QUOTE(yee2603 @ Oct 2 2019, 12:49 PM)
Hi myshinyannulus, like to get your view since you are studying in KC. Thinking of enrolling my child here.
1) I heard that KC is putting more attention to English language proficiency compared to other CIS , do you feel so ?
2) Is it true KC doesn't emphasize much on SPM compared to UEC examination ? They encourage students to take UEC instead of SPM ?
3) Where can parent park when they send or pick up the student?
4) Are classes on during school break like Chong Hwa ?
Hi, yee2603!
1) I wouldn't say KC is emphasising the English language more compared to other CIS. It's just the usual English lessons with regular teachers. I had 7 periods of English in a week from Form 1 -5 (not sure if they changed or not lah). That's the same numbers of periods as BM and Chinese. Every week there's also 1 English period reserved for e-learning (students sit in front of computers and do IELTS/TOEFL style English exercises online), and another English period reserved for 'Activities' (practical, creative-type assessment, like role play or presentation). These are not found in the other two language subjects. Like any other CIS, the medium of KC is Chinese and most students speak Chinese, of course. There also used to be an English Awareness Month but since last year it has been supplanted with a less interesting and, in my opinion, far less effective English Awareness Week. I'm not sure how they teach English in other CIS, so I can only say what I can say for KC.
2) I'd actually say that KC emphasises SPM more than many other CIS. In fact, KC has a top-notch track record for SPM. From my understanding, other CIS in Klang Valley like Tsun Jin place very small emphasis on SPM. As a science-stream student taking SPM this year, my teachers have been teaching the SPM curriculum for almost the entire year. In many CIS, UEC and SPM curricula are taught simultaneously, even during Senior 2 (Form 5) when students are taking SPM later that year! In KC, Senior 1 students do learn a lot of UEC content (except the science subjects, cause for SPM, the sciences are quite heavy subjects with a lot of details), and it's basically balanced with SPM. But SPM becomes more of the focus in Senior 2. This may not be true for Arts students, as they still have to study their UEC History and Geography during Senior 2. Any CIS would encourage you to take UEC, but KC doesn't force you to, and it certainly doesn't reduce the chances of students acing their SPM by putting a lot of focus into UEC. As a tradeoff, Senior 3 students have A LOT of stuff to rush through for their final year. Every year, tons of Senior 2 students (especially science students) leave KC with their SPM certs to take A-Levels, Foundation, Diploma etc. In fact, I'll be leaving with SPM too!
3) Since last year, KC has a new MASSIVE carpark that's open for parents to park and wait for their children. There are opening hours, of course, which are really specific, for security's sake. You can also park at this really long lorong on the right side of the school. I always go home by public transport so I'm not sure of the carpark opening hours. You can make an enquiry to the school.
4) By school break do you mean school holidays set by the government? In that case, no. Some cocurricular clubs/societies may require your child to return to school during the holidays for extra activities. Some teachers, especially Senior 2 and 3 teachers, may find trouble finishing the curriculum and require students to return during the holidays for extra lessons. Other than that, your child is free to enjoy his/her school holidays.

Hope that helped!