Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V8, Now with July,17 Firmware 1AQG5

squall_kay
post Jul 7 2017, 01:31 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Bacon-ator @ Jul 7 2017, 10:58 AM)
Have you guys tried to bypass the face unlock using a picture of yourselves? I've tried multiple pictures to no avail. Even my twin cannot get pass the lock screen with his face. Strange, as I thought it would be less secure than what I'm currently experiencing. Rather impressive I must say.
Agreed. Media just overblown it because it is Samsung and it's also good for click bait.
squall_kay
post Jul 8 2017, 07:41 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 8 2017, 07:08 PM)
How much for Samsung SP?
I'm surprised that it performs better than 3rd party.
i saw senq is selling at RM39 (senq gurney penang).
squall_kay
post Jul 10 2017, 11:23 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 10 2017, 10:47 PM)
really ? i havent heard the price of samusng flagship will drop unless there's something new released to replace the current model . like the price of  samsung s7 edge will drop when s8 is rolled out
they're referring to online price from 3rd party retailer that selling SME set.
for actual shop usually 200-300 cheaper than RRP.
for average consumer, the price will just looks like the same.

anyway s7ege consider as exceptional case. it hold the price longer due to note7 issue.
in fact, prior to note7 it already drop but the moment note7 faced recall issue, S7edge price steady & maintain due to demand bounce back.
squall_kay
post Jul 11 2017, 12:27 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(richiechun @ Jul 11 2017, 12:18 AM)
Anyone notice that our s8/s8+ doesnt have the words "galaxy s8" printed on the back cover of the phone? as i saw a few reviewers they have the these words on the back cover. wonder why....
Those usually from US set while Asian set of only have Samsung branding at the back.
I'm glad our set only come with Samsung branding without those Galaxy S8 branding or Duos branding.
squall_kay
post Jul 11 2017, 12:31 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 10 2017, 11:34 PM)
I am wondering why online seller are able to sell so cheap for sme set?
They sacrifice their profit margin and aim for volume. If SME/Samsung Malaysia sell at more competitive price, better control the pricing (like Apple, Oppo, Huawei) which indirectly lower down 3rd party dealer profit margin, perhaps those throwing price/price drop can be cope.
squall_kay
post Jul 16 2017, 03:35 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(richiechun @ Jul 16 2017, 12:32 PM)
Anyone using samsung 5100mah fast charge powerbank? Or u guys sell it? I have one but was thinking whether to sell it or keep it.
I'm using it. Small, slim, easy to carry around compared to Samsung 10k mAh fast charge powerbank from Note7 bundle.
squall_kay
post Jul 16 2017, 03:40 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 16 2017, 03:36 PM)
Charging speed is the same for both powerbank?
Same
squall_kay
post Jul 16 2017, 04:40 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Radiant360 @ Jul 16 2017, 04:38 PM)
The 5.1k powerbank alot lighter but the 10k bigger capacity
yes off course.
what do you expect? hmm.gif biggrin.gif
squall_kay
post Jul 16 2017, 09:56 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(tisuepaper @ Jul 16 2017, 09:54 PM)
oh you call the customer service?
so they only asked for the rm400 vouncher?
how fast they send the new one for you?
i think he was referring to his previous abuse claim. getting new code by calling SME.
current situation, seems like all non-use vouchers already voided.
squall_kay
post Jul 16 2017, 10:10 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Parasite85 @ Jul 16 2017, 10:07 PM)
I gave them time pressure and request them to do in within 3 hours.

(I dun want to give them enough time and space for investigation over my case)

It was the first day samsung issued the 400 vouchers which is tied to the imei.

I bet all parties (the system technician / voucher operators / customer service) are not ready and are not well communicated during that time and I keep claiming that the 400 voucher was not shown in my mysamsung app.

I gave them my imei number and ask them to settle it within 3 hours.

After 1 hour, I found a voucher was pushed into mysamung app.

By the way, I dont think this tactic works anymore as the system technician / voucher operators / customer service aware of this scam.
Good. Perhaps can consider a career in politic's area.
squall_kay
post Jul 17 2017, 08:36 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(keroll_unwar @ Jul 17 2017, 04:43 PM)
hi guys , may i know the s8 n s8+ u guys use, does it lag now?
I switched from Pixel to S8. After 1 month bought another S8. Indirectly shows that I'm kinda satisfied with the phone.
Does it lag? At least for me, it's comparable with Pixel and Mate9.
squall_kay
post Jul 17 2017, 09:05 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 17 2017, 08:47 PM)
Comparable? Indirectly saying pixel and mate 9 more superior. Haha
Kid, don't play with words. I don't even said that. Or perhaps you're having difficulties to even digest and understand a simple word? If yes, kindly download a dictionary app. Thank you.
squall_kay
post Jul 18 2017, 08:18 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(richiechun @ Jul 18 2017, 12:43 AM)
Any micro sd card worth to buy from? Any recommendations? Wanna get one for my s8. Probably go for 64gb / 128gb card. Please suggest some here dear sifu(s)… tq!
Samsung Evo Plus. Price around 250-300 in Lazada from authorized dealer.
(Not Samsung Evo or Samsung Evo+)
squall_kay
post Jul 23 2017, 10:31 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(apieh23 @ Jul 22 2017, 09:42 PM)
Looking for car charger that support s8 fast charging.

This one looks good? How bout price?

http://shopee.com.my/garylzl/289185828
I bought this Anker. Using fine with S8. Kinda abit future proof, support QC3.0.
The charger feel solid.

squall_kay
post Jul 23 2017, 03:59 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(eetony @ Jul 23 2017, 02:04 PM)
Using this charger too, altho not so small it is very solid, cool red led too. QC 3.0 & 2.4A
The cool red LED blend well with my car's ambient light. So far satisfied with this charger.
squall_kay
post Jul 31 2017, 04:03 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Jul 31 2017, 03:59 PM)
hi all.. for the fast charging to work,we still need cable that able to do fast charging right?.just got myself the wireless fast charging pad.. But now only got 1 pair of fast charging cable and adapter.. Any other 3rd party brand recommended?
Anker, aukey, blitzwolf.
Anker a bit more expensive than the other 2.
squall_kay
post Jul 31 2017, 04:11 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Jul 31 2017, 04:05 PM)
all 3 brands also got charger right?.. need to buy few extra put 1 in office and other room at house.. thanks for the recommendation.
They have their own charger. Some bundle with cables, and some only charger.
Myself using Qc3.0 dua port aukey charger with blitzwolf and additional cable from aukey.

Search lazada from seller unipro.my; Official authorized distributor for aukey, anker and tronsmart.

Blitzwolf can be purchased Banggood website.
squall_kay
post Jul 31 2017, 06:14 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Jul 31 2017, 05:36 PM)
blitzwolf, aukey and tronsmort. which is better? or just same?

i see blitzwolf from banggood slightly cheaper
Aukey braided cable kinda hard/stiff compared to Anker and Blitzwolf.
Durability not sure coz I just owned it like 2 months but all feel like can last for very long period of time.
squall_kay
post Aug 4 2017, 10:21 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ Aug 4 2017, 08:51 PM)
S8
rclxms.gif
thats good.
im usually getting <4hours. dry.gif