[1]: https://toptirereview.com/michelin-primacy-...rce=chatgpt.com "SUV show down ! Michelin Primacy SUV vs Continental UC6 SUV - Top Tire Review"
[2]: https://toptirereview.com/2023-top-tire-rev...rce=chatgpt.com "2023 Top Tire Review APAC Touring Tire Test - Top Tire Review"
[3]: https://www.wapcar.my/news/57735review-cont...rce=chatgpt.com "Review: Continental UltraContact UC7 - The comfort touring tyre with a performance edge | WapCar"
[4]: https://www.reddit.com/r/kereta/comments/1e...rce=chatgpt.com "Advice on new tyres..."
[5]: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5420880/%2B0...rce=chatgpt.com "Conti UltraContact UC7 vs Michelin Primacy 4 ST"
[6]: https://toptirereview.com/tire-cross-sectio...rce=chatgpt.com "Tire Cross Section Analysis : Michelin Primacy 4 ST vs Continental UltraContact 7 - Top Tire Review"
[7]: https://toptirereview.com/continental-ultra...rce=chatgpt.com "Continental UltraContact UC7 vs Michelin Primacy 4 ST - Top Tire Review"
[8]: https://www.reddit.com/r/kereta/comments/1f...rce=chatgpt.com "Car tyres for wet roads"
[9]: https://www.reddit.com/r/TyreReviews/commen...rce=chatgpt.com "I can't decide"
[10]: https://www.reddit.com/r/CarsAustralia/comm...rce=chatgpt.com "Quiet tyres"
[11]: https://www.reddit.com/r/tires/comments/1ap...rce=chatgpt.com "Are the Michelin Tires really all that good or just overrated?"
Fresh from chatgpt.
first of all, I had a worse experience with wet traction and wet handling for Continental UC6. And our WhatsApp group for the car, which unfortunately comes with UC6 as stock tyres, all complaining about the same issue with wet traction on this particular model, which is worse than any unknown brand's tyres or model for wet traction. For dry, it is ok and kinda quiet vs rival. Many I known are just letting go of this junk model at tyre shop and jump to Michelin, be it Primacy or PS4 SUV, both are praised by many owners for wet traction drive. Others with budget reason choose Toyo CR1 SUV, and surprisingly, it is much better than UC6, again at wet handling control. Not sure why they just not strong on this.

The website or Youtube shared, of course, must show Continental win big, after all the Dr Edwin is currently working with the Continental Tyres company. Its not really a neutral party who testing for the tyres test, hence if I can put inflated tyre pressure to rival model, my tyre will win for any categories listed. This I am assuming, since it is not handled by a neutral party or company for the test.

So for me and few buddies who had bad experience with this brand will either jump to reputable model from Michelin or skip any tyres from Continental. Hence I am not opting for UC7 or MC7 in the future. From my reading on FB, those who really test the MC7 on hoping it will good as Michelin PS series, they are all said it is not, especially on wet heavy rain situation. Only Cost factor they won against Michelin

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jun 16 2025, 04:54 PM
ayamxxx
post Jun 19 2025, 10:45 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Jun 19 2025, 10:42 AM)
sounds reasonable. maybe will stick to 0W20. at moment using 5W30. Somehow i feel the car response is a bit sluggish. not sure its real or just my feeling.
for all honda models sold here, all mentioned need the 0w20 as recommended oil viscosity, except those Civic tyre r, one that officially sold via HM. This for better FC figures. Nowadays, iinm since 4-5 years ago, many manufacturers especially in the US heading to 0w16 as stock viscosity due to more effort to get better FC
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2025, 11:43 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Jun 23 2025, 10:11 AM)
And they will tell you "kalau ada masalah lagi boleh dtg balik for checking again..." That was wht made me really frustrated two weeks ago and put my words there, if you are sure that the simple greasing has resolved the issue and yet unfortunately if it happens again, I will upload the whole piece of inspection receipt together with your name and SC name online to make it viral, I took leave come for inspection, the issue is so obvious yet Honda insist it must start with simple solution first, at the expense of customer time. WTF

I told him in front of others customers, Honda sales volume already drop still want to act lan si ah

that damn SA quickly change tone and help me submit report to claim new spare part
typical Honda SC nowadays, the most I fed up are at Semenyih 4S. That time for my old Accord, the driveshaft was leaking oil/ grease, sent it there, and they put my car up on the machine jack. Bring me to check together and found the leak, the best annoying statement, the SC manager told it is expected to have some grease leak lol, so cannot assist with the warranty claim. Send to New Era Kajang 4S, straight order the driveshaft under warranty.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jun 23 2025, 11:43 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0841sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:57 PM