Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

huix
post Mar 19 2008, 06:58 PM

458 posts

[quote=wornbook,Mar 17 2008, 07:08 AM]
Duh! Seems like NZ taxes. houses and insulation cost are crazy inbalance.... tongue.gif Even earn 6000 per month... 1500 go to income tax.... 10% housing loan... 300k - 400k per house.....living expenses.... that explain why not much ppl has $$$ to insulate the house lol May be it is time to learn some housework how to insulate heat b4 going there.

[/quote]
At least you see the benefits of your tax here. It doesn't go to fill the pockets of Kiwi-putras.

[/quote]

Thanks for the encouragement. I don't min for the high tax paying though, what I think it is hard is the 10% interest housing morgage loan haha well...300k - 400k per house without insulation and 10% interest rate. what a big duh! I gotta bring all my asset in malaysia just to get a house there if I don't wanna loan any $$ from thier bank.
huix
post Mar 20 2008, 08:18 AM

458 posts

all england originated based countries has high tax but those tax money will go to social benefitial for example HIGH quality public medical service for almost free....
huix
post Mar 22 2008, 03:42 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 20 2008, 09:23 AM)
ok..now i understand..it just like singapore..
they have to pay tax higher bcoz it s for the facilities and all..
that s why singapore is really clean and well-regulated..
i see..   nod.gif

Added on March 20, 2008, 9:26 ambut i heard public trnsport in NZ is quite expensive..
how come?

Added on March 20, 2008, 9:44 amfor those muslim students study in NZ (esp fantagero)
HAPPY MAULIDUR RASUL!!
today is holiday..huhu!    cool.gif
Indeed, singapore tax is even lower than malaysia but they are more efficient... Malaysia, to be honest, is one of the best country in the world. What is natural disaster? earthquake? typhon? what is that? We are full of natural resources, tin, gold, timber, oil and gas. We are the central heart of asia and position excellent. But why we are still failing behind? Why singapore can be achieve what KL can't? Some shortsighted people always say singapore is smaller and eaiser to manage but they ignore the fact how come a countrywithout natural resources and human resouces can be top in the world to attract human capital to work there. In my opinion, if malaysia is run as efficient as singapore in 40 years, I bet our GDP is at least in the stage of france at the moment.

By the way, people dont' know what is easter and good friday shouldn't be classified as stupid. People won't know anything. Ask westerner about the history of "Chung Yang or mid autumn festival" or harvest festival in sabah/sarawak, they know peenuts about it. Does this mean they are stupid? By saying this, it show "short-mind-ness" and think everyone should knows what American are thinking and living, if we don't, we are living in 3rd world people.... you won't know how many times my American principal was suprised by our talented engineer in Malaysia.

We have the talent here but I really don't like the education system here. Instead, I am east malaysian christian bumiputra but I forsee my kids will have a better future in NZ. They can work in NZ/OZ/UK/US/CND when they grow up if they are NZ citizen. Yes, I intend to convert them to be NZ citizen when they get qualification to convert from PR to CTZ. Come back to Malaysia? Well, if they have 5 choices to go, how hard for them to get an expat visa in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by huix: Mar 22 2008, 03:57 PM
huix
post Mar 23 2008, 10:20 AM

458 posts

Not that Malaysian education is bad. Instead, my primary school and secondary school education are done in Malaysia and I don't feel any standard difference when I was in USA for the 3rd education. Instead, our mathematic standard pwn. However, like Meng said, we ignore other talents such as leadership, music and others, which I feel it is quite crucial to find out the talents as well. Our 3rd drgree need to be re-looked at to be honest and I dont' want to raise my kid and gotta fork out 300k for their education in future (well, good STPM result doesn't guarantee what is your first choice in University...) Another part is the corruption. Before you start your own business, you gotta pay this dato pay that datin...when you are on your business, governement servants disturb you more than the gangster..... I am doign this, at least, give them a chance for better education.

I gotta let go my high management work here, and work more technically in NZ, but in NZ, even you work technically, your career is still good. Currently, we have a oracle dba coming from OZ to solve our problem...he is almost 60 years old, he knows the inside out of oracle database like his pet. very impressive person.
huix
post Apr 13 2008, 12:35 PM

458 posts

It is always a good experience to study oversea. From now on, you actually start a new life. A life you start to learn to be independent and out of the roof from your parents. Mostly, u will cry sometimes becoz of home sick and feel uncontrollable life especially when u r facing some frustration....but this is life smile.gif You have to learn how to be independence smile.gif

Added on April 13, 2008, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...
i just feel that takin ielts isnt neccesary and the only reason thery're asking us to it is coz :
a) the ielts ppl wanna make lots of money
b) saves the uni considerable amounts of admin work

no one thinks bout the students and the costs...ishhh
How do you judge your english level? Anything can be made even university certificate. So they gotta to haev some control. FYI, if you have have a degree in USA/UK/Canada/OZ/NZ, when you are applying master degree, msotly don't need IETLS anymore unless they requested.

This post has been edited by huix: Apr 13 2008, 12:38 PM
huix
post Apr 14 2008, 11:01 PM

458 posts

my sister went to nz for her master course required ietls score but her degree was done in UM. If no mistake, she has 1119 or some ESL course taken b4 that.

when I applied my master course, they allowed me to skip ietls since my degree was completed in usa (4 years there...really enjoying life there. everything was cheap hehe) but end up i took uk one though. they didn't require ietls either for my case...

i believe most university require ietls as a standard. it is just how the world is run. for example, our governmetn won't buy-in taiwanese degree holder as a bachelor..but indeed, they have the knowledge.

welcome to the cruel world tongue.gif
huix
post Jul 28 2008, 09:33 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jul 28 2008, 06:11 PM)
let say if my relative wanna holiday here for quite a long time.. can they apply for that???
is it hard to apply?? hassle-free??

i can work full time during holiday.. stated in the visa..

btw.. i'm sure many of u guys are permanent resident.. what's the qualification to apply for that ey??/
to be applying pr in nz, there is a few ways. 1. refugee.... 2. business migration (2millions dollars in 5 years).... 3. high skills which require to have at least 100 points. with 100 points, u r entitled to get selected in a pool...if u have 140+, u will automatically selected from the pool to get access by the EOI (express of interest) officer.

there is a list that required in nz set by the government. there are some skills that get bonus if u have experience, for example, doctor, nurse, IT personnel, IT Project manager, engineer, consultants, teachers, carpenter, plumber (with proper qualification of trade skills)

age is a point factor, the younger the better (30-39 have 20 points smile.gif don't lose hope, middle age ppl hehe)

qualification - degree is around 25, master and phd are 30 points. studying in nz with 2 years+ get bonus. there is a list in INZ website, if your school is in the list, mostly u don't need to send your qualification to NZQA to access like my case.

working experience - 3 years ~ 10 years+ depends on range...i know that 10 years+ in It experience have 30 points (your degree or master must be IT related to claim points....masaleh concern about what u study relevant to your work). bonus if your experience related to the long term seeken skill list.

if u areworking in NZ, you basically get 50 points (this means u apply PR when u r in nz working)...

sure u need to declare ur english standard. IETLS 6.5 and above...i claimed this points coz my degree was USA and 4 years there, so I dont' need IETLS.

if your wife has a degree and have english proficiency IETLS 5.0+ (3 years experience in enlgish only school), u can claim extra 20 points as well.

having relative in nz get u 10 points...if u r not going 2 auckland, another 10 points if i m not mistaken biggrin.gif

my point was 140 with the bonus in my working expeirnece 10 years+ in IT, master degree, 30-39 years old, wife has a degree etc....

btw, the basic requirement before applyign the points are: 1. good health with medical report 2. police report that u r clean in criminal record, 3. english proficiency evidence

huix
post Sep 6 2008, 09:59 PM

458 posts

if we really want to look at the ranking of unviersities, why look at U of Melbourne or NSW? should look into Berkeley, StdFrd, Ox`Bridge if we really care about the ranking...ppl only remember the 1st, not someone in the middle (if they care about the ranking)...for those who don care about the ranking, no difference between NSW/Melbourne/Auckland/UM tongue.gif
huix
post Nov 9 2008, 11:00 PM

458 posts

Got a question to ask... NZ is using the accounting standard same as Malaysia (aka UK commonwealth standard)?

This post has been edited by huix: Nov 9 2008, 11:00 PM
huix
post Nov 10 2008, 10:22 PM

458 posts

geez....
huix
post Nov 11 2008, 09:58 PM

458 posts

how expensive a car is? when i studied in usa, almost every malaysian student I know owning a car. it can be as cheap as us$1k-2k.

Added on November 11, 2008, 10:07 pmhow expensive a car is? when i studied in usa, almost every malaysian student I know owning a car. it can be as cheap as us$1k-2k.

This post has been edited by huix: Nov 11 2008, 10:07 PM
huix
post May 18 2009, 10:40 PM

458 posts

i am going to go to auckland in july. anyone can advise the rate for renting a flat apartment sharing with others? i mostly need a broadband and mobile phone. any good recommendation for broadband package? I prefer unlimited one (does this package exists?), and how much usually?
huix
post May 19 2009, 10:14 PM

458 posts

Looking for job with the PR..until I find the job i guess lol (mostly six months if I can't find any job) but I prefer to rent weekly since I may relocate to other cities depending on job offer
huix
post May 24 2009, 01:56 PM

458 posts

any good broadband package recommended? I heard there are new VDSL2 package but not sure the price. I heard there still no unlimited access package in NZ yet, right?
huix
post Jul 26 2009, 08:59 PM

458 posts

it is so cold in this few days. cant tahan until go and buy a electrical blanket.
huix
post Aug 31 2009, 07:38 PM

458 posts

sorry, abit out of topic tongue.gif I m in Auckland since a month ago and found a job recently in IT. Everything seems fine here, and better than Malaysia for quality of life. M looking to buy a second hand car once my job is confirmed.

it is just a little bore during weekend night. Any place is a good place for a drink in Auckland? especially many asian? I went to momotea but it took long queue and the food is terrible except the cartilage. Any other good place to recommend for those Aucklander tongue.gif come on, college student sure knows where is the fun place are.
huix
post Sep 4 2009, 09:17 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 31 2009, 08:47 PM)
i think the food in momotea is really good though lol, for food wise i recommend u to go to dominion road to have a look lol.

where abouts are u staying in auckland? in the city center? i'm in grafton lol weekend seriously nothing to do =(.

for drinking u have try some pubs haha
i stay in west harbour as my offices are located one in kumeu another one in albany, so i stay in the middle. but it won't stop me to go anywhere in weekend hahaha which pub is fun? i went downtown pub and i was the only asian in there, not fun at all lol

This post has been edited by huix: Sep 4 2009, 09:19 PM
huix
post Nov 28 2009, 09:03 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Nov 23 2009, 11:31 AM)
i'm going to Unitec NZ, Auckland. smile.gif
Don't be frustrated, keep on. You will succeed.

Added on November 28, 2009, 9:10 am
QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Nov 23 2009, 11:31 AM)
i'm going to Unitec NZ, Auckland. smile.gif
which unitec campus? I lived near 2 unitec campus. if need help, let me know. the old schools here should offer help to new comers for them to get easier to settle down smile.gif

This post has been edited by huix: Nov 28 2009, 09:10 AM
huix
post Dec 3 2009, 04:00 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Nov 29 2009, 06:39 PM)
the Mount Albert one. i hope it's a nice place~

Added on November 30, 2009, 1:36 pmafter reading through the thread, apparently Vodafone has somewhat become the exclusive choice for international students?

i just looked through the prices of their phones... typical monthly cost is NZD39.95 and you can get a lauyah phone for free. i doubt i'm gonna use that much monthly.

so is it really worth to get their phone plus the plan, or just get in Malaysia and use a prepaid card? i hope their prepaid system is identical to here lol.
Mt. Albert is a nice place to live smile.gif Actually I m thinking moving there (nearer to my office) if I can't get a good choice in north shore by next Jan.

2 degree is better smile.gif For Malaysian long distance call, just get some VOIP call card from "3 Sisters" in auckland downtown biggrin.gif Btw, NZ public transport sux, if you don't get a car, stay near the campus smile.gif After getting a car, I start to enjoy NZ life liow tongue.gif
huix
post Dec 9 2009, 01:31 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Dec 6 2009, 05:11 PM)
just borrow them from library and you can use the money for booze smile.gif

where ru livin now?
west harbour.

trying to seek Mairangi Bay, Milford or Forrest Hill areas now. Will go torbay this saturday with an appointment with the agents.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0476sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:21 PM