MOT Legal Fees, Does S&P Free means MOT Legal Fees Free?

TSsmartinvestor01
post Jul 12 2017, 06:06 PM, updated 9y ago

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

Hello, Sifus,

I am from Kuching, Sarawak.

As I see most of the developers' practice, the moment the Sales and Purchase Agreement is free, the legal fee for the Memorandum of Transfer would also be free but now I come across a project which is totally different whereby the Memorandum of Transfer legal fee is not included.

Because according to some resources, it was mentioned that the moment the S&P is free, the legal fee for MOT should be free (exclude stamp duty).

Just want to check if you guys come across this.
mrsbean
post Jul 12 2017, 08:42 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Jul 12 2017, 06:06 PM)
Hello, Sifus,

As I see most of the developers' practice, the moment the Sales and Purchase Agreement is free, the legal fee for the Memorandum of Transfer would also be free but now I come across a project which is totally different whereby the Memorandum of Transfer legal fee is not included.

Because according to some resources, it was mentioned that the moment the S&P is free, the legal fee for MOT should be free (exclude stamp duty).

In fact, most cases S&P legal, loan legal are free. MOT is excluded.
twincharger07
post Jul 12 2017, 09:45 PM

4,788 posts

Hello, Sifus,

Not all developer give free MOT... MOT is very expensive
FuNks
post Jul 12 2017, 10:58 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

most projects wont cover MOT, that's why some rebate get during VP, the rebate can cover MOT cost
corleone74
post Jul 12 2017, 11:04 PM

3,665 posts

Hello, Sifus,

s&p free doesn't mean MOT free. No connection at all. you have to be very clear and ask directly. (your resources is WRONG).
MOT is stamp duty on transfer of title to your name (after project is completed).

This post has been edited by corleone74: Jul 12 2017, 11:04 PM
Bonescythe
post Jul 12 2017, 11:16 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Let me explain it better.

There had been developer giving
1. spa and loan legal free
2. Spa and loan stamping free
3. Loan stamp duty free

Alot of people is confused between MOT and stamp duty. Yea, MOT is a kind of stamp duty

When developer say spa stamping free, it doesnt mean MOT is going to be free.

It is the stamping of document which is rm 10 per set, is going to be free. The MOT will be payable upon VP as of new strata act.
First 100k is 1%
Subsequent 400k is 2%
Next 500k is 3%
Anything above 4% (start 2018)

But loan stamp duty will refer to
Stamping of loan document, and also loan stamp duty which is 0.5% of the loan principal.
They giv free becuz developer got a assigned lawyer, and gao dim all for purchaser.

Hope this help

JonathanIB
post Jul 13 2017, 12:00 AM

KL PJ 100+project handling to find the best suit project for u.
1,646 posts

Hello, Sifus,

MOT is hardly free. Majority is free legal for SPA & loan legal and loan stamping fees only

BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 13 2017, 02:21 AM

20,146 posts

Freehold non strata....usually free

Lishold stara or individual usually not bos the mot only out after the project is completed few yrs.

I only come across few casas where developer covered mot for strata properties,
TSsmartinvestor01
post Jul 14 2017, 12:00 PM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

Yes, i do understand that most of the time the MOT stamp duty is not free..

But somehow complications exists on the legal fees for MOT.. For the stamp duty, it is normal practice that it is not included..

honesty tan
post Jul 14 2017, 01:05 PM

1,276 posts

Mine freehold individual.. not free.. pain when paying..
teng2001my P
post Sep 14 2019, 04:57 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jul 12 2017, 11:16 PM)
Let me explain it better.

There had been developer giving
1. spa and loan legal free
2. Spa and loan stamping free
3. Loan stamp duty free

Alot of people is confused between MOT and stamp duty. Yea, MOT is a kind of stamp duty

When developer say spa stamping free, it doesnt mean MOT is going to be free.

It is the stamping of document which is rm 10 per set, is going to be free. The MOT will be payable upon VP as of new strata act.
First 100k is 1%
Subsequent 400k is 2%
Next 500k is 3%
Anything above 4% (start 2018)

But loan stamp duty will refer to
Stamping of loan document, and also loan stamp duty which is 0.5% of the loan principal.
They giv free becuz developer got a assigned lawyer, and gao dim all for purchaser.

Hope this help
How about lawyer fee, is calculate to SPA is one, Loan is one, the MOT is one, so totally need to pay the lawyer fee 3 times?
WahBiang
post Sep 14 2019, 07:15 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(teng2001my @ Sep 14 2019, 04:57 PM)
How about lawyer fee, is calculate to SPA is one, Loan is one, the MOT is one, so totally need to pay the lawyer fee 3 times?
If time u sign spa the title is not ready, then u pay for spa n loan legal fee first then followed by legal fee for MOT upon VP... If use back same lawyer as spa for MoT, u ll get 75% discount on legal fee; If use other lawyer then 50% discount.. If title is ready when sign spa, u just pay them one shot, spa mot n loan legal fee...
apalexar
post Sep 14 2019, 07:17 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(teng2001my @ Sep 14 2019, 04:57 PM)
I would categorized it as below:
1. SPA legal fee
2. Loan legal fee
3. SPA stamp duty (normally below rm100)
4. Loan stamp duty
5. MOT stamp duty
pojipoji P
post Sep 14 2019, 07:42 PM

Probation
33 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Sep 14 2019, 07:17 PM)
I would categorized it as below:
1. SPA legal fee
2. Loan legal fee
3. SPA stamp duty (normally below rm100)
4. Loan stamp duty
5. MOT stamp duty
6. Disbursement fees
David_77
post Sep 14 2019, 09:07 PM

In a hurry to make up for lost time!
2,396 posts

Actually, it’s all marketing gimmick.

SPA, Loan Agrement, stamping on Loan Agreement have been factored into the selling price.
corleone74
post Sep 15 2019, 12:06 AM

3,665 posts

Hello, Sifus,

What the!
Old question.

This post has been edited by corleone74: Sep 15 2019, 12:08 AM

0.0192sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:19 AM