Oil & Gas Careers V12 - Upstream & Downstream, Market still slump, slow, snail pace...

matyrze
post Dec 17 2018, 09:07 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Guys, would like to get an opinion. I am an Engineer, employed under an agency, seconded to a EMEPMI, and work in client's office.

Positive of being a contract engineer:
1) Satisfactory salary level (personal opinion biggrin.gif)
Negative of being a contract engineer:
1) No real career progress, gonna be stuck at Engineer level only. Well the highest can go up as Lead Engineer, or be a SME type person.
2) No training provided, only by self initiative to take up certs that may increase my working value
3) Not many benefits, only have annual leave (no bonus, no insurance, no nothing. all paid in lump sum as contract worker)
4) Well, many may think contract basis can be a bit insecure, however this is also applicable for permanent staffs nowadays I guess

Now, I have been offered permanent role with EMEPMI. However, their salary level is not very attractive, as they have their own salary structure, and its hard for them to match my current salary level as a contract engineer. If I am gonna take their offer, I basically need to take significant basic salary cut. However, this will improve a lot of the negative aspect I mentioned earlier. Most notable is the numerous opportunities for training and career progression.

So my question is, should I take the permanent role?

matyrze
post Dec 17 2018, 10:43 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(sueon94 @ Dec 17 2018, 09:59 PM)
I think its really good to join exxon as a permanent employee cause their benefits are superb and with 2 months contractual bonus.
Your pay cut you mentioned is it more than 30%?

There's clear career path in exxon too, so you're going to get promoted somehow unlike your current situation forever stuck in one position.
Do you have a lot of commitment?
Yup, cut higher than 30%.

Yea, I am aware of the career path too. In fact there actually are opportunities for Malaysian upstream staffs to go for offshore assignments (not only engineers, also for technician level too, since they have good experience with brownfield offshore facilities)

Commitment is at OK level I guess, however I do have a house mortgage, car loan, ASB loans, and life + family medical insurance. Taking a big paycut will definitely change my lifestyle quite a bit LOL. However, seeing that several of my colleagues (one permanent engineer and another offshore supervisor) getting oversea assignments recently really make me considering my options. Awesome career opportunities!

matyrze
post Sep 11 2019, 07:19 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Sep 11 2019, 12:05 AM)
What will happen to EMIT and EM-GSO liao? Tutup also?
Both still remain. Punya la ramai recruit since last year x kan nak tutup pulak haha. They support worldwide operation so still relevant.
matyrze
post Sep 12 2019, 07:49 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Sep 12 2019, 05:38 PM)
I dont understand why you didnt get the message. Exxon is leaving Malaysia for good, pending sale of its asset. Why would they want to maintain 2 small business units in Malaysia when they are no longer in Malaysia and moreover they can transfer both units to some other countries that Exxon is operating.
I meant remain as of now. Got ur point too. They still have a number of assets throughout the world still require support from these small teams. Lets see once they successfully reach their 15B target and majority of assets sold off.
matyrze
post Sep 24 2019, 09:59 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(Anunnaki of Peace @ Sep 24 2019, 01:34 PM)
any advise on how to enter oil and gas for fresh graduate
From personal experience: its easy actually. Don't have good grade? Just join any OnG service company. Any, don't choose. Once managed to secure a job, work and network hard. Network will bring you forward in career, while working hard will show your worth to your network. Really important.

For me I started off as an NDT Technician. 4 years doing inspection work at plants/offshore, even my father got panicked as I was at Technician/Inspector level too long for his liking. But I got lucky in the 5th year, one of my client offered engineer position without interviewing - he already knew how i worked, just needed to train me up.
matyrze
post Dec 8 2019, 06:18 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Very good diagram showing career path for OnG Inspection/Asset Integrity/Corrosion Engineering field. I think I got it from Linkedin sometime ago.

matyrze
post Mar 10 2020, 08:42 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Hi all, anyone working or familiar with work environment in SapuraOMV?
matyrze
post Oct 23 2020, 08:28 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Hi all, anyone have heard of Reliacraft Engineering before?
matyrze
post Jan 27 2021, 11:56 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Went to Teluk Kalong for work around end of Dec at one of the yards. Managed to snap a photo near KSB. Look at the traffic!

matyrze
post Mar 2 2021, 07:06 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Feb 26 2021, 05:42 PM)
Yang ni takda berhuhuhu jemaah? Ke semua huhuhu dalam bilik masing2. Haha..

0.1117sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:57 AM