9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

wornbook
post Apr 24 2008, 07:45 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Apr 23 2008, 09:39 PM)
hey guys, i have a few questions here..hope you all will be patient when reading them..

First of all, usually NZ unis when are their intakes? Is it the same as Australia around January and July? Also, how is the engineering courses there? Is Uni of Auckland good for engineering? Thanks..
Intakes are in late February/early March and July.

My friends tell me that Uni of Auckland engineering lecturers say they have the best eng department in Australasia.
As for what the degree is actually like, I'll let EmperorMeng take over.

Added on April 24, 2008, 7:53 am
QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 22 2008, 05:38 PM)
oww okay. coz i just checked out the careers site of the big 4. dont hav to have a degree in acctg for certain business groups suchs as corporate finance and consulting. degrees in economics, finance, are acepted .

(wic seem to be the oni two things that im interested in an acctg firm)
Ah right, that makes sense.

Btw Aaron, while you're still deciding where to go, what are your needs/wants on accommodation?

Cos Otago is (in)famous for the really crap student flats around. Run-down, mouldy, leaky and freezing - you get the picture. Of course there're nice ones out there (I never stayed in those dumps) but it does take a little searching and more money. Another thing to watch out for is that in the student area, landlords charge rent for 52 weeks (ie one year) - you'll have to pay for summer holidays whether you're staying there or not. Most flats house 4-6 people (landlords want max income).

In Auckland, accommodation is more standard and of higher quality. Those from out of town generally stay in one of the city apartments. They're pretty cramped and have 2-3 bedrooms (2 is more common). But at least you won't have to hunt for one that isn't leaking etc. Rental is quite a bit higher than Dunedin though.

Just trying to give info you won't find in brochures and prospectuses.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Apr 24 2008, 07:53 AM
wornbook
post Apr 24 2008, 04:24 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 24 2008, 08:39 AM)
However, Law is still limited entry, and UoA is notorious for filtering out law students after your first year. The good thing is that if you don't make the cut for the Law component, you'd still get credit for the electives in your BCom degree. I strongly do not recommend studying law in NZ in general if you are a international student.

And in Auckland, try not to end up with a Chinese landlord. I'm not saying all pakeha landlords are good (I had my share of issues with one), but generally as I see it, Chinese landlords will squeeze 10 people into one house, and it can be a dump of a place.
It's not just UoA. One of the reasons is that first year law is like first year health science. It's a bit of a cash cow for the uni and the respective faculties. Just let as many in as possible, take their fees for a year and then kick out those who don't make the cut. It's a win-win situation for the unis, they get the dough and they don't compromise on quality.

Aaron says he's getting a PR, so he won't be an international student.

In general, try to avoid Chinese landlords. Especially those who live overseas and let an agent manage the property.

wornbook
post Apr 24 2008, 07:03 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 24 2008, 05:35 PM)
just for the sake of asking,  izzit ok to do law wen u hav a pr?  btw wornbook are u a pr? n its much easier to get a job in NZ if ur a PR rite?

anyways i dont think i'll be doing law. i'll  stick to my orginal plan. (BA/BCom)
since u mentioned bout the accomodation, i'm swerving more towards auckland now...hehe
The reason why it's not advisable for an international student to do law in NZ (there aren't many places anyway) is cos there's no guarantee you'll make it to 2nd year. Tens of thousands is too much to risk in the hope of getting in where there are countries with guaranteed entry programmes. At least as a PR, the financial risk is much lower.

I believe that's what Haya is getting at, and I agree with him.

Also, with the size of the industry and possible prejudices, it'll be extremely difficult for an international student to be employed as a lawyer on graduation.

It's easier to get a job if you're a PR but not by such a huge margin these days.
International students are now granted a one year working visa on graduation (there are certain criteria to fulfil, but that's the general picture). If they get a job, it's a simple matter to convert that to a permanent work visa. So that deals with some employer reluctance to hire internationals - less paperwork.

Yes, I have NZ PR. Otherwise, there's no way I'd have risked doing law here.
wornbook
post Apr 27 2008, 12:13 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 24 2008, 07:19 PM)
IC. So even if u r a PR its hard to secure a job as a lawyer? (Going by ur experience) I thought New Zealand was experiencing a shortage of lawyers....

Haha same here....the reason im doing econs/politics is coz im gonna get a pr... if not theres no way i'll risk doing it too...wud hav done something like accounting instead(wic i dont like as u noe...but wat to do, int students are at a disadvantage)
I'm only speaking from my experience... others might give a different answer. I know many Malaysians working as lawyers in NZ, but most of them took quite a while to get their jobs.

There's no shortage of lawyers in NZ. Otago has 200 law graduates coming out each year, Auckland has the same if not more. Victoria has a bigger law school, so there's bound to be more than 200. Add Canterbury and Waikato to the mix and you'll see there's an oversupply of lawyers. Of course, only about a third go on to do the professional legal studies course (ie Bar) but it's still quite a lot.

Heh, if I were an international in NZ, I'd do accounting or engineering. But if I were international, I wouldn't have come to NZ.
wornbook
post Apr 28 2008, 02:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 28 2008, 12:22 PM)
ehmm lucky for those who can stay here.. .get a job, pr etc.. notworthy.gif
especially private student..

just finished my 1st weekend with part time.. tiring though... sweat.gif
It's not too difficult if you're doing the right course. Every single one of my accountant friends got jobs here and have got/are applying for PR.
wornbook
post Apr 29 2008, 08:16 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 29 2008, 02:04 AM)
care2explain?
NZ tends to be viewed as a poorer second cousin to Australia. If it costs me about the same to study in NZ and Australia, I'll pick Australia.

Assuming I'd have gone on to study law, NZ would have been out of the question (too risky). I would prefer to have gone to one of the top UK unis - UCL, Nottingham etc... maybe even Cambridge (assuming they let me in tongue.gif ).

Thanks to NZ PR, I didn't even look at the other options (beyond a cursory "won't that be nice"). No regrets though, I've had good fun in NZ unis.

Added on April 29, 2008, 8:18 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 28 2008, 11:54 PM)
it cuts both ways.......lots of people who have no money are envious of you for getting a scholarship to study overseas......so you better honour your bond.......
Agreed. Don't be one of those bond breakers.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Apr 29 2008, 08:18 AM
wornbook
post May 8 2008, 06:41 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ May 8 2008, 04:21 AM)
Why don't you just slightly explain here?
for example , like what school , how much it costs . hwo many years .

Hey , I heard it's very easy to cover the allowance by working part time there , is it true?
They even say that working part time there while studying , after few months or one year , you will be even  able to send home money .
Minimun wage is $12.50, tax is almost 20%. International students are only allowed to work 20 hours per week, max. What do you think?
wornbook
post May 8 2008, 07:28 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ May 8 2008, 07:08 AM)
i got 16% applied for me.. i just work 10hours only on weekend bcoz packed class...

during holiday.. u can do full time if u want..

i need to earn money..  sweat.gif  cry.gif
Even if you work full time every holiday, what are you chances of saving enough to send home? Fees are too high.

To earn enough to cover living expenses, yes. To save enough to send home is quite another thing.
wornbook
post May 8 2008, 07:08 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ May 8 2008, 08:50 AM)
owh.. true2..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
me is another case..

so.. i just cover my meal, my funding to my dream stuff, my calling card etc. ...
but hey.. got my friend that doesnt work.. private.. international fees summore.. sweat.gif
i bet his parent must be someone back in malaysia..
u know rite.. international fees are waaaaay higher than local fees..
About 3 times higher but it varies.

Yep, for me, I worked to cover living expenses and some luxuries. My first 2 years were mainly paid for by my parents. After that, I managed to support myself completely through part-time work and summer jobs. It didn't hurt that I was a residential assistant for 2 years. Room+food+amenities (electricity, internet, Sky)= $85 per week. Later, it dropped to $60. tongue.gif

Fees were covered by loan. Paying it off now. sweat.gif

wornbook
post May 9 2008, 07:19 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ May 8 2008, 08:09 PM)
WTF~~~  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

here i pay at least $150,, no sky.. internet pay by self.. cry.gif

waa.. i must rent outside house
r u in auckland??
Hahaha. I was a residential assistant at a hall. The trade-off is work for low hall fees. If I remember correctly, ordinary residents were paying $200 p/w. Easy job, it was a good deal. Huge competition for the job though.

The Sky was a shared hall one lah. Only used it to watch football, luckily the matches were mainly in the middle of the night. No rugby/cricket fans competing.

wornbook
post May 13 2008, 06:37 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ May 13 2008, 05:04 AM)
was wondering how long would that take.
Depends on how much you pay. I chose to pay more than the minimum amount, so it won't take as long. My loan only covered compulsory fees so it isn't as massive as some people's. Loving the interest free conditions now.
wornbook
post Jun 26 2008, 01:26 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Jun 26 2008, 01:17 AM)
Anybody here graduates from uni in NZ and is now working in NZ?
Me, but bear in mind I'm not an international student. I do know quite a few international students who're now working and have received PR though.
wornbook
post Jun 27 2008, 03:42 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 27 2008, 08:37 AM)
Can I just say this: it is bad enough that (Mainland) Chinese and (India) Indians which they ship over to keep the population above 4 mil do not have a good reputation in NZ. It is not great when Malaysia consists of, amongst other things, ethnic Chinese and Indians.

Please do not do stupid things.
Well said.
wornbook
post Jun 28 2008, 08:11 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jun 28 2008, 02:43 AM)
Well do u guys have any idea how much salary can graduate  earn if he applies for graduate jobs in engineering? for graduates in NZ and for Graduates from MSIA in engineering
From what I hear, about $46,000+ per annum. That's with the big companies (eg Opus, Beca), don't know what the smaller ones pay but shouldn't be too far off.
Don't know about Msian graduates. But logic dictates that if you're good enough to be employed, they'll pay you around the same amount.
wornbook
post Jul 23 2008, 09:18 AM

370 posts

I don't think UoA offers Comm Studies. The closest, I think, is a BA in Film, TV and Media Studies.

If you want to study in Auckland, AUT has a Bachelor of Communication Studies.

Otago has a BA in Communication Studies. One of my friends was doing it before she changed to Marketing (or did she do a double degree?).

Don't know about the other unis... just search the websites. I'll bet most of the polys offer it as well.
wornbook
post Jul 23 2008, 07:03 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Erroniouz @ Jul 23 2008, 05:00 PM)
Yeap , I believe all these three Unis (AUT , Massey and Otago) offer BA in Comm Studies.

Just which place is the lowest budget for living cost? (Foods , stuffs etc)

fantegero , yes I believe its 200k..
Probably Massey or Otago. Rent is very expensive in Auckland. rent in Dunedin (Otago) is about $110 (you have to pay for the whole year though, even the months you're not there) but heating and power bills will be the highest. Don't know rent and stuff in Palmerston North (Massey).
Food comes to about the same, country-wide. Eating out is about a $1-2 cheaper in Dunedin, though. Again, don't know much about Palmy.
You won't need to spend on public transport in Dunedin. Everywhere you'd want to go is within walking distance. I hear transport isn't as issue in Palmy as well.

It doesn't mean much to some, but both Dunedin and Palmy are very student friendly. Unlike Auckland, which is really an ordinary city that happens to have 2 unis at its heart. Depends on what you want - city life or student town.

Between the 3 unis, Otago is considered slightly better, being one of the 4 major unis in NZ.

wornbook
post Jul 24 2008, 07:41 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(Erroniouz @ Jul 24 2008, 05:32 AM)
Thanks a million about the info!  thumbup.gif
Btw most of the uni websites have cost of living info and estimates.
wornbook
post Jul 25 2008, 08:16 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jul 24 2008, 07:38 PM)
true2, otaga majority is student outside from otaga itself if i'm right..

hahah auckland.. true2 very city life..
i chose canterbury because enough already with city-like life in Uniten.. lol.. sure go shopping alot.. hahhaa
eventhough in christchurch kinnda the same.. but the lifestyle here not that busy.. plus.. got snow  rclxm9.gif eventhough not for long  sweat.gif
just to my kampung cent k..

plus in auckland, parking is very expensive.. tongue.gif
It's OtagO. smile.gif Otago has about 75% of students coming from outside the Dunedin city limits. Note that Dunedin city itself is massive in terms of area, encompassing areas up to an hour's drive out of the city. The city itself is tiny, good for students and short term living, not ideal (at least IMO) for long term stay.

I think Canterbury is a pretty good choice. You escape from Auckland's traffic jams and but you get enough city life that you won't grow insane with boredom.

I think I somehow got brainwashed by the Kiwis into the 'hate Auckland' mentality. Funny, cos I'm living here now and come from busy busy busy KL.
wornbook
post Jul 28 2008, 09:31 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jul 27 2008, 03:04 PM)
sorry.. typo...

ehmm any of u guys know bout working during holiday..
it's like u are on holiday.. but permitted to work..
sounds great ...
What do you want to know? You can work full-time during the holidays.
wornbook
post Aug 5 2008, 03:37 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Aug 4 2008, 09:54 PM)
hey , hello guys , i'm currently doing a degree twinning programme with a Uni in Australia , with Taylors. Finishing it soon.. and planning to go NZ for masters... and post graduate... but im pretty confused which uni is alright and all.. was planning to go to Uni of Canterbury?

Anyway i dont have any 'real' working experience yet, and im graduating in a degree in Finance and Marketing

so i would like to do

1) what post gradute , masters programme would be good? and where? i would like to try different stuff but in the same commerce field , prolly logistics or property investment but where?

2) What would i need to do to get PR, or Working permits there? for a proper job . My friend said better apply even before going there.. Im currently in my last semester of my degree so better think and need advise from sifus there:)

Thanks in advance
Start applying for jobs now. Get a job, work a couple of years, qualify for PR...

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0429sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:27 AM