W203 C230K Kompressor 2006, 189 BHp @ 5800 ( 1.8L )

TSsonyman
post Jun 28 2017, 07:22 PM, updated 9y ago

1,043 posts

Hi Sifu Of Mercedes, past and current.

I want some sound advise regarding this model Mercedes C230K 1.8L M271 Engine.

Currently i am looking at one. Could i ask what are the things to look out for?

what are the common breakdown for this Model?

I am just wondering if it is expensive or more expensive than Volvo or BMW?

How does it compare?

I really love the power and the classic feel, plus its about 50K ish pricing for the moment for a 2006 model.

I will be paying Cash, so only need to reserve some for incase of breakdown,

The car will be mainly used for outstation and probably occasional 3 times a week use, especially going to not so crude places like port klang or banting. Otherwise i still have a Hyundai Accent 2005 to cover rough areas.

So its an extra ride.

Can i ask for some input and experience from the Sifu.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jun 28 2017, 07:31 PM
mot88
post Jun 28 2017, 11:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 28 2017, 07:22 PM)
Hi Sifu Of Mercedes, past and current.

Can i ask for some input and experience from the Sifu.
C230k has 2 specs in Malaysia. They are Elegance and Avantgarde. The difference is not limited to trim but the setup is difference.
The picture from carlist.my is an example of Elegance spec. Advantgarde is all black leather and dashboard with 3 spoke steering (instead of 4 spoke Elegance)

The Advantgarde has sports suspension (15 mm lower and firmer absorber) and the best part is the Mercedes cross drilled disc and "Mercedes Benz" written on the caliper. It has more brake pots = more braking power and sports seat with memory (slightly more hugging at the side, not to be mistaken for hardcore type). The braking power between the 2 are far apart.

The C200k facelifted is only available in late 2006 (Celaeno Edition)which is the final batch of w203 sold in Malaysia. They are rare in the market. Refer to the only link review on it. http://for-wheels.blogspot.my/2007/10/part...-benz-c200.html

The most crucial is the engine sound when cold start up. This model most expensive repair is the worn out timing chain and the sprockets. 2nd expensive and weak point are camshaft magnet leakage - i.e could cause damage to ECU for severe case if left unattended. All these could be easily traced by mechanic or experienced owner. More discussion could be found at mybenz.org forum.

Do enjoy the brochure & spec which I kept all these years.
Here is the price difference when new.

This post has been edited by mot88: Jun 28 2017, 11:57 PM
TSsonyman
post Jun 29 2017, 06:06 AM

1,043 posts

Dear bro mot88. Thanks for the brochure. I thought the avant-garde model was a UK import ap car. As I see on you tube most of it are 4 spoke steering.

The cars are quite rare. And not many. Either they didn't sell a lot at its time or many are still kept and being used. Unlike the w204. It's a lot on the road.

Well thank you again for the information.

As for the problem. I think I seen them on you tube. Most of the videos are the 3 items. Multifunction turn stick. Timing chain and the camshaft magnet. Which are not too difficult to replace.

Not sure about timing chain but the others are quite straightforward.

mot88
post Jun 29 2017, 11:37 AM

141 posts

Sample of a local CKD c230k Avantgarde 1.8 on the market.

http://m.mudah.my/view?ca=9_3_s&cg=1015&q=...&ad_id=55370005

TSsonyman
post Jun 29 2017, 04:14 PM

1,043 posts

Anyone know how to resolve the srs message? Any shop that I can go to within pj or klang or Ara Damansara.
riezzien
post Jun 30 2017, 07:30 AM

107 posts

im a fan of the w203 c230 avantgarde too.
but currently using the w204.
if got xtra money i might sell my other ride n swap with this.
TSsonyman
post Jun 30 2017, 07:48 AM

1,043 posts

You mean you prefer w 203 rather than 204?

I feel 203 design is more stylish. Thought my wife prefer the 204 design.

Only thing with the 203 it's got plenty of issues. I presumed after reading mbforum

Esp. especially gives headache.

By the way. If you have a 204 where do you sent your 204 in klang valley. You know any good ones
TSsonyman
post Jun 30 2017, 08:44 AM

1,043 posts

Only thing with the 203 it's got plenty of issues. I presumed after reading mbforum

By the way. If you have a 204 where do you sent your 204 in klang valley. You know any good ones
amdxp
post Jun 30 2017, 11:28 AM

239 posts

W204 has it fair share of issues too, other than the same engine M271 issue with sprocket and magnets. But these are like "consumable" for like 150k km once.

So if you are to buy one, do prepare to spend 8-10k just to replace this to have peace of mind unless the used car dealer can provide you with bills that it had been replaced prior to the change of ownership, I guess 99% you need to pay for it.

W204 is newer no doubt, but it has no 192BHP tuning C230k, only C200k max. And the 5 speeder steptronic autobox should be more durable than the newer 7 speed g-tronics.
jimmychangas
post Jun 30 2017, 12:27 PM

149 posts

sorry to tumpang your post TS, but I have a somewhat related question.

I'm currently eyeing on a year 2000 W202 C200. any sifu here can outline the main differences between Avantgarde trim and the Elegance trim? And also, what are the major parts to take extra care of? thanks!
riezzien
post Jun 30 2017, 01:02 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 30 2017, 07:48 AM)

sorry for my bad english.
i meant to add the w203 to my merc fleet.
w204 for me and wifu could use the w203.or maybe swap once in a while.
mot88
post Jun 30 2017, 01:12 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jun 30 2017, 12:27 PM)
sorry to tumpang your post TS, but I have a somewhat related question.

I'm currently eyeing on a year 2000 W202 C200. any sifu here can outline the main differences between Avantgarde trim and the Elegance trim? And also, what are the major parts to take extra care of? thanks!
W202 elegance was only available in Malaysia offcially in CKD form.Elegance with wood trim, standard spring. The avantgarde trim is used in w203 onwards for C class. For w202, they have Classic, Elegance and Espirit/Sport for Euro/UK spec and they are rare as well . You may see 'Avantgarde' style grill for w202.

jimmychangas
post Jun 30 2017, 03:44 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Jun 30 2017, 01:12 PM)
W202 elegance was only available in Malaysia offcially in CKD form.Elegance with wood trim, standard spring. The avantgarde trim is used in w203 onwards for C class. For w202, they have Classic, Elegance and Espirit/Sport for Euro/UK spec and they are rare as well . You may see 'Avantgarde' style grill for w202.
I see.. any known issues for this gen? The Elegance one looks pretty good..
TSsonyman
post Jun 30 2017, 03:50 PM

1,043 posts

But for 203w the elegance and avant-garde makes a huge difference.

Avant-garde in the w203 is like sports version. While the elegance it's the comfort version

Interior colour is different as well. Elegance is nice cosy and roomy beige while the avant-garde is strong black aluminium trim with sports steering and memory seat with auto adjust steering and side mirror. It's so cool for such an old car.

I really.love the Avant-garde trim it's so special. Easy to maintain cause it's black. And the memory package is nice. O ly concern when it break down especially the steering stops moving. How much does it cost?

Plus it moves everytime you turn of the ignition back to its position. The. When. You turn on the car it's goes to your driving position
mot88
post Jun 30 2017, 05:38 PM

141 posts

Weakness in memory seat is battery drain for w203. It may or may not not occur. I rather give this feature a miss and have 1 less headache. Also, this feature is more useful for Westerner as they have big body to retract the steeeing & seat when turning off ignition. For Asian, it is more of novelty. The useful feature is the auto dip left side mirror when R gear is engaged tht come with memory seat package.

Mercedes really track their spec and features and factory color down to which component used (for replacement of parts purpose) . No one can cheat posing elegance as avantgarde when chassis number is matched against MB database which available online (you can google it).

Some W203 Jap/UK spec Avantgarde are without the sports steering, i.e 4 spoke instead 3 from factory. So dont assume all w203 Avantgarde steering is 3 spoke.

A hint, CKD C230k Avantgarde is as good as US spec c230k with all bells and whistles. MBM Msia decided to throw in "Mercedes front brake caliper", apparently sourced from Brembo. I have driven the both normal caliper and "Mercedes" caliper in w203, the braking is 50% or more better. I checked with MB spare part shop, the price between normal and "Mercedes" front brake package brake pad and rotor price are 2.5 to 3 times more.

None of the CKD w204 has this "Mercedes" frt caliper available in M271 locally including the w204 c250 Avantgarde version. Only available in c300 officially brought in by MBM or recon AMG spec UK/Jap recon version have this "Mercedes" brake package.

The c230k also available in 2.5 V6 version for w203 avantgarde which MBM officially brought in.

This post has been edited by mot88: Jul 1 2017, 08:31 AM
TSsonyman
post Jun 30 2017, 08:25 PM

1,043 posts

dear Bro Mot88 you really know your stuff, i realise that also,

Having tested the Avantgarde yesterday i feel its a bit hard and rough, maybe the aging engine, 154K Km mileage.

But i tested on 230K elegance model in Autoworld Sg Besi, "88K km mileage " this one is more Mercedes, its more comfortable but looses the memory seat, initially i thought it was important but then again buying a mercedes is to enjoy the comfort.

I now leaning towards elegance. only i don't quite fancy beige interior as it get dirty if not taken care. Dark interior is better.

on the avantgarde the tyres are 245/40/17 its about 500 a pop on Nexen tyres. that korean, my regular is michelin. wonder how much is michelin

the absorbers on the avantgarde i believe would be expensive also. probably 3 times more than normal elegance. ? since the brake pads are already 3 times more expensive.

otherwise the engine and gearbox are identical,

Well will see how.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jun 30 2017, 08:30 PM
witch12
post Jun 30 2017, 10:19 PM

20 posts

can`t comment much about c230k... but did used c200k few years...

normal service oil change.. reset ecu..etc will set abt RM500 (2009-2011)

just normal wear n tear ...

only upgrade

Sport bilstein shocks & spring due old absorber worn out set about 3k something..

pioneer car player as we know tat original car audio doesnt have USB function 1k something

the only prob i facing during that time are ABS sensor.. RM450 per side.. a computer check can rectified which one kaput... blame on me coz am using a wrong offset aftermarket rim.. ( the mechanic told me)

for fuel consumption ... compare with e46 318i vs w203 c200k... my c200 abit fuel drinker.. due maybe the merc got supercharge n mine 18` taiwan rims `heavy maybe` hahaha

mot88
post Jul 1 2017, 12:08 AM

141 posts

Avantgarde suspension is stiffer but should not be harsh. I suspect either tyre type or pressure the contributing factor.Tested 3 c230k avantgarde before years ago and the ride quality is only slightly firmer, around 20% compared to Elegance.Still softer than Waja on stock /ori absorber.

The ori absorber in w203 in Avantgarde is made by Sachs while Elegance is using Bilstein. The price is less than Rm300 for Blistein B4 and less than RM500 a piece for Sachs from parts shop. Price was 5 years ago. Absorber is interchangeable, so does the spring. Elegance absorber can use in Avantgarde but the setup ia not optimum.

The 15mm lower spring Avantgarde is for cosmetic and not much difference than Elegance from sportiness perspective. Layman would not even able to detect as difference too minimal. Mileage manipulation in w203 could be hidden but with right tool, it could show. Modern Continental cars usually have 3 places to store the mileage, 1 at ECU, 1 at dashboard cluster and cant remember 1 more.

My advice is if possible buy from private seller. Private seller has less efforts to hide problems and loan not an issue since it is a cash deal. The condition is "what you see" is basically what you get. Private seller means the direct owner, not some brokers/middleman.

This post has been edited by mot88: Jul 1 2017, 12:09 AM
TSsonyman
post Jul 1 2017, 05:59 PM

1,043 posts

Ok. Just saw one. Avant-garde model. Love the interior. Only issue is the visor at the back not working. Other car as mot88 say. Just slightly more firmer not harsh.

Probably getting this unit
TSsonyman
post Jul 2 2017, 05:29 PM

1,043 posts

So to update my bros here. I booked a 2005 c230k w203 advant garde model from a used car dealer .

Can't wait for the car to be mine. Now is to do some Paint touch up and service the car by the dealer.

Thanks for all the help bro mot88

0.0240sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:11 PM