Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

terranova
post Dec 21 2007, 11:11 AM

1,161 posts

@ arj - MK beat me to it. Was about to suggest it's time for u to invest in a universal remote like the Harmony 885/890. It's not perfect though, and the product could so with some improvements, but all in all still one of the best out there. Need to invest some time to program and sync everything into the remote, but worth the time invested. Works on all my rigs (even the air-con .. lol) except the PS3 since that's bluetooth.

Added on December 21, 2007, 11:15 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 21 2007, 09:52 AM)
frankly, i wan the toshiba for the upscaling capabilities biggrin.gif
rx, doesn't your PS3 do a good enough job at upscaling? Or is it becos u dont want the wear and tear on the PS3?

This post has been edited by terranova: Dec 21 2007, 11:15 AM
terranova
post Dec 29 2007, 12:38 AM

1,161 posts

im waiting for LOTR on hi def too.
terranova
post Dec 30 2007, 01:22 PM

1,161 posts

Good buy string. The Onkyo SR605 is a multi award winner in most reputable AV/hi-fi publications, including What Hi-Fi's Best Product of the Year.

@ arj - bought one in HK last week for a friend for HK$3,800, asked them to bundle a HDMI cable as well. It was stocked out for several months when the product first came to HK.

terranova
post Dec 31 2007, 04:13 PM

1,161 posts

@ SdRawk - to add to what the others have posted.

I use a HD-DVD add-on to play HD-DVD on my 360 via components + optical cable. If I compare this to my PS3 for Blu-Ray via HDMI, I can say the PS3/Blu-Ray wins. But that won't be fair as I'm not comparing apple to apple. I've seen both HD-DVD and BR on high-end setups and agree with arj, I can't tell the difference.

So my point is, it's not about which format is better, but rather the equipment that's driving it. Further, you were watching the demo in 1080p on a presumably large LCD (>40in?) on presumably a stand-alone Blu-Ray player through a decent AV receiver. You would not have a fair comparison with your 27incher on presumably a HD-DVD add on drive sans the appropriate audio-decoding amp.

Sorry too many presumptions, but hope you get my point.

terranova
post Jan 22 2008, 11:46 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 21 2008, 03:42 PM)
like tat wait a while, see whether it drops more or not biggrin.gif
bro, i got my amp liao biggrin.gifs
Which one did u go for? The Onkyo 605?
terranova
post Jan 23 2008, 02:39 PM

1,161 posts

@ rx - good buy. HK sellling for HK$3,880.

@ bighead - yamaha sounds warmer. if music is your main use, then get the yammy. but onkyo "future-proof" for home theatre usage. my 2 cents.

i won't be upgrading anytime soon. For me, next upgrade MUST have >6 HDMI inputs. So waiting for AVRs to catch up to the day when lotsa HDMI input is the norm. Right now, only 2 AVRs have that many HDMI ins. Don't want to go the HDMI switcher route if possible.

This post has been edited by terranova: Jan 23 2008, 02:40 PM
terranova
post Jan 31 2008, 01:27 PM

1,161 posts

Are the price reductions on Tosh players all US-centric? Is there a corresponding drop in price of their UK equivalents (e.g. EP30, EP35 etc)? Would be great if we could get these instead of the US units, then can do away with the voltage stepdown thingy.

This post has been edited by terranova: Jan 31 2008, 01:31 PM
terranova
post Feb 17 2008, 04:39 AM

1,161 posts

It's ending sooner than I thought ..... from reliable Reuters no less.

Toshiba to give up on HD DVD, end format war

Let's wait for the final official word from Tosh.
terranova
post Feb 18 2008, 03:21 PM

1,161 posts

This thread is as dead as the format. tongue.gif

If anyone knows any good deals on hd-dvd player, pls post them here. I'm on the lookout for one. Thinking of getting the A30/E30. Best i've seen is the ones at b&h photo at US$165 pre-shipping cost.

This post has been edited by terranova: Feb 18 2008, 03:22 PM
terranova
post Mar 1 2008, 01:28 PM

1,161 posts

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Toshiba-HD-EP30-Pl...l/dp/B000W4EB22

Tosh HD-EP30 (EU equivalent of the HD-A30) going for GBP78 (~RM495). 2 free HD-DVDs included in the box - 300 and The Bourne Supremacy. No need stepdown convertor unlike the A30. No international shipping, so needs a UK address to buy. Free shipping within UK (about 6-10 days to deliver).

At that price, it's almost equivalent to B&H's US$150 for the A30.

Sorry, I could be mistaken, but I thought I read somewhere that the Sony BDP-S350 doesn't do DTS-HD MA, only the D550 does. Apologies if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by terranova: Mar 1 2008, 01:29 PM
terranova
post Apr 30 2008, 06:42 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(yed @ Apr 30 2008, 05:32 PM)
just "perasan" this thread...it`s nice to see some of us is on HD DVD..even though it is "obsolete". btw i`m using it..a35..it`s a good player with dts hd ma bitstream.

is there any video shop in malaysia selling hd dvd? some says speedy got..is it true?
We usually get our HD-DVDs from amazon.com.
terranova
post Jun 27 2008, 04:56 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 26 2008, 06:22 PM)
Didn't find 10 titles I want. Ada lima or around there only. LOL

Batman Begins not there, Stardust not there. sad.gif
zio, if u want Batman Begins on HD-DVD, u can buy from me. tongue.gif

Then I can buy the Blu-Ray version. Hahaha ....
terranova
post Jul 2 2008, 07:45 PM

1,161 posts

Not forgetting The Matrix trilogy is on HD-DVD. Believe, Neo ... believe.

Kekeke ... tongue.gif
terranova
post Nov 20 2008, 11:37 PM

1,161 posts

To owners of Toshiba EP30 or A30 standalone hd-dvd players. there is now a way to turn your players into Region 0 (i.e unlocked or region-free) dvd players. previously these units were region locked. not sure how many of you guys are still out there ....

link

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0370sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:48 PM