Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

aaron4d
post Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM

110 posts

thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...
i just feel that takin ielts isnt neccesary and the only reason thery're asking us to it is coz :
a) the ielts ppl wanna make lots of money
b) saves the uni considerable amounts of admin work

no one thinks bout the students and the costs...ishhh
ka_ren
post Apr 12 2008, 11:57 AM

79 posts

anyone in Wellington?
haya
post Apr 12 2008, 03:21 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...
i just feel that takin ielts isnt neccesary and the only reason thery're asking us to it is coz :

Well, how else do you expect universities to standardise the compentency of English of its students?

There are many pre-U qualifications. Off the top of my head I can name 5, that can be taken in Malaysia and generally accepted by UoA, alone. How is anyone to figure the standard of English based on such a diverse range of qualifications?

I'm not defending IELTS, it has it flaws, but until someone comes with a better solution, there is no other way in determining one's standard of English without an international benchmark.
<EdLiNa>
post Apr 13 2008, 11:48 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 11 2008, 01:26 PM)
whohooh.. edlina must be on her way to nz.. rclxm9.gif
yeah!! im here~~
hello NZ!! haha!
i arrived here in Palmy yesterday at 3.30pm..
got lots of thing to do..
and this morning, just had some shopping with my family..haha!
its really nice here, fantagero..
but y'know, im pretty scared actually..haha!

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
huix
post Apr 13 2008, 12:35 PM

458 posts

It is always a good experience to study oversea. From now on, you actually start a new life. A life you start to learn to be independent and out of the roof from your parents. Mostly, u will cry sometimes becoz of home sick and feel uncontrollable life especially when u r facing some frustration....but this is life smile.gif You have to learn how to be independence smile.gif

Added on April 13, 2008, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...

How do you judge your english level? Anything can be made even university certificate. So they gotta to haev some control. FYI, if you have have a degree in USA/UK/Canada/OZ/NZ, when you are applying master degree, msotly don't need IETLS anymore unless they requested.

This post has been edited by huix: Apr 13 2008, 12:38 PM
fantagero
post Apr 13 2008, 01:02 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 13 2008, 11:48 AM)
yeah!! im here~~
hello NZ!! haha!
i arrived here in Palmy yesterday at 3.30pm..
got lots of thing to do..
and this morning, just had some shopping with my family..haha!
its really nice here, fantagero..
but y'know, im pretty scared actually..haha!

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i heard.. hahha how's my friends there??

good luck biggrin.gif
aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 02:17 PM

110 posts

well ppl, in case u dint notice...our spm gce is certified by the cambridge board....now isn't that good enough?

n furthermore i did, SAM (Australian Matriculation), don't tell me the uni doesnt know that in order to score well for SAM, u hav to hav a good grasp of the language.....
same can be said for A -levels and other international pre-Us...

so stop defending ielts pls...its useful for ppl from countries wic do not hav good standing in english language qualifications..eg thailand, china....

but not for us...with a lvls, sam etc... we dont need ielts as proof of proficiency

i noe of a few of my friends who went in without taking ielts/toefl or any of those stuff...

so its actually not neccesary..persevere a bit n it might save u a lot of money...
its worth the trouble of having to convince ur uni that ur proficient enough...

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 13 2008, 02:17 PM
dota_via
post Apr 13 2008, 02:32 PM

15 posts

could i know about the fees in NZ? myby guesses..
<EdLiNa>
post Apr 13 2008, 04:04 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(dota_via @ Apr 13 2008, 02:32 PM)
could i know about the fees in NZ? myby guesses..
for college or uni??
for what course?

Added on April 13, 2008, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 13 2008, 01:02 PM)
i heard.. hahha how's my friends there??

good luck biggrin.gif
yeah, they are great..
in a healthy condition..lol.
went out with kak khuzai and his senior, abg fifi..
met ayu in their hall..
they are nice..massey is cool..
IPC though.. laugh.gif
my gosh, tomorrow will be my first class..!! unsure.gif

This post has been edited by <EdLiNa>: Apr 13 2008, 04:10 PM
limeuu
post Apr 13 2008, 05:57 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 13 2008, 02:17 PM)
well ppl, in case u dint notice...our spm gce is certified by the cambridge board....now isn't that good enough?

n furthermore i did, SAM (Australian Matriculation), don't tell me the uni doesnt know that in order to score well for SAM, u hav to hav a good grasp of the language.....
same can be said for A -levels and other international pre-Us...

so stop defending ielts pls...its useful for ppl from countries wic do not hav good standing in english language qualifications..eg thailand, china....

but not for us...with a lvls, sam etc... we dont need ielts as proof of proficiency

i noe of a few of my friends who went in without taking ielts/toefl or any of those stuff...

so its actually not neccesary..persevere a bit n it might save u a lot of money...
its worth the trouble of having to convince ur uni that ur proficient enough...
actually, in most applications to oz/nz, they do ask which qualification you are using for entry purpose, and if it is not wholly done in english, only then do you need proof on english proficiency......so it is NOT a blanket requirement.....

however, 1119 is NOT recognised by most of their unis.....it is actually marked locally in msia, based on cambridge marking scheme, NOT marked by cambridge itself........
aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 06:01 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2008, 05:57 PM)
actually, in most applications to oz/nz, they do ask which qualification you are using for entry purpose, and if it is not wholly done in english, only then do you need proof on english proficiency......so it is NOT a blanket requirement.....

however, 1119 is NOT recognised by most of their unis.....it is actually marked locally in msia, based on cambridge marking scheme, NOT marked by cambridge itself........
ic....so that means SAM is recognised as a proof of proficiency rite? coz it's done fully in english...plus we have to do ESL as one of the subjects....

limeuu
post Apr 13 2008, 06:58 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 13 2008, 06:01 PM)
ic....so that means SAM is recognised as a proof of proficiency rite? coz it's done fully in english...plus we have to do ESL as one of the subjects....
you do not need ielts if you apply with sam to oz unis.......
aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 08:24 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2008, 06:58 PM)
you do not need ielts if you apply with sam to oz unis.......
what about nz unis?
limeuu
post Apr 13 2008, 08:50 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 13 2008, 08:24 PM)
what about nz unis?
you will have to check with nz unis concerned.......

oz unis accepts nz ncea.......so i suspect the reverse should also be true.......
EmperorMeng
post Apr 14 2008, 10:40 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

@ arron.
some uni will accept ur 1119, some not.
thats for you to checkout on which uni ur enrolling.
if not , they will need your IELTS.

an entrance based on SAM will require different band based on wat you're enrolling into. the obvious medic and law will require a higher band of ielts.
nobody gives a damn if you got A20 for ESL. its only english as SECOND language. and you dont learn any english in that course , lol. but yes, many aussie uni's do accept ur ESL if its band B16 and above ( or a higher band i cant remember) according to my SAM ESL teacher... she always emphasize how important her subject is when we all skip her classes to go chaogei in Asia.Net .
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 10:48 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 14 2008, 10:40 AM)
@ arron.
some uni will accept ur 1119, some not.
thats for you to checkout on which uni ur enrolling.
if not , they will need your IELTS.

an entrance based on SAM will require different band based on wat you're enrolling into. the obvious medic and law will require a higher band of ielts.
nobody gives a damn if you got A20 for ESL. its only english as SECOND language. and you dont learn any english in that course , lol. but yes, many aussie uni's do accept ur ESL if its band B16 and above ( or a higher band i cant remember) according to my SAM ESL teacher... she always emphasize how important her subject is when we all skip her classes to go chaogei in Asia.Net .
wad are u doing now emperor meng? wic uni are u in? did they ask u to sit for ielts as a requirement?
EmperorMeng
post Apr 14 2008, 11:37 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 14 2008, 10:48 AM)
wad are u doing now emperor meng? wic uni are u in? did they ask u to sit for ielts as a requirement?
mechengineering Auckland UNi.
IELTS requirement was 6.5 .
but if im not mistaken, 1119 was allowed also for my course in this uni.

its different based on uni and course.
ask here

or checkout uni website.
which uni and course lar,,...?

but for safety, IELTS is accepted by all.
i took it earlier, coz i didnt know which uni to go.
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 01:57 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
mechengineering Auckland UNi.
IELTS requirement was 6.5 .
but if im not mistaken, 1119 was allowed also for my course in this uni.

its different based on uni and course.
ask here

or checkout uni website.
which uni and course lar,,...?

but for safety, IELTS is accepted by all.
i took it earlier, coz i didnt know which uni to go.
thx for the info, ill check it out...yeah i plan on going to selset soon, (btw izit somewhere near taylors subang?)

plan to do commerce at auckland uni...
<EdLiNa>
post Apr 14 2008, 02:31 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 14 2008, 01:57 PM)
thx for the info, ill check it out...yeah i plan on going to selset soon, (btw izit somewhere near taylors subang?)

plan to do commerce at auckland uni...
selset?? that is my agent..
i just got in NZ last 2days..
selset made an arrangements for me..
yeah, just next to taylor college in subang..
ss15/7.. ghee smile.gif
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 02:55 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 14 2008, 02:31 PM)
selset?? that is my agent..
i just got in NZ last 2days..
selset made an arrangements for me..
yeah, just next to taylor college in subang..
ss15/7.. ghee  smile.gif
thx...wic uni are u in? wad course? btw did u sit for ielts?

72 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:29 AM