65 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

redbull_y2k
post Jan 1 2008, 12:52 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 1 2008, 12:34 AM)
Check out the HD DVD partners

http://www.thelookandsoundofperfect.com/partners.html

Btw ... Pan's Labyrinth is in HD DVD also bro smile.gif
yup yup... i know, but the point is it's not HDDVD exclusive.
quackers
post Jan 1 2008, 03:42 AM

19 posts

I just got my SOny Bravia W300 series 40". FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But I notice that even at 1080p when I play Mass Effect, there's this grainy effect, but its not there when when u enter the console mode...only when playing its like 'snowing' a bit. This occured when I played Assasins creed too.....why? Izzit bcuz the game is like tht?
crazyconsumer
post Jan 1 2008, 08:19 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

HD does not mean grainless. If the source material intended to have grain, HD only means sharper grain...heh.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 08:28 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Jan 1 2008, 03:42 AM)
I just got my SOny Bravia W300 series 40". FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But I notice that even at 1080p when I play Mass Effect, there's this grainy effect, but its not there when when u enter the console mode...only when playing its like 'snowing' a bit. This occured when I played Assasins creed too.....why? Izzit bcuz the game is like tht?
How come game issues suddenly come into HD DVD thread laugh.gif

Added on January 1, 2008, 8:29 am
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 1 2008, 12:52 AM)
yup yup... i know, but the point is it's not HDDVD exclusive.
Okie lar bro ... i understand what u mean blink.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 1 2008, 08:29 AM
kurtkob78
post Jan 1 2008, 11:32 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Dec 31 2007, 11:37 PM)

I also see grain effect when looking at sony bravia i dont know why. I see like this ant or bacteria moving around the lcd screen
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 12:06 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 1 2008, 11:32 AM)
I also see grain effect when looking at sony bravia i dont know why. I see like this ant or bacteria moving around the lcd screen
Btw .. u know that the grain effects for the game can be turn off right ??
daidzz
post Jan 1 2008, 01:08 PM

165 posts

you go to Options --> Graphics
then turn of the grain effect.
the film grain one.
i find it nicer without it...
kurtkob78
post Jan 1 2008, 02:27 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 1 2008, 12:06 PM)
Btw .. u know that the grain effects for the game can be turn off right ??
is it can be turned off using the TV or using the source equipment ?
quackers
post Jan 1 2008, 02:50 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 1 2008, 11:32 AM)
Yes,that's exactly what I see, but only some games have it (e.g. Assasins Creed and Mass effect). Other games like oblivion don't have......why have it in the first place?????? What's its purpose??? turn it off in the console or the game or the TV?????

rx330
post Jan 1 2008, 03:08 PM

11,809 posts

to make it look like a movie
arj
post Jan 1 2008, 05:05 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 1 2008, 02:27 PM)
is it can be turned off using the TV or using the source equipment ?
QUOTE(quackers @ Jan 1 2008, 02:50 PM)
Yes,that's exactly what I see, but only some games have it (e.g. Assasins Creed and Mass effect). Other games like oblivion don't have......why have it in the first place?????? What's its purpose??? turn it off in the console or the game or the TV?????
The grain effect is an in game feature of Mass Effect so dun worry, nothing wrong with your TV laugh.gif
quackers
post Jan 1 2008, 09:10 PM

19 posts

okie i got it..thanx fellas
ferricide
post Jan 1 2008, 09:42 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

thanks arj, lovin' the HD matrix movies thumbup.gif
g5sim
post Jan 2 2008, 12:17 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 1 2008, 12:19 AM)
New Line Cinema is already a HD DVD exclusive liao ... goto the main HD DVD website and its there along side with Warner Bros and Paramount smile.gif
not exclusive lah ! Warners and New Line are currently neutral

the reason that you see some of New Line movies in BD before HD DVD is due to the fact that new line as a smaller company has different screening time for their movies around the globe. Because HD DVD does not have region coding currently, they are unable to release the title as it can be imported and played on any HD DVD players in the world wink.gif
sunauto
post Jan 2 2008, 02:10 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 2 2008, 12:17 AM)
not exclusive lah ! Warners and New Line are currently neutral

the reason that you see some of New Line movies in BD before HD DVD is due to the fact that new line as a smaller company has different screening time for their movies around the globe. Because HD DVD does not have region coding currently, they are unable to release the title as it can be imported and played on any HD DVD players in the world wink.gif
Yup, New Line Cinema is not exclusive to the HD-DVD format, otherwise my Rush Hour 3 won't be on the Blu-Ray format. Here's some pics of my Rush Hour 3 Blu-Ray, with DTS-HD 7.1 sound ....... freaking awesome. If they could bring their LOTR Trilogy to either format, I'll definitely buy them. Very good effort by New Line Cinema, Rush Hour 3 was neatly done and mastered, it's on two blu-ray discs.

g5sim
post Jan 2 2008, 07:13 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 2 2008, 02:10 AM)
Yup, New Line Cinema is not exclusive to the HD-DVD format, otherwise my Rush Hour 3 won't be on the Blu-Ray format. Here's some pics of my Rush Hour 3 Blu-Ray, with DTS-HD 7.1 sound ....... freaking awesome. If they could bring their LOTR Trilogy to either format, I'll definitely buy them. Very good effort by New Line Cinema, Rush Hour 3 was neatly done and mastered, it's on two blu-ray discs.

rumour only

there are talks that New Line will be HD DVD exclusive during CES and LOTR will be announced on HD DVD using a triple layer HD DVD disk laugh.gif

rumour only - remember that whistling.gif
quackers
post Jan 2 2008, 08:23 PM

19 posts

Any place that rents BD and HDDVD around PJ area? These discs are pretty expensive even for keeps......
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 2 2008, 08:26 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Jan 2 2008, 08:23 PM)
Any place that rents BD and HDDVD around PJ area? These discs are pretty expensive even for keeps......
There is one ... but for BD only. Check the Playstation section.

If u get BD and HD DVD from Amazon .. its not that expensive for keeps esspecially if u are a movie buff
stringfellow
post Jan 2 2008, 11:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tired! Sore muscles, and my back hurts....but results? Most satisfying!

Sony Bravia 40X200A, Sony US PS3, Pioneer SE-DIR800C, Onkyo DV-HD805 HD-DVD player, Onkyo TX-SR605, Onkyo SKS-HT235.

The Pio headphone spits out DD5.1 & DTS via Dolby Headphone, itself hooked up to the Onkyo HD-DVD player via coaxial, PS3 via optical. The primary audio drivers are by the SR-605 + SKS-HT235 combo definitely, but for those late nights, the Pio does its duty. Have to switch the audio out from both the HD-DVD player and PS3 manually though, since they are both set to output audio via bitstream to the SR605 for one-to-one audio reproduction.

Close-up on the left column stack. Splitfish FragFX sits on top after my daily fragfest on UT3.

The rear speakers does not come with a stand, had to get em separately. The front speakers comes with the stand that sits nicely on the entertainment cabinet. Nice heavy glass bottom for that lower C of G (center of gravity) but the bottom of the glass are embedded with 3 conical points to reduce speaker-induced vibration.

But im most ecstatic when this shows on the SR605, makes all that effort and grunting and heaving these things, and all the back-pain worthwhile. Got this lighted up on the receiver while running Pan's Labyrinth on HD-DVD, with audio bitstream passthrough from the HD805.

Ran the Audyssey SQ microphone soundfield check to determine the calculative audio placement, and am impressed with now newbie-friendly it is. I admit, im a noob myself when it comes to this, but the ease of use, and prompt-tp-prompt instructions had me turning from "intimidated" to "informed".

Ran the Digital Video Essential HD-DVD, and during the audio tests, Dolby TrueHD lights up appropriately, so that works nicely.

Mr. & Mrs.Smith on Blu-ray however, only lights up as "Multi PCM", but sounded just as good to my ears anyway. Had it running on the 5.1 DTS HD-MA but with the PS3's inability to either decode DTS HD-MA or send the lossless audio via bitstream, you can only expect DTS HD-core from the PS3. Dolby TrueHD should be one-to-one via bitstream on the PS3, although it is internally decoded by the PS3 and fed to the receiver as Lossless PCM.

Next stop? Nintendo Wii video upscaling to 720p.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 2 2008, 11:57 PM
rx330
post Jan 3 2008, 09:49 AM

11,809 posts

wow, deja vu
3 times i see this aredi biggrin.gif

65 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled