Market timing vs. Buy and hold
Jul 2 2017, 12:20 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,456 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Unit trust is probably one of the worst investment one could buy. according to warren buffett, a monkey is better investor than unit trust manager. http://www.cnbc.com/2017/02/25/buffett-sla...00-billion.html https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...d-quicktake-q-a |
Jul 2 2017, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 2 2017, 12:47 AM) Those american funds maybe. So far, I have no complains with the one from Asia as they have successfully beat the asia pacific benchmark time and time again. Besides, would you buy something just because it's big? Past performance is not an indicator of future results.Why should I buy an ETF when a fund have shown it can beat the ETF time and time again? Besides for malaysian investors, they don't have access to ETF. You tell me la, how are they going to invest? FD? JJPTR? Amway? ETF causes illiquidity in the market. Everyone buying the same item, everybody sell at same time like all rushing through the same door. If active fund no good, nobody would have park money with Berkshire Hathaway Berkshire hathaway doesn't trade stock actively like u.t. This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 2 2017, 12:58 AM |
Jul 2 2017, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 2 2017, 01:13 AM) True. But you haven't propose alternative for Malaysians. That might be true in US (not many funds can beat the S&P500, those that do will have money automatically flock to them). Besides, fund like Kenanga Growth Fund have shown time and time it have manage to beat KLCI, If one were to invest in KLCI (as what you are implying vs one were to invest the same amount into Kenanga Growth Fun, one would have made more money with Kenanga Growth Fund). Berkshire hathaway is still an active fund. His advantage was he bought when world economy is booming. QUOTE(Zres @ Jul 2 2017, 02:15 AM) QUOTE(Zres @ Jul 2 2017, 02:18 AM) Wow...u like to quote napic stats,% and 20 years, now u tell us past performance is not an indicator of future results... The world is greater than the kampung. Why one must limit oneself in the kangkong land especially if considered depreciating myr.Lol...that's why i said follow u in LYN is a joy. Love to read your comments The herd is undoubtedly blinded by greed, couldn't separate the wheat from the chaff. |
Jul 2 2017, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 2 2017, 09:51 AM) http://mutualfunds.com/expert-analysis/why...away-an-update/ well that is just to highlights that there at 2 sides of a coins..... depending on where one sits or where one's meal comes from.....one can almost always finds write ups in the internet to support one's view on any topics..... |
| Change to: | 0.0446sec
9 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:41 PM |