To upgrade my guitar or not?

TSUsername is for the weak
post Jul 9 2017, 04:06 AM, updated 9y ago

301 posts

So guys
First time posting here

I'm studying in Germany under a government scholarship and I've been playing fingerstyle for 7 years with my 800 ringgit washburn

I always dream of having my very own custom Lakewood guitar but it costs a fortune (12000 ringgit in my case , for a M32c custom)

I've been saving money as much as I can and now I am finally able to afford one

Yet I'm now caught in the dilemma , that maybe the money should be spent in other stuffs like buying my first car etc?

So here's the question: have u regretted spending a fortune to upgrade your guitar?
+3kk!
post Jul 10 2017, 11:18 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Username is for the weak @ Jul 9 2017, 04:06 AM)
So guys
First time posting here

I'm studying in Germany under a government scholarship and I've been playing fingerstyle for 7 years with my 800 ringgit washburn

I always dream of having my very own custom Lakewood guitar but it costs a fortune (12000 ringgit in my case , for a M32c custom)

I've been saving money as much as I can and now I am finally able to afford one

Yet I'm now caught in the dilemma , that maybe the money should be spent in other stuffs like buying my first car etc?

So here's the question: have u regretted spending a fortune to upgrade your guitar?
studying in germany

want to buy expensive guitar

how you gonna bring your instrument back dei

lamusiqa
post Jul 10 2017, 11:23 AM

397 posts

If you play guitar once every week or so, don't bother with the splurge. You're better off with a car or a nice 4K tv with PS4 Pro for games and netflix. If you DO play guitar 3-4 times a week, then yes, by all means, buy the damn guitar.
Everdying
post Jul 10 2017, 11:31 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 10 2017, 11:18 AM)
studying in germany

why u asking how? u managed to right tongue.gif
+3kk!
post Jul 10 2017, 11:33 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 10 2017, 11:31 AM)
why u asking how? u managed to right tongue.gif
and a very painful reminder why i likely wont do it again sad.gif
quarantined
post Jul 10 2017, 03:05 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

common sense no.. i wouldn't splurge for a guitar that expensive.

but i know how GAS works.. and common sense doesn't apply when that happens.
post Jul 10 2017, 09:37 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 10 2017, 11:18 AM)
studying in germany

Lakewood guitars come with a hiscox hard case

With bubble wraps and lots of praying hopefully it will make it through the journey
post Jul 10 2017, 09:40 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Jul 10 2017, 11:23 AM)
If you play guitar once every week or so, don't bother with the splurge. You're better off with a car or a nice 4K tv with PS4 Pro for games and netflix. If you DO play guitar 3-4 times a week, then yes, by all means, buy the damn guitar.
Yes I play the guitar at least two hours a day when I need to go to lectures , five to six when I'm free

But PS4 pro sounds great too haha
post Jul 10 2017, 09:42 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 10 2017, 11:33 AM)
and a very painful reminder why i likely wont do it again  sad.gif
Why what happened ?????
+3kk!
post Jul 10 2017, 09:50 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Username is for the weak @ Jul 10 2017, 09:37 PM)
Lakewood guitars come with a hiscox hard case

With bubble wraps and lots of praying hopefully it will make it through the journey
hard cases are not invulnerable , why not you just get the gutiar in msia

QUOTE(Username is for the weak @ Jul 10 2017, 09:42 PM)
Why what happened ?????
air line ask to check in with gig bag, which they never did before

got back, guitar was somewhat fine but a 1mm deep 2 cm gash at the side
ariffdude
post Jul 11 2017, 09:26 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 10 2017, 09:50 PM)
hard cases are not invulnerable , why not you just get the gutiar in msia
air line ask to check in with gig bag, which they never did before

got back, guitar was somewhat fine but a 1mm deep 2 cm gash at the side
Nik Huber summore.