LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

19 Degree South
post May 5 2025, 03:54 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ May 4 2025, 10:17 PM)
Scary these Toyo tyres... the other day I was taking a corner at 75KM/h... the tyre already gave a warning...

the other car with Michelin PS4 all good at 75-80KM/h same corner....
mine maybe is still new. cornering at 80-85km/h on sharp bend is still beri stable.
19 Degree South
post May 5 2025, 11:19 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 5 2025, 08:14 PM)
I too find Continental very bad on wet. CC6 ad UC6

So far, no complaint on the Toyo but then I haven't got chance to compare it to the Michelin.
my previous ride was on mc6. Beri goot! Of course it was a sedan. Lol
19 Degree South
post May 16 2025, 04:43 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ May 15 2025, 06:03 PM)
My house got one x50 using uc6, and my wife crv las time using Toyo now change to primacy suv+. So to me, no much difference btw uc6 and primacy in wet condition. But primacy is more quiet than UC6. Toyo in wet condition is poorer.

But in dry condition, I feel Toyo is better in acceleration. Maybe because Toyo's thread is lower. But tyre noise is the worst compare to UC6 and Primacy

Overall I would say Primacy > UC6 > Toyo, of course same in terms of price, lol.

The pevious Toyo last for 52000++ km before I change them to primacy
heard that primacy is a soft tyre. quiet but suffer on handling.
19 Degree South
post May 17 2025, 05:22 PM

1,680 posts

maybe will change to conti in one years time. i don't like soft sidewall. i found the toyo 's decibels are bearable in high speed. lol
19 Degree South
post May 29 2025, 10:53 AM

1,680 posts

anyone know what's the green lights on the rear view mirror?
19 Degree South
post May 29 2025, 12:14 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 29 2025, 12:10 PM)
That's the Auto-Dim function. If no light, no autodim.
Noted! Thanks for the heads up
19 Degree South
post Jun 10 2025, 09:37 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Jun 5 2025, 01:05 PM)
Had problems with the steering wheel veering off to the left on a straight road. Had to redo the calibration, wasn't an alignment issue. Did it with my 20k service, wasn't charged but was wondering if this might happen again.

On a side note, is anyone contemplating on soundproofing their crv? Was suggested by my mechanic and seemed viable. Anyone done before to their other cars? How much weight will it add on ?
for mercedes c klass. This is the norm. but unheard of for a jap car. could be the camber issue?
19 Degree South
post Jun 16 2025, 09:50 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jun 10 2025, 06:42 PM)
AI's answer

The Michelin Primacy SUV and Toyo Proxes R45 offer different handling characteristics. The Michelin Primacy SUV is generally considered a more balanced and safety-focused tire, while the Toyo Proxes R45 is known for its dry handling capabilities.
Michelin Primacy SUV:

Focus:
    Primarily designed for safety and balance, with a strong emphasis on wet and dry grip, as well as safety qualities over dynamic driving.

Handling:
Provides good grip in both dry and wet conditions, but may not be as sporty or responsive in dry handling as the Toyo.
Other Features:
Known for its low noise levels and durability, making it a comfortable and reliable choice for everyday driving.

Toyo Proxes R45:

Focus: Designed for dry handling and performance.
    Handling: May offer slightly better dry handling performance compared to the Michelin, potentially with a faster average speed during handling maneuvers.
    Other Features: The Toyo Proxes R45 is often associated with a shorter lifespan compared to the Michelin Primacy.

In Summary:
What Should I Know About Toyo Tires vs Michelin? - Opple House
The Michelin Primacy SUV prioritizes overall safety and balanced performance, while the Toyo Proxes R45 is more geared towards dry handling and potentially offers a slightly better dry handling experience
wow..what a write up. i am more into a handling guy. i usually swing my car in corner around 80km/h. even Ps4 is a very noisy tyre.most likely will be looking into continental tyre in the next changing.
19 Degree South
post Jun 17 2025, 10:16 PM

1,680 posts

I had fantastic experience with MC6 and 7 for my previous ride. only budget is thin, if not i will go all out for CSC range.lol
19 Degree South
post Jun 20 2025, 08:52 AM

1,680 posts

[quote=Zaryl,Jun 19 2025, 08:52 PM]
to owners of G6 RS owners, can give some insights on your own experience owning the car so far?

1. Hybrid eHEV using e-CVT gearbox means it doesn't have the actual CVT belting? so no issue on broken CVT if kasi tekan minyak kaw2 during acceleration?

2. how is the FC on 100% town driving vs 50% town 50% highway?

3. any issues faced so far? steering rack issue still persists?

4. how much is the annual roadtax + insurance?

5. is it really quiet?

6. how often the hybrid battery will start to generate energy if let say parking for long time? Upon reaching 2 bar, it will recharge automatically until fill up to 4 bar then stop charging, similar to my city hybrid i-dcd?
I might want to trade in my 8 year old Honda BRV to buy this CRV G6 RS eHEV. My Honda SA says honda malaysia got give RM8,000 rebate + RM5,000 service voucher, but it's valid till end of this month only.

i already have a 7 year old Honda city i-dcd hybrid but this is used mainly for going to work & travelling short to medium distance <100km though. Mileage clock in 95,000km.
For balik kampung and long distance trip, i use BRV. Mileage clock in 125,000km so far.

thanks guys.

if it's on ev mode , yes quiet! but if you need an instant torque to move the car, the engine roar is quite serious and the car barely move. lol. I am still getting use to driving this car as the lack of instant torque to me it's a big issue. However the handling of this car it's good la...cornering at 85km/h on stock toyo tyres is a breeze.
19 Degree South
post Jun 22 2025, 10:05 AM

1,680 posts

just want some insight from fellow bro. do we need to turn off the auto hold each time we fresh start the car? coz got one time i didn't off and the car refused to move with the auto hold on.
19 Degree South
post Jun 23 2025, 09:21 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Jun 23 2025, 08:35 AM)
i guess he mean need to tap the accelerator
i have set it to automatically lift the handbrake when off engine and automatically release the handbrake when press on the accelerator.
19 Degree South
post Jun 23 2025, 09:22 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 23 2025, 12:00 AM)
Nah man. It’s on all the time and I don’t touch it even between engine starts. Not sure what you mean by car refusing to move… simply tap on the gas pedal and it should disengage the brakes that were engaged by brake hold.
i have set it to automatically lift the handbrake when off engine and automatically release the handbrake when press on the accelerator.
19 Degree South
post Jun 23 2025, 12:12 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Jun 23 2025, 10:15 AM)
not into that. prefer to driver to be ready prior to driving. if auto disengage, later my lady driver will melatah (hyperstartle) and it will be more dangerous to the car.
must be everything auto la. cannot kalah to cina made car. lol. my previous ride auto one when you engage D mode.
19 Degree South
post Jun 26 2025, 04:11 PM

1,680 posts

What are the RS owner 's 10k mileage service fee like? mine is due next month although i have only done 3.8k mileage so far.
19 Degree South
post Jun 27 2025, 05:11 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 27 2025, 04:05 PM)
Refer to the official maintenance schedule: https://www.honda.com.my/doc/maintenance/2565

The price at the bottom is exclusive of Engine Oil & Oil Filter replacement for parts and labor. This is basically what you'd get at the service centers when you demand they only give you the "basic package". Ignore all the additional stuff they try to tack on, such as engine bay cleaning, tire rotation, etc.
Thanks for the heads up.
19 Degree South
post Jun 29 2025, 08:51 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 28 2025, 03:15 PM)
Since CRV RS Hybrid won’t have a spare tyre, would it be wise if I buy a second hand 18” space saver tyre and put at the boot? I frequently travel outstation long distance & balik kampung once a month Kedah - KL. Tyre repair kit won’t do shit if sidewall puncture occurred.  doh.gif 

Obviously my boot space will be halved but still, I can put my luggage on top of the tyre yes?

I did similar stunt for my 2018 honda city hybrid i-dcd. I put a 16” space saver tyre put in the boot. Can still fit in some luggage but not that much. It’s doable nonetheless.
Except the FC has decrease a little bit. Previously average 21 km/l mixed town & highway driving. Now around 19 km/l FC only but I don’t mind.
if travel kampung road frequently , indeed its a good move. road side assistance by the insurance company may take a while in rural areas. maybe only put on the spare while you travel back to kampung. normal days just take it out . tongue.gif
19 Degree South
post Jul 3 2025, 08:14 AM

1,680 posts

kecian my car. not sure why on earth the honda designer chose to put piano black finish on the front grille. few scratches liao coz i wash car twice a week. Also few stone chips discovered. sad ! lol
19 Degree South
post Jul 9 2025, 05:32 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jul 3 2025, 10:29 PM)
Hey guys my wife just picked up her crv v. May I ask is the interior piano black parts like the door trim and dashboard easily scratched? Do u guys apply any tpu film on it?
kon lan firm easily scratch one. after 6 months of ownership, i also immuned liao. so difficult to take care of. Especially the exterior. fyi..honda my did a lousy paint job on all their cars sold in my. It's only a very thin layer of paint.
19 Degree South
post Jul 13 2025, 11:49 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 10 2025, 11:51 AM)
Same feedback after own Honda Car made in Melaka 10-11 years ago. Ask body paint shop, they verified yes, very thin layer of paint using the reader in micron. Not sure cut cost or this for environment technology for factory painting.

Inb4 Conti brand has thicker paint layer than HM car
yeah . my previous three pointed star had at least three layers of protective paints. Honda just kena a tiny stone can see the metal surface liao. sux man!

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Jul 13 2025, 11:49 AM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0698sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:42 PM