Against pirated games CD/DVD?, Government says No to Pirated CD/DVD!!

Kai Sheng
post Apr 11 2007, 10:45 PM

81 posts

Yeah... most of it is indeed attitude.

I've to admit that before this I do have the tendency of thinking "Why pay so much money for original games and software if we can get it for $10 in most shops"... and I kept telling me "Surely I'll buy Quad Core pirated version if there is one too"... just to justify my choices on pirated games.

But after a long while I think I wouldn't hurt a bit if we buy original games... all it needs is the willingness to do so. Provided the game is the good one ofcourse... I won't pay much for crappy games and would ofcourse prefer pirated in that case. But seriously... the feeling of owning an original games is very different from pirated. You tend to appreciate it more than pirated version...

And now though I'm still a student... I will try to save a couple of bucks and buy a game that I think really worth it... like C&C3 for example... you can afford it actually... just a few change of mindsets I think... at least as long as you can afford 8800GTX... that means you really can afford original games as well... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 11 2007, 10:47 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 15 2007, 11:00 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Apr 15 2007, 04:53 AM)
Quite a valid point, but unfortunately, does not apply to most of the ppl here... The pirated users here ARE the ones who actually go out and buy the pirated games THEMSELVES.

As for the parents, I go back to my original point on IP education. That seems to be the root of it all.
Unfortunately for me... I face a problem in this when I bought my Tiberium Wars. Got scolded by my father for "wasting hundreds of money for something I can get with only RM20".

For him I would be better off buying a book for my study and only go for pirated stuff. Had a hard time explaining to him about the multiplayer feature.

But my father also think it is better to buy pirated movies rather than watch it on cinemas... the fuel to go there plus the ticket is more expensive than pirated sad.gif

Lucky me I bought it all using my own money... so my father can only '"advises" me...

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 15 2007, 11:01 AM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 16 2007, 01:47 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 16 2007, 12:41 PM)
Don't complain about ur parents. And where's "your money" coming from? From ur parents handout to u no doubt. Ur parents work sweat and tears to educate you and feed you. Games (ori or otherwise) is the least of theri concern with all those monthly bills. If your parents can't afford ori games, neither can u. So don't complain the hands that feed you.

Of course, if ur parents driving merz and BMWs and still insisting on pirated goods, then another story ler... biggrin.gif
If it's their money I will definitely abide by them and stop buying originals. It's not their money... it's your money... icon_rolleyes.gif the people of Malaysia's money. As a student I received a monthly allowance of around RM260 when at college and RM345 if I'm in holiday. I rarely received any money from my parents except for some special occasion in my college (maybe.. like camp or Cancer Relay for Life event)... and most of the stuff I'm using inside my computer (GC, RAM and so on) comes from my allowance as well. To be frank it is really not enough for our studies... but not when we are in holiday. Currently I'm in holiday until this July so I will have plenty of money to use on anything I wanted to... well unless if the government or the 'rakyat' (maybe you tongue.gif ) suddenly suspended the allowance I'm receiving because 'I'm not using it in the right way'.

But then... almost everyone here spend their money on more "meaningful" stuff like handphone or just having fun. I wouldn't complain if it's just one handphone at one time... but most of them here spend their allowance buying two and three handphone at the same time... heck... I don't even have my own handphone.. only the one that my father gave me which is as big as your palm. You can even kill a dog by throwing it towards it's head... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 16 2007, 01:48 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 16 2007, 02:35 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 16 2007, 02:15 PM)
Talk big only. Who's the one supporting you before you go to college etc? Who's the one paying for ur milk powder and diapers while ur a kid?  You're not even working. In short you have ZERO cents to ur name. And RM345 is nothing. "plenty of money"?? I don't think u got even enuff to eat ler.  doh.gif  See, you can't even afford a "brick phone" and have to depend on daddy for handout! And who's paying ur handphone bill? Not you i suppose.

If you're a dependent with no money, don't talk big... laugh.gif
What to do... I prefer computer's hardware more than handphone. Haiz.. if you want to talk about supporting even before the college... then even up until 35++ I still have to abide by them even if it's really my salary arr?? And where did I talk big?? RM345 is plenty for me... unlike for some people here where even RM1000 is a very small sum of money. At least I didn't disturb the financial of my family here when I go buy whatever I want.

About handphone bill?? What is that?? Got such thing arr?? I only know top-up lorr..

So I assume the problem here is my parents didn't really like me for buying orignal games. But I go on and buy some using my allowance money. Now what that has to do with them supporting me before I go to college?? Or perhaps you are trying to encourage me on following my father advice and buy pirates. And yet the allowance money of my holiday will goes for nothing when I go to arcade anyways or maybe get myself a Razer DeathAdder?? Seriously though.. where the problems lies with that?? Is it wrong for me to buy original games using my monthly allowance "which is very big and plenty for student like me"?? doh.gif

If I were to abide my parents very much even with my allowance money... I won't be using 6800GS right now. I still remember how my father think it is better for me to tint my Kancil with that money rather than me go and buy gc for my PC. blush.gif

But anyway sorry if I offend you with my stand somehow... notworthy.gif but so far I have yet to really contact them because I'm short of money... so I think it is okay for me to do whatever I want with my allowance as long as I don't disturb their peaceful life... nod.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 16 2007, 02:39 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 16 2007, 06:18 PM

81 posts

Haiz... don't argue lar about simple matter like this lar... sweat.gif

@Matrix

Yes... I'm fully aware about your point... but taking into consideration that the money is indeed my own money... I don't think it is really wrong for me to go buy originals despite my father's point of view. After all.. he only says that he didn't like me buying orignal games because with such amount of money I can get 10 pirated games... he didn't prevented me from doing so as long as I didn't call him for fuel money laugh.gif . Unfortunately too... I have started to appreciate the feature of multiplayer I got when I bought my self an original C&C 3 Tiberium Wars.. so it is unlikely that I will stop buying my favourite titles, originals in the future. Maybe will go pirated with another games.. but not my favourite titles.

And about the money I have... I know some of you even sees RM2000 as a little money unlike me who sees RM345 as a very big sum of money... but for the current holiday (April to July.. RM345 x 4) plus the amount of money I receive from my part-time work until July... I fail to see how my action of buying original games will somehow affected my family. The only problems IMO lies within my parents mindset... ofcourse educating them on stuff like this is on higher priority. icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway I hope my post won't cause much trouble ya... sorry Matrix-sifu but this is my point of view smile.gif

*Haiz.. why troubled my self with such issue... heck... I can already vote for our next gobemen now... and suddenly talking about diapers here like a small kid sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 16 2007, 06:28 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 16 2007, 09:38 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Apr 16 2007, 08:47 PM)
lolz....its funny to think of point of views over a simple topic..lolz..dont you think so? It all boils down to consumers choice lar!~

That's why lorr... out of sudden becomes a hot arguably topic involving parent as the main issue sweat.gif

But in this case... prefering originals doesn't mean I have to buy every games I want to play originals. Like I stated before... buy only the one that have the value or I really like..

Still... consumers choice is still a point of view.. I do recognize some people who can't accept that and still try to say that they are right... whistling.gif (not necessarily in this forum...)

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Apr 16 2007, 08:47 PM)
Scenario No.2
Living off parents allowance for college life. Really dont leave you much with that much Yamcha-ing session, snooker leh..pool le..fusball leh..Cafe leh..ghau thim..even giving you RM500 for the month...I really dont think that'll be enough for you to spend RM150 (avg) original games if you want to. So what would you choose to enjoy the game you liked?
Wow.. RM500. I can do a lot of stuff with that amount of money per month... didn't think I'll have a problem like that. It's not like I'm buying games every month also... sweat.gif and if you do know how to save up every month... money wouldn't really be a problem whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 16 2007, 09:48 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 17 2007, 11:54 AM

81 posts

ahaha laugh.gif

Yes.. you are indeed right my friend icon_rolleyes.gif

Unfortunately I wouldn't have access to features like multiplayer which is worthwhile and only available in original games... I don't mind buying uncle Jack's version for games like S.T.A.L.K.E.R : Shadow of Chernobyl or F.E.A.R but games like Battlefield 2142 and C&C3 : Tiberium Wars which offers more features only in orginals... is worth it to get in originals. smile.gif

*But your point on the 8800GTS is right... haiz.. you are twisting my mind already sweat.gif
Kai Sheng
post Apr 17 2007, 08:32 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Apr 17 2007, 07:57 PM)
the other alternative for getting original console games (should be applicable for PC games as well) is to trade it with the other gamer or getting a second hand copy which in most cases only cost u half of the original price  icon_rolleyes.gif
Correct me if I'm wrong.. but I thought there will be some conflict with a second hand PC games' cd-key... if it really is then it's better to go buy first hand original titles... except for console ofcourse tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 17 2007, 08:33 PM

0.0620sec    0.62    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:20 AM